135 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^

[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 10:51 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(leaderfrontier)
hmm~~you say overkill?not so really understand...could you explain for me?sorry if it will trouble you....

Well, it means if you're only using the laptop for normal stuffs like Microsoft office, surf net, Facebook games, you don't need such high specs, especially the dedicated graphic card... You'll only need that when you intend to play games (real games) on the laptop laugh.gif
So I would recommend you to focus more on the processor (get i5 if possible), warranty and design icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 7 2011, 10:51 AM
tjinn
post May 7 2011, 11:01 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 10:33 AM)

Added on May 7, 2011, 10:35 am

Preferred size?  hmm.gif
If 14" then its either M14x or HP Dv4  nod.gif
14 or 15 inches should b about right
[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 11:03 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ May 7 2011, 11:01 AM)
14 or 15 inches should b about right
Asus G53Sw, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GTX460M + Bluray RW@RM4999, 3D glasses, gaming backpack & mouse
Or you can consider importing Sager units for cheaper price wub.gif

Another poison (for its exclusiveness): brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 7 2011, 11:04 AM
tjinn
post May 7 2011, 11:07 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 11:03 AM)
Asus G53Sw, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GTX460M + Bluray RW@RM4999, 3D glasses, gaming backpack & mouse
Or you can consider importing Sager units for cheaper price  wub.gif

Another poison (for its exclusiveness):  brows.gif

Ic. Sounds great. But is there any 1 bringing this model in? Kinda hard to get the asus gaming series.
[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 11:23 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ May 7 2011, 11:07 AM)
Ic. Sounds great. But is there any 1 bringing this model in? Kinda hard to get the asus gaming series.
These are already in the Asus brochure, so they' be around smile.gif
You could always pre-order from stores as well...
The thing is that the Asus Gaming Series laptops were always too overpriced compared to those from other countries (you save money even by importing the same thing from other countries compared to buying locally)... but with the new promotion now, it'll be well worth it nod.gif
egoeclipsed
post May 7 2011, 11:26 AM

14 posts

Originally my budget was around RM 3k but I realized that I do not require such a powerful computer. Can save the money and easily buy another RM 1.5k laptop in 2-3 years if this one spoils. So what is the best buy for a laptop for around RM 1600? I am interested in:

Acer 4750, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM1549, FreeDOS
G470, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM1599, FreeDOS

My usage is for university work such as word processing, presentations, web surfing, picture editing, 720p movies/videos, some adobe photoshop. Are these laptops powerful enough for my purpose? Btw, I only intend to play very few games, from notebookcheck, i see the Intel HD3000 can handle Fifa11 so should be no problems for dota also.

Also, anyone know of the battery life of these laptops? With second gen i3 and integrated gc only can I expect 4-5 hours?
[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 11:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(egoeclipsed @ May 7 2011, 11:26 AM)
Originally my budget was around RM 3k but I realized that I do not require such a powerful computer. Can save the money and easily buy another RM 1.5k laptop in 2-3 years if this one spoils. So what is the best buy for a laptop for around RM 1600? I am interested in:

Acer 4750, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM1549, FreeDOS
G470, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM1599, FreeDOS

My usage is for university work such as word processing, presentations, web surfing, picture editing, 720p movies/videos, some adobe photoshop. Are these laptops powerful enough for my purpose? Btw, I only intend to play very few games, from notebookcheck, i see the Intel HD3000 can handle Fifa11 so should be no problems for dota also.

Also, anyone know of the battery life of these laptops? With second gen i3 and integrated gc only can I expect 4-5 hours?
These would be better I think laugh.gif With the warranty, you can be sure that it'll last at least 3 years laugh.gif
Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (Top up yourself to get 3 years warranty)
Acer Aspire 4750G, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT 520@RM2249, 3 years local limited warranty
Asus A43Sj, i3-2310M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999 (2 years international warranty)
Lenovo G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (Top up yourself to get 3 years warranty)
leaderfrontier
post May 7 2011, 11:35 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 10:51 AM)
QUOTE(leaderfrontier)
hmm~~you say overkill?not so really understand...could you explain for me?sorry if it will trouble you....

Well, it means if you're only using the laptop for normal stuffs like Microsoft office, surf net, Facebook games, you don't need such high specs, especially the dedicated graphic card... You'll only need that when you intend to play games (real games) on the laptop laugh.gif
So I would recommend you to focus more on the processor (get i5 if possible), warranty and design icon_rolleyes.gif
Oic,thanks for explanation.
but,wasn't the Satellite L745-1051xp a i5 processor?

Anyway,if use for study,beside focus more on the processor, warranty and design,is there other else spec which should be more focus on?

[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 11:40 AM

24,193 posts

^
Yes, it does come with i5-2410M, but it also comes with an Nvidia GT525M dedicated GPU which you don't need laugh.gif
You can shave a small amount of money of the total budget if you just stick to the integrated Intel HD3000 GPU which is already very good for normal usage nod.gif
Well, you can look for features like USB3.0, speaker quality, build and craftsmanship... but don't expect too much from budget laptops laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 7 2011, 11:40 AM
egoeclipsed
post May 7 2011, 11:43 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 11:35 AM)
These would be better I think  laugh.gif With the warranty, you can be sure that it'll last at least 3 years  laugh.gif 
Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (Top up yourself to get 3 years warranty)
Acer Aspire 4750G, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT 520@RM2249, 3 years local limited warranty
Lenovo G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (Top up yourself to get 3 years warranty)
So you would recommend an i5 processor instead? Because warranty to me is not extremely important. Would an i5 handle the tasks better since I am only using it for really basic stuff. Hmm, no option for freeDOS?
leaderfrontier
post May 7 2011, 11:46 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 11:40 AM)
^
Yes, it does come with i5-2410M, but it also comes with an Nvidia GT525M dedicated GPU which you don't need  laugh.gif
You can shave a small amount of money of the total budget if you just stick to the integrated Intel HD3000 GPU which is already very good for normal usage  nod.gif
Well, you can look for features like USB3.0, speaker quality, build and craftsmanship... but don't expect too much from budget laptops  laugh.gif
okay~~
hmm,you mean change the Nvidia GT525M to Intel HD3000 GPU?or detach it?
if detach the graphic card,still have HDMI,etcetc?

[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 11:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(egoeclipsed @ May 7 2011, 11:43 AM)
So you would recommend an i5 processor instead? Because warranty to me is not extremely important. Would an i5 handle the tasks better since I am only using it for really basic stuff. Hmm, no option for freeDOS?
Well, it'll come in handy since you did mentioned you'll be using Photoshop laugh.gif
And yes it will generally handle tasks better smile.gif
Hmmm, to me, warranty is everything.... you buy 3 years warranty, then you can be sure that the laptop will serve you for 3 years.... unless if you're the ones who tend to change laptops often, only then the warranty is not so important... But then again if your laptop still has warranty coverage when you sell it, it'll fetch a higher price...
Oh, those don't come with FreeDOS...
MSI FX420, i5-2410M + AMD HD6470@RM2099, FreeDOS/RM2299(W7HP), 3 years warranty

Added on May 7, 2011, 11:49 am
QUOTE(leaderfrontier @ May 7 2011, 11:46 AM)
okay~~
hmm,you mean change the Nvidia GT525M to Intel HD3000 GPU?or detach it?
if detach the graphic card,still have HDMI,etcetc?
Err... not detach it, rather buy another variant or other brands of laptops without the Nvidia GPU... nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 7 2011, 11:49 AM
leaderfrontier
post May 7 2011, 11:54 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 11:48 AM)
Well, it'll come in handy since you did mentioned you'll be using Photoshop  laugh.gif
And yes it will generally handle tasks better smile.gif
Hmmm, to me, warranty is everything.... you buy 3 years warranty, then you can be sure that the laptop will serve you for 3 years.... unless if you're the ones who tend to change laptops often, only then the warranty is not so important... But then again if your laptop still has warranty coverage when you sell it, it'll fetch a higher price...
Oh, those don't come with FreeDOS...
MSI FX420, i5-2410M + AMD HD6470@RM2099, FreeDOS/RM2299(W7HP), 3 years warranty

Added on May 7, 2011, 11:49 am

Err... not detach it, rather buy another variant or other brands of laptops without the Nvidia GPU...  nod.gif
kk,so,the suggestion is change the Nvidia GT525M to the others or but other brands of laptop with cheaper graphic card?
okay,hmm...beside the graphic card,the rest is okay?

[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 11:57 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(leaderfrontier @ May 7 2011, 11:54 AM)
kk,so,the suggestion is change the Nvidia GT525M to the others or but other brands of laptop with cheaper graphic card?
okay,hmm...beside the graphic card,the rest is okay?
The speakers kind of soft for the L745, but its kind of expected for laptops at this price range nod.gif
To make it simple, just survey, and choose one of these:
Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (ask for warranty extension to 3 years)
Dell Inspiron 14R, i3-2310M + Intel HD 3000@RM1949 (purchase online and go for 3 years warranty top up)
Lenovo G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (ask for warranty extension to 3 years)
If really want Toshiba, then:
Toshiba Satellite L745-1049U, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM2099, 2 years warranty (1st year global) (top up to 3 years warranty)

leaderfrontier
post May 7 2011, 12:01 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 11:57 AM)
The speakers kind of soft for the L745, but its kind of expected for laptops at this price range  nod.gif
To make it simple, just survey, and choose one of these:
Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (ask for warranty extension to 3 years)
Dell Inspiron 14R, i3-2310M + Intel HD 3000@RM1949 (purchase online and go for 3 years warranty top up)
Lenovo G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 (ask for warranty extension to 3 years)
If really want Toshiba, then:
Toshiba Satellite L745-1049U, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM2099, 2 years warranty (1st year global) (top up to 3 years warranty)
okay..I will told her
thank you very much~~
murv90
post May 7 2011, 01:30 PM

628 posts

i need a laptop preferably 14" screen for entertainment n gaming purposes. budget around 2.5k. any suggestions?
[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 01:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ May 7 2011, 01:30 PM)
i need a laptop preferably 14" screen for entertainment n gaming purposes. budget around 2.5k. any suggestions?
Acer TimelineX 4830TG, i5-2410M + GT540M@RM2499
Asus A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2399, [6-cell 4400mAH]
Asus A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(2GB)@RM2599, [6-cell 5200mAH]
Asus N43SL, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599[Bang & Olufsen]
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-2410M + AMD HD6630@RM2349, Free 2nd year warranty: expires 12 May
duabijitelur
post May 7 2011, 02:38 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

[PF] T.J
how is the asus vx7 now? its ady on asus website ?
[PF] T.J.
post May 7 2011, 02:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ May 7 2011, 02:38 PM)
[PF] T.J
how is the asus vx7 now? its ady on asus website ?
Its in the latest product guide@RM5999, RM2k promotion drool.gif
http://my.asus.com/Static_WebPage/Product_Guide/
duabijitelur
post May 7 2011, 02:42 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 7 2011, 02:39 PM)
Its in the latest product guide@RM5999, RM2k promotion  drool.gif
http://my.asus.com/Static_WebPage/Product_Guide/
thks dude ... the laptops damn nice...
asus gaming series they din use ATi gpu hor... ohmy.gif
G53SW only RM5k... woo nice price!