4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bastion, Not your ordinary hack-and-slash RPG!

TStalexeh
post Mar 11 2011, 03:35 AM, updated 14y ago

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,102 posts

Developer: SuperGiant Games
Official website: http://supergiantgames.com/?page_id=242
Platforms: PC & XBLA (at this moment)
Release ETA: 2011
Background plot: Something went wrong with your world & everything goes kapoot! You must now make your way to the Bastion & armed with a hammer (& most probably a shield), you'll have to traverse across the sea of nothingness... WHAT?!

I've been following Bastion since late last year & after going through 2 of the clips posted up in YouTube, I was totally in awe! Some of the main points that immediately set Bastion apart from all the RPGs out there are:

1. All levels in Diablo II are randomly generated? Meh... that's nothing. The world & environment in Bastion are constructed / build up around you as your avatar pushes onward across the plain / fabric.

2. There is no dialogue texts that peel your eyes away from all the action on the main screen. Instead, a narrator will accompany your avatar's adventure by describing all the things you do & see in the game. Make no mistake, the narration doesn't repeat itself twice & based on the review so far, it goes pretty smooth too.

3. The art! We've seen too many developers that tried too hard in making their games to appear as realistic as possible. When it comes to fantasy & with no sex innuendo involved (*cough* BioWare *cough*), nothing should appear realistic! Catch the screenshots here & drool your hearts out: http://supergiantgames.com/?page_id=242

Oh by the way, if you really appreciate the art, you might also want to pay the Jen a visit: http://jenzee.deviantart.com/

Pic Vid or GTFO? OK OK!

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Oct 27 2014, 06:37 AM
TStalexeh
post Mar 11 2011, 10:42 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(transhumanist92 @ Mar 11 2011, 07:30 AM)
cool, remind me of deathspank
Hahaha... somehow when I first saw it, Bastion reminds me of Final Fantasy Tactics instead. Perhaps it's got something to do with the hero's midget size. tongue.gif
TStalexeh
post Mar 11 2011, 02:23 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Mar 11 2011, 12:45 PM)
Cool, the graphic looks very lively thumbup.gif any release date? summer o winter this year?
Should be summer this year but I don't mind waiting a little longer if that will make the game better. smile.gif
TStalexeh
post Mar 11 2011, 11:26 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Ocke @ Mar 11 2011, 08:09 PM)
I actually got to play it on GDC. Before I played I wasnt impressed at all, looked like a regular hack n' slash. Sure, it looked very good, but still.

Then I played it and I have to say it is the best game experience I have had in a very very long time. The music and narrator is such a big part of the game, without them the game just isnt the same.
My jaw literally dropped while I was playing, it's amazing.

I'll buy 10 copies of this game, easy.
Yeah, I read your reviews in Supergiant Games' Facebook page & I have to admit that I'm filled with nothing but envy. tongue.gif

Did you managed to secure the bandana from Supergiant Games when you visited their kiosk? I was so desperate to get 1 for myself that I actually wrote a Facebook message to Greg Kasavin. It was very unprofessional of me to do that & I totally deserved the no-reply. doh.gif
TStalexeh
post Mar 13 2011, 12:22 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Ocke @ Mar 13 2011, 08:51 AM)
Didnt actually get a bandana from then when I was there, might get one afterwards, tho biggrin.gif

That game is going to be so good, it'll be unreal.
Yeah, I really can't wait to get my hands on this game. I wonder if there's going to be a demo soon. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Mar 13 2011, 09:41 AM)
So how's the gameplay?

I already have high expectations of the presentation of course. tongue.gif

Like the premise too, of apparently doing questing and world building at the same time (it looks like, from the trailer)
According to Ocke, it's awesome but I'm not too sure about the world-building part. IINM, we played no role is constructing the world. hmm.gif
TStalexeh
post Mar 13 2011, 12:47 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 13 2011, 12:37 PM)
Can the main playable character fall over the cliff or the edges of walkable platforms?
Yes, he can fall off the cliff but I'm not sure if that will kill him. I'll have to ask my friend but according to her article in Indiegames.com:
The narrator, in his whiskey-scratched voice, had been busy relating the Kid's escape from an unpleasant situation when I fell off a ledge into oblivion. Without missing a beat, his monologue fluidly segued into a rather dry 'And then, he falls to his death.' Before I could even respond to what I had perceived as my death, the protoganist came tumbling through the sky to land face first on the cobbled stones. 'Just kidding', the narrator quipped.

TStalexeh
post Mar 14 2011, 01:16 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 14 2011, 07:07 AM)
The range weapon (ie. crossbow) looks cool, sorta like machine guns.

How much will this be going for?
No info on the price at the moment. Will update here if I happened to receive any reliable news. smile.gif
TStalexeh
post Mar 14 2011, 03:29 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 13 2011, 12:37 PM)
Can the main playable character fall over the cliff or the edges of walkable platforms?
Here's the update I promised. Yes, your avatar, The Kid can fall off the edge of the floating platforms & will suffer a certain degree of health penalty when he's been brought back on top.

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Mar 14 2011, 01:46 PM)
Reminds me of the many action JRPGs (dark cloud?) where you build the levels as you go along hmm.gif
The similarity of city-building element is there but the main catch here lies with the narrator's ability in matching your actions on the screen in real-time. smile.gif
TStalexeh
post Mar 15 2011, 09:19 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Mar 15 2011, 09:04 PM)
Heh... i'm sold.. where do i sign up  smile.gif
The game is still in development & expected to be released this year. smile.gif Hang on there, we're in the final stretch... where did I read this line before? rolleyes.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 6 2011, 02:04 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Aug 6 2011, 09:43 AM)
Bastion hitting PC on August 16

Source: Strategy Informer
Thanks kianweic for bumping this thread. I was too sleepy & ecstatic last night to miss out on pasting the news here as well. doh.gif

Guys, pre-order it NAO!

This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 6 2011, 02:05 PM
TStalexeh
post Aug 6 2011, 07:23 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Aug 6 2011, 07:18 PM)
i know la u order it twice tongue.gif u blanje me satu, safe trader must be rich liao.. lol
Oi, you're giving people the wrong impression of me. sweat.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 6 2011, 09:35 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(alex82 @ Aug 6 2011, 07:42 PM)
aku pun mau kena belanja  rolleyes.gif
OK, ask for your copy from FrostLance. smile.gif

QUOTE(kianweic @ Aug 6 2011, 09:31 PM)
If give out free game, I also want.
OK, ask for your copy from alex82. smile.gif

QUOTE(sai86 @ Aug 6 2011, 09:33 PM)
Y no pre-order discount on this 1? sad.gif
will only get it only release date if no pre-order discount laugh.gif
Only not-so-good games need pre-order discount to keep the sales moving. whistling.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 9 2011, 12:25 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Aug 8 2011, 11:03 PM)
So you bought it?

How's the game like?
The game has yet to be released. Currently still in pre-order phase. smile.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 9 2011, 02:18 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Aug 9 2011, 01:08 PM)
well this game is a lot better than deathspank for sure. i tried it on XBLA. less looting, more customizing option and some of the best action rpg out there. bad thing is that it still stuck with 2d graphics system. wasnt expecting it to come out on steam as it was supposed to be GFWL only.
Supergiant Games have made it known that they're gonna release the game on Steam even before the game was out on Xbox. smile.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 16 2011, 10:53 PM

3,102 posts

The developer said that the file size is pretty small, less than 1GB so pre-loading is not required. whistling.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 17 2011, 01:29 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Aug 17 2011, 01:15 AM)
BASTION Y U CANNOT DL YET!
It's out now! rclxm9.gif
TStalexeh
post Aug 17 2011, 02:44 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Aug 17 2011, 02:33 PM)
I can't believe this game just got released on steam and it's already on the 2nd page..

Anyhow, it's the most charming game you're likely to play this year. The journey from start to end keeps you engaged.  You're missing out if you don't get it @USD15.
You mean 3rd page? smile.gif

By the way, you've finished the game? So fast?
TStalexeh
post Aug 17 2011, 06:00 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Aug 17 2011, 05:14 PM)
Since it's a XBLA port, I'm always worried the controls translate poorly to PC KB and mouse.
The developer mentioned in an interview that the game is meant for PC from the very first day. For the first few expos they joined, Bastion was running from PC, not Xbox.
TStalexeh
post Aug 18 2011, 01:46 AM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Aug 18 2011, 01:41 AM)
Check out the various control options in the link below for the pc version, there's the console control scheme, wasd control scheme, and the diablo style control scheme.

http://supergiantgames.com/?p=1063
Apart from falling down the skies while using Spacebar, I'm pretty comfortable with the WASD+mouse setting. smile.gif

By the way, minor update worth 3.8MB in size:
- Fixed an issue causing the game to display unsupported resolution settings in certain conditions
- Fixed an issue where players could get stuck on a free-floating tile in the The Singer's Dream sequence
- Fixed an issue where the game was not loading custom-mapped mouse control settings
TStalexeh
post Aug 19 2011, 02:21 AM

3,102 posts

New updates!

- Fixed an issue in which the game would not detect local saved data if players lost their connection to Steam cloud storage

- Fixed an issue where remapping the Left Trigger and Right Trigger gamepad controls fired the default commands unexpectedly

- Fixed an issue in Roathus Lagoon that could cause players to get locked out of the level's final area

- Added support for several advanced command-line parameters (aka Launch Options in Steam).

To set Launch Options in Steam, right-click on Bastion inyour game library, select Properties, then select Set Launch Options.

NOTE: Please be advised that these settings are recommended for advanced users and may adversely affect your game experience.

The parameters are:

-isomovement
Using the default Slinger-style WASD controls, diagonal movements will more closely adhere to the isometric perspective. We would appreciate your feedback about this change.

-windowed
Forces the game to start in windowed mode.

-x [value]
Forces the game to a specific X resolution.

-y [value]
Forces the game to a specific Y resolution.

Example: to run the game in 1280x720 (720p) resolution:"-windowed -x 1280 -y 720"

-noborder
Runs the game in windowed mode but with no windows titlebar or border. (This may improve compatibility or performance versus full-screen mode in some cases or provide a preferable experience.)

-deadzone [value]
Allows a custom joystick dead zone for players experiencingissues with their gamepads. Value is the fraction at which input should register. Example: "-deadzone 0.4".

-lang [value]
Forces the game to load a specific text language. Available options are "en", "fr", "it","de", and "es" for English, French, Italian, German, and Spanish, respectively. Example: "-lang de"

-nofixedstep
Turns off fixed time step so that the game no longer dictates the frame rate. (This may improve performance for some users but may also lead to erratic performance in other cases.)

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:39 AM