Pumping Petrol with your Credit Cards, What cards reward you?
TSGen-X
Apr 5 2011, 12:50 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 5 2011, 12:37 PM) dont apply for shell credit card. u only get 2.5% cash rebate for gold card and 1.5% cash rebate for classic. better use amex where u can get 5% at weekend at ALL petrol station that accept amex not only that, to get max rebate with the Citi Shell, got to have balance carried forward
TSGen-X
Apr 5 2011, 12:57 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Apr 5 2011, 12:54 PM) End of this year I gotta terminate the PBB Esso Card. Feel like it don't help me at all since the petrol is tier base. Every month I pumo >200 only entitle 2% , feel like nothing at all ! Yah, if you don't pump much, make more sense to go get PBB Esso Debit card and save of GST.
TSGen-X
Apr 5 2011, 01:27 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Apr 5 2011, 12:59 PM) True also , gonna set aside some money for the new PBB Esso Debit so I don't stuck and cannot pump. Gen-X , if pump ron97 in Esso/Mobil Station,will it entitle double point or remain the same ?  same same as Smiles points based on RM1 = 1 Smiles point This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 5 2011, 01:27 PM
TSGen-X
Apr 11 2011, 12:49 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(DM3 @ Apr 11 2011, 12:41 PM) for shell to get the 5% u must have carry fwd ur previos tansaction, if not its 2.5% but recently they change their rebate structure syste, unless u talkin about the Citi cashbak platinum which then 5% rebates. yah, she getting 5% rebate but kena interest charge
TSGen-X
Apr 12 2011, 10:42 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(stargate8 @ Apr 12 2011, 10:26 PM) thanks TS for the useful info... i hav amex gold n usually pump at esso/mobil...good to know 5x MR points = 2.5% cash back in voucher... If you got AMEX Gold Credit Card, you are rewarded with Membership Reward Points. With MR points you no need to redeem for voucher as you can redeem for cash back i.e. 200MR points = RM1 cash back or that's equivalent to exactly 2.5% cash back with 5X MR for petrol. So with AMEX Gold CC, do not redeem for vouchers, instead redeem for cash back. This is because when you use voucher which you redeem, you wont get new points 2X or 5X with your AMEX if you were to use the AMEX Card to purchase the same thing you would with the voucher. Get what I mean? The voucher equivalent of 2.5% is applicable to Maybankard 2 AMEX only. Seriously, if you have AMEX Gold CC, I sugesst you switch to Maybankard 2 Cards and use the Maybankard 2 AMEX to get 5X Treats Points and best of all, 5% cash back on weekends.
TSGen-X
Apr 12 2011, 11:35 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(DM3 @ Apr 12 2011, 11:04 PM) having the Treatpoints for the cash vouchers are binded to respective merchants, if only can get it in cash form. Oh, I forgot, if you shop at 1U, can use Treat Points to redeem for RCUBED which can be used at selected merchants at 1U, well almost all merchants at 1U. Currently there's a promotion when you use RCUBED you will get RM10 1U shopping voucher for every RM100. For RCUBED 210 TP = RCUBED RM1. AThe promotion also applicable to AMEX Membership reward points. Click below link to my blog and then click on the RCUBED links http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...april-2011.htmlThis post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 12 2011, 11:37 PM
TSGen-X
Apr 15 2011, 07:00 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(ukiya @ Apr 15 2011, 12:11 AM) Wish to convert the card! having Gold CC now, is it necessary to clear the outstanding balance 1st b4 convert to Maybankard 2 or with outstanding also can convert d? Just phone the Customer service? yah call CS, and yah clear outstanding balance immediately, else what is the point you convert? Better get separate MBB 2 card and make sure no outstanding so no interest imposed on new transactions.
TSGen-X
Apr 22 2011, 06:38 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 22 2011, 10:03 AM) NEW citibank shell card launched Citibank Shell Credit Cardthe rebate is based on tier 1 300 - 999 4.0% 250 2 1000 - 2499 6.0% 500 3 Above 2500 8.0% 800 gerrardling, please elaborate so that I can copy and paste at first post (or maybe asking them to refer to post# for further details.
TSGen-X
Apr 29 2011, 10:13 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(Prince of Andalus @ Apr 29 2011, 09:41 PM) I just got my CIMB Petronas Credit Card yesterday...  ... I activated this morning... but i didnt try it yet.. the website say that i have only 2% rebate on Petronas station but in directory service i received, it says that i can have 5% rebate in 1st day of the month.. Which one i have to follow? yes, on the 1st day of the month, you should get 5% at Petronas and the rest of the other days you get 2%. Can you wait till Sunday to pump
TSGen-X
May 8 2011, 06:01 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(mengsuan @ May 8 2011, 03:34 PM) I saw and heard that CIMB DirectAccess cards have 2% cash-back for all petrol stations. Is it still ongoing? No, that promotion expired last year.
TSGen-X
May 11 2011, 06:45 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(mengsuan @ May 10 2011, 09:14 AM) When I applied the DA card early this year, CIMB still attached the petrol cash back flyer.  I guess you did not read the fine print, hahaha
TSGen-X
Jun 7 2011, 03:39 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(boonykun @ Jun 7 2011, 02:03 PM) New Updates on June I think Due to the Massive ppl pumping Esso, they decided to change their Tactics on RM15 Fuel = 1k points >.< Instant rewards RM10 worth of Synergy fuel 950 Smiles Points RM20 worth of Synergy fuel 1,600 Smiles Points RM45 worth of Synergy fuel 3,000 Smiles Points Now they make it so expensive.. to change a Rm15- 1k points, you will need a total of 3k points. Yes, for those High Spenders, are not affected, but those who pump kancil that is around RM100 per month will be Highly affected, how long only can claim that RM45 >.< SOS. SourceThanks for the info. For the RM10, it works out to be 1.05% For the RM20, 1.25% and RM45 still maintained at 1.5% cash back
TSGen-X
Jun 13 2011, 11:50 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(weeloong81 @ Jun 13 2011, 03:17 PM) may i ask, which card can given more rewards (rebates & points) for Petronas... Currently switch from Shell to Petronas... im using for telecommunication bill & some installement plan. which card can providing this in best rewards? For Petronas, OCBC Titanium or Citibank Platinum Cash Back, both 5% cash back.
TSGen-X
Jun 14 2011, 03:59 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(weeloong81 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:31 AM) Thanks for your kind reply. How about Maybank? If you had read first post, MBB Petronas Visa you get 5X. If you want to ask about Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX which gives 5X TP and 5% cash back, well most Petronas stations do not accept AMEX.
TSGen-X
Jun 14 2011, 11:37 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(weeloong81 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:21 PM) Mean only MBB Amex card can provided the best rebate, but VISA not. Bro, use ask for Petronas and I have posted Citibank Plat Cash Back and OCBC TMC the best. And then your ask MBB and I have told you MBB Petronas Visa. So now your question MBB AMEX card provide best rebate but not Visa - I suppose you mean Maybankard 2 Cards. MBB Dua Visa or MAsterCArd only give you 1X points. Please read first post, it is all there. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 15 2011, 10:44 PM
TSGen-X
Jun 15 2011, 10:45 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
Posts taken from General Thread QUOTE(Embrangle @ Jun 15 2011, 05:46 PM) UOB relaunching the ONe card now with cash rebate on top of the existing smart cash rebate. 5% for all petrol cash rebate + 2% smart cash rebate for bhp petrol if pump bhp got 7% rebate for petrol. any one got commet? QUOTE(probiotix @ Jun 20 2011, 01:04 PM) Called CS and have confirmed that existing cardholders will enjoy the benefits. Also confirmed that supplementary cardholders also get to enjoy separate max limitations for cash rebates. Eg: petrol RM30pm is for each cardholder regardless is principal or supplementary. But......... bhp SMART cash reduced to only 1% effective from 1st july  This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 20 2011, 10:12 PM
TSGen-X
Jun 30 2011, 04:17 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(touch @ Jun 29 2011, 10:42 PM) Smiles points redemption for fuel have been revised. Please read first post or last 2 pages. Now to get 1000 points less than RM15 but 3000points still can redeem RM45.
TSGen-X
Aug 17 2011, 10:33 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
I just posted a short article titled Best Credit Cards for Petrol and Movies at my blog. Click here to read about it.
TSGen-X
Aug 17 2011, 11:14 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 17 2011, 10:54 PM) finally there is a redemption with lower point requirement. Unlike the 3000 pts = RM45 fuel. It's just too difficult for me to accumulate 3000 pts. use to be RM15 for 1000 points
TSGen-X
Aug 17 2011, 11:54 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 17 2011, 11:52 PM) it would took me almost upto 9 month to 1 year to earn for the mere RM 45 fuel rebate so what, the points are evergreen, better than to redeem it with 1000 points