QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jun 21 2011, 10:39 AM)
Travel South Korea V2
Jun 21 2011, 11:22 AM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Jun 21 2011, 03:02 PM
My sister did with her Japanese colleague. Heheheheh!! But she was so embarrassed so she didn't want to go naked. Maybe if she's alone, she'll do it
QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Jun 21 2011, 02:41 PM) Naked in Jjimjilbang.. I thought only in onsen?? at least when my fren when in they did not encounter any of those.. I don't wanna see any more naked ppl.. I've seen enough in Europe.. Added on June 21, 2011, 3:31 pmTenten, do you know the area Pyoseon Beach?? Is this place good or not?? Any makan place/supermarket/stall around this area?? Or places for lepaking at nite. QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Jun 21 2011, 10:02 AM) Local calls the teddy bear, ripley's, museum of africa etc, as tourist traps. Although that didnt stop me to go there hehe. But teddy bear museum really dissapoint me. You should go to Seongsan Ilchulbong at least. You wont regret it. This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 21 2011, 03:31 PM |
Jun 21 2011, 04:37 PM
Eh, no lah. I saw the map from Pyoseon Beach to Seogwipo si quite a distance. Pyoseon near to the Jeju Folk Village.
I don't need nite life. I have enough already in KL. I just want a place to lepaking,drinking/eating and chichatting QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Jun 21 2011, 04:30 PM) Jeju is well known for nature's beauty. I am not telling you guys not to go to all the museum's and stuff, but make all the mountains, waterfalls, cliffs, volcano crusts your priority 1st. Pyoseon Beach if I am not mistaken is at Seogwipo. And Seogwipo is where you will find tempat to makan-makan. Nightlife in Jeju is almost non-existence hehe. |
Jun 24 2011, 07:58 AM
Going to 4 season countries during summer is no fun. Is sticky, hot, crowded and everything is over price with surcharge and all.
Added on June 24, 2011, 8:03 amNo, further up to Seongsanillchulbong Peak. The beach looks nicer than the Seogwipo but wonder if the area got place to eat or not. QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Jun 22 2011, 12:37 PM) Oh I thought it is within Seogwipo province? Lepak by the beach then. I've heard the view at Pyoseon Beach is ok at night. This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 24 2011, 08:04 AMAdded on June 22, 2011, 12:42 pm I will be going on 15th. First 4 days in Jeju, then at Seoul until 26th. |
Jun 24 2011, 09:41 AM
Jun 24 2011, 09:53 AM
Brader Stimix, what is the specialty from Myeongdong?? I mean beside the small mall. Do they have rows of small shops like in Hong Kong? I will stay at Myeongdong Guest house.
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2011, 09:46 AM) It's an open street area just like our Petaling Street or HK Temple Street/ ladies street style. Namdaemun Market is the earliest to open ~ 8am you can start seeing lotsa street vendors & shops opened dy. MyeongDong more on Nite market & trendy fashions & never ending cosmestics outlets and really reminding me of XiMengDing of Taipei. Insadong - For me- you can skip this (Not really great and small). Mostly souvenirs based shops and pricey than those in namdaemun. For souvenirs, goto Namdaemun market. Anyway, In Insadong area, you can see the older part of Seoul wth those old style housing wth super narrow street that car kenot enter..Also the backlanes of Insadong area probably one of the dirtiest place in Seoul Added on June 24, 2011, 9:49 amIt's street with lotsa shops & etc. Insadong area, I dun even see any malls there and those Malls in Myeondong & namdaemun are relativel small malls that none of them can rival KL gigantic Malls ..well more like South East Asian gigantic malls The largets malls there probably COEX or Lotte World but that on the other part of Seoul i.e the Southern part area..near Gangnam where you can see the modern highrises & super clean city |
Jun 24 2011, 11:35 AM
Brader stimix, if you watch Marry Me Mary acted by Jang Geung Seuk then I think you will know why the youngsters love Hongik/Ehwa area
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2011, 11:06 AM) Well, You can get cheaper folk flea souvenirs at namdaemun market compare to insadong. I was interested on Insadong bcos of the street possession. but none during that time. And walking from the nearest MRT to Insadong is not easy job..I lost my way actually haha..and ended up in those dirty backlanes near to the park & that's why i said it's abit dirty there. Anyway, walking on the road interlock wth one buiding above reminded me of that buiding prominently featured in one of Kdrama.. well forgotten which drama but very fames wan haha. I passed by Itaewon are vis the Seoul tourist bus and dun even wanna stop. Nothing interesting to me there except more American/english signboards everywhere..This is one of the picture I took from the bus ~ Itaewon area: ![]() I din goto Hoggik & Ehwa areas so no comment on these 2 areas |
Jun 24 2011, 12:17 PM
In Secret Garden the mall call LOEX or something like dat. Hahahaha!!
Now I watch Baby Face Beauty in KBS. Do you recognise The Style Building in that drama?? QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2011, 12:06 PM) Yeah I watched Mary Stay out nite/late (hmnn diff title?)..but din know it's in Hongik/Ehwa area...Anyway, it's really a memory by able to recall those places featured in kdramas and you're indeed there b4 haha..Just like in Secret Garden..Of the Dept store belong to Hun Bin...That's Cheongyangin station new Lotte Mart store And the current showing of "Can you hear my Heart" , I can recognise the highrises I admired opposite COEX mall which is keeps on repeating in the drama |
Jun 24 2011, 12:32 PM
Wah!! we can see actors/actress during shooting?? Cross my finger I can see Lee Min Ho or Jang Geung Seuk during my trip since Hyun Bin and Im Ju Hwan off for national service.
When was the Secret Garden shooting brader?? Last year?? Yeah, I read also about Baby Face Beauty extended 2 more episode due to good rating. Haiyah!! cannot wait the moment the evil b**** got crush by Lee So Yeong. BTW, I'm watching Secret Garden for 3rd time this week. I missed my oppa Hyun Bin. QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2011, 12:22 PM) No idea wor..If you lucky you probably see this familiar buiding liao haha..baby Faced beauty extended..by the time you're there you probably able to see Jang nara & Daniel Choi running around that area This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 24 2011, 12:33 PMWhen I visited LOEX mall haha (The Cheonyangin railway station Lotte Dept Store)..The episode earlier was shot at the buiding days b4...ouchh I missed Ha Ji Won by days |
Jun 25 2011, 04:31 PM
Don't worry Rajatetra, my friends and I in the midst of compiling halal places to eat in Seoul for muslims travelllers. Once I got my list complete, I will post it here. I'll post it here within 1 week.
QUOTE(rajatetra @ Jun 25 2011, 09:10 AM) Hi all.. I will go Korea (Seoul) end of July for company training. one week training. Only have two days for jalan-jalan around seoul which before and after our training. already read v1 to v2 of this thread. commonly there are issue with food at korea, and espcially to muslim like us. This is first time for all of us. So, i have a few question. Hope u can help me. 1) How much estimated for breakfast, lunch and dinner expenses per person? if RM50 enuf or not? 2) Where place is suitable for souvenir shopping? cheap and ok 3) Do i need to change RM to Won first here or @ can do at korea? |
Jun 27 2011, 08:46 AM
Eating place for Muslim travelllers:
Myeongdeong area Myeongdong Andong Jjimdak & Bulgogi Location: Myeongdong Station Exit 6 -2nd lane opposite Binsbean Cafe Mr Pizza Myeongdong Station Exit 6 - 2nd lane (selling seafood and vegan pizza) Yukaney Myeongdong Station Exit 7 - From Myeongdong main road straight to the junction until u see Nature Republic on the left. Turn right and then straight until you reach left junction. You can see Yukaney's signboard Kebab at Namdaemun Hoehyeon Station Exit 6 - u can see the shop from the main road Dongdaemun Jeonju Sikdang or Ikan Bakar Dongdamun Station Exit 8 - walk straight until u see Daemyong building. Turn right and then turn left to the 2nd alley Nami Island Cafe Yeonga Jiga (Cafe Drama). This cafe located between Nami Historium and Winter Sonata Gallery. Rajatetra, for more list of halal makan place, pls refer to page 1 of this thread. |
Jun 27 2011, 12:16 PM
I think fish, squid and others sea food should be ok if you are not hardcore about food during darurat time
I also found out that some muslim friends bring along travelling rice cooker. I told them, go back home to KL. Don't travel. QUOTE(ryosue84 @ Jun 27 2011, 12:05 PM) aww...looks yummy~ i wonder if we muslim can try that...huhu~~ This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 27 2011, 12:17 PMAdded on June 27, 2011, 12:10 pm aww...that will help us a lot Listiani! since i am going to Seoul too this July! |
Jun 27 2011, 10:42 PM
I was told the price ranging from KR4000-KR14,000 depending on what type of food and also location. For example, restaurant are slightly higher than street food stall.
QUOTE(rajatetra @ Jun 27 2011, 09:06 PM) |
Jun 28 2011, 10:45 PM
I wonder if we can get Korean Won loewr than 2.85. I remember early this year it was only around 2.82. Hmmm!!
Jun 30 2011, 10:04 AM
I wanted to go to JGS's show case in KLCC Plenary Hall but I am no match to all those shouting teenagers. Hehehhehe!! I have to work on that day so can't go.
QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Jun 29 2011, 12:47 AM) you stayed in Traveller A? Gud or not..? I stayed one night there in 2005, it was a nightmare.. 1st time backpack in a land where english is not widely used, the place was under renovation and rubles and everything was all over the place the heater's not working properly.. stayed one night only and end up staying in hotel ayam.. Added on June 29, 2011, 12:52 am Seoul Tower in the evening would be great but not sure in winter, last time I went in Feb.. very foggy.. visibility not very gud Added on June 29, 2011, 1:52 am did you go to JGS's showcase?? It was simply awesome!! next month Beast is coming and then Kim Hyun Joong in August.. Now no need to go to Korea to meet korean artist.. Lee Min Ho is drop dead gojes and very tall.. |
Jul 1 2011, 10:56 AM
Jul 1 2011, 03:06 PM
Jul 1 2011, 07:00 PM
Seriously, don't bother to ask the girls at KTO office in Jln Sultan Ismail. They don't even know their own country. Happen to me though. I asked them questions, they gave same answer for different questions. They also gave me wrong info about how to go to Gapyeong.
According to my friend who live and work in Korea, most of the time they were selected due to their appearance and ability to speak little or good English not their knowledge of their own country. QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Jul 1 2011, 03:48 PM) That's a good reply Listiani LOL. Seriously this is by far the best place for you to check, get recommendation, do planning and get feedbacks. No kidding. On a different note, go to the visitkorea page. This post has been edited by Listiani: Jul 1 2011, 07:04 PM |
Jul 4 2011, 01:17 PM
Jul 5 2011, 08:06 AM
Yes, Australia very strict. I saw it with my own eyes when I went there. Pity the old lady. She must brought the food for her children.
Plane food also not allowed to their country. They said, plane food stay in the plane. QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 4 2011, 10:27 PM) Thx minthiam. So basically just fill up custom form eh.. ok noted. Thx oso michealy.. yeah, heard australia is a bit strict so bit afraid korea oso like that.. so that's why asking.. just as precaution.. better safe than sorry.. Also, how's the internet connection over there? Hope there's no site blockin over there.. hehehe.. just wanna use skype for calling back home.. |
| Change to: | 0.0525sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:00 PM |