133 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

GI Jie
post Jan 26 2015, 04:54 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 26 2015, 03:35 PM)
Please recommend Turntable for around RM1200. Is there even any at this price point?  whistling.gif

Recently bought a LP record on impulse.  rclxub.gif  First LP ever.
Frigging expensive 1st Lp rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

GI Jie
post Jan 26 2015, 05:02 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Jan 26 2015, 03:49 PM)
standard wire awg for wall outlet is 2.5mm. if possible up to 10mm cable for wall outlet.
best option:
a dedicated phase for hifi wall outlet with a sub db(at hifi room) as recommended by hushymushy
or
a dedicated DB to all ur hifi wall outlet. u can upgrade to a better DB switch

* kindly check the wall outlet phase after reno is done. preferably its NOT terbalik phase

US wall outlet is recommended as most better aftermarket power cords are US plug
Except for the wiring for the lighting (which is oredy there), I am getting the wireman (friend) to put in 10mm cable for all the power points. Might as well do so cos extreme reno at my new place...knocking down walls and such. As for dedicated phase...this will mean two TNB meters, right?
GI Jie
post Jan 26 2015, 05:03 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 26 2015, 01:23 PM)
try to separate your lights and cd player....
rather you share preamp and cd player than your cd player with your lights.....you might get noise

if you wanna use US sockets, wattgate is good...but hard to find in MY...
i'll still looking for mine....

other brands like Furutech, Sine, Cardas are quite good too

i prefer wattgate as it is the most common and cheaper compared to Furutech or Cardas
Might just stick to Malaysia Boleh sockets...dual use.
hushymushy
post Jan 26 2015, 05:12 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 26 2015, 05:02 PM)
Except for the wiring for the lighting (which is oredy there), I am getting the wireman (friend) to put in 10mm cable for all the power points. Might as well do so cos extreme reno at my new place...knocking down walls and such. As for dedicated phase...this will mean two TNB meters, right?
not necessary to have 10mm cables all around...
2.5mm for you cdp is fine. 10mm cable might make ur cdp sound coarse

i'm only using 4mm cable from the sub db for my power amp.....and my sub db is in my audioroom itself
so i can swap out the cable easily

you don't need a separate TNB meter....just need to tap one phase out
sonerin
post Jan 26 2015, 08:25 PM

8,739 posts

Can I ask what is db ? Fuse box ? Circuit breaker ?
hushymushy
post Jan 26 2015, 09:08 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jan 26 2015, 08:25 PM)
Can I ask what is db ? Fuse box ? Circuit breaker ?
Yup...the fusebox
sonerin
post Jan 26 2015, 09:22 PM

8,739 posts

I assume you guys are using 3 phase wiring
GI Jie
post Jan 26 2015, 10:47 PM

722 posts

DB = Distribution Board
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 12:23 AM

1,708 posts

yup...nowadays have to use 3 phase....
Topet
post Jan 27 2015, 08:29 AM

schadenfreude
994 posts

Why 3 phase? single not enough?
sonerin
post Jan 27 2015, 08:54 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 27 2015, 08:29 AM)
Why 3 phase? single not enough?
Depend on power consumption and also how many plug points and other things to consider
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 09:03 AM

1,708 posts

if you have alot of eletrical appliances....it is better to go 3phase

most of the new houses in klang valley...even some bigger size condos.....tnb provides 3 phase straight...

dlyz
post Jan 27 2015, 09:41 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 26 2015, 03:35 PM)
Please recommend Turntable for around RM1200. Is there even any at this price point?  whistling.gif

Recently bought a LP record on impulse.  rclxub.gif  First LP ever.
QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 26 2015, 04:54 PM)
Frigging expensive 1st Lp  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Ya shakehead.gif what was i thinking. Now im too curious of analog doh.gif
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 09:54 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 27 2015, 09:41 AM)
Ya  shakehead.gif what was i thinking. Now im too curious of analog  doh.gif
bro...congrats in getting poisoned by analog

there are good entry levels like Project Audio, Thorens, Rega and Linn...
just need to remember that you need a phono stage amp as well
the entry level turntables starts from 2k and goes up many many many times

unless your amp is old school that comes with phono as well
carcrazy
post Jan 27 2015, 10:01 AM

189 posts

Rega RP3..simply cant wrong.
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 10:07 AM

1,708 posts

carcrazy....since you r sifu in this....why Rega RP3??

i'm still trying to understand turntables....why the huge price difference??
and will the sound change tremendously between an entry level and say a sub 10k or 20k phono system?

let's not even talk about those god level turntables
GI Jie
post Jan 27 2015, 12:09 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 27 2015, 09:41 AM)
Ya  shakehead.gif what was i thinking. Now im too curious of analog  doh.gif
SUCKERED!!! drool.gif

GI Jie
post Jan 27 2015, 12:19 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 27 2015, 09:54 AM)
bro...congrats in getting poisoned by analog

there are good entry levels like Project Audio, Thorens, Rega and Linn...
just need to remember that you need a phono stage amp as well
the entry level turntables starts from 2k and goes up many many many times

unless your amp is old school that comes with phono as well
See what you have done? Poisoned everyone here...
Bro, not only old school amp lah, the new ones all have phono out these days
And another thing...these new fandangled turntables are all made to look like Miss Universe to sucker us in
Then they bleed us dry by over pricing the vinyls

hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 12:22 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 27 2015, 12:19 PM)
See what you have done? Poisoned everyone here...
Bro, not only old school amp lah, the new ones all have phono out these days
And another thing...these new fandangled turntables are all made to look like Miss Universe to sucker us in
Then they bleed us dry by over pricing the vinyls
hehehehe in here poison is self induced....

my father in law has an old school technics turntable.....am wondering if i can get it fixed and refurbished

i have to agree with you that the vinyl's are blardy expensive now.....even more than good cds

that's y i'm sticking to cd for the moment although i don't mind being suckered into full analog....

i was thinking something like Thorens or Project Audio....maybe Rega....

GI Jie
post Jan 27 2015, 12:28 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Jan 27 2015, 10:01 AM)
Rega RP3..simply cant wrong.
Bro...what the hell is a "Quadratic Residue Diffusor"???

Ya, Rega is a good turntable manufacturer. Been drooling over it since my uni days. Owned a Technics then cos never been able to afford a Rega (or Thorens). Had another Sansui turntable as well back then. I remembered very well I can change the tonearm as well and I think I had a Shure (tonearm & stylus) which cost more than the turntable itself. Additionally, I can also plug in a sound filter where the tonearm wires meet the turmtable to change the sound a bit.

133 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:20 PM