post Mar 25 2011, 05:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Another generally positive review on the incredible s :

http://androidcommunity.com/htc-incredible...avies-20110325/

Added on March 25, 2011, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Mar 25 2011, 05:44 PM)
What do you mean not considered ori? lol

Its an original SG set which i do not intend on reselling what so ever here, so why should i bother about it being ori/ap set. lol
Some guys think that only sets selling in Msia is original mainly due to warranty issues. I have been buying sets from Spore many times and as far as HTC is concerned, you need not worry about warranty claims. HTC Spore service center at Harbour Court is superb. They even handle my previous HTC bought in M'sia free of charge - replace the motherboard. If your set is bought under warranty by Brightpoint - any issue , just call the toll free number and they will collect the set from you in Spore any place , free ; you no need even have to go to HTC Center
I prefer to buy my stuffs from Spore as it is nearer than KL
This is my first HTC Android ( besides the HD2 ported unofficial Android ) - very impressed with the startup from off - just 5 seconds - I think it beats the DHD which I remember took 8-9 secs ( saw it at the official demo launch in Spore )

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 25 2011, 06:07 PM
benny888
post Mar 27 2011, 11:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Mar 27 2011, 11:03 AM)
im looking for incredible S ori set (sg, msia).. can deal in penang..contact me for further dicussion..0103863476
Just look it up at garage sales http://forum.lowyat.net/MobilePhonesandRelatedAccessories , few sellers selling it - prices ranging average RM1.6 to 1.7k
benny888
post Mar 29 2011, 01:11 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:03 PM)
maybe you can post some of the picture taken...i would like to get this phone ..but like to get from SIS unit..
Some photo shots - I just point and click all using default settings ; looks OK to me . Photo snaps are fast. Anyway I am not a camera guy

Indoor :

Outdoor in my garden - medium sunlight morning :

benny888
post Mar 30 2011, 10:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Mar 30 2011, 03:14 AM)
does the IS comes with flash 10.2?
It comes with 10.1 but my unit prompted me to update to 10.2 this morning - successfully updated ; is only a 4 MB file

Added on March 30, 2011, 10:39 am
QUOTE(ck_boon @ Mar 29 2011, 11:44 PM)
I saw this long today at sg600! Should get for it?
It is cheaper than normal. I a paid S$670 for mine

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 30 2011, 10:39 AM
benny888
post Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Apr 1 2011, 11:21 AM)
more precise is Saturday morning smile.gif
Only 300 units whole country - very sure within an hour all taken up. It is the same scenario when last year HTC launch its HTC Touch at Sunway for around RM500+ and all taken up within hours . Many guys mainly students camp overnight at Sunway Pyramid to grab it. ; next day retail price was RM 1499

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 1 2011, 11:24 AM
benny888
post Apr 1 2011, 06:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Apr 1 2011, 06:06 PM)

and the monthly rm68 i'd pay monthly in the future?
The RM68 is deducted monthly from your initial RM 500 deposit. Actually if you go to Digi website it is all there. And these questions keep repeating - please read the earlier postings. This means after the 7th month, you have to make payment monthly
benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 10:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

For those who failed to get the RM 599 offer, for RM 200+ ( counting in RM 20 monthly rebate ) more only get the regular package at RM 1199. Having used the IS for a week + , I must say is a great smartphone
The display even though is not Amoled is clear, crsip and bright and colors excellent reproduction unlike the SuperAmoled in Galaxy S
It is slick, fast and stable. I have yet to have any problems especially issues on freeze, sudden unexpected FC's. The GPS lockup is excellent. Having used several high end Androids, I'd say it is ranking very high in my list above the Galaxy S, Dell Streak, Galaxy Tab. It is closely match to the Google NexusOne

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 2 2011, 10:30 AM
benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 12:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ckming21 @ Apr 2 2011, 11:35 AM)
bro any people find out there manufacture defect on the phone ? such as gap not properly fit and etc
Absolutely none. Such issues were only reported on some sets of the Desire HD
benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 01:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Apr 2 2011, 12:44 PM)
I tried google and visited skype's official webpage.and market none.Anyone with skype on their incredible s pls take a pic to prove it exists. tongue.gif
Why would you want proof ?? It is beyond me. Anyway Skype is NOT restricted to amy specific Android smartphone. I have it working on ALL my Androids since my first Android. Anyway these are pics from my Incredible S - just for you and other sceptics

benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 01:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:05 PM)
sian la. i go get galaxy ace liao
You cannot compare Galaxy Ace with Incredible S. A worthy competitor in its price range will be the Galaxy SL. But in my opinion, it is a better buy compared to even the Galaxy S ( which I have used before )
benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 10:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lenzmark @ Apr 2 2011, 10:00 PM)
Anyone tried connect to pc for internet tethering?

I can't get to install the driver "Android phone" in win7.  How bout others?
Try install the HTC sync which is on the given SD card
OR you can install android sdk - download it and run sdk manager

Added on April 2, 2011, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(chewkl @ Apr 2 2011, 09:30 PM)
Anyone knows how to reset the phone to factory default or make it launch the welcome wizard again? I skipped through all those at the center because just wanted to test the phone there and then...

Press MENU from the home screen, then tap Settings > SD & phone storage > Factory data reset > Reset phone.

You can also perform a factory reset by using the buttons on the phone.
1. With the phone turned off, long press the VOLUME DOWN button, and then briefly press the POWER button.
2. Wait for the screen with the 3 Android images to appear, and then release the VOLUME DOWN button.
3. Press VOLUME DOWN to select FACTORY RESET, and then press POWER.
4. When asked to confirm, press VOLUME UP.

Added on April 2, 2011, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Apr 2 2011, 08:46 PM)
htc IS camera is horrible. really horrible. i think out of all the smartphone makers, only htc is the one with the worst camera ever. the nearest to real camera is nokia.
Why don't you post some pics taken on the IS and on another to justify your statement esp on the word " horrible"

HTC is never well known for its camera - if this is important to you, than you just make a wrong choice. Get the Xperia Arc which will offer better camera features. I am a camera noob - so far I find all camera pictures taken on my Androids looks OK ; I am not that detailed guy on camera quality

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 2 2011, 10:18 PM
benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 10:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Apr 2 2011, 10:33 PM)
i only have one working camera at the moment which is the IS. my previous camera is a n93 whose camera is faulty.

i've only spent very little time on the IS with the camera, it could be due to handshake but most of the pictures i took, when zoomed in, dun look very focused and quite blur. i considered the arc but i get what i am willing to pay for right?
i'm still learning the IS's "behaviour" so i hope that after some time, i'd get to take less pixelated/blur pics =)
for IS, i dun think the camera is like previous HTC products - review from engadget.
I took some pics - refer page 23 post # 441 - how do you rate this. All taken at default settings as I never tampered mainly because I know nuts about settings of camera. I just point and click
benny888
post Apr 2 2011, 11:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Apr 2 2011, 11:25 PM)
Thanks Benny for the factory reset.

I have 1 more question hope U can help me with...Do I still need app2sd on the IS? I was under the impression that on Froyo onwards we have the choice to select where to install the app? Sorry for such noobish question, I am coming from a 5-year old Symbian phone... blush.gif
You have 1.1 GB to install apps . Most android apps size is small average 2 MB , you can install 400 to 500 apps !!! If games, the dat will usually goes to SD card while app in phone memory. I don't see the need for apps2sd unless you are those who want to install every app you can find

Some points on apps2SD . Not all apps will auto install on card as depends on whether the developer has this feature builtin to meet Froyo's requirements. Most old apps will not have this feature. You can force install apps to card : just go to settings/applications/manage applications - find the app you need and select move to SDcard. You will notice for some apps, these selection could be greyed out - means you cannot move. All system utilities and widgets must be install in phone memory not sd card
These Apps2SD is more useful for phones having internal storage memory 512 MB or less

Download free app QUICK SYSTEM INFO - you can see how much space the 1.12GB internal storage has been used up. Don't be surprised you will see a lot of space even after install 100 apps

My advise just don't bother about using apps2sd unless you plan to install more than 400 apps
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 08:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:19 AM)
i wan incredible Sssss for video call
This phone by default cannot do video call only through example app fring
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 10:07 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kmbk @ Apr 3 2011, 09:27 AM)
do you mind to share?
Nowadays i'd say most smartphones glass is scratch proof ( to normal stuffs like keys, pen, coin etc ) commonly found in pockets. This trend is obvious since a year ago. It is already a feature that it is no longer being advertised and highlighted.
You don't believe me, scratch it yourself.
Of course you don't go to the extent of scratching it and cutting it hard across the glass. When we say scratch proof we are talking about the usual scratches that will happen when the phone is in friction with normal stuffs in the pocket. If one is so worried, just get a screen protector or put it inside a pouch. With so much competition, smartphone manufacturers who offer a non-scratchproof will just lose out. So far all the phones I have own since about 2 years back I have tested it out of curiosity. I just use a ball pen and drag it across and this is quite already a severe test . Some guys even demo using a knife - seriously what is the probability you have a knife cutting across your phone glass ??? I have cease using screen protectors for more than 2 years, partly also because my phones is always in a pouch , the best protection one can have
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 11:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Apr 3 2011, 11:26 AM)
when the pouch will come out? dont want to spoil the camera lens..
Plenty and variety in ebay and quite cheap too. I am using my old pouch which i bought for Nokia E71 - perfect fit
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 11:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Apr 3 2011, 11:39 AM)
E71 pouch can with fit IS lens ?
It is a pouch NOT a casing
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 12:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(NINJIAO @ Apr 3 2011, 11:42 AM)
Ohh been playing the IS for whole day yest. But got some problem with the sms notification, couldnt get it rite. Hahaha how do i set the sms ring tone? Like totally couldnt set in the sound setting. then i cant disable the sms receive appear in notification screen.

Hahaha overall it is a fast smooth phone with a lot of function. My fist android and loving it. Heheh even manage to poison my dad to buy this ove the fruit phone. Hahahah

Added on April 3, 2011, 11:45 amLol, when i got the phone. I straight buy a screen protector. Buy samsung galsxy s screen protecter and modify it. Hahaha now it look ugly. But do give protection. Just not used to naked phones. Hahaha waiting for the casemate to come at garage sale.
Launch the message app : Settings/Notification sound
Tick Play notification sound

Untick the top choice " Recieved notification" if you do not want alerts in status bar

You can set mp3 files as notification

For better organization, put all your choices in sd card : media/audio/notifications - if you dont have create these folders on card

Added on April 3, 2011, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(ck_boon @ Apr 3 2011, 11:53 AM)
means unbreakable? wow
It is definitely breakable depending on how you wish to break it. You hit it with a hammer - sure will break. The strengths is in not so easily breakable and is resistant to normal scratches

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2011, 12:04 PM
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 12:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Apr 3 2011, 12:05 PM)
tested "Tango" app for video call. Work fantastic via wifi. really cool! Just download this app from the market.
FRING works well too
benny888
post Apr 3 2011, 12:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(tanaumaga @ Apr 3 2011, 12:38 PM)
open the folder...then tap on the folder name
A better way to organize apps into folder is to use the app FOLDER ORGANIZER
You can assign any icon you wish to the folder too

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top