130 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

rad
post Jun 16 2006, 04:03 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Jun 16 2006, 09:25 AM)
So, in the end, is Vista worth to use? Does it still have the normal problem, hang and crash?
My experience so far (for vista beta 2) no smile.gif

This post has been edited by rad: Jun 16 2006, 04:24 PM
ekok
post Jun 17 2006, 01:23 AM

130 posts

Guys, need ur help. After i install Vista beta2 x86, how come i dun have the OS select screen? My system setup is like this: winxp on my SATA and vista on my PATA.
rad
post Jun 17 2006, 02:29 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(ekok @ Jun 17 2006, 01:23 AM)
Guys, need ur help. After i install Vista beta2 x86, how come i dun have the OS select screen? My system setup is like this: winxp on my SATA and vista on my PATA.
You mean dual boot menu screen? So what OS load 1st? Vista?

This post has been edited by rad: Jun 17 2006, 02:29 AM
ken20203
post Jun 17 2006, 02:32 AM

76 posts

Beta2 5384.4 Ultimate x64
No Audio on Asus A8N-VM CSM.
SoundMAX ADI AD1986A 5.1-channel Codec on motherboard.
I am using Analog Audio, since I do not have the SPDIF bracket (it is
ordered).
Speakers are Creative FPS2000Digital which do have COAX Digital in (never
used before) and Analog in.
I only have a Digital Output Device (SPDIF) available in Device manager and
obviously NO SOUND
(Works fine in Analog under Windows XP).
Have tried to install a 64bit Windows XP driver for AD1986A, but it does not
work.
I had the same problem in previous builds (I did get a WinXP driver working
partly under x32 in an earlier build)
ekok
post Jun 17 2006, 08:13 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(rad @ Jun 17 2006, 02:29 AM)
You mean dual boot menu screen? So what OS load 1st? Vista?
yup, the dual boot screen. Now it will automatically boot my winxp. I was told by others that once i installed the vista on another partition, i shud get to see the dual boot screen. but i dun see any... sad.gif
Devilc0de
post Jun 17 2006, 08:48 AM

The Real N0ob Doesn't Know He Is No0b
788 posts

got a problem oso when install vista. lost my audio driver n my system always hang.. now change back to xp.
aswaldx
post Jun 17 2006, 10:57 AM

75 posts

cant install CCCP.
what others video codec support vista
if got open source one.
feel good.
shreaker
post Jun 17 2006, 08:44 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(ekok @ Jun 17 2006, 01:23 AM)
QUOTE(ekok @ Jun 17 2006, 08:13 AM)
yup, the dual boot screen. Now it will automatically boot my winxp. I was told by others that once i installed the vista on another partition, i shud get to see the dual boot screen. but i dun see any...  sad.gif
If I'm not mistaken, you'll only see the dual boot screen if the two OSes are installed on different partitions, but on the same hard drive. Your BIOS will only detect OSes installed on the current boot drive. Any OS on a non-boot drive will not be detected.

Don't fret, all you need to do is use your BIOS's built-in boot-up device selector. On my Gigabyte K8N board I activate it with the F12 key. Then I can choose which device to boot up with, i.e. HD 0, HD 1, CDROM, etc.

---

I need your help!!!

My system config:

CPU: AMD Opteron 170
RAM: 2GB Infineon DDR400
Mobo: Gigabyte K8n-SLi
GPU: X1900XTX
Sound: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
HDD1: WD1200JB (Especially for Vista)
HDD2: Samsung 160GB (Especially for XP SP2)
HDD3: Samsung 160GB (Misc. Storage)
HDD4: Seagate 200GB (More Storage)
Router: Netgear WGT624

Installed software (in the order installed):
- ATi Catalyst Beta with CCC -works fine
- Creative Audigy Family beta drivers - Installs, but device manager reports drivers not found. After uninstalling, subsequent installation doesn't run anymore (something about didn't reboot - although i DID. Several times.)
- Avast! Anti-Virus - works fine
- Windows Messenger LIVE Beta - works fine
- Free Download Manager 2.0 Build 417 - works fine

All software installed is either compatible with both x32 and x64, OR native for x64.

Vista is working well for me, with two problems:

1. As stated above, I can't get my Audigy 2 ZS to work sad.gif Vista can't find any drivers online for the Audigy (the driver on Creative's site is for a different build and doesn't work). Google search hasn't turned up anything yet either.

2. Vista detects my LAN, but doesn't get assigned a proper IP address. My IPs start with 192.xxx.xxx.xxx but it seems to be assigned 169.xxx.xxx.xxx. DHCP is activated in router and OS. LAN and internet works fine when IP etc. are entered manually.

Pls, helllp.

Cheers!

[EDIT] Also, is IPv6 better than IPv4? Would my router need to be specially compatible or something?

This post has been edited by shreaker: Jun 17 2006, 08:53 PM
znsennox
post Jun 17 2006, 08:51 PM

483 posts

2. Vista detects my LAN, but doesn't get assigned a proper IP address. My IPs start with 192.xxx.xxx.xxx but it seems to be assigned 169.xxx.xxx.xxx. DHCP is activated in router and OS. LAN and internet works fine when IP etc. are entered manually.
u can try use static ip, in window vista
simply assign 1 ip belongs to ur router subnet
eg. router is 192.168.1.1
then u can use 192.168.1.x
x is any value
also fill in the DNS server IP if not it might not able to get into website.
for streamyx i think is these cant remember tongue.gif
202.188.0.133?

at least it should able to work.

(note. for my router it work using DHCP)
but after few day IE keep crashing... so i installed back winxp oledi
tongue.gif

znsennox
post Jun 17 2006, 08:53 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(aswaldx @ Jun 17 2006, 10:57 AM)
cant install CCCP.
what others video codec support vista
if got open source one.
feel good.
klite mega pack codec works for me in previous post other member also using that.

shreaker
post Jun 17 2006, 08:57 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(znsennox @ Jun 17 2006, 08:51 PM)
u can try use static ip, in window vista
simply assign 1 ip belongs to ur router subnet
eg. router is 192.168.1.1
then u can use 192.168.1.x
x is any value
also fill in the DNS server IP if not it might not able to get into website.
for streamyx i think is these cant remember tongue.gif
202.188.0.133?

at least it should able to work.

(note. for my router it work using DHCP)
but after few day IE keep crashing... so i installed back winxp oledi
tongue.gif
Yup, I did that and it works fine... but why isn't DHCP working properly? It's not exactly a very new thing... just pisses me off...

Oh yah... does anyone have this problem with IE7 beta - after typing a post in ly.net and clicking "add reply" the browser just stays at the "replying" page, instead of going back to the original thread? Just noticed this just now, dunno if it's a problem or just a slow connection...
[EDIT] OK, it's just a slow connection. ly.net loads fine biggrin.gif blame it on tmnet again laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shreaker: Jun 17 2006, 08:58 PM
znsennox
post Jun 17 2006, 09:01 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(shreaker @ Jun 17 2006, 08:57 PM)
Yup, I did that and it works fine... but why isn't DHCP working properly? It's not exactly a very new thing... just pisses me off...

Oh yah... does anyone have this problem with IE7 beta - after typing a post in ly.net and clicking "add reply" the browser just stays at the "replying" page, instead of going back to the original thread? Just noticed this just now, dunno if it's a problem or just a slow connection...
[EDIT] OK, it's just a slow connection. ly.net loads fine biggrin.gif blame it on tmnet again laugh.gif
no idea why isnt working..
anyhow it is still beta tongue.gif
it could be ur router don't like windows vista hahah

shreaker
post Jun 18 2006, 04:07 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

I need your help!!!

I can't get my Audigy 2 ZS to work sad.gif Vista can't find any drivers online for the Audigy (the driver on Creative's site is for a different build and doesn't work). Google search hasn't turned up anything yet either.

Pls, helllp.

Cheers!
Problem solved. Here's how I enabled sound blaster zs on my Vista x64, running AMD Opteron:

Files downloaded: WinRAR, Creative Audigy family Vista beta drivers, Creative Audigy family XP drivers, Creative Audigy family XP64 drivers.

0. Use CompletePC backup to create a backup of your OS state in case everything is f'ed up!
1. Use WinRAR to unpack all the Creative drivers into separate folders. Rename the folders so you don't get confused which are for Vista, XP and XP64.
2. Goto Vista beta drivers folder/Drivers/Support/amd64/
3. Right click on "ctzapxx.exe" and select "run as administrator"
4. Install the driver, reboot Vista.
5. After reboot, there's no sound and sound icon on taskbar has a "X" on it. That's normal.
6. Repeat steps 2-4 with the Creative XP driver, but choose "overwrite existing shared Creative drivers", then reboot. After installation, you'll get a BSOD. Let Vista reboot on its own.
7. Repeat steps 2-4 wih the Creative XP64 driver choose "overwrite existing shared Creative drivers". Reboot, and you [i]should[/] now have sound!.

Optional:
8. Use control panel to change the sound quality. At the highest "studio quality" setting I get crackles and pops... Sound is ok at lower setting. 5.1 is working, but bass is not evident.

Caveats:

a. The steps above are what I did. I don't know if you really need the XP 32 bit drivers first. It may be possible to do it with just the Vista beta and XP64 drivers.
b. The steps above are for Audigy 2 ZS only, NOT Audigy 2 ZS gamer, platinum (pro), or other models. There are existing drivers/workarounds for these other models.
c. Do this at your own risk! Be sure to backup your PC!!! Whatever happens, it's your fault, not mine tongue.gif

Good luck, and have fun with your ZS enabled Vista!

ps This thread is a little long, so I'll make a new thread in the guides section for easy searching. Pls don't delete.
rad
post Jun 18 2006, 08:58 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(Devilc0de @ Jun 17 2006, 08:48 AM)
got a problem oso when install vista. lost my audio driver n my system always hang.. now change back to xp.
What you mean you lost your audio driver? Have your try install the audio driver manually (through the device manager) ? For the 1st time I try using the autorun from the cd installation but then failed (somewhat Vista cant install it, unknown error). By now Vista detect my sound driver as SoundMax (built-in audio driver by the mobo). But still cant hear the sound. As I mentioned just now, I try install through Device Manager by removing the SoundMax. I browse the Audigy software & install it (under the Sound, video & game controllers). It work thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rad: Jun 19 2006, 06:25 AM
Eoma
post Jun 19 2006, 05:05 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(shreaker @ Jun 17 2006, 08:57 PM)
I have had it happen to me in the previous builds as well. Still buggy I see. You can report it in if you're so inclined. You can try uninstalling your network device and re-installing, see if that helps.
shreaker
post Jun 19 2006, 09:08 PM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 19 2006, 05:05 PM)
I have had it happen to me in the previous builds as well. Still buggy I see. You can report it in if you're so inclined. You can try uninstalling your network device and re-installing, see if that helps.
Hehe I did try that on my first insallation... after reinstalling the driver Vista couldn't even detect the network anymore rolleyes.gif

Any idea if there're programs that can duplicate that beautiful Start+TAB function on XP?
gengstapo
post Jun 19 2006, 09:18 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

i just use the trial for 1day, then unistall again. kinda headache wif is windows, but the GUI nice
amyhs99
post Jun 19 2006, 09:34 PM

3,807 posts

nice, but a memory eater... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
so far still ok... smile.gif
jackiewong
post Jun 20 2006, 02:53 PM

368 posts

after i read until 24 pages... i feel very tired adi... but what can i say is... win vista its only for 'super cpu' ... what to do?... every 1 go to change their cpu n just only to suit the win vista... walau ... i just buy my com not more than 1 month... i need to change again?... siao... win xp still the best ... i had already use almost 4 years leh... vista is too high quality ... not every cpu can really suit it ... so ... use win xp until outdate bah XD
shreaker
post Jun 21 2006, 01:02 AM

5-star hotel
798 posts

QUOTE(jackiewong @ Jun 20 2006, 02:53 PM)
after i read until 24 pages... i feel very tired adi... but what can i say is... win vista its only for 'super cpu' ... what to do?... every 1 go to change their cpu n just only to suit the win vista... walau ... i just buy my com not more than 1 month... i need to change again?... siao... win xp still the best ... i had already use almost 4 years leh... vista is too high quality ... not every cpu can really suit it ... so ... use win xp until outdate bah XD
Vista is NOT finished. Noone is forcing you to use the beta.

[EDIT] Also, RAM is cheap nowadays. 2GB RAM will possibly be a norm by the time Vista is released.

This post has been edited by shreaker: Jun 21 2006, 01:05 AM

130 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:49 PM