benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 02:11 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lenzmark @ Apr 3 2011, 02:07 PM)
i lost trace a post in this thread. there is a picture which shows tracing the data usage each month may i know what apps is it? thanks
Try data counter widget or 3g watchdog
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 06:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ooj @ Apr 2 2011, 10:35 PM)
Hi guys

I can't get Dungeon Defenders First Wave to work on my IS. Everytime it boots up it just goes back to my home page. Anyone know what I should do?
I don't play games but I tested it since you mentioned your issue and it is now a free game in market. After you launch the app, it will download about 664 MB of data into the ext sdcard in the folder DunDef. Check whether you have 6 folders ( audio, music, cooked tegra, engine, logs, movies ) plus 3 xml files and a DunDefHeroes.dun file inside the DunDef folder? Most probably 9.9/10 you have failed to install these folders after the data is downloaded leading to it goes back to homescreen

See pic of game loaded on the incredible s - the graphics are indeed very nice

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2011, 06:08 PM
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 11:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

For those new to Androids , do read this article about how to make your battery last longer:

http://androinica.com/2010/08/a-guide-to-m...-little-longer/
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 11:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(beeenn @ Apr 3 2011, 11:22 PM)
guys, i need some help..i totally love dis phone but i got a minor prob here..whenever i want to open my inbox/msg it takes too much time n sometimes it even unresponsive..any suggestion/tips??..n how can i upgrade it to Android 2.3?..thnxx

btw i got 1000+ sms in my inbox..heavy texter..lol
I have 1650 - there is no issue ; opens instantly. The slowness could be due to some your SMS is corrupted

No upgrade available yet - not so fast ; the phone barely in market 2 months

benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 11:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(beeenn @ Apr 3 2011, 11:41 PM)
owhh..mayb coz i transfer sms from my old phone..later will delete d old sms n see how things go..thnx
The method you use to transfer will affect; inprocess transfers some could be corrupted causing the slowness. Even my previous 600 MHz mi300 open messages instantly - I transfer these 1600+ from it over to the IS using SMS Backup & Restore
benny888
post Apr 4 2011, 06:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(arthas @ Apr 4 2011, 06:05 PM)
dat's weird..... coz mine one always shown the latest update.... or did u actually manually added the location? bcoz the there'll b 6 cities by default + ur up-to-date location.... hmm.gif
If you are referring to the city - it auto update itself. No need to do any settings. Once your GPS is on , it will detect where you are , and will change accordingly
benny888
post Apr 4 2011, 09:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasontee82 @ Apr 4 2011, 09:11 PM)
Bro, where did you get this SGD650 Incredible S in spore....I just been there, and the price is like around 750-800 ler...
Go to Sim Lim ground floor - price ranges S$ 650 to $700. I got mine at S$ 670 - the shop offering S$650 ask me to collect next day which I didn't want
benny888
post Apr 4 2011, 11:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 4 2011, 11:38 PM)
anyone know how to stop the phone from keep asking you to choose your launcher? because my friend installed launcher pro on the phone, but it keeps asking you to choose when u press home button back to homescreen, even when he ticked the set as default for launcher pro.
Settings/applications/manage applications - select the launcher you want - select make default. Unselect the previous one first

OR use free app HomeSwitcher to select and fix default
benny888
post Apr 5 2011, 09:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=malmad,Apr 5 2011, 09:20 PM]
[quote=NINJIAO,Apr 5 2011, 05:17 PM]
Lol download from the digi website when u opened the android website lor. Got skype there.
but mine weird a bit. other people cant see my skype online n i cant see them although both also online status.

Ok got it. Thank you very much Bro. I managed to download and install Skype From Digi website; however, video function doesn't work.

[/quote]

Use FRING for video calls
benny888
post Apr 6 2011, 06:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Wireless transfer of files between phone and PC:

- ES File Explorer is an excellent file manager for Android. It comes with a built in search function, image viewer, and most importantly a LAN browser that we’ll use to transfer files to our computer through Wifi.

- swiFTP is a lightweight FTP server that lets you transfer multiple files from Windows, Linux, or Mac through a secure FTP connection.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/41583/how-t...one-wirelessly/

benny888
post Apr 9 2011, 12:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(malmad @ Apr 9 2011, 09:35 AM)
What is the best screen capture apps which is compatible with HTC IS
You need to have root enabled before can use any of those screen capture apps. But till now, no root solution yet available for the Incredible S. Better ones are Shootme and screenshot
benny888
post Apr 10 2011, 09:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Apr 10 2011, 06:47 AM)
1800mAh can extend how long? compare with our 1450mAh.
But our battery I'd still better than DHD
I have been using Mugen batteries for several of my Androids ( nexus, Galaxy S, Dell Streak ) . Based on the specs, theoretically you will get at 24 % more usage but in reality, you won't. I'd say is only about less than 20% - on average if on the INcredible S , perhaps additional 2+ hours ? However buying Mugen is still better than those cheaper generics as it is good quality and lifespan is longer. Cheap generic normaly breakdon 3 to 6 months ( based on my experience)

Added on April 10, 2011, 9:41 amMy opinion about battery life, apps lurking on background and task killers. I have been on Android since the Nexus One . In the first 2 months I used task killers or whatever app similar in function. However I have stop using it after 2 months and I can only say, without task killers the phone performs better, more stable. Battery life impact using task killer is insignificant as closed apps are only temporary. Google has issued official statement about task killers - in essence it is not necessary. However people are not listening and like to think otherwise . I am not a tech guy but I'd supposed the guys who develop Android know best behind their technolgy. This is Google's official statement :

QUOTE : By default, every application runs in its own Linux process. Android starts the process when any of the application's code needs to be executed, and shuts down the process when it's no longer needed and system resources are required by other applications.
A content provider is active only while it's responding to a request from a ContentResolver. And a broadcast receiver is active only while it's responding to a broadcast message. So there's no need to explicitly shut down these components.
Activities, on the other hand, provide the user interface. They're in a long-running conversation with the user and may remain active, even when idle, as long as the conversation continues. Similarly, services may also remain running for a long time. So Android has methods to shut down activities and services in an orderly way.

But the debate still continue - you can read these links for more information . There are still 2 sides - one supporting TK usage while some not. It is up to you to decide. I'd suggest you do away with whatever task killers and observe phone and battery usage and decide accordingly. If you are happy with using task killers - just go ahead . As for me, I don't use these tools anymore

Refer here for more information:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=6426198
http://geekfor.me/faq/you-shouldnt-be-usin...r-with-android/

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 10 2011, 09:41 AM
benny888
post Apr 10 2011, 10:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(NINJIAO @ Apr 10 2011, 10:13 AM)
Hhehe i dun see any problem with the battery life. Get several micro usb cable. Put in ur office. Then car charger. Then in the bag put a sanyo mobile booster.

Lol charge when ever u like. Dun care about sayang ur battery lar. Once 2 week.  recalibrate the battery lor.

After all, we are alll waiting for the sun global battery. hehehe 1 year change one. Oso cheap mar.
Right on !!
My smartphone is always being charged while driving or in office. I also have 2 extra batteries for all my phones . So battery issue is not exactly a critical issue

The problem is many of the users here are not working man and they do not have cars. I noted many are students. For these guys, their best option is just to buy extra batteries. Seriously if one can afford close to RM2k for a phone, what is another RM 50 to RM100 for extra batteries
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 12:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lch_291 @ Apr 11 2011, 12:17 AM)
top of the right corner "H","E","G"

wat means of it ah??
H - HSPDA which is faster than 3G which is faster than E Edge which is faster than G - GPRS
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 11:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have both incredible s and xperia arc
For camera n video record quality xperia arc. Other features incredible s. For performance - file access, apps launching, apps install, UI slickness and smoothness the incredile s is very much ahead. On a score of 10 to incredible s i rate the arc a score of 7 and below
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 03:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(freky @ Apr 11 2011, 01:49 PM)
my mail will suddenly auto delete....aiks...dunno what the problem
That is because in your mail settings you have selected delete once the mail is downloaded from server on your notebook or PC
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 03:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2011, 11:31 AM)
thanks Benny.. do u mind to share comparison of night shot / indoor shot between Arc and IS?
Some day shots

LHS : HTC Incredible S : RHS - Xperia Arc

Video recording : mid day medium sunlight

Xperia Arc

Incredible S

Overall the Arc display sharper, better quality and nicer colors which closer match the actual

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 11 2011, 03:46 PM
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 05:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(freky @ Apr 11 2011, 05:21 PM)
but i check the Mail setting...it dont have the setting that u mentioned.... rclxub.gif
I am assuming you are using default mail app

Launch mail app . At Settings/Send & Recieve :

Download option - you can set no of day. Example if you set 2 days, after 2 days, all the downloaded mails before that will be deleted

Further down : Sync deleted items from server - if this is selected , all downloaded mail ill be deleted irrespective when you download it

Further down : Delete mail on server - ON of off. If this is selected yes, when you download mail all your earlier mail will be delted

If you also download mails to your computer - by default the mails will be deleted from server. So if you need to download to your phone - select do not delete from server - check your mail settings on PC or Mac for this. As once mails deleted from server when you use phone to sync all the mails will be deleted from phone . So you have to control it yourself by going to set it on the phone as listed above

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 11 2011, 05:49 PM
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 06:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Apr 11 2011, 04:30 PM)
Wow the colors on the ARC are really awesome.
The colors on the ARC is close to 100% the actual colours while the IS colors are more faded. But overall the IS remains a better performer in other areas
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 07:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Apr 11 2011, 07:27 PM)
Guys, need to know. The matte Screen protector does it effect the screen alot? I want to get that, but worried it might reduce the brightness alot..

What do you guys think!?
Never like matt as it downgrade the display quality

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0391sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:23 PM