Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 09:29 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 30 2011, 03:27 PM)
can the sifu here explain in details how to flash to the latest xxjvk using odin?
i have downloaded the firmware package from samfirmware

here is what i using now >.<
i'm about to flash to it also in a minute, nahh follow this guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1011901
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 09:35 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 30 2011, 03:31 PM)
the one from samfirmware is with or without boatloader?
how to check?
i dwnload the file from the link above with the bootloader, but to confirm, check your pda file, does it contain pda_xxjvk_"sbl".tar?
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 09:56 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 30 2011, 03:37 PM)
thanks bro, gonna download the one with boatloader now.
btw, this is a youtube comment i saw

CODE
I disliked this video. Although the poster gives a step by step instruction on how to install 2.3.3 on the Galaxy S, he failed to mention that the 2.3.3 version has an audio bug in it which could break your phone. Supercurio has reported it on his Twitter..

Will have to wait for the official release i'm afraid.

i just passing through his tweets just now and its because he's trying to include some audio app which cause the audio hardware malfunctioning. probably his voodoo sound maybe. smile.gif

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 30 2011, 03:46 PM)
No audio bug. I was listening FLAC happily for 2 days already.
mengsuan, im about to root my jvk with cf-root. is it okay if i flash the zImage in .tar format with odin? i just extract the zimage, and right click to it with 7zip to add archive to .tar, then it have zImage.tar in properties. im good to go already?
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 10:08 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 30 2011, 04:03 PM)
@nasrulbond
you have successfully updated xxjvk dy? Congratz.
Only have to check auto reboot and F.reset time right?
I was wondering do I have to check phone booloader update if i am flashing the one with boatloader
yep i already flash to XXJVK. looks pretty smooth, i loike. smile.gif well im following the 2nd instruction which i flash odin with repartition 512. and everything is okay. i think, to flash without the repartition pun okay. hrmm for the bootloader, i dont check it yet. if you're flashing the one with bootloader, you'll have no corrupted screen and its safe to go back to froyo/eclair rom. that's my knowledge about the jvk with bootloader lah, if im wrong correct me. smile.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 10:15 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Mar 30 2011, 04:11 PM)
i wanna flash to xxjvk but really confusing now. i should flash with or without bottloaders? do i need to root first? i never root my phone and now on stock rom zsjpj. need help!!!
download the one with the bootloader. root is the another story after u already flash the jvk.
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 10:23 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Mar 30 2011, 04:15 PM)
Yes correct. I flashed JVK deodexed + zip aligned ROM with boot loader. Now back to JW3 coz some apps are not working properly (not available yet) in Ginger.
mind to share what are the apps that you find not working properly? i just want to test out the crt off animation only. hehe
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 11:13 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 30 2011, 05:11 PM)
not sure, i just install the firmware and root it only.
i feel that 2.2.1 is much more smoother.
did you factory reset your phone before upgrading? my opinion, JVK is mind blowing. thumbup.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 11:25 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Mar 30 2011, 05:17 PM)
nasrul you feel the JVK system killing kinda tooooo strict? my GO launcher reload the app drawer when wake the phone from long sleep/
oh i havent try any apps yet cause now still fresh factory reset. btw in your task manager, do u get 329mb ram too? but the UI is really smooth. kalah darkyy. haha
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 11:34 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Mar 30 2011, 05:31 PM)
yupe 329mb, kalah CM7 and miui hahahahaha, buat masa sekarang jela, nnt miui dah stable...  flex.gif
yeppp. hehe, btw got myself bricked tadi (handphone-to-pc screen) after flashing the zImage for the cf-root. now flashing back the XXJVK. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 30 2011, 11:44 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 30 2011, 05:36 PM)
New screencapture is nice. Even if can't hear the sound, got animation to confirm the capture. But... are you kidding me??? Where's XME???

And also in there 1 missing item in USB mode, aside from the usual Kies, Media and Storage. There was 1 "Ask upon connection" in Froyo, if I'm not mistaken, right?
yes2. i can confirm this. nod.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 12:49 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 30 2011, 06:28 PM)
- I flashed with the updated bootloader.
- Can flash back to eclair or froyo but need to downgrade the bootloader. To know if you are downgrading, see in the the downloaded rom has "Sbl.bin" file. For example, ZSJPJ firmware I downloaded from samfirmware has this. I've tested this and it works.
Insanity rom is always the rom I go back after testing many roms  thumbup.gif
Rooting with cf-root http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41132114
No need to extract anything, just flash cf-root by odin
- no need to root first if you don't want to:
  1. Backup /efs folder - Recommended, so that you won't lose your IMEI number. See first page for backing up IMEi number using sgstools
  2. Backup apps & data - using titanium backup
For me, opera mobile doesn't work as well as in froyo, I can see checkerbox
I may miss other queries, hopefully others can fill in.
oh my gosh, thanks gmhafiz! i extract the zImage just now, and make it as .tar file then i got soft bricked. aiyahh, will flash the cf-root after this. notworthy.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 12:56 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 30 2011, 06:52 PM)
I got soft brick using fuguroot as well. I flashed back to zsjpj, since it has Sbl.bin file (downgrade bootloader) then re-flash xxjvk and root with cf-root.

I put up a guide on the first page for XXJVK. please comment if you guys want to add/change/correct anything.
oh i see. i just flash back to xxjvk and it reboot normally, is it okay? thanks a lot for your help. smile.gif

P/S: the soft brick is the one with handset to pc black screen right?
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 01:16 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 30 2011, 06:58 PM)
- If you can boot, then it's ok.
- yes, handset to pc-black screen is soft brick.if hard brick, total black screen  cry.gif
now already got superuser, and the crt-screen off animation. thanks a lot bro! thumbup.gif btw, did u have the startup bootanimation sound? mine earlier when i flash to xxjvk, still got but after cf-root, no more. hmm.gif hmm.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 03:31 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

wahhh the battery not draining so fast anymore with xxjvk. and the crt screen off animation is really cool! the UI also really really smooth like custom rom, so amazed by this rom tho. thanks to everyone who helped and to our TS gmhafiz of course. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 04:56 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Mar 30 2011, 05:56 PM)
Using DH2311 Turbo Ginger, very nice. Almost same speed as sweethoney, sometimes perform better!
dude, for the turbo ginger, do u got also the CWM recovery like the cf-root?

edit : i just found out that my micro sd got about 15 files in Lost.Dir and luckily when i delete them and reboot back, the files all gone. so afraid for the data corruption tho. sweat.gif btw, anyone got file in internal sd "Disc Cache-Index bla bla bla"?

This post has been edited by nasrulbond: Mar 31 2011, 05:42 AM
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 09:44 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 31 2011, 03:27 AM)
Successfully flashed my phone to the latest xxjvk  rclxm9.gif
Thanks to everyone and nasrulbond who helped me out  notworthy.gif

Btw, how to enable/install the crt screen off animation?
u're welcome. smile.gif it's soo smooth right? hehehe to get the animation, u need to root first. i suggest u use this, the cf-root by chainfire, just download the JVK one ( i use the 2.5) and straight away flash with odin w/out rpartition tick and no pit. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...150&postcount=5

then u choose the zip for the animation one here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...2&postcount=125

good luck. nod.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 09:55 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 31 2011, 02:16 AM)
Yea. Restoring everything from Titanum Backup seems to be the problem. I restore apps+data and it seems that some old settings are not compatible with Gingerbread and cause the FCs.  hmm.gif
i'm trying using the Root explorer and it force closes too. and i dunno if it happens to u guys, but just now my phone suddenly go to power off menu and luckily it doesnt shut down itself. i can say the task killer in JVK really aggressive maybe. shocking.gif
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 07:28 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(Joker87 @ Mar 31 2011, 01:24 PM)
anyone know how to fix the facebook not getting notification ?
mine always been like that too, but i dont mind cause i always clear the notification juga. haha
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 08:14 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(chris7524 @ Mar 31 2011, 01:58 PM)
Like its metal back cover, if it can fit sgs will it be good?
im afraid it will not, the galaxy s plus seems bigger in size than our sgs.

QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ Mar 31 2011, 02:00 PM)
galaxy s price is dropping steadily since S II released smile.gif
how much is the price know? last february i checked the price at sabah still mahal owh. somewhere around rm2.1k++ lagi. luckily i bought it in lowyatt plaza before, runding2 with the chinese guy and got rm1.9k only.hehe
nasrulbond
post Mar 31 2011, 08:28 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 31 2011, 02:22 PM)
it is normal for samsung phones....it is the drawback...that why people choose iphong...trade in value is much higher than other phones...
yeah, agree with u. lotsa my friends here use iphong already, but there are still few who use galaxy s here. hehe

btw, anyone tried the tap tap 4 revenge? how's the quality compare to the iphone? i saw someone playing with desire hd in youtube looks great. smile.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:54 AM