Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V10, SandyBridge 2nd batch had arrived!! ^^
alucard1412
Apr 3 2011, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(dlct87 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:38 PM) lenovo idea pad y560p and asus n53sn, which is better? (gaming and multimedia wise....) the only difference is the graphic card, so which is better? graphic card is more or less the same, but keep in mind that y560p has no switchable graphics option, meaning u'll always be using the discrete grapic card, thus draining battery life...
kahjye
Apr 3 2011, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:43 PM) graphic card is more or less the same, but keep in mind that y560p has no switchable graphics option, meaning u'll always be using the discrete grapic card, thus draining battery life... my gf using the N43JF with gt425m , but it seems it wont auto switch eh..have to manually =.="
alucard1412
Apr 3 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 3 2011, 03:53 PM) my gf using the N43JF with gt425m , but it seems it wont auto switch eh..have to manually =.=" em..i guess N43JF has no optimus...
dlct87
Apr 3 2011, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:43 PM) graphic card is more or less the same, but keep in mind that y560p has no switchable graphics option, meaning u'll always be using the discrete grapic card, thus draining battery life... hmm apart from that, which model is more "reliable" in terms of performance, and build quality?
alucard1412
Apr 3 2011, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(dlct87 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:56 PM) hmm apart from that, which model is more "reliable" in terms of performance, and build quality? for me, its N53SN  its aluminium casing is pretty sturdy. The palm rest might feel hotter, but the insides should be cooler. Oh yea btw i forgot N53SN's graphic card is 550m, should be slightly better too. Not significant though. This post has been edited by alucard1412: Apr 3 2011, 04:00 PM
kahjye
Apr 3 2011, 04:41 PM
GT550M is only SLIGHTLY better compared to GT540M?
alucard1412
Apr 3 2011, 04:55 PM
well, i've heard more "slightly better" compared to "much better"  probably about 3-5 fps?
eugenechiuu
Apr 3 2011, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:55 PM) em..i guess N43JF has no optimus... It has lar..
blissd
Apr 3 2011, 08:12 PM

Sigh, the DV6 is not on sale yet, most probably mid- or end of April... Darn!
alucard1412
Apr 3 2011, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Apr 3 2011, 07:58 PM) that means just need to update driver?
dlct87
Apr 3 2011, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(blissd @ Apr 3 2011, 08:12 PM) Sigh, the DV6 is not on sale yet, most probably mid- or end of April... Darn! the HP DV6-3101tx? i saw it in a brochure...but RM5k seems like N53SN will be my choice for new NB after 6 years lol
jusjus88
Apr 3 2011, 09:20 PM
Curious here, if the bass/subwoofer of the XPS 15 is placed underneath, do i need to at least keep a spacing between it and the table?
[PF] T.J.
Apr 3 2011, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 3 2011, 09:20 PM) Curious here, if the bass/subwoofer of the XPS 15 is placed underneath, do i need to at least keep a spacing between it and the table? There will be a spacing if you opt for the 9- cell battery hehe If not, just raise it with some books/cooler pads?
eugenechiuu
Apr 3 2011, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(alucard1412 @ Apr 3 2011, 08:50 PM) that means just need to update driver? Just that some applications wont auto switch to nvidia GPU, you just have to whitelist those apps to run nvidia then it would auto switch after that..
jusjus88
Apr 3 2011, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 3 2011, 09:40 PM) There will be a spacing if you opt for the 9- cell battery hehe If not, just raise it with some books/cooler pads? lol i thought of opping for the 9-cell batt, but i see the battery like senget a bit to the left (if look from behind). I saw the picture on the XPS thread..wow really senget lor
blissd
Apr 3 2011, 10:36 PM

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Apr 3 2011, 08:56 PM) the HP DV6-3101tx? i saw it in a brochure...but RM5k seems like N53SN will be my choice for new NB after 6 years lol The refreshed SB version... 6001tx...  Sigh....
Invalid Username
Apr 3 2011, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Apr 2 2011, 11:50 PM) U should compare HP dm1z with Asus 1215B instead.. Dm1z is not available in Malaysia yet... 1215B apparently is here already or coming very soon... Both of these have same specs, previously AlexLai posted a 1215B which did some comparisons between the 2... Asus is cheaper because it's a free-dos option for Rm1399... haha woops meant 1215B. got mixed up for a while back then. what will the price for hp's dm1z's price be about? by the way can the 1215B run 64bit windows 7? thanks This post has been edited by Invalid Username: Apr 3 2011, 10:45 PM
eugenechiuu
Apr 3 2011, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Invalid Username @ Apr 3 2011, 10:41 PM) haha woops meant 1215B. got mixed up for a while back then. what will the price for hp's dm1z's price be about? Assume same price as USA, it's rm1549 like that.. I suspect around rm1599 if myr releases it..
Invalid Username
Apr 3 2011, 10:53 PM
can the 1215B run 64bit windows 7? and also what is the price for the one coming with win7 Home premium stated on their site? http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=5K7QRFbPkwEIa5Uj
[PF] T.J.
Apr 3 2011, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(Invalid Username @ Apr 3 2011, 10:53 PM) can the 1215B run 64bit windows 7? and also what is the price for the one coming with win7 Home premium stated on their site? http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=5K7QRFbPkwEIa5UjShouldn't be a problem. Dell's M102z runs on 64-bits W7 HP as well I'm guessing RM1,699