5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V2 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome !

watonk
post May 16 2011, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(is2rck @ May 16 2011, 08:10 AM)
Total damage was RM1800 Brand: Michelin Primacy LC. The feeling for this tyre is total comfort and quiet though. Felt much much better than my stocked.

Besides they say I hit something on the road, the other reason they said was someone cutted my tyre. And they don't even keep stock on the tyres and need to book. I can't drive the temp. tyre on the raod, it's just too ugly and dangerous if another Dunlop tyre crack the hell out of me.
Besides improvement in damping, i think the new wider tyres should also improve your straight line stability and gives better grip at the expense of FC and pick-up (slightly). At least thats the theory.

I'm keen to swap my tyres with Brigdestone Turanza ER30 195/55/16. Good tyres but worn faster.
watonk
post May 16 2011, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(n00b123 @ May 16 2011, 01:39 PM)
In the honda insight manual book, the recommended the front/rear tire pressure is 230kPa..
shall we follow this standard? coz personally I think its too high
I think front 33psi and rear 32psi as recommended is ok. Even with 33psi, the front tyre looks quite flat with tyre walls bulging like its underinflate.

watonk
post May 16 2011, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(mazda6mps @ May 16 2011, 03:37 PM)
wow....so many threads.....wonder if toyota prius have so many write-ups by forumners...? rclxms.gif
I notice most honda models will get such response from their owner, a lot of write ups (pros n cons) and i also notice, the car that is popular in Lyn usually a good car or at least offers good value to the price. rclxms.gif
watonk
post May 17 2011, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(infinitium @ May 16 2011, 09:37 PM)
Got my ICE upgraded over wkend. Quite painful seeing all the speakers/rubber seals/floor mats ripped out... but the end result is so damn good smile.gif

Some pics of the "operation"...

Door strips ripped out, exposing the bare chassis:

Installing 4-channel amp under front passenger seat (have to rip out the front passenger seat 1st.. ouch!):

A few hrs later, after doing proper cable management and arranging all wires neatly/tying them in. The seat fits perfectly on top:

My sound system sounds so so much better than stock ones. The mid-range is superb... especially with our IN2 quiet interior when cruising... ahh.. nice. Just had to add some soundproofing material to the door areas where speaker is mounted, so the speaker won't rattle against the bare chassis esp when playing State of Trance 2011 smile.gif

When free, will post up photos of the stock speakers (it really looks like crap when you take it out - no wonder it sounds like crap haha).
That place was good for amp or active subwoofer. Notice the aircond vent cooling them? icon_idea.gif

The magnet of the original spekers are 'BIG' right? And the speaker itself was really 'HEAVY'. haha
watonk
post May 17 2011, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(icechiller555 @ May 17 2011, 11:01 AM)
Went to an accessory shop and they told me that the insight only has one grounding cable for earth. They were pushing a voltage stabilizer. Told me that it will make a big difference. What do u guys think?
Woa. Hang on. Electrical mod on an electric hybrid car should be carefully done. Slight change in V, I or R could mess the overall system. hmm.gif

Somehow we didnt mind if u wanna go for it and hopefully we can hear good news (in the form of even better mileage or better pick up). icon_rolleyes.gif
watonk
post May 17 2011, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(iphone @ May 17 2011, 11:06 AM)
I am happy with the stock audio system too but infinitium got a nice setup there  rclxms.gif
Kinda pain to see them ripping her apart like that though sweat.gif

When I return mine to replace the front windscreen tint, got 2-3 very fine line scratches though barely visible but Ecotint has no problem replacing them for me  rclxms.gif  I told them ..please don't be rough, its my new baby  sweat.gif

Anyone notice the fog light basically useless, only cover left and right mostly, not much forward coverage.

Somehow I am sad about the missing front lower deflector, I questioned my SA but she told me the front deflector is not available for our market. If we look at the bottom of the front ..can see many horizontal slots, obvious something is missing/not installed.
Fog light was invented to improve our visibility to other motorist in foggy or misty condition. So its not really useful to us, but useful for others.

Sometime i got beamed by oncoming traffic due to the glare from our foglamps. I guess its doing its job pretty well. thumbup.gif
watonk
post May 17 2011, 11:11 PM

I suggest him/her to argue on the Prius pricing.

Some people just cant get enough of everything.... doh.gif
watonk
post May 19 2011, 03:05 PM

Pearl White
1. iphone
2. MenOnInsight
3. Alan8112
4. Jacek
5. infinitium
6. Icepixes (kuala terengganu)
7. yipguseng
8. Phandes
9. kennyguy
10. Groovy
11.gadgets2us
12. cabalerro
13. kalai
14. itrump
15. watonk

Pearl Black
1. derkaiser9
2. areszues92
3. Kapultek

Pearl Blue
1. westlife
2. ultramankaiser

Silver
1. glennmaverick
2. orbclyne
3. jwman

Whoa. 65% White so far. White owners, u win tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

watonk
post May 19 2011, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(areszues92 @ May 19 2011, 03:14 PM)
LOL!
I wont go to HONDI. They pour in the engine oil just like that. haha. laugh.gif laugh.gif
watonk
post May 20 2011, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(bobchu @ May 20 2011, 12:42 AM)
i wonder who got the showroom blue unit at YM as it's not there anymore.
I used to test the insight door thud on that blue showroom insight. I also wonder who got that. confirm solid thud tongue.gif
watonk
post May 21 2011, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(royngan2000 @ May 20 2011, 07:08 PM)
i notice
During raining day, when i have auto headlamp on, and auto wiper on, the engine will fire up very soon.

I believe when the hybird battery is potentially low, and the wiper uses a lot of it, the engine will fire up.
just my 2 cents
The early start during raining was not due to high current load on the system.

The system detected that the wipers are on and engine started to support aircond compressor, to minimize fog on the windscreen = safety. brows.gif

Try switch on wiper on bright sunny day while stop. The auto-stop will only shut down the engine mere 10 seconds.

Added on May 21, 2011, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(westlife @ May 20 2011, 10:58 PM)
my engine fire up damn fast comparing to my NHC. i dun feel the sound of engine starting like any other cars.  tongue.gif
Insight's engine started using IMA motor. Hence no cranking sound.

Look carefully below/nearby intake manifold, Insight did have a normal starter unit but that will only be used when the IMA system is too low on battery (the 100v one), or that battery konged redy shocking.gif shocking.gif

At least they have back-up plan.

This post has been edited by watonk: May 21 2011, 07:31 PM
watonk
post May 23 2011, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(iTrump @ May 23 2011, 10:38 AM)
ya.. i interested in the mudguard too.. wondering is from which honda model?
http://s.lowyat.net/uploads//attach-35/pos...-1304873197.jpg

Bro. It was me. I've asked my friend but he also dont know from which model. I've look at the mudflaps itself but only have part no and labelled 'HONDA'.

As I googled mudflaps from all honda models, i think it belongs to Jazz.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-GENUINE-HONDA-JA...id=234413192210

watonk
post May 24 2011, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(ericthelee @ May 23 2011, 08:18 PM)
hi, how much you got urs including the paint job? did it in kl?
im from jb..
Im in Johor also. He got the thing from Kulai i think. Cost mere RM200. Mudflaps 120, spray 80.
watonk
post May 24 2011, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(ericthelee @ May 24 2011, 11:17 AM)
that sounds ok..
u have got it installed as well??
Yup. Its not 100& match (the screw holes) but easily mounted by making new holes.

Added on May 24, 2011, 11:39 am
QUOTE(psyeo @ May 24 2011, 11:21 AM)
Maybe someone should do a bulk for the mudflaps and earn some money from there..*hint, haha..

seems like there is a demand for it
I'll see what i can do. Importing can be a bit costly tongue.gif

This post has been edited by watonk: May 24 2011, 11:39 AM
watonk
post May 24 2011, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(ericthelee @ May 24 2011, 11:43 AM)
can fit perfectly right?
where do u get the mudflap? and where do u do the paint job?
please tell me or PM me i also wanna do it!
thanks bro
Got it from a friend. Few times sampling. Normal paint shop can do pearl white.

My suggestion, go to your nearest potong shop, asked them for Jazz mudflaps, or if they told u they dont have em, asked them any mudflaps can be use. They will have lots of used mudflaps to 'mix n match'.
watonk
post May 25 2011, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(kapultek @ May 25 2011, 12:34 PM)
New
Haha. Within one km from station huh. Ur station must be on a hill. Leaving the station with battery mode only. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on May 25, 2011, 1:37 pm
QUOTE(iphone @ May 25 2011, 01:33 PM)
2 hours to stitch this ...quite fun though.
smells good..texture good...nothing beats genuine leather! wub.gif

[attachmentid=2234132]
Nice one. Should've get the cover measured before u fix it and share with us.

This post has been edited by watonk: May 25 2011, 01:37 PM
watonk
post May 27 2011, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(econ @ May 26 2011, 10:41 AM)
Hi all,

First of all, I don't own any Hybrid, but my friends does – both insight and Prius. I have to admit that I'm a fan of Prius simply because it's an icon or representation of 'Hybrid'.  thumbup.gif when you mentioned a hybrid car, chances are the 1st car came to people's mind is Toyota Prius, even Hollywood movies use Priuses.

Anyway, I'm not here to say Prius is better than insight then just run away. In fact, if I were to choose between these 2 cars, I would go for an insight. Why? it's because insight is a very simple car, the idea, the design, bla bla bla... I think that's why the design and engineering is not same as Prius.

After a few rounds behind both wheels (insight & Prius) on long distance drives, I found that prius is a great car to be in, but you will have to try very hard and get-use-to to really save fuel. Unlike Prius, Insight is so simple that you don't have much choice apart from just drive with ECON on/off, S here, D there and it works. I does save more fuel compare to Honda City driving under the same condition nod.gif

With Prius, you really have to be gentle on the gas to yield better mileage or be hard to just go fast. Yes, similar goes to insight. But I must say that, for Prius, it became annoying when sometimes you just want to drive like normal but often you will feel that there's not enough power to go up a slope (because the car think that you are in 'eco' mode and try to conserve the energy for you) and when you want to go fast, it will take a while before you can feel the throttle (the delay is quite bad).

I'm not very good at describing these 2 cars, but if you draw a line with fuel saving in 1 end and going fast or response in the other, Prius has got longer line at both ends, and it's the longer line that annoyed me. This is the factor that makes me think insight is a simple car and I love the simplicity of it  thumbup.gif It's a bit like a DSLR and a point & Shot camera case, sometime i don't need a DSLR to do the job wink.gif

Sorry for the looong reply, GTG, bosses are around  sweat.gif
So comparing those facts with 41k different price tag, everybody knows the answer of which hybrid better.

Added on May 27, 2011, 10:09 am
QUOTE(jacek @ May 26 2011, 10:13 AM)
From my interpretation on the comments in autoworld, majority of the commentor are not Insight owners and their comments are quite blunt with no actual facts.

There are comments that Insight is not for those who want to save money!?
If want to save money, drive DIESEL car. Haha..

Ultimately, check with Insight owner, and ask them the FC and how much it save their money.
My ride FC is approximately 18-20km/l, which I dun think City, Vios, Civic, Altis can deliver. Correct me if Im wrong.
I saw toyota/ prius fan also in that insight forum try to down insight and said prius better bla bla.
Maybe they're toyota salesmen trying to get some sales for that expensive prius.

We all know Prius not worth a penny here....

This post has been edited by watonk: May 27 2011, 10:09 AM
watonk
post May 27 2011, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(alxdc @ May 26 2011, 09:22 AM)
just to share a forum from autoworld.com.my on honda insight.
many positive and negative comments in there.

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?sh...ic=96790&st=240
after reading the comments from auto world forum, this got me thinking, should I cancel my booking? is kinda scary seems like so many ppl dislike it and what insight is achieving, allot of cars can achieved too. so.......
sigh.....
U can find that conclusion only if u have own the insight, gone through same route, and do calculative comparison.

Buying the Insight, u contribute to less emission and saving the environment.

Cancel your booking and u just contribute to reduce waiting time for others.

Both also good deed. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

watonk
post May 27 2011, 05:03 PM

Now lets discuss on the weakness of Insight.

The front absorbers/dampers can be quite bumpy on uneven road.

May i know if any of u notice that the dampers are quite hard and the 'duk' sound quite obvious? The rear dampers seem ok.

watonk
post May 30 2011, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(limsaiseong @ May 30 2011, 10:11 AM)
hi all, how do you feel about the creep aid system? my unit sucks whenever i stop infront of a traffic light with a slope..it really give me a problem here...did it stated in the manual that insight have a creep aid system?
Try to press harder on brake before release. The amount of braking affect creep aid force.
Yes it have creep aid system but it kinda to quick and need the drive to immediately step on gas after release brake pedal.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0398sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:33 AM