QUOTE(azarimy @ May 15 2013, 01:44 AM)
oo what happen? So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect
So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect
May 14 2013, 11:15 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 15 2013, 12:44 AM
Jun 16 2013, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(chiealle @ Jun 13 2013, 09:43 PM) Hi, I came across an architectural event called Archidex 2013. I checked the webpage http://www.archidex.com.my/index.php but I'm not very sure about some details. What is this exhibition actually about? and must I own a company and register first to enter this exhibition?Thanks where most msia architects and many other Intl architects come and talk or show off their stuffs. this year different from last year, this year they only start to include the Design industry.. arts installation and seperate the professional developments. But overall, you can see how they show off their work to other architects to inspire Malaysia architects Yet sadly, they still cant answer the issues with wat is Malaysia Architecture. |
Jun 16 2013, 02:10 AM
Jun 16 2013, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(finger_waverz @ Jun 16 2013, 02:05 PM) dont put so much hope in creating "Malaysia Architecture" our culture are not as widely diverse as our neighbour indonesia. I dont hope, but i`ll like to see How PAM/LAM define the "Malaysia Architecture" in retrospect destroy alot the early history of the real architecture with modernism dont know to where. even if, to put in a comparison. is there any "Singapore Architecture". so we are way pass that question. i think right now the main issues is how we can erect a great building with an army of unskilled construction workers. IBS? robot? that the way to think forward man construction well, we got banglasia. from PCK limited unskilled worker? well, Msia got too many PCK with veli gooding england. Anything also boreh one! which make you think, what is CIBD for? This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jun 16 2013, 10:01 PM |
Jun 16 2013, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 16 2013, 10:32 PM) From my own personal experience, the Ali Setan (film) segment is extremely true: whenever the designer comes up with an interpretation of Malaysian Architecture, the client will ask "mana bumbung Minangkabau" (or insert other Malay architectural element/component). um dont worry sir, i`ll introduce flat roof. Post modernism ala Malaysia Then whenever some architects gets established enough to command his own clients (like Hijjas Kasturi), other architects will kid him and say "eleh that's his interpretation! Doesnt mean it's true..." |
Jun 16 2013, 09:59 PM
Jun 16 2013, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 17 2013, 01:16 AM) what malaysia need is a grand/chief architect whom people follow/consult with. just like the attorney general (for law). then he can say to some menteri "you idiot, itu bangunan hodoh laa!". chief architect, a corrupt arrogant one or? a vast majority of architectural projects in malaysia are government based. the problem with this is that, the standard practice during tender selection is to get the cheapest tender always. and u know what kinda shit we'll get on cheapest tender, right? somebody need to teach them what "more bang for the buck" means. msia when come to designs and appreciation, really poor. include the detail graps. Copy only lah attitude |
Jun 29 2013, 03:22 PM
Jun 29 2013, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(konakona @ Jun 5 2013, 05:07 PM) Hi Mr. Azarimy, On matter of joining the japan league, Its a huge family of archi for your info. I just graduated from Dip. in Interior Design from UiTM. Before that I had undergone Foundation in Architectural Studies from UCSI. Now, I want to continue on my studies in architecture. Although, I am unsure of where to go. A few recommendations I got is: UTM, USM, and for overseas are UCL, AA and University of Tokyo. I want to try my luck on going overseas and all the above except UniTokyo has accreditation, although, I heard there is a new ruling that all oversea students need to take the exam no matter what, so accreditation part won't matter. No? A few questions I want to ask: 1. There is a new programme I found from UniTokyo, Architecure and Urban Design which I am interested to take due to its offers and scholarships. What do you think about this? 2. I've looked at UTM website, and found that I can directly continue my studies there in architecture, although no further information is found. Tried e-mailing the university just now, although if you know anything about this process, could you brief me about it? they have their own "daiku" the red group and the white group. both have different language for the japanese architecture. then there`s this pink group. you might want to look at what subs in there. |
Jun 29 2013, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(Ichighost @ Jun 20 2013, 12:35 AM) always down to cost constraint..most of the time..and the climate constraint..if the detail is the same..then it will be just a waste of time to do it again..copy paste edit..hehe for me lack of research and collaboration with architecture school in malaysia that limit the new exploration of design..and materials..students mind is wild and adventurous..plus with the architects understanding on the technical aspects of construction..they can create something 'New' or at least.. 'Fresh' Fresh, overrated for malaysia. the pattern language of design seem to originate from outside rather from within. look at the general architecture, post- modernism ala glas facades, sexy overrated blocks.. sigh, what is "fresh" when the idea originated from outside? |
Jun 29 2013, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 29 2013, 06:33 PM) basically all who've not obtained LAM part 1 and/or 2 must take the test regardless of local or overseas. what this means is that, we no longer differentiate local and overseas graduates. the difference is if you have LAM accreditation or not. hw abt implication to the industry working standards and design?after this, LAM accreditation can be extended to overseas schools as well. all they need to do is request accreditation visit from LAM, and if they pass the evaluation visit, they'll be granted accreditation appropriately. so yes, in the future there will be australian, UK, american, russian, zimbabwe schools etc that are directly accredited by LAM. so anyone graduated from there (regardless of citizenship) will have LAM qualifications and may practice in malaysia freely. so people would ask, who the F would ever want to consider LAM accreditation, which is only valid in malaysia? easy: huge number of malaysian students are sponsored by the government, GLCs and private companies. these sponsors refer to JPA recognition list. and for professional courses like architecture, JPA will refer to LAM's accredited list. so imagine this: + next year, JPA will most likely not approve ANY overseas architectural schools (because LAM hasnt). + which will cause the sponsors that rely on JPA list will suspend all their new sponsored students (current sponsored students will not be affected). + then every sponsored students will terhegeh2 trying to find a place to study, but there's none. + imagine a relatively less known school in canada for example, who casually applied for LAM accreditation and passed. it will be THE ONLY accredited architecture school outside malaysia. + and suddenly all sponsored architecture students will flock there. + leaving schools that used to rely on steady supply of malaysian students (an their moneys) stranded. + not wanting to lose what used to be their main supply of income from overseas students, more and more schools will apply for LAM accreditation. in the end, it's a win-win situation for all. as u know CIDB still infant stage while archi is going restruct the system... so when will msia really see that architecture as overall, a credible profession? |
Jun 29 2013, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(konakona @ Jun 29 2013, 08:39 PM) Like the Metabolism and et cetera thing? I can't find a good keyword for now, as of writing, mind sharing some? I know there's different movement in the architectural scene, but I have not read so far yet. im not too sure, but one thing i was told before was look to something you want to explore in for your profession. Okay, i got this from a talk abt japan architecture.. u might want someone from japan to help u out abit. |
Jul 3 2013, 04:08 AM
QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jul 3 2013, 02:10 AM) Hi mr. Azarimy, taylor`s Diploma back then are not accredited. A lot gone this path and stuck in this same situation. My classmate recently tried to get registered as LAM part 2 but was rejected because, according to the letter, "ijazah pertama yang diperolehi dari university of strathclyde adalah tidak mencukupi syarat yang telah ditetapkan oleh lembaga." "tuan perlu memohon untuk mendapatkan pengecualian daripada panel peperiksaan Bahagian I dan II, majlis peperiksaan senibina, LAM." we graduated with diploma from Taylor's then continued to year 3&4 at strathclyde to obtain degree hons (part 1) then a year of post grad diploma to get part 2.. but still not recognise by LAM. so.. what exactly do we have to do to get pengecualian, an exam we have to sit for in form of presentation / interview? |
Jul 3 2013, 04:12 AM
Jul 3 2013, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jul 3 2013, 04:58 PM) We did 3 years in Taylors, then another 3 in UK so total of 6 years. i guess LAM requires us to obtain part 1 in the same institute, and since we only got it after studying 3 years in Taylors then 2 years in UK- doesn't fulfil their syarat. LAM. always a b**** But the again my colleague went through the same path with the only difference of studying in utar first then tasmania. He can just register without having to sit for exam.. oh LAM why you being so difficult... |
Oct 1 2013, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(A9412 @ Sep 21 2013, 05:47 PM) Hey! no longer such for taylors graduate.I came up with another few questions... i was going through taylors website again, there, the b.sc degree is 3 years and then the university of melbourne jumps right to the m.arch degree. so then, is b.sc equivalent to b.arch? and can i take a gap of two years before m.arch and be able to practice in that time? plus, if i go with taylors, can i do my masters from some other uni rather than the one they suggest? and essentially, does that mean that ill do in 3 years what i do with other universities in five? |
Oct 8 2013, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 1 2013, 11:09 PM) It should be. It's accepted by UTM, although none ever qualified enough to join us. So if UTM accepts them, I dont see any reason why any IPTS wont. unless those IPTS are really in for Money..which the prestige usually are. This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 8 2013, 02:27 PM |
Nov 28 2013, 08:54 PM
Nov 28 2013, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 17 2013, 01:57 AM) there's no more auto-recognition. so it will most probably hinder new students from going abroad. but for students who're already there like you, it's not a big deal. a type of so called skilled retention? i recommend you to continue for your masters there. finish your part 2 (australian). then come back here, and sit for the LAM part 1 and 2 exam straight. this way, u get both australian and malaysian parts 1 and 2. |
| Change to: | 0.0757sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:59 PM |