Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

HaHaNoCluE
post May 2 2007, 02:22 AM

628 posts

ok, i got a stupid question here, i'm totally noob with wc, so please dun flame me, comments r more than welcome...

can i use use a surmarsible water pump (my dad was using it for the little fountain in front of my house, so should be very strong but this is very very quite unit, expensive 1), get some1 to make a relay coz the pump is running on ac, n dump the pump into spare 200 liter water tank resting on top of my bathroom ceiling without any radiator, resevior, bla bla??? it uses quite a large inner diameter hose though (i think should be at least 1/2"... is ther any cpu block with that size that is easy to use n cheap enuf for this stupid project??? will this workable??? i mean juz wanna try it out of curiosity, if it's workable...

so pretty simple, from water pump (which is submerge in water tank) to cpu block than back to water tank... total length is about 50', 10' down, 15' to pc, 15' back n 10' up to water tank... roughly about that... i can use the same water pump (max power) n shoot water up to 40' high (lamp post)...

oso, if running on tap water ok??? i dunwan to shower with coolant... hehehe...

tq tq...

Added on May 2, 2007, 3:38 amthis guy is much much crazier... he uses swimming pool..! shocking.gif

"Water Cooling Computers With A Swimming Pool"

link: http://www.thebuehls.com/pool_cooling/

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: May 3 2007, 12:51 PM
HaHaNoCluE
post May 5 2007, 01:47 PM

628 posts

wher can i buy the barbs needed for my project??? how to tap thread to the existing plastic barbs??? let say if i purchase a car oil cooler or heater coil n place it in the water tank (instead of using running water tap water, now i have choice to use watever liquid i like)... is it ok??? will it be sufficient cooling the liquid for wc setup??? also a... wat cpu block should i buy??? got those cheap cheap rm100 cpu block which is easy enuf to get a??? how should i know if my pump is good for high flow/restrictive/bla bla??? i got no idea...

got any other pump (around rm100) dat u guys recommend??? if can use 12v dc better... can i use gas cooking hose??? it seems stronger, won't bend too much to cause flow problem...

tq..
HaHaNoCluE
post May 10 2007, 02:10 PM

628 posts

soli, do barbs oso got performance differences a???
HaHaNoCluE
post May 18 2007, 08:06 PM

628 posts

those china made pure copper cpu block ok a??? only cost rm70 in china (RMB150)... my bro in law saw 1 ther... still planning to try my water tank wc.. my room is in the middle of renovation... hahaha... i've changed the tank size to 200 gallon... i'll juz run tap water... the big water pump confirm functioning... n it got control for adjustment...
HaHaNoCluE
post May 21 2007, 06:32 PM

628 posts

ok, since i oc my proc sumore (e6600 L631A) at 400fsb x 9 @ 1.5250vcore (bios), idle near 50 load near 70... i'm not sure if running on air cooling is feasible... i like to know if any1 has experience with big big air cooler like thermalrite ultra 120 extrem is capable to do so??? n will simple wc kit consist of good cpu block (swiftech/koolance/DD/etc) with single 120mm x 120mm radiator + 1 x 120mm fan with silent pump can perform better??? i don't want major noise... so both my prospect solution only consist 1 x 120mm fan... my case has 1 x 120mm fan inlet, 1 x 120mm + 1 x 80mm outlet...
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 2 2007, 07:43 PM

628 posts

pic of simple kit n add on of mcw30 + wcw60 + 120 rad

pic of dual mcp350 pump splitted with 2 'T' joins

ok, i wanna wc my rig n i wanna start simple 1st... ie, all swiftech here... micro resevior, d5(mcp655)/mcp350 pump, 240mm rad, apogee gt

if i got it up n running trouble free, then might upgrade with another 120mm rad + mcw30 (nb block) + wcw60 (gpu)

i wanna know if i got the routing of the piping (tubing) correct... will the 240mm + 120mm rad be sufficient???

is it better i put the both 240mm n 120mm rad in serial (120mm rite after 240mm rad like in pic) or locate the 120mm after the mcw30 (nb)??? i thought if i locate after the nb, the gpu might get lower temp water as the rad might be able so shed off some heat... will it cause problem like restriction or flow???

my proc (50 idle load near 70) n nb (at 1.95vmch) is kinda hot... my gpu is idle at near 60 too...

i ther any1 selling the mcp350 pump???

will it be better if i run dual mcp350 pumps??? 1 for proc n nb, another for gpu...

i wan the wc setup to be silent... heard the d5 make some high pitch noise which is irritating... is it???

1/2" or 3/8" tubing better???

i know i got maybe too much prob here but i'd spent tons of time to figure out the wc setup, it juz dat i have no idea how should i loop them n wat should i buy... my case can't fit a 360mm (120.3) rad, so the best bet to fit everything inside my casing is 240mm + 120mm rad... i hope the pictures r clear enuf...

or this might be a better looping route???

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Jun 3 2007, 04:41 PM
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 18 2007, 01:12 AM

628 posts

any link for 1st timer installation of wc kit???
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 18 2007, 04:09 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Jun 18 2007, 02:20 AM)
uhuuuuu... i juz got the wc kit... yeah, but i haven't got myself the tubing yet... n time... hmmm, need some time to do some study n finding the necessay tools... hehe, tq tq.. notworthy.gif

NICE SELLER, N OSO NICE FREN... if v happen to have holiday to meet in kl, bring me to see some of ur frens drift huh..!

*next project, gotta get myself a new mountain bike... rolleyes.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 19 2007, 12:43 PM

628 posts

i can't figure out if i install my rad on top of my casing n resevoir at the 5.25" bay, so how should i get the air trapped out??? how should i refill water??? when i shut off my pc, will the water from the rad on top will flow down n fill up the reservoir???

really how should i fill up water in the first time??? hehehe... do i need to have an opening on top of the whole wc setup???

need advice...!!! sweat.gif

TQ...
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 20 2007, 12:00 PM

628 posts

ok, installing the reservoir is oredi hard enuf for me... how the hell am i gonna install the bracket to the reservoir??? as illustrated in the manual... the screw, then the stell washer then rubber washer between bracket hole n ear of reservoir then through the whole thing n finally the nut with teeth...

the screw isn't long enuf!!! i tried the whole nite till my gf ask me y so hard to get through the hole (nut)...

i juz install the barbs to the reservoir with the o-ring... no ptfe tape or glue... is it ok???
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 25 2007, 12:53 AM

628 posts

or save a few more months n forks out a little xtra... air beasr??? wah new name... hahahaha...!
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 3 2007, 07:47 PM

628 posts

finally big day is done, i can continue to hunt for case mod a bit n then installing the wc kit... mtz, i guess i nid 10ft of the tubes lar... inform me when gpu block n radbox reach ur place... might even add another 240mm rad...

Added on July 4, 2007, 7:43 pmanyone has a drawing (softcopy) of holes for a 240mm radiator??? i wanna cut 2 x 120mm blowholes for my rad on top of my case... icon_question.gif please...!

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Jul 4 2007, 07:43 PM
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 7 2007, 12:03 PM

628 posts

then will undervolt to d5 is possible???
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 9 2007, 02:29 AM

628 posts

or search around in garage sales for good used unit of wc... ther r a few for around rm500 to rm700... good luck
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 16 2007, 05:27 PM

628 posts

mtelzone, can gif link to the new stealth???
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 6 2007, 02:41 AM

628 posts

i jump start my psu n my pump (leak test) but they aren't working n cause the psu to shut off... what's happen???

psu = acbel 550W i-power gold
pump = swiftech mcp655 (new)

no other device is connected to the psu... but after i remove the pump n connect my molex fans... it works perfectly... my pump failed me???
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 6 2007, 03:21 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Aug 6 2007, 01:44 PM)
from ur PM i assume u got it figured out already?
MTZ,
there's no way i can get my acbel jump start but i manage to find my antique P1 100MHz which was using non atx mod psu (manual on/off)... n wala, the psu still alive, n i can start my pump... hahahaha... i read that the acbel need to have load on the 3.3V n 5.0V rail so that it can jump start... dunno lar... doh.gif

lexus,
errr the new swiftech small all in 1 kit seems to be a better bet leh... at least it's projected price is less than rm500 (if i'm not wrong ar)... wub.gif me oso wanna get 1 for my gf pc...
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 10 2007, 02:57 AM

628 posts

how much of hydra-x do i need to mix in my wc loop???

10' of 1/2" tubing
2 x 240mm rads
micro reservoir

1/3 bottle of the hydra-x enuf???
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 12 2007, 02:13 AM

628 posts

picture of my setup n look at the resevoir... blueish/green gel floating around...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/41021/+180#entry12820227

i use distilled water (battery water, almost 1 liter) with hydrx (slightly more than 1/2 bottle)... i dunno y but when i stop my pump, some blueish gel will float in my resevoir n also in the tubing... is it normal??? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Aug 12 2007, 02:14 AM
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 13 2007, 03:02 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Aug 13 2007, 01:43 AM)
did you clean your radiator with vinegar before using it? from what you are saying, those white stuff should be the radiator's flux.

and it is not normal at all. stop using and clean it else u will risk damaging ur setup

Added on August 13, 2007, 1:45 amAnyway, if possible dont use those HydrX. Its cloud your tubing in no time. I just changed my setup tubing, just after 2 months of using Distilled + HydrX 5%. I cannot stand seeing those clouded tubing in my rig. haha

Anyway, I am on PC Ice UV Blue now. Very nice compare to those greenish coolant. haha
yah i clean my radiator with vinegar, i also soak it for 2 hours... then hot boiling water... i cleaned all the parts throughly (if i did't have any mistake as i know)... blink.gif i'm new to wc, but as i did as i read in most websites... yah, i got the whitish thing on the 1st few hours (leak test) even with distilled water only... maybe petronas battery water ain't good enuf??? rclxub.gif hehehe...

btw, how to drain a wc system easily without actually need to turn my rig upside down??? i mean my rig is in pieces, so i can't turn them upside down or all around... rclxub.gif

can drain my wc just use normal heated tap water (from my water heater max up to 45 degree) for supply n exit to a drain??? i mean without recycling the water, then err add another liter of distilled water as supply??? or can i simply blow the tube at one end n hopefully i can blow all the water out the other end??? sweat.gif

0.1003sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:34 AM