Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

wKkaY
post Sep 7 2005, 05:57 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I just came back from shooting the three bodies.

Luck wasn't on my side today! I paid the entrance fee to go up the tallest building in Melbourne (Rialto Tower), only to find that the lookout facing the West was cordoned. Seems that some Year 10 kids were fooling around and broke it, just this morning!

Anyway, I headed to another place, where I took a few shots of it. I'll scan them after they return from the lab.
March05
post Sep 7 2005, 07:17 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 7 2005, 05:57 PM)
I just came back from shooting the three bodies.
Counting on you, man.
Disaster here in KL - the sky's totally overcast, and it's drizzling. We need a miracle....
deepyu, are u in KL too?
Mr.LKM, how's it looking over in Kluang?
I fear, deepyu, our telescope dreams are evaporating fast........
deepyu
post Sep 8 2005, 10:52 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 7 2005, 07:17 PM)
Counting on you, man.
Disaster here in KL - the sky's totally overcast, and it's drizzling. We need a miracle....
deepyu, are u in KL too?
Mr.LKM, how's it looking over in Kluang?
I fear, deepyu, our telescope dreams are evaporating fast........
yea2..me also kl..yesterday no chance at all lar.. cry.gif
..telescope.. cry.gif cry.gif

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 8 2005, 01:34 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
The sky is cloudy!!!!!!!!!!! I hope I can take the shot today... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Our Telescopes !!!!!!!!!!

March05, can you tell me the time they appear today?

This post has been edited by Mr.LKM: Sep 8 2005, 01:38 PM
March05
post Sep 8 2005, 03:08 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 8 2005, 01:34 PM)
March05, can you tell me the time they appear today?
Tonite Moon and Venus will be about 13 degrees apart (last nite only 1.5 degree). Can still take photo, but not so dramatic, lah. The Moon will be fatter, so difficult to catch nice earthshine, the best earthshine shots are taken when the moon is just one day old.
Look West again after sunset, try for the fun of it, bye,bye, telescopes ........ cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 9 2005, 03:52 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Ai...... I am totally disappointed with the stupid hell sky! It blocked our way!!! OUR WAY TO TELESCOPE!! mad.gif
wKkaY
post Sep 9 2005, 04:15 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

2005-09-07 facing west at about 7:00PM.

This was the only shot which made it. 50mm f/4 at about 4-16 seconds. I took the others at 200-300mm f/11, which resulted in exposures about 15-30 seconds long - all of them showed trails. I totally forgot about that!
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 9 2005, 04:21 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 9 2005, 04:15 PM)

This was the only shot which made it. 50mm f/4 at about 4-16 seconds. I took the others at 200-300mm f/11, which resulted in exposures about 15-30 seconds long - all of them showed trails. I totally forgot about that!
This makes me... ... ... cry cry.gif cry.gif
March05
post Sep 9 2005, 05:00 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 9 2005, 04:15 PM)
Oooooooo what we missed here in Malaysia!
wKkay, thanks for the shot. We can at least share the event with you even though we were not there with you. You even caught Spica lurking on the other side of the Moon!

I love the composition, with the trees in near silhouette.

How long did it take you to set up the shot? I can almost imagine you running up and down the tower frantically like a madman, then down the street, your eyes fixed on the moon, praying the sky conditions will hold...............Astrophotography can give you the most severe heart palpitations! If not heart failure.
And I think Mr.LKM here is heart broken.
Never mind, there will be more opportunities in the years to come. The Sky giveth, the Sky taketh away.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 9 2005, 05:04 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Not even break, it is totally broken into small pieces...... cry.gif Anyway, thanks for this superb picture! thumbup.gif
March05
post Sep 9 2005, 08:43 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Finally tonite can see the Moon, Venus and Jupiter. Still very cloudy, but catching glimpses of the trio in brief breaks......just watched for over an hour.

wKkay, looking at your pic again, the trees seem to be raising their arms (the branches) in celebration of the event! Or are they reaching out to join the three (four?) friends in the sky? A very thought provoking composition indeed. The more I look at it the more I like it.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 9 2005, 09:22 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Hey guys! This is our last chance to get the telescopes, show your weopon to them!! I am gonna take them now! Go get it fast or we will regret thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
deepyu
post Sep 12 2005, 10:15 AM

海賊王
815 posts

cry.gif cry.gif Nice shot there wKkaY cry.gif cry.gif
very busy last 3days was hoping u guys can shoot
nice pic like tis.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 12 2005, 05:53 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

I shot down them! But I never see the meet of Venus and Moon cry.gif I will post them to you all tomorrow! brows.gif
deepyu
post Sep 14 2005, 11:37 AM

海賊王
815 posts

hey guys have a read here..very interesting... thumbup.gif
http://www.canon.co.jp/Imaging/astro/index-e.html
March05
post Sep 14 2005, 12:05 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 14 2005, 11:37 AM)
hey guys have a read here..very interesting... thumbup.gif
http://www.canon.co.jp/Imaging/astro/index-e.html
How much it cost in Malaysia? I think more than GOTO telescope...... cry.gif
Not rich enough.......
deepyu
post Sep 14 2005, 12:28 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 14 2005, 12:05 PM)
How much it cost in Malaysia? I think more than GOTO telescope...... cry.gif
Not rich enough.......
haha..but instead of buying telescope..we can also do astrophotography with
SLR..using 100-300mm lens can give u a nice nebulae or star clusters.
so if u do have slr with telephoto lens can shoot lar. wat u need is buy
the equatorial equipment tat can follow the stars movement..
and later when have budget ca buy telescope lar.. drool.gif
March05
post Sep 14 2005, 12:51 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 14 2005, 12:28 PM)
....and later when have budget ca buy telescope lar.. drool.gif
but i want everthing NOW!
ayuh, pengsan lah, how to save money for so many things. I think everyday eat kacang putih only also cannot help.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 14 2005, 05:01 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Sorry, guys...... I lupa to bring the photos to upload here doh.gif I swear that I will upload them tomorrow smile.gif Anyone wants the price list of the Meade telescopes that are available in Malaysia? Lowyat.net doesn't support .xls file, therefore I cannot upload it here sad.gif
deepyu
post Sep 14 2005, 05:08 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 14 2005, 05:01 PM)
Sorry, guys...... I lupa to bring the photos to upload here doh.gif I swear that I will upload them tomorrow smile.gif Anyone wants the price list of the Meade telescopes that are available in Malaysia? Lowyat.net doesn't support .xls file, therefore I cannot upload it here sad.gif
aiyoo..me waiting like crazy... drool.gif drool.gif biggrin.gif
Mr.LKM wat r u waiting for?? buy lar Meade.. drool.gif
Somebody must buy it to keep tis astrophotography forum alive.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
I cant see anyone else but u.. sweat.gif

64 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0241sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:22 AM