(<<<<HTC Incredible S Official Thread>>>>), Official thread

stormlcc
post Apr 11 2011, 09:44 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 11 2011, 09:28 AM)
Let's put it this way.  Arc's camera performance can never be achieved by IS.  IS's large internal memory can partly be emulated by Arc - just install less apps.  If camera is a concern (everybody has different priorities), the choice is clear.
well that's a stupid way to solve this problem, install less apps on a phone that costs more than 2k? if i buy a phone that cost me that much, i'd expect it to perform whenever and whatever i tell it to. froyo and above does control app storage pretty well, and newer apps and games mostly are installed in the external storage, but this doesn't justify SE giving crap storage on their high end phone and charging more comparing to it's competitors. This is one of the factors (in consideration) of me NOT getting this phone for my gf. But IF this phone can be perm root and s-off before the IS, it WILL BE my first choice

if within 3 months none of the new phones (IS, ARC and so on) can be rooted, i might as well get her a DHD
irenic
post Apr 11 2011, 09:47 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

true. but why ur gf needs to use rooted phone? for paid apps? or custom roms?

ellimist
post Apr 11 2011, 09:51 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Depends on priorities doesn't it? And yeah, installing less apps is an option for some, but I don't think it's a solution / alternative. You do wanna try out all sorts of apps, and leave alot of them there for those rare occasions you'll use em.
Kadajxii
post Apr 11 2011, 09:59 AM

when can i get ori IS in lowyat? or any retail store? (not digi)
irenic
post Apr 11 2011, 10:02 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

IIANM Digi exclusivity is one month. so most probably stores / shops will sell IS in early May wink.gif
Dannyl
post Apr 11 2011, 10:05 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 11 2011, 09:44 AM)
well that's a stupid way to solve this problem, install less apps on a phone that costs more than 2k?  if i buy a phone that cost me that much, i'd expect it to perform whenever and whatever i tell it to.  froyo and above does control app storage pretty well, and newer apps and games mostly are installed in the external storage, but this doesn't justify SE giving crap storage on their high end phone and charging more comparing to it's competitors.  This is one of the factors (in consideration) of me NOT getting this phone for my gf.  But IF this phone can be perm root and s-off before the IS, it WILL BE my first choice

if within 3 months none of the new phones (IS, ARC and so on) can be rooted, i might as well get her a DHD
So if I buy a RM800 phone, can I install less apps? laugh.gif then the next day I buy a 2.5k phone, suddenly I need to install more apps? Come on laugh.gif Read my original post, I already stated, 'everybody has different priorities'. Install 1,000 apps <> fully utilize the phone. Price of phone also do not proportionately determine the number of apps you should install. You need 2GB internal space to be happy, somebody else probably needs a great camera lens to be happy. Of course if your eyes can't pick out photo details, your choice is pretty clear cut.

SE giving crap storage is like HTC giving crap cameras. Some say 'oh SE storage not that bad what'. Also some will say 'oh HTC camera not that bad what'. Equal sides of the coin, my bro.

Sounds like everybody's GF is hardcore and techie, needing the latest and greatest Android. Luckily my other half only requires camera, dictionary, Facebook, notes laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Apr 11 2011, 10:08 AM
stormlcc
post Apr 11 2011, 10:09 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2011, 09:47 AM)
true. but why ur gf needs to use rooted phone? for paid apps? or custom roms?
jack sparrow software, like the spb 3d needs to gain root access to use. custom roms (although there is none at the moment), without this, android won't be interesting anymore. and the most important thing in a mid/high end phone, OVERCLOCKING! which makes android the best smartphone OS in the world
Kadajxii
post Apr 11 2011, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2011, 10:02 AM)
IIANM Digi exclusivity is one month. so most probably stores / shops will sell IS in early May wink.gif
So the gingerbread is coming on june? hmm.gif
irenic
post Apr 11 2011, 10:26 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 11 2011, 10:09 AM)
jack sparrow software, like the spb 3d needs to gain root access to use.  custom roms (although there is none at the moment), without this, android won't be interesting anymore.  and the most important thing in a mid/high end phone, OVERCLOCKING! which makes android the best smartphone OS in the world
ur gf has interest in overclocking a phone? thumbup.gif
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 11:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have both incredible s and xperia arc
For camera n video record quality xperia arc. Other features incredible s. For performance - file access, apps launching, apps install, UI slickness and smoothness the incredile s is very much ahead. On a score of 10 to incredible s i rate the arc a score of 7 and below
irenic
post Apr 11 2011, 11:31 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

thanks Benny.. do u mind to share comparison of night shot / indoor shot between Arc and IS?
lch_291
post Apr 11 2011, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 11 2011, 12:27 AM)
H - HSPDA which is faster than 3G which is faster than E Edge which is faster than G - GPRS
It'z both oso connecting to internet????
stormlcc
post Apr 11 2011, 11:50 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 11 2011, 10:05 AM)
So if I buy a RM800 phone, can I install less appslaugh.gif  then the next day I buy a 2.5k phone, suddenly I need to install more apps?  Come on laugh.gif  Read my original post, I already stated, 'everybody has different priorities'.  Install 1,000 apps <> fully utilize the phone.  Price of phone also do not proportionately determine the number of apps you should install.  You need 2GB internal space to be happy, somebody else probably needs a great camera lens to be happy.  Of course if your eyes can't pick out photo details, your choice is pretty clear cut.

SE giving crap storage is like HTC giving crap cameras.  Some say 'oh SE storage not that bad what'.  Also some will say 'oh HTC camera not that bad what'.  Equal sides of the coin, my bro.

Sounds like everybody's GF is hardcore and techie, needing the latest and greatest Android.  Luckily my other half only requires camera, dictionary, Facebook, notes laugh.gif
of course when I buy an expensive piece of gadget i'd expect at least what the competitors are giving me. if u buy a merc and it gives u crap interior like a vios will u make noise? of course u'll complain (if u r really that stupid of buying a merc with a vios interior). and pls think about it, a phone like the arc can install much much more apps like 3d games which the cheaper alternatives can't run, this makes u NEED more internal storage space.

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2011, 10:26 AM)
ur gf has interest in overclocking a phone?  thumbup.gif
of course........OC is one of the best things in android, without it life will be so boring.
irenic
post Apr 11 2011, 11:54 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 11 2011, 11:50 AM)

of course........OC is one of the best things in android, without it life will be so boring.
u dun see my point here. i wont ask if it is you who like oc. i myself an overclocker since 2002.. tongue.gif
saksoba
post Apr 11 2011, 12:20 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(lch_291 @ Apr 11 2011, 11:49 AM)
It'z both oso connecting to internet????
Yes. Definitely. It is ur mobile data/internet.

I'm from iPhone family. Now, IS. I think, in term of camera, iPhone definitely outshine IS. However, since camera is not my concern, I don't bother that much. Selection on device is based on what u looking at. Of course, before you buy something, u read all the review and make your own judgement.

As for me, I have been using iPhone (iOS) for about 2 years and looking for new excitement in mobile experience, which is Android.

So far so good. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by saksoba: Apr 11 2011, 12:20 PM
yehlai
post Apr 11 2011, 12:49 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2011, 10:26 AM)
ur gf has interest in overclocking a phone?  thumbup.gif
Hi Irenic, im interested. But need to root 1st rite?
o'c since 2004.

This post has been edited by yehlai: Apr 11 2011, 01:08 PM
soitsuagain
post Apr 11 2011, 12:49 PM

Let's do it together!
3,806 posts

QUOTE(apika @ Apr 11 2011, 08:45 AM)
I know. the arc got lots of interesting features to offer. plus the promised unlocked bootloader but we dont know when that will happen. the ability to flash custom roms are actually top on my list.

But i've yet to try the arc. anyone know where can i find a working model? those sony ericsson stores only carry dummies.
yes sonystyle klcc has a demo set
irenic
post Apr 11 2011, 01:15 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Apr 11 2011, 12:49 PM)
Hi Irenic, im interested. But need to root 1st rite?
o'c since 2004.
hi!

yups need to root first.. and too bad not many devs are working on rooting the Incredible S.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 11 2011, 01:15 PM
freky
post Apr 11 2011, 01:49 PM

my mail will suddenly auto delete....aiks...dunno what the problem
benny888
post Apr 11 2011, 03:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(freky @ Apr 11 2011, 01:49 PM)
my mail will suddenly auto delete....aiks...dunno what the problem
That is because in your mail settings you have selected delete once the mail is downloaded from server on your notebook or PC

111 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:23 AM