6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Android general questions thread, Ask anything here!

danielcmugen
post Jan 27 2012, 03:45 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 26 2012, 04:05 PM)
i'm a new user of galaxy y... just wanna ask, where does actually the sms been saved? i cant see the inbox... how if i wanna backup or delete several sms?
Not sure bout backup but after u press the message app, you should be able to see all SMS-es being categorized by the contact name. Isnt it like this?

Added on January 27, 2012, 3:51 pm
QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Jan 27 2012, 03:42 AM)
hi there, i'm new in android system.
i got a tablet brand 'shinco', model VX780A.
the thing is that i plan to upgrade it firmware, the android version, but then after been searching all the info through google, i kinda confuse with everything.
can anyone help me with this?
Does that brand have something like SE's PC Companion or Samsung's KIES? If yes, there should be a CD inside the box but with a different name of course

Added on January 27, 2012, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:18 PM)
Hey guys... I feel like I cannot keep the phone on for more that 72 hours continuously.
I'm using Galaxy SII, G version. Currently everything original (no custom rom/kernel)
I believe that most of Android phones have the same problem.

After 50 hours++ of up time of the phone (I mean the phone keeps on for 50 hours), The phone will become noticeable lag, but just a bit, not too much. One of the best evidence is in the game Fruit Ninja. I will feel the lag everytime I slash the fruit.
I'm sure that most apps is closed (except background apps like samsung keypad) and my battery usage graph is in straight horizontal line (without any optimize software, only with BetterBatteryStats). Only 500 - 600MB of RAM is used and I think this is normal.
After I restart the phone, the phone will become smooth and the RAM will be 300 - 400MB used only. Others do not show any difference.
And sure, the phone will repeat the same problem after some hours.

I wish I can keep the phone on continuously and no need to restart it frequently just like normal phones.

Can someone share some experience about this?
Is there any solution for this?
Or this is the nature of Android?
Can Custom ROM solve this?
Quite surprised S2 have this kind of problem, I think this is normal for lower-end androids where the RAM is not sufficient. But S2.. ohmy.gif I seriously got no idea why is it like this, Note also same? I guess future updates will solve this, correct me if Im wrong

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 27 2012, 04:00 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 27 2012, 10:00 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(@Duran @ Jan 27 2012, 05:16 PM)
Can add shortcut to enable data network? I'm using Galaxy SL.  Holding the power button will bring up the option...but scared power button spoil cuz i switch data on/off often. Also my fat finger will tertekan off instead sweat.gif
Sure can, just search in android market

Added on January 27, 2012, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jan 27 2012, 07:25 PM)
My friend does not perform maintainence well on his Galaxy Note. So I'm not sure about Note.
Hope the future updates can help. But I'm sure that it will make the phone heavier...
Is there any more suggestion for my  problem?sad.gif

Well I installed Memory Booster as my first experiment to solve this problem, though it will drain my juice a lot... I hope it isn't hardware compatibility issue. JL
Why not check the s2 official thread here to see if this is a common issue or not? smile.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 27 2012, 10:02 PM
danielcmugen
post Jan 31 2012, 10:02 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(xzjasonzx @ Jan 31 2012, 08:44 PM)
Is Brightstar a ori HTC distributor?
Yes
danielcmugen
post Feb 2 2012, 04:00 PM

5,537 posts

1) How to switch to the standard view of facebook? Im stuck with mobile version.

2) If Im on mobile version, how do I chat?

3) What's the use of the FB app? Currently I go by using the browser.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 2 2012, 04:01 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 5 2012, 04:51 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 5 2012, 12:28 PM)
Answer:

1. If you're in the web browser, you can try change URL to touch.facebook.com.  Or better change the agent settings of your browser to desktop mode, not mobile.  So facebook will always be in full desktop form.

2. Probably not.  Use the "facebook chat" app.

3. That's the supposeldy best experience on mobile and tablet, that's why there is a "facebook" app.  Going via browser is only done if you have no choice, or you use a PC.
Thx a lot! Really appreciate it biggrin.gif

But how to switch to desktop mode?
danielcmugen
post Feb 7 2012, 03:41 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Feb 5 2012, 07:46 PM)
usually in the browser for facebook site scroll to the bottom of the page should have a way to switch to desktop version or get a browser like dolphin browser and change the user agent to desktop then should work.
Dun have "switch to desktop" at the bottom, so how?

Added on February 7, 2012, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(objectretrieval @ Feb 7 2012, 12:34 PM)
I just bought a second hand that still runs Froyo for my lil sis. What do I have to do to the phone so that it starts with a clean slate. I notice some apps weren't running properly. Like they're blocked or something.
Totally default?
Settings - privacy - factory data reset

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 7 2012, 03:42 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 10 2012, 03:02 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(sporesan @ Feb 9 2012, 09:27 PM)
Can show me how to remove all phone contacts in phone memory(not SIM card)? I want to easily do it.........
What phone are u using? If you're using samsung, it should be like this.

Contacts --> *Press the button on the left side of the home button* --> Delete --> *Tick* "Select all" --> Delete

Added on February 10, 2012, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(khalpowers @ Feb 8 2012, 10:49 PM)
This happens because of the browser "user agent" setting mahh..just set to desktop...wallaaa...
Cannot find 1?

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 10 2012, 03:04 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 10 2012, 03:42 PM

5,537 posts

[quote=sporesan,Feb 10 2012, 03:39 PM]
[quote=danielcmugen,Feb 10 2012, 03:02 PM]
What phone are u using? If you're using samsung, it should be like this.

Contacts --> *Press the button on the left side of the home button* --> Delete --> *Tick* "Select all" --> Delete
im using a samsung note but i have at least 100numbers in phone memory.......

[/quote]
U got *tick* "Select all?"
danielcmugen
post Feb 10 2012, 08:59 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(sporesan @ Feb 10 2012, 05:54 PM)
no.....
Why u never tick? unsure.gif Got that option or not?
danielcmugen
post Feb 14 2012, 12:37 AM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(s y n c @ Feb 12 2012, 03:51 PM)
How to change font size display of SMS messages for Samsung and HTC? Or Even better to change the font size of everything like Blackberry...
Having a huge display but cannot use it...
Please help, thanks.
I think it's called "fontomizer", try and search in A.market.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 14 2012, 12:37 AM
danielcmugen
post Feb 14 2012, 05:55 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(budakdegilz @ Feb 14 2012, 05:52 PM)
hi senior android user...
i'm newbie for this whole smartphone/android thing...
and i'm using xperia ray
so my question is..
*how much regularly you use mobile data plan per month??
*and i do have this widget call data monitor...is it accurate???

notworthy.gif
Around 100mb, mostly use to surf LYN. I've never used that widget before, I used 3G watchdog since day 1. Quite accurate but not exactly 100%.
danielcmugen
post Feb 16 2012, 05:14 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Feb 15 2012, 05:34 PM)
hi. i want to ask.

what if i bought a Galaxy note running GB 2.3 and want to upgrade to ICS 4.0, how to do this? I know official release not out yet, but when its out, how to do it?

I asked my friend but he told me sth to do with Samsung Kies.. the only thing i found about kies is Kies air app on the market..

also, all i could find about upgrading android is to root the phone, which I prefer to avoid coz afraid my phone get f up sweat.gif
U should have KIES CD inside your phone box, install it into your computer and you can check for firmware updates. KIES is also used for transfering files and all that, something like SE's PC companion.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 16 2012, 05:15 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 23 2012, 03:59 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(slehead @ Feb 23 2012, 09:58 AM)
hye..what to check when buying 2nd unit htc phone..can some1 help me?..i already tried to search lowyat but don't find the specific thread...
If SIS set can check this out - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1755158
For checking the device's condition - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/534463 <--Outdated but some are still applicable.
danielcmugen
post Feb 23 2012, 10:05 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Feb 23 2012, 08:50 PM)
what is SIS?

Sorry total noob here ! rclxub.gif
Official distributor for HTC devices other than Brightstar. I think only got these 2...

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 23 2012, 10:08 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 26 2012, 04:16 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(budakdegilz @ Feb 26 2012, 01:16 PM)
have anyone know how to set same pic to multiple contact list??
and how to access SIM contact??
1) Just set the same picture on other contacts la.
2) Not sure bout others but contacts in SIM can't put pics.
danielcmugen
post Feb 26 2012, 04:25 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 26 2012, 04:18 PM)
anyone knows where 3g/edge icon located at samsung galaxy ace?
On the left side of the signal bar smile.gif , I mean next to it.
danielcmugen
post Feb 28 2012, 04:10 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(budakdegilz @ Feb 26 2012, 06:29 PM)
ala dude... tongue.gif
that is for "import" or "export" the data...
i means is ACCESS(mostly edit) the SIM card contact
Long press the contact?
danielcmugen
post Mar 10 2012, 02:36 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(mayomagic @ Mar 10 2012, 01:11 PM)
Wanna ask, I'm using data plan. When connect via wifi, does the data plan auto off without switching it off?
Ya, it will auto use wifi but if wifi suddenly drop connection it will auto switch to 3G(will use your data).
danielcmugen
post Mar 10 2012, 03:31 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(mayomagic @ Mar 10 2012, 03:18 PM)
Kool. That's mean I don't need to switch on/off regularly aite
It doesn't exactly off, it's just that if u on both wifi and 3G...it will only use wifi. So if wifi connection drop, it just switches to 3G. The packet data is still ticked even if u on wifi.
danielcmugen
post Mar 12 2012, 02:18 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Mar 12 2012, 07:53 AM)
Want to ask.

For any android phone, if we upgrade the OS version, it will reset to default. What happens to those apps we bought? Do we have to backup first & restore? I heard that it won't always work. In cases where it won't what happens then?
When I updated my phone from 2.2 froyo to 2.3 gingerbread, all my previous data were still inside. I'm not sure about other devices and the rest kenjixx already replied smile.gif .

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:53 AM