12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Bastion, Not your ordinary hack-and-slash RPG!

y3ivan
post Nov 3 2011, 11:49 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Nov 2 2011, 10:05 PM)
I think there is no better time to hold this promotion since the hype has kinda died down, though I must say that it was a pretty good run right from the day the game was released. smile.gif
i just got the game sometime in Aug. Serious disappointment it had to go to sales so soon
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 01:51 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Nov 3 2011, 11:23 AM)
Glad to read that. wink.gif
I'll post up a short review.

Things i like so far
+ Active narrations can be witty sometimes.
+The combat, surprisingly, its fun as i thought it might be annoying like Death Spank's one.
+ The weapons feels different from each other, and there are reasons to use different weapons.
+The option to customise your difficulty is awesome by the Shrine mcehanics.
+ Environments is beautiful, despite its just 2D.

Things i dont really like so far
- It doesnt seem to have a wide variety of enemies.
- Challenge series is quite tough for me.
- The soundtrack is pretty meh at time, but it can be very very good at times.
- I am still unsure whats happening in the storyline after 3.6 hours in the game.
- The lack of other voices in the game is a bit underwhelming.

Conclusion so far: Still love it, despite it is slightly disappointing due to the hype around this game. Bastion have been a pretty good independent game so far to me. My 7.50USD is well spent. If you have 7.50USD to spare, get this game. It is worth playing.

TStalexeh
post Nov 3 2011, 01:58 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,102 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Nov 3 2011, 11:49 AM)
i just got the game sometime in Aug. Serious disappointment it had to go to sales so soon
Hmm... not sure if you're sharing the same sentiment as I do. biggrin.gif I'm just a lil' disappointed that a great game like Bastion gets thrown into the offer bin so early while others might get disappointed due to them getting the game at full price. biggrin.gif

Anyway, looking at the bright side, this promotion will lead to more gamers owning a copy of Bastion & experience for themselves the topsy-turvy world of Caelondia. smile.gif
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 02:01 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Nov 3 2011, 01:58 PM)
Hmm... not sure if you're sharing the same sentiment as I do. biggrin.gif I'm just a lil' disappointed that a great game like Bastion gets thrown into the offer bin so early while others might get disappointed due to them getting the game at full price. biggrin.gif

Anyway, looking at the bright side, this promotion will lead to more gamers owning a copy of Bastion & experience for themselves the topsy-turvy world of Caelondia. smile.gif
I am still pretty surprised that it went on sale so soon though.

it is pretty well received but i dont know why they went on sale so soon.
TStalexeh
post Nov 3 2011, 02:08 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,102 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 3 2011, 01:51 PM)
I'll post up a short review.

Things i like so far
+ Active narrations can be witty sometimes.
+The combat, surprisingly, its fun as i thought it might be annoying like Death Spank's one.
+ The weapons feels different from each other, and there are reasons to use different weapons.
+The option to customise your difficulty is awesome by the Shrine mcehanics.
+ Environments is beautiful, despite its just 2D.

Things i dont really like so far
- It doesnt seem to have a wide variety of enemies.
- Challenge series is quite tough for me.
- The soundtrack is pretty meh at time, but it can be very very good at times.
- I am still unsure whats happening in the storyline after 3.6 hours in the game.
- The lack of other voices in the game is a bit underwhelming.

Conclusion so far: Still love it, despite it is slightly disappointing due to the hype around this game. Bastion have been a pretty good independent game so far to me. My 7.50USD is well spent. If you have 7.50USD to spare, get this game. It is worth playing.
Thanks for the honest review. Pertaining to the cons, do allow me to counter a few of them. smile.gif

It doesnt seem to have a wide variety of enemies.
You'll soon encounter more types of enemy once you progress deeper into the plot.

Challenge series is quite tough for me.
Tough if you're new to the game or the weapon levels are too low. You'll pwn them easily once you're used to how the different weapons work.

I am still unsure whats happening in the storyline after 3.6 hours in the game.
No worries. The revelation will come once you meet up with some survivors.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 02:11 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Nov 3 2011, 02:08 PM)
Thanks for the honest review. Pertaining to the cons, do allow me to counter a few of them. smile.gif

It doesnt seem to have a wide variety of enemies.
You'll soon encounter more types of enemy once you progress deeper into the plot.

Challenge series is quite tough for me.
Tough if you're new to the game or the weapon levels are too low. You'll pwn them easily once you're used to how the different weapons work.

I am still unsure whats happening in the storyline after 3.6 hours in the game.
No worries. The revelation will come once you meet up with some survivors.
Ah thanks, well, as i mentioned its my first impression.

I found some survivors, but i am still unsure whats happening. :/ Maybe im missing out too much.
sai86
post Nov 3 2011, 02:14 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

Ah, cheese review always poison my mind. will get this tonight...again.. doh.gif
lately been getting many indie games from indie bundle, and Halloween sales sweat.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Nov 3 2011, 02:17 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

well maybe its in offer bin to attract more sales.

gabe did mention that a game with discounts, the sales jumped up exponentially.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 02:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:14 PM)
Ah, cheese review always poison my mind. will get this tonight...again.. doh.gif
lately been getting many indie games from indie bundle, and Halloween sales sweat.gif
Get it, this game and Renegade Ops have pretty much stolen my time from Battlefield 3.
sai86
post Nov 3 2011, 02:29 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 3 2011, 02:23 PM)
Get it, this game and Renegade Ops have pretty much stolen my time from Battlefield 3.
consider it done. now next mon need to go lowyat and get a joypad. buy f310 again 1st for temp sweat.gif
y xbox 360 joypad din drop price sad.gif

my renegade ops yesterday dl 1gb again sweat.gif never play once though..

This post has been edited by sai86: Nov 3 2011, 02:29 PM
kianweic
post Nov 3 2011, 02:31 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:14 PM)
You have to get this.

sai86
post Nov 3 2011, 02:38 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

^kian

do u get ur qanba work with most arcade games? i tried some indie games, but cant sad.gif think need to use joy2key but i dun wan, i wan native support...lulz....wait, mayb my TE not support xbox 360, therefore it cant....hmmm...
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 02:52 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:29 PM)
consider it done. now next mon need to go lowyat and get a joypad. buy f310 again 1st for temp sweat.gif
y xbox 360 joypad din drop price sad.gif

my renegade ops yesterday dl 1gb again sweat.gif never play once though..
rclxms.gif

Enoy the game. Its a damn good game, IMO. biggrin.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Nov 3 2011, 02:54 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

no renegade ops tered?
sai86
post Nov 3 2011, 02:56 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Nov 3 2011, 02:54 PM)
no renegade ops tered?
langsung xnampak ppl play in my friend list laugh.gif i also not yet touch...mayb will try it tonight a while.
kianweic
post Nov 3 2011, 02:58 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Nov 3 2011, 02:54 PM)
no renegade ops tered?
You start a new thread for that?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Nov 3 2011, 03:05 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:56 PM)
langsung xnampak ppl play in my friend list laugh.gif i also not yet touch...mayb will try it tonight a while.

lulz i play dungeon defenders non stop no play other games yet.

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 3 2011, 02:58 PM)
You start a new thread for that?

malas lulz.

kianweic
post Nov 3 2011, 03:10 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Nov 3 2011, 03:05 PM)
lulz i play dungeon defenders non stop no play other games yet.

malas lulz.
Me too.
Grif
post Nov 3 2011, 03:14 PM

378 posts

Bastion. Your soundtrack is so awesome.
y3ivan
post Nov 3 2011, 03:35 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 3 2011, 02:23 PM)
awesome game under the radar. not many ppl know about it. i finished the game on day 1 on XBLA

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0231sec    1.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:15 PM