Unit tester compilation, Put your results if u want to..

TShazairi
post Apr 3 2011, 11:46 PM, updated 15y ago

2,694 posts

Hi guys,
Just wanna start a thread regarding unit testing.. feel free to put some inputs.

Anyway,

I just tested roaches vs marines combination, and here are the results:

10 Roaches vs 20 Marines = 5 Roaches
10 Roaches vs 20 Steamed Marines = 9 Marines
10 Speed Roaches vs 20 Steamed Marines = 8 Marines
10 Speed Roaches +1 Armor vs 20 Steamed Marines = 3 Roaches

All the results above are without creep and just A-move. Tested a few times and I took the average number.

It seems that without any upgrades, roaches pawns marines..
But with Steam pack, marines pawns roaches totally!
Hence, must upgrade armor for roaches to counter the steam..

I will update other tests soon..
dishwasher
post Apr 4 2011, 09:51 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Steamed marines? Didn't realize they had a sauna system installed in their suits. Damn OPed marines.
Sichiri
post Apr 4 2011, 09:53 AM

1,191 posts

"Would you like your marines Grilled, Smoked or Steamed?"
awyongcarl
post Apr 4 2011, 10:00 AM

1,870 posts

Can I have my SPEESS MUHREENS stir fried?
Quazacolt
post Apr 4 2011, 10:48 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

lol tfmers spamming

to OP: stim, as in stimulant.
and umm, from the other forum thread i have linked, which you have replied and assumingly inspired from, marines do > roaches when they are critical massed compared to roach. your test is pretty much redundant.

also, mere armor would not make much difference on the approximately doubled up (more if stop-micro'd properly etc) DPS of the marines. feel free to try urself anyways if you're skeptical
KepalaRadio
post Apr 4 2011, 11:44 AM

389 posts

HAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAH QUAZA YOU SO FUNNY
Quazacolt
post Apr 4 2011, 01:01 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Apr 4 2011, 11:44 AM)
HAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAH QUAZA YOU SO FUNNY
nice caps
SiewKaiz
post Apr 4 2011, 01:02 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 4 2011, 10:48 AM)
lol tfmers spamming

and umm, from the other forum thread i have linked, which you have replied and assumingly inspired from, marines do > roaches when they are critical massed compared to roach. your test is pretty much redundant.

also, mere armor would not make much difference on the approximately doubled up (more if stop-micro'd properly etc) DPS of the marines. feel free to try urself anyways if you're skeptical
i wonder why ppl tend to upgrade attack and armor~ hmmm~
evofantasy
post Apr 4 2011, 01:12 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Apr 4 2011, 01:02 PM)
i wonder why ppl tend to upgrade attack and armor~ hmmm~
vT always upgrade armor
vZ always upgrade attack
vP always upgrade attack

why? research urself
TShazairi
post Apr 4 2011, 01:17 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 4 2011, 10:48 AM)
lol tfmers spamming

aight, i will test using more units..

Added on April 4, 2011, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 4 2011, 01:12 PM)
vT always upgrade armor
vZ always upgrade attack
vP always upgrade attack

why? research urself
is it because T has high attack rate units such as marines? hence a good armor can decrease the fast damage while P attacks quite slow but very high damage per attack..

This post has been edited by hazairi: Apr 4 2011, 01:21 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 4 2011, 02:16 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 4 2011, 01:17 PM)

is it because T has high attack rate units such as marines? hence a good armor can decrease the fast damage while P attacks quite slow but very high damage per attack..
its more to the e-dps calculation...
getting damage upgrades vs terran dun do as well as armor...
for example bling +1 armor dun get 1 shotted by tanks...
as for bio like marine, stim is a limited period thus u can force a restim...
nt to mention their high dps but low burst....

like vs zerg u have +1zeal 2 shotting lings compared to +0zeal tat 3 shot lings...
quest_5692
post Apr 4 2011, 04:12 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

speed upgrade got nothing to do with the result if you 1A both army...
Quazacolt
post Apr 4 2011, 04:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Apr 4 2011, 04:12 PM)
speed upgrade got nothing to do with the result if you 1A both army...
its both a yes and no in this situation, and how you conduct the test. if you want more solid/diverse data, refer to the bnet forum link i have pointed out on the other thread

Added on April 4, 2011, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 4 2011, 01:17 PM)

dont forget on test methods, and unit counts (more specifically, critical massed vs non critical massed encounters, very applicable to ranged dps, more specifically towards marines/mutalisks)

well the bnet forum thread was basically testing marines vs all sorts of units. while it looks like you're focusing on what counter marines? or just zerg?

having a clear goal would also help in what sorta tests you want to do, as to the test methods etc.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 4 2011, 04:53 PM
LoNeLy-Zhai
post Apr 4 2011, 05:09 PM

21 posts

Roach > stimmed marine provided if roach has upgrades, but roach will lose stimmed marines with MEDIVAC because the damage output is not high enough. So go for the banelings for the high output DPS to overrun medviac heal rate.( or to be more simple, kill it almost instantly )
SiewKaiz
post Apr 4 2011, 05:10 PM

304 posts

why need tester we all know that marines > anything that not AOE
Quazacolt
post Apr 4 2011, 05:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(LoNeLy-Zhai @ Apr 4 2011, 05:09 PM)
Roach > stimmed marine provided if roach has upgrades, but roach will lose stimmed marines with MEDIVAC because the damage output is not high enough. So go for the banelings for the high output DPS to overrun medviac heal rate.( or to be more simple, kill it almost instantly )
>he said go for the banelings

mfw he doesnt realize marines micro'd properly would gg units that counter them. even banelings, and yes even on creeps depending on situation.
evofantasy
post Apr 4 2011, 05:38 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 4 2011, 05:17 PM)
>he said go for the banelings

mfw he doesnt realize marines micro'd properly would gg units that counter them. even banelings, and yes even on creeps depending on situation.
there is no such thing as hard counter in sc2 #fact
Quazacolt
post Apr 4 2011, 05:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 4 2011, 05:38 PM)
there is no such thing as hard counter in sc2 #fact
no one said anything about hard counter though. and banelings are even mentioned by blizz themselves numerous times to be a counter to units like marines. see how it ended up in the hands of koreans wwwwwww
quest_5692
post Apr 4 2011, 05:45 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

marines > everything. nuff said.
SiewKaiz
post Apr 4 2011, 05:46 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 4 2011, 05:43 PM)
no one said anything about hard counter though. and banelings are even mentioned by blizz themselves numerous times to be a counter to units like marines. see how it ended up in the hands of koreans wwwwwww
but still~ baneling still used bcoz banelings is needed against marines~

0.0214sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:24 PM