Peugeot 308 (2012 Facelifted!), Peugeot 308

SKYjack
post Feb 26 2013, 10:36 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(RX_7 @ Feb 26 2013, 10:13 PM)
hi skyjack,which certain items in 308 which make it having a higher standard than 408?
For a start the engine has not got a bottom protective cover. Fortunately Malaysian roads are not infested with derbies, so not much of a problem. Some of the links and machined parts lack finesse. These parts are hidden, not easily visible. So I suppose there's cost effective factor. I'm sure they work just as well! But it may not be an acceptable standard in Europe.
SKYjack
post Feb 26 2013, 10:44 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(RX_7 @ Feb 26 2013, 10:32 PM)
totally agree on ur second comment!U mentioned b4 that 408 has 8 mods on their engine.
Yes that is true and they are quite significant. For those interested, the following are the reliability mods on the EP6CDTM engine:

1) Engine tuned to run on RON 87 petrol
2) Remapped ECU
3) New designed piston with lower compression
4) New designed catalyzer.
5) New engine oil filter housing with heat exchanger
6) New turbo charger
7) New fuel tank gauge unit with lower pressure pump to handle lower grade petrol.
8) A fuel filter to cater for hash atmospheric condition ( third world country)

Presently only 408 is recipient of this engine.Btw don't think the engines on the 308 or 508 are bad and will fail. 95% of the Prince engine problems have been solved already.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Feb 26 2013, 11:03 PM
lowpro
post Feb 27 2013, 04:25 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 26 2013, 10:44 PM)
Yes that is true and they are quite significant. For those interested, the following are the reliability mods on the EP6CDTM engine:

1) Engine tuned to run on RON 87 petrol
2) Remapped ECU
3) New designed piston with lower compression
4) New designed catalyzer.
5) New engine oil filter housing with heat exchanger
6) New turbo charger
7) New fuel tank gauge unit with lower pressure pump to handle lower grade petrol.
8) A fuel filter to cater for hash atmospheric condition ( third world country)

Presently only 408 is recipient of this engine.Btw don't think the engines on the 308 or 508 are bad and will fail. 95% of the Prince engine problems have been solved already.
LOL thumbup.gif wonder how many times you have explained this already
yoong
post Feb 27 2013, 04:26 PM

234 posts

I still feel bit worried when I read about other drivers 308 having battery and engine issues. Like a time bomb every time I drive!
lencent
post Feb 27 2013, 05:18 PM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(yoong @ Feb 27 2013, 04:26 PM)
I still feel bit worried when I read about other drivers 308 having battery and engine issues. Like a time bomb every time I drive!
that was the reason why i dropped the idea of getting a pug308Thp sad.gif love the design, love the performance but have to give up on it due to its reliability...
jasonlim
post Feb 27 2013, 05:38 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Feb 27 2013, 05:18 PM)
that was the reason why i dropped the idea of getting a pug308Thp sad.gif love the design, love the performance but have to give up on it due to its reliability...
+1
SKYjack
post Feb 27 2013, 06:05 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 27 2013, 04:25 PM)
LOL  thumbup.gif  wonder how many times you have explained this already
Ya quite a few times. I don't mind doing it over and over again. As more and more people become aware of it,it raises value of our Pugs. Remember not too long ago you were not happy owners posting negative reviews of our Pug publicly. I totally agree with that,hence here's my part in being positive.

Perhaps NAZA should hire me as publicity campaign manager biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Feb 27 2013, 06:11 PM
lencent
post Feb 27 2013, 06:09 PM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Feb 27 2013, 05:38 PM)
+1
to make myself clearer (before someone shoot me), i did extensive research on this car from the depollution error issue to how to mod the engine (unplug a cable and insert a plug) to solve the problem. in the end, after weighing the risks of putting such a huge amount of money into this car, i decided to drop it. it may be running just fine for the first few yrs, but what if the problems arise after the warranty ended? the turbo unit itself already costs RM14k. not to forget that the battery has to be replaced almost annually (RM300 each)...

Ultimately, it's up to whether the buyer willing to take the risk (or rich enough to ignore the maintenance cost)... It's a good car no doubt, but looking forward, i would rather choose a car which is worry free and still put a smile on my face every time i drive it biggrin.gif

just my 2-cents...
RX_7
post Feb 27 2013, 06:20 PM

Is it really 14k?
lencent
post Feb 27 2013, 06:24 PM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(RX_7 @ Feb 27 2013, 06:20 PM)
Is it really 14k?
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?ac...pe=post&id=3749

about rm11k, but adding all the labour and otehr parts... probably that price la tongue.gif
lowpro
post Feb 27 2013, 06:54 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 27 2013, 06:05 PM)
Ya quite a few times. I don't mind doing it over and over again. As more and more people become aware of it,it raises value of our Pugs. Remember not too long ago you were not happy owners posting negative reviews of our Pug publicly. I totally agree with that,hence here's my part in being positive.

Perhaps NAZA should hire me as publicity campaign manager biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
you da man lah!! we should meet at a tt session. thumbup.gif
azbro
post Feb 27 2013, 07:58 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Feb 27 2013, 06:09 PM)
i would rather choose a car which is worry free and still put a smile on my face every time i drive it biggrin.gif

Tell me about it...of all the 'affordable' C segment car's i've driven...none put a smile on my face except the 308T smile.gif
lencent
post Feb 27 2013, 08:12 PM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 27 2013, 07:58 PM)
Tell me about it...of all the 'affordable' C segment car's i've driven...none put a smile on my face except the 308T smile.gif
different benchmark for different people bro... for myself maintenance is one of the top few things that i consider when choosing my car...
yoong
post Feb 27 2013, 08:58 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Feb 27 2013, 05:18 PM)
Not sure about the THP (cant afford that:P ) but so that being said about the battery/engine issue, the ride so far is really good and I'm a happy man.
jasonlim
post Feb 28 2013, 09:49 AM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Feb 27 2013, 06:09 PM)
to make myself clearer (before someone shoot me), i did extensive research on this car from the depollution error issue to how to mod the engine (unplug a cable and insert a plug) to solve the problem. in the end, after weighing the risks of putting such a huge amount of money into this car, i decided to drop it. it may be running just fine for the first few yrs, but what if the problems  arise after the warranty ended? the turbo unit itself already costs RM14k. not to forget that the battery has to be replaced almost annually (RM300 each)...

Ultimately, it's up to whether the buyer willing to take the risk (or rich enough to ignore the maintenance cost)... It's a good car no doubt, but looking forward, i would rather choose a car which is worry free and still put a smile on my face every time i drive it biggrin.gif

just my 2-cents...
almost same like u.just that i still have feeling for 308T wub.gif
SKYjack
post Feb 28 2013, 09:57 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 27 2013, 07:58 PM)
Way to go bro.....we enjoy cars that push the boundary limits of technology! rclxms.gif I'd rather do that then be safe with a boring car!
SKYjack
post Feb 28 2013, 10:06 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 27 2013, 06:54 PM)
you da man lah!! we should meet at a tt session.  thumbup.gif
Tks bro thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Don't be surprised if I pop that list again & again, to anyone who wants to know. I'm glad to note the EP6CDTM starting to get on other models, like the Citroen DS4. Waiting for the day when owners come to say,hey this engine works like a dream,as me and 50 others at the 408 forum have found.

I'm sure you know this already,but for others interested. Some of us had this car for almost year now,a few already crossed 20Kkm, no battery problems, engine or gearbox troubles.

PS. Sorry to hijack guys, this thread is about 308facelift.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Feb 28 2013, 10:35 AM
azbro
post Feb 28 2013, 02:58 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 28 2013, 10:06 AM)
Tks bro thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif Don't be surprised if I pop that list again & again, to anyone who wants to know. I'm glad to note the EP6CDTM starting to get on other models, like the Citroen DS4. Waiting for the day when owners come to say,hey this engine works like a dream,as me and 50 others at the 408 forum have found.

I'm sure you know this already,but for others interested. Some of us had this car for almost year now,a few already crossed 20Kkm, no battery problems, engine or gearbox troubles.

PS. Sorry to hijack guys, this thread is about 308facelift.
Toyota and Honda owners will never know the feeling blush.gif

They just fill up petrol and drive from point A to point B

And will avoid any other cars like a plague...but can't blame them...most of us were/are driving H/T cars too....

I used to think my dad was a bit foolish getting Pugs, Fords etc...I bought a 308T not because my dad is also a Pug fan (since 204!), got nothing to do with him....its was the test drive that sealed the deal...funny thing is, after seeing my car, he bought a camel cash (!) to replace his aging 406...now he is waiting for the 208...I tell him to get the 408 or 508...he old man oledi, dun want big cars.

Me? Probably get myself a VW Beetle when i retire...that for me is the most iconic car I can afford...

This post has been edited by azbro: Feb 28 2013, 03:10 PM
twtang
post Feb 28 2013, 05:07 PM

634 posts

hi all,

I have once tested the 308T, and it is very impressive. I have also heard some reliability issue for this car and of course there are surely good conditions units on the road.

My surprise as other forumers, how come so many are selling off their units in Mudah, like year 2011.

That's why I really want to know from the owners here, how is the car overall? I like the car very very much, but looking at the selling pattern is a bit of worrying.

Resale value? nah...I am not worried about it because that is a car, not house.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0196sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:58 AM