Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

Topet
post Nov 6 2012, 10:20 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

Which integrated amp suits wharfedale 9.1?
Want to make a stereo setup...some said nad and arcam the best for pairing with wharfedale..
Topet
post Dec 14 2014, 12:56 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 13 2014, 08:03 PM)
Why not search for used 10.1 in KL. It will be around 600-700 range
I feel that 9.1 is better than 10.1... I regret selling my 9.1
Topet
post Jan 18 2015, 12:25 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

ffuuuuuuuu...hi end...couldn't afford...
Topet
post Jan 18 2015, 03:21 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 18 2015, 01:42 AM)
Ya...  ffuuuuuuuu2...who can afford it? But one can dream, right?
Can only dream, have to be asleep first... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

pretty much satisfy with my peasant setup...
Topet
post Jan 20 2015, 11:02 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 19 2015, 05:34 PM)
you probably need to give it a good 200 hours run in before you can really determine....

i remembered when i first got my SF Cremonas......it took me nearly 400 hours before i find it smooth...
especially the ring radiator tweeters

then came my audio research amp.....solid state class D......not that i'm a fan of class D as they usually sound rough
but when i listened to the demo in Bangkok...it blew me away with its dynamics, detailed and yet maintained its transient

so i bought a unit as the demo in Bangkok was pushing the Cremonas to sing.....

out from the box...the first 50 hours were just terrible......after a year with it......i'm really happy with it.....

so my advice......save up for a better amp rather than buying in hurry only to regret and upgrade again

just like CDP.....i have a Marantz CD6000 KI for many many years....and tempted to upgrade many many times
i knew at that point that a slightly better cd player won't get me far....
so i saved up for AR CD5......my first so called high end entry level (obviously there are way higher end cd players)
and the music reproduction straight away went up few folds

eventually when CD6 model came out to replace CD5....it was a true dilemma for me....

although it was a replacement for CD5, i thought it was a minor upgrade until i had a listened at it....
i listened at few places....2 while i was travelling....Bangkok and Singapore.....in the end.....upgraded to CD6 also...
Sonus Faber Cremona? can I see the pic...
Topet
post Jan 20 2015, 12:14 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 20 2015, 11:25 AM)
you can check out the Sonus Faber thread.....
my hifi pix should be there.....even my previous Grand Piano paired with AR SP17 & VS110
thank you...but sked nanti nosebleed
Topet
post Jan 21 2015, 09:58 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 20 2015, 05:00 PM)
@topet you won't nose bleed one....kena poison that one no gurantee lar
If SF can only drool and nose bleed....
Topet
post Jan 22 2015, 08:23 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 22 2015, 06:47 AM)
The Cremona is a beautiful speaker. If being partnered with the right amp, it sings beautifully.

We had a used pair recently. Sold it in less than 2 weeks after putting it up in our blogspot. It's a complete set with original boxes. Of course, we did play with it. Used a push push pull tube monoblocs to drive it. Nice!
Couldn't afford SF boss Maxx...indeed it is beautiful masterpiece..
Topet
post Jan 25 2015, 11:19 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 25 2015, 08:30 AM)
here's my suggestion

for amplifier, if you don't mind china made brands (nowadays they do really produce impressive products), you might want to check out Audio GD Precision 1.
Based on the technical diagram and circuits, the amps are built with quality parts and properly designed.
at 90watts x 2 @ 8ohms, its quite a good bargain. Price is 2480 from liquidgal at the audio/music garage sale.
They have a showroom in Kota Damansara where you can listen to it
The other amp that you can consider is the Topping T60 amp.....which is affordable and not bad sounding..RM600 per unit

speakers, i'll recommend the XLS-Encore by Curve Acoustics.....great local made speakers......it's quick natural sounding with a smooth roll off......price is 1300...look for forummer FX20

since you already have a laptop, i suppose your laptop comes with cd/dvd unit......why not consider a USB DAC??

honestly Marantz entry is not worth playing unless you are really into Marantz

if you don't mind used units....look for Marantz CD63 KI Edition or CD6000 KI Edition...they should be in the range of 1000 to 1200 depending on condition....these are one of the best made Marantz cdp.....

if you love oldies....this cd player will put life into the Elvis, Nat King Cole, Shirley Basey and many more....

happy hunting
I has sad... cry.gif cry.gif

PM6005 is still considered entry level...
Topet
post Jan 25 2015, 01:42 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 25 2015, 01:23 PM)
Ya wor but true. The PM series from Marantz is considered entry level. My new PM6004 + CD6004 bought early last year only cost MYR3,800 so 2nd hand for PM5004 + CD5004 should be in the range of MYR2K or less.

Don't mind Hushymushy... he has got "picky" ears from listening to too much good music from very high end tube systems. Hehehehehehehe... I find entry level Marantz not only acceptable but way above average. Quite good in fact. Second hand systems are ok... no need to burn them in. Saves time. My system is still in the burning in stage after more than four months from the box. Will probably take another year or so before it sounds ok. The bass is coming in now but not there just yet whereas the treble is still a wee bit coarse.
Still in a process of burn in PM6005, don't have the luxury called time anyway I'm satisfied with my peasant setup right now.

This post has been edited by Topet: Jan 25 2015, 01:46 PM
Topet
post Jan 27 2015, 08:29 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

Why 3 phase? single not enough?
Topet
post Mar 24 2015, 10:42 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

Pra gst no moolah..post gst pun no moolah...satisfy with peasant setup...

This post has been edited by Topet: Mar 24 2015, 10:42 AM
Topet
post Apr 9 2015, 10:21 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 9 2015, 10:10 AM)
Hello guys, I'm new to HiFi and stereo. I dug up my dad's old HiFi system the other day. I currently have an old Yamaha DSP A5 AV Receiver. It seems to be working well with an old bookshelf speaker (I don't know what model is that) that my dad owned. I have it connected to my laptop. Anyway, I'm looking to upgrade the system. Should I stick with the old Yamaha as my speaker amp since I have a tight budget or I should get a new integrated amp since I'm using with a laptop and also for better sound quality . For speakers, I'm currently looking at Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 or 10.2. I'm not sure which amp to buy. My maximum budget is RM1,500 for both amp and speakers. Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.
You better hunt used unit, try hifi4sale.net you should find something there..
Topet
post Apr 20 2015, 04:18 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

i pair my pm6005 with floorstand, should i paired with bookshelf speaker?
Topet
post Apr 21 2015, 08:59 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Apr 21 2015, 07:43 PM)
Floorstanders are perfectly okay. Which speakers?
Paradigm monitor 7 v6..too bassy...bass knob i put at 9 o'clock only...
Topet
post Apr 22 2015, 10:10 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Apr 21 2015, 10:59 PM)
You could try using some spike on your speakers (or does your speakers already have them)? That usually tighten up the bass a bit. Speaker wires also affects the sound coming out from the speakers. Maybe you could borrow a few and test them with your speakers. Also, what amp are you using? Could you have accidentally engaged your "Loudness" button?
don't have spikes..about the cable, if you're in Sabah so hard to get good cables here. I settled for cable talk, never engaged in loudness, maybe I just felt the speakers too bassy for me. bass know will turn to zero after this
Topet
post Apr 22 2015, 11:21 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Apr 22 2015, 10:46 PM)
You sure you did not accidentally engage the Loudness button?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/910eo11nzm69ayy/U...tled-1.jpg?dl=0
Yes sir, never touch that thing. just ignore it..

I want to talk about your future setup. its damn interesting. i pray and wish that you will have it this year so that I could come and enjoy a song or two..
Topet
post Apr 23 2015, 01:29 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Apr 23 2015, 01:25 PM)
Ya...still on hold now until my new place is ready, maybe in September after the renovations. By the time I get it (imported) it will be in November and it will take a few months to burn that monster in, which means that it will be ready for listening sometime next year...hahahahahaha
I'm a patience man..i could wait...just want to hear aida sings...
Topet
post May 2 2015, 07:21 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 2 2015, 02:32 AM)
Might not get Aida though...perhaps the Magico M5 (frigging huge) or the Dynaudio Evidence Master (nice and slender) or the Evidence Platinum.
Most probably the Dynaudio cos I can get CMY to import it in for me (and I DO like Dynaudio).
Please make it Aida
Topet
post May 5 2015, 09:12 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 5 2015, 07:44 PM)
Bro, I don't have a BIG house like yours lah... that's why my preference is leaning towards the Dynaudio Evidence Master. Secondly, I REALLY am NOT looking forward to dealing with our friend from Perfect Hifi at Wisma MPL again. Thirdly, I REALLY like Dynaudio. Maybe my Guarneri will sound better on its stands (hee..hee... I have not collected it yet) or after I have finally burned it in. Or after I have burned in all my components and connectors but the Marantz + Dynaudio seems to sound better than Krell + Guarneri.
Aiyah...all you SF fans ah...
only can be fans of SF....

0.0552sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:50 PM