6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

samurai1337
post Dec 10 2006, 08:52 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(MiloIce @ Dec 9 2006, 04:53 PM)
are u guys using the full version of vista???  where to buy it ah?? orinigal or..?

my system is vista-capable as shown on da lappie.. i heard got some free upgrade for some user.. any one can tell me??
About the free upgrade thingy, read about the details here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=365298

You should be able to get Original windows vista (retail) on February 2007 considered the GA (General availability) is set at 30 January 2007.
samurai1337
post Dec 24 2006, 07:14 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

cphcphcph - yes, it is backward compatible. I'd definitely recommend you to use wikipedia before asking your question smile.gif
samurai1337
post Jan 1 2007, 07:55 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Thanks for the heads up fariz.

If Microsoft plans for another release so soon, probably Vista isn't worth getting anyway
samurai1337
post Jan 1 2007, 08:45 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(kunyit_kampung @ Jan 1 2007, 12:41 PM)
come on guy give some good rev dude frompage 1 to end just name talking no rev kaa i wanna know what do u thing of vista coz by the and if this feb i will get da biz vista for my lappy n wanna get some info from u all malaysian not from those oversea rev.........
Wah, it's very difficult to read your sentence la bro.

Anyways, I'll only review it once I got my retail version of Vista

QUOTE(JavaKom09088 @ Jan 1 2007, 08:42 PM)
@.@'''' Windows Vienna ? vista haven release yet then here comes another new windows ..@.@''''
That's only part of the product roadmap, it's not getting released at least in 3 years
samurai1337
post Jan 2 2007, 09:50 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

RTM = Release to Manufacturers. Search it in Wikipedia for more information

MX510: I hope you're not asking for warez

Anyways, Microsoft claimed that as long as the requirements are met, Aero doesn't really slow down the PC and it can be used without guilt. How true it is?
http://www.neowin.net/index.php?act=view&id=36751

samurai1337
post Jan 5 2007, 08:00 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Any idea about the OEM pricing in Malaysia? Saw the neowin article, the OEM version of WinVista Ultimate in pound sterling, is SOOOO expensive after converted shocking.gif
http://www.neowin.net/index.php?act=view&id=36816
samurai1337
post Jan 6 2007, 10:51 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(slashie @ Jan 5 2007, 03:11 PM)
shocking.gif The price.zzzzzzzz... it is double of the price of windows xp professional.
Source please. Empty talk is meaningless
samurai1337
post Jan 6 2007, 01:10 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(CherylDarryl @ Jan 6 2007, 12:46 PM)
Prices and Upgrade Cost

Taken from PC WORLD MAGAZINE

Edit:
Picture updates to more bigger and clearer
That's not OEM pricing, neither that's pricing in Malaysia...so this is not what I'm looking for...
samurai1337
post Jan 6 2007, 01:23 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(CherylDarryl @ Jan 6 2007, 01:16 PM)
only show you the price differences xD
XD saw that some time back.

Now deciding whether to get Home Premium OEM or Retail
samurai1337
post Jan 14 2007, 08:24 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Eh, now we can't see all the nice graphic (HDD Map) during Disk Defragmenting already? laugh.gif What a shame

BTW, the search function is cool. If you know how to utilize it. You rarely have to access the folder by browsing into it. And how do we know if the ReadyBoost is really doing its job?

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Jan 14 2007, 08:30 AM
samurai1337
post Jan 23 2007, 03:45 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

For OEM, it's tied to one version (either it's 32 or 64)

For Retail (box set), it has both 32 and 64 versions (in fact the DVD-ROM itself has all the functions from home basic to Ultimate, the functions depend on the License key itself, not the disc)
samurai1337
post Jan 24 2007, 10:13 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Any idea where can I get Windows Vista soon it gets released in Malaysia? (It should be end of this month right?). How will be the prices in term of Ringgit Malaysia?

Or at least, whom should I contact if I wanted to ask someone in Microsoft Malaysia?

samurai1337
post Jan 24 2007, 03:24 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 24 2007, 10:18 AM)
probably there'll be some special promotions during MS Malaysia Business Launch event at KLCC Convention Centre on the 31st January..havent seen any promo for consumer launch though?
http://www.microsoft.com/malaysia/events/v...h/vista%5Fhunt/
Who wanna team up with me? Credit to AsenDURE for informing me this biggrin.gif
samurai1337
post Jan 24 2007, 09:00 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jan 24 2007, 03:54 PM)
I'd love to but the chances of us winning are too low. I need vista ultimate because I need to use IIS server.
Ala....so fast give up whistling.gif

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jan 24 2007, 04:10 PM)
I am. me you and samurai1337 makes 3.

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 24 2007, 05:14 PM)
left your details only, please PM the details, thanks!

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jan 24 2007, 05:18 PM)
maybe we get another guy if he dosent show up
So two of you already confirm? 3 of us then, and I might be able to pull one chick in brows.gif

Details to be discussed in PM
samurai1337
post Jan 24 2007, 09:39 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

First post is updated, as well as topic description

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jan 24 2007, 09:18 PM)
yep, I've filled up the form. just you and another person.
PM-ed rayfoo about my details, once I got the address from my friend, we will have the full list already
samurai1337
post Jan 24 2007, 10:51 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jan 24 2007, 10:32 PM)
you're slightly late for the team....if samurai's friend dosent want you have a chance  icon_idea.gif
My friend is Se_vixen
http://forum.lowyat.net/user/se_vixen

Our team - (Team MacOS X - temporary name)

Rayfoo (老虎) - team leader

Other members
samurai1337 (leetle kid)
se_vixen (underaged kid) - if ffk will kena RM50 penalty
joey kun (IIS Desperado)
samurai1337
post Jan 26 2007, 06:14 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 26 2007, 11:03 AM)
guys.. the launching day got sell the product or not?
is it good to buy now or wait untill it's stable? maybe after sometimes they provide service pack... any other suggestion? thinking to grab one...
I already asked the Sarah from Software Exchange, she said they will be opening a booth at LYP during the launch day, there will be gifts and promotions for buying Windows Vista and Office 2007.

And no, guys. You can't really just convert from USD
samurai1337
post Jan 26 2007, 08:31 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 26 2007, 08:19 PM)
no leakage of pricing from her?
and if converted usd RM1600+, real price shud be at least RM1k +
You can check the price in http://www.softwareexchange.com.my
samurai1337
post Jan 29 2007, 11:42 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

For all the OEM at the moment in LYP, there's only 32-bit AFAIK

For gaming/multimedia, you definitely should go for home premium. Why?
http://www.winsupersite.com/reviews/winvista_02.asp

Read the "Digital media features" part
samurai1337
post Feb 1 2007, 12:57 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(mzms @ Jan 31 2007, 08:49 PM)
The things that annoy me is how the security pop up box keeps popping up whenever you try to change or access system dialog boxes or others such as system properties, device manager etc. Damn annoying, I don't see the purpose of that at all except to be a pain in the a$$. Perhaps it can be turned off but it comes like that by default (evaluation copy).
I can see the purpose of that security feature, while it is indeed annoying most of the time some executables are being executed without the consent of users. And the reason it's there by default is because most of the users (at least MS assumes) do not have strong common sense in security.

You can disable that by going to "User Account->Turn UAC Off" in your control panel. But of course, you'll say the Security Alerts is very annoying coz it keeps on nagging you to turn it on again, you can just go to "Security Center" and have the notification turned off smile.gif

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Feb 1 2007, 01:04 AM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0364sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:03 AM