Unit tester compilation, Put your results if u want to..
evofantasy
Apr 4 2011, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 4 2011, 05:43 PM) no one said anything about hard counter though. and banelings are even mentioned by blizz themselves numerous times to be a counter to units like marines. see how it ended up in the hands of koreans wwwwwww saw july's banes? well they sure counter everything... morrow vs jinro in TSL3? they do counter everything... sc2 is real time... thus the timing matters a lot... u can maximize it via upgrades to make things easier...
SiewKaiz
Apr 4 2011, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 4 2011, 05:46 PM) saw july's banes? well they sure counter everything... morrow vs jinro in TSL3? they do counter everything... sc2 is real time... thus the timing matters a lot... u can maximize it via upgrades to make things easier... MC chew july banes perfectly at GSL march RO32
Quazacolt
Apr 4 2011, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 4 2011, 05:46 PM) saw july's banes? well they sure counter everything... morrow vs jinro in TSL3? they do counter everything... sc2 is real time... thus the timing matters a lot... u can maximize it via upgrades to make things easier... my point exactly.
evofantasy
Apr 4 2011, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Apr 4 2011, 05:48 PM) MC chew july banes perfectly at GSL march RO32 u see MC? he counter everything!!! 1 gate expand holding a 3 rax timing perfectly... players etc i guess...
quest_5692
Apr 4 2011, 06:15 PM
sc2 is still too young to put conclusion in everything. the player standard is not there yet to determine what BO counters what BO. guess we wont be surprised in another 8-10 years everyone will be understanding the game so well starcraft 2 will be all about executing build orders and 1 small mistake will cost you the game. even in GSL finals now we can see loop holes is play.
Added on April 4, 2011, 6:19 pmexample:
time pre GSL 2 - baneling counters marine GSL 2 - FoxeR counters banelings after GSL 2 - foxer's marine micro is pre-requisite to be even called a good terran
when time goes by, overall players' standard will improve and change the meaning of counter.
not to mention there will be endless patch coming out in the future.
This post has been edited by quest_5692: Apr 4 2011, 06:19 PM
TShazairi
Apr 5 2011, 01:09 AM
75 Roaches vs 150 Marines = 26 Marines (without steam, without creep, without any upgrades)
Damn!!
keretapir
Apr 5 2011, 05:03 AM
Marines with steam  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  @ts:can do a burrow-move 10 roach vs 20 marine test?the roaches have good concave against the marines...
Quazacolt
Apr 5 2011, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(keretapir @ Apr 5 2011, 05:03 AM) Marines with steam  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  @ts:can do a burrow-move 10 roach vs 20 marine test?the roaches have good concave against the marines... marines generally have better because of smaller unit size. of course, unburrowing into their face pointblank does make this point moot
TShazairi
Apr 5 2011, 10:02 AM
The results surely shows how insane damage done by super mass marines.
With the same amount of money and with a critical mass, marines pawns roaches. Plus, marines can also attack air, roaches can't. And with medievacs + steams, it's just make it more OP. Roaches however do have the advantage of burrow ability + speed.
Quazacolt
Apr 5 2011, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 5 2011, 10:02 AM) The results surely shows how insane damage done by super mass marines. With the same amount of money and with a critical mass, marines pawns roaches. Plus, marines can also attack air, roaches can't. And with medievacs + steams, it's just make it more OP. Roaches however do have the advantage of burrow ability + speed. stim speed > roaches unless they have creep. even then its still pretty comparable. and of course, scanner sweeps i wonder what can blizz do about marines
jeffvip
Apr 5 2011, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 5 2011, 08:11 AM) marines generally have better because of smaller unit size. of course, unburrowing into their face pointblank does make this point moot smaller sometimes is their disadvantage as they are very afraid of AOE attack from banes, tanks and Collosi How bout Stalker? gt some1 do an test for this unit?
TShazairi
Apr 5 2011, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 5 2011, 10:05 AM) stim speed > roaches unless they have creep. even then its still pretty comparable. and of course, scanner sweeps i wonder what can blizz do about marines  i have this slight feeling (i have to be very defensive on this) that marines are quite OP. And i think Blizzard have to do something. And i think terran players should forget all those mech play. Just max the marines and a few medievecs with some microing. GG
Quazacolt
Apr 5 2011, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(jeffvip @ Apr 5 2011, 10:34 AM) smaller sometimes is their disadvantage as they are very afraid of AOE attack from banes, tanks and Collosi How bout Stalker? gt some1 do an test for this unit? concaving, not really. and look at the marine tester on the bnet post, even colossi gg to marines. ROFL AFAIK no siege tank testing yet though stalker was tested too
Koroster
Apr 5 2011, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 5 2011, 10:45 AM) i have this slight feeling (i have to be very defensive on this) that marines are quite OP. And i think Blizzard have to do something. And i think terran players should forget all those mech play. Just max the marines and a few medievecs with some microing. GG Marine is weak againsts what actually? i play so long oso dunno swt...
Quazacolt
Apr 5 2011, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 5 2011, 10:45 AM) i have this slight feeling (i have to be very defensive on this) that marines are quite OP. And i think Blizzard have to do something. And i think terran players should forget all those mech play. Just max the marines and a few medievecs with some microing. GG from unit tester, what we can see on gsl/pro koreans, yes they are indeed quite OP. however that only apply to a small % of players, and/or applicable only to a atk + move/pre-set critical massed unit tester. that is why you dont see drastic changes/immediate nerfs on marines. that said, something definitely need to be done, though not too much as the rest of bnet's terran players would take a hit from that. do remember, GSL/korea does not speak for the entire starcraft community. blizzard as a company still prioritizes money, even when they do have to look out for their korean friends/esports (look at bnet 2.0, casuals all day erry day  )
evofantasy
Apr 5 2011, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(Koroster @ Apr 5 2011, 12:23 PM) Marine is weak againsts what actually? i play so long oso dunno swt... nothing!!! http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=200525
SiewKaiz
Apr 5 2011, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Koroster @ Apr 5 2011, 12:23 PM) Marine is weak againsts what actually? i play so long oso dunno swt... u top 200~ i think u should giv us the answer instead of us~@@
TShazairi
Apr 5 2011, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2011, 12:43 PM) taken from the forum: But OT: I offrace as terran in teamgames and I always just mass marine medivac every game with really quick upgrades. The only problems I have are colossi, high templars and infestors. You can split against banelings, and marines will tear apart pretty much everything else... I always found marines to be the most effective vs protoss so I never understood why everyone makes so many marauders. I think a few marauders for conc shells is good, but the majority of your army should be marines.. idk, just my opinion
quest_5692
Apr 5 2011, 03:49 PM
in tvt, marines can win tank if you can get a good flank or catch them off guard.
Imo, marines are like mutalisk of zerg, forcefield of protoss, the skill cap is so high even if u have only imba understanding and micro of the above 3 units can win you the game.