9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Travel South Korea V2

Listiani
post Apr 13 2011, 02:48 PM

I think I'll choose Dondaemum and Myeong Dong. Skip Namdaemun. Our accommodation is near Ehwa Women University.

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 13 2011, 02:32 PM)
If you stay in betwen this two areas or even either the 2 areas, Everyday you can shop there.

Well, Namdaemun is something like our pasar pagi/pasar malam or even you can call it Petaling st lor, everything there inclusive of clothes, souvenirs, food, daily essential, and wet market.

Myeongdong is Nite Market - can be also like Petaling st too combining street stalls, restaurants, pubs & also side shops - Those shops mostly cosmestic..repetitive similar stores everywhere haha..

Dondaemun - Mostly Fashion & cloth market esp on the other side of Cheongyecheong stream after Dota dept stor. Super long massive 2-3 storeys plaza of clothing & fashion.

Insadong - Souvenirs - but abit pricey than Namdaemun 9Can skip)
Listiani
post Apr 13 2011, 06:38 PM

Aiyoh!! like that ah?? I do not want to spend too many time on shopping because I want to concentrate on sightseeing. But if nearby, so have to also. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 13 2011, 03:07 PM)
Anyway, Myeongdong & Namdaemun is side by side. Just a road spliting these 2 areas..Both within walking distance to each others
Listiani
post Apr 19 2011, 07:14 PM

Ask for full itinerary from them. Anyway, Korea is non muslim country and dont expect you can find halal food easily. I am muslim but I can adapt to any country I travel because I believe everytime we travel, we learn the culture, food, lifestyle of the country not the otherway round. I travel to China in 2001 and at that time no halal food in Shanghai so opted for vegetarian food.

If you are looking for halal food, go through this thread because I have posted where to find halal food and even mosque in Korea.

QUOTE(mkaz @ Apr 19 2011, 11:33 AM)
AA Go is ok for muslim or not ??
im afraid they'll serve non-halal food  sweat.gif
planning to take the autumn trip  blush.gif
Listiani
post Apr 20 2011, 11:42 AM

Rsalf, can u guide me to book Air Busan without become member?? so peninglah with their website. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(rsralf @ Apr 9 2011, 11:51 AM)
Ah, it's okay now..
I figured out how to purchase without registering as a member..  rclxms.gif
I wish I found this option earlier.. The hassles that I had to go through make me  rclxub.gif
Listiani
post Apr 21 2011, 10:26 AM

H!! Rralf,

Tks for your guide. This is what happen when website are not user friendly plus not so high tech person navigating it. biggrin.gif laugh.gif

Wah!! I am so jeaous ler!! You are having a good time, I guess. BTW, how to go to KBS station from Seoul?? u are saying KBS tv station right?? Must go and visit them. Who knows I'll bump to my favourite actor rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(rsralf @ Apr 20 2011, 09:26 PM)
Hi Listiani,
The trick is that
1) at the main page, you choose the type of flight, departure location, arrival location, departure & return date, and no of passengers, and you click search.
2) they will display the available flight & choose the flight that you want. Click next at the selected travel part.
3) you will be redirected to the log in page which contains:
i)login to Air Busan with ID
ii) login to Air Busan with membership no
iii) login to Air Busan for non members  ---> choose this option, put in your email address & a temporary password. follow the next instruction.. from here it is quite straight forward..

Best of luck in booking.. biggrin.gif

Am currently in Jeju now.. freezing cold compared to seoul, especially at night..
this morning i went to Yeouido to KBS, Yeouido Park, National Assembly Building & Yeouido Hangang Park.. The sakura is blossoming now, but i think can't compare to the one earlier member posted in Jinhae & Jeju..
Listiani
post Apr 22 2011, 08:28 AM

Suju??????????????????????????????? Oh!! My!!! how lucky if I can meet them drool.gif drool.gif

The mini folk village name is Jeju Folk Village. Both this folk village & Manjanggul Cave sites appeared on Tamra Island K Drama. Another reason for me to go to Jeju Island. My Park Kyu is waiting laugh.gif laugh.gif

Wow!! I am not that fit to climb bukit bukit like this but I'll give a try for the sake of my Park Kyu (Im Ju Hwan). Muahahahahahah!!

QUOTE(rsralf @ Apr 21 2011, 08:43 PM)
Haha.. while i was there, i did'nt see anyone.. if you come at night, and if Sukira is having viewable radio, you can perhaps see Lee Teuk & Yesung of Super Junior doing broadcast.. since i went in the morning, they weren't there, but at least i can capture their dj-ing room..

I think the easiest way to go to KBS station is through subway, if i'm not mistaken - line 9. Get off at National Assembly station and use exit to Yeouido Park. When you get off from the station, don't go to the direction of National Assembly building.. go to the opposite way.. walk straight till you find KBS IBC sign & turn right.. you'll meet another junction (landmark is Hollys Coffee), turn left here. then turn right at the next junction..

Today, in Jeju, I went to Jongbang Waterfall, Trick Art Museum, a mini folk village (forgot the name coz it's unscheduled stop here), Seopjikoji, Seongsan Ilchubung Peak and Manjanggul Cave. It was tiring to walk up to Seongsan Ilchubung Peak, but those who've been to Bukit Broga should be able to 'walk' breezely unlike me.. hahaa.. Takes me 1 hour to walk up, but only 10 minutes to go down.. pitiful girl.. felt like  rclxm9.gif at the peak..  Manjanggul Cave is a so-so for me, not really that great.. It was very very cold inside the cave.. In the mini folk village, there is a guide who cannot speak English but she tried to explain things to us in Korean anyway.. It was funny coz it's like duck & chicken talking to each other.. wahaha.. She was very enthusiastic, so with some actions from her we manage to understand a bit of what she wants to convey..  rclxms.gif kudos to her..
Listiani
post Apr 25 2011, 08:16 AM

You can email to klkoreaplaza@gmail.com to ask for more details.

QUOTE(fiza_love @ Apr 24 2011, 07:25 PM)
thanks.. smile.gif
but how is the travel card different from t-money, if you don't mind me asking?
Listiani
post May 9 2011, 09:26 AM

Just wondering if anyone knows if Gyeonggi do and Mt Sorak area got guesthouse like in Seoul??
Listiani
post May 10 2011, 08:15 AM

Our plan is to visit Everland, Korea Folk Village, Petite France, Royal Tombs of Joseon,Suwon Hwang Fortress. I think the area is Yongin and Kyung Ki.

How far is Gangneung from Sokco?

[quote=rsralf,May 9 2011, 11:20 AM]
Gyeonggi-do is large.. which area specifically?
Yes, there is a guesthouse at Mt Sorak area, can't remember the name coz I didn't sleep there.
laily enelya slept at House Hostel which is located in Sokcho. Do check with her for full details.
As for myself, after my trip to Mt Sorak, I returned to Gangneung & slept at a guesthouse there..

Listiani
post May 10 2011, 09:37 PM

Rsalf, how far is the journey from Gangneung to Sokco (Mt Sorak)

Added on May 10, 2011, 9:38 pmI travel a lot too. All the time my Celcom roaming to the country I went. So far no problem. Hopefully my Celcom got roaming also in Korea.

QUOTE(stimix @ May 10 2011, 05:22 PM)
Hmnnn probably bcosall my Maxis & DIGI no problem roaming there  hmm.gif  biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 10 2011, 09:38 PM
Listiani
post May 11 2011, 08:21 AM

When I was in Australia, my sms to Malaysia cost RM2 per sms, Singapore, RM1, Indonesia 50 cents,Mekah & Madinah RM2 Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, China I don't remember. Phone calls more expensive so I remind all my family & friends don't call but sms. Call when there's an urgent matters only.

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 10 2011, 09:45 PM)
i wonder how much it cost to roam like that? i heard its expensive can reach rm1k++?
Listiani
post May 16 2011, 02:15 PM

You go to KTO website. They have this 1 section where you can book your local guide. They are mostly university students, retirees who wants to practise their English. Their service is free but you need to pay for their food, accommodation/flight ticket/bus ticket (if outstation).

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ May 14 2011, 10:45 PM)
anyone kind enuf to be a tour guide for 8person during Nov?  biggrin.gif
of coz there will be 'fees?' dun feel like follow ground tour coz very rush, wan backpack scare get lost..might as well hired someone who stay Korea for a long time. nod.gif
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 16 2011, 02:16 PM
Listiani
post May 21 2011, 10:20 AM

Now money changer also very smart. they withhold their USD. selling at limited amount.
Listiani
post May 29 2011, 07:23 PM

Pls go the the first page of this thread. I posted several halal makan place in Korea including mosques.

QUOTE(turion64 @ May 29 2011, 02:51 PM)
care to share which market ?

btw, r u muslim? u know any place in korea can find halal food?
Listiani
post May 31 2011, 08:27 AM

Can anyone confirm to me that Gimpo airport (domestic airport in Korea) located in Gyeonggi do?? How far is Gimpo airport from Seoul??
Listiani
post May 31 2011, 10:09 AM

I asked this because I plan to stay in Gyeonggi do after returning from Jeju. If Gimpo nearer to Gyeonggi do then I stay 1 nite there instead of returning to Seoul. Better for me to return to Seoul the next day.

QUOTE(mingyew @ May 31 2011, 09:52 AM)
i remember from dong seoul bus station going to gimpo is around 40min..

so please take 1 hour buffer as traffic is unpredictable..

MRT to gimpo im not sure..
Listiani
post May 31 2011, 11:23 AM

Tks for your input. I plan to visit Geonggi do and now arranging my itinerary. That is why I wanted to know if is better to overnite in Gyeonggi do when I arrive from Jeju instead of going back to Seoul and return to Gyeonggi do again the next day. What do you think?? Should I just stay in Gyeonggi do upon arrival in Gimpo or back to Seoul and go to Gyeonggi do the next morning??

quote=7989k,May 31 2011, 11:11 AM]
Seoul Subway Line 5, 9 and Airport Railroad(AREX) stops at Gimpo airport. See this subway map. Gimpo airport, based on administrative area, belongs to Seoul. I don't know where you will stay at, but the travel time between Gimpo airport and Seoul station is about 30 minutes by subway. In short you don't need to worry about it.

[/quote]

Listiani
post May 31 2011, 11:49 AM

This is what I plan to do. My sisters and I have different departure day. I'll stay until Day 08 but they have only 06 days and we want to make use the limited time of the stay. My question if is better for us to stay at Gyeonggi do from Jeju on Day 03 rather than return to Seoul and come back to Gyeonggi do again the next day. From the map, I can see that Gimpo is not far from Gyeonggi do.

Day 01
Arrive Seoul at 0710hrs. Chk in at Myeongdong guesthouse. Visit Gyeongokbung Palace, Namsan Park, Namsan Tower, Myeongdong and Itaewon.

Day 02
First flight to Jeju

Day 03
Jeju to Gimpo flight 1500hrs. Overnite in Gyeonggi do. Visit Suwon Fortress and King Sojeon Tomb.

Day 04
Visit Petite France, Korea Folk Village and MBC TV station. Return to Seoul. Visit KBS TV station.

Day 05
Visit Bukshanan National Park and Insadong.

Day 06
Departure back to Kuala Lumpur

QUOTE(7989k @ May 31 2011, 11:39 AM)
I can answer this when you specify the location. If you say only Gyeonggi do, it's so vogue. And as I said, Gimpo airport belogs to Seoul, and nearby cities are Gimpo, Bucheon, Incheon, Goyang, Gwangmyeong etc.
Listiani
post May 31 2011, 01:23 PM

What about like this:

Day 03
Arrive from Jeju. Visit Suwon Fortress.

Day 04
Visit King Sejong Tomb and Petite France. Return to Seoul.

I take out Korea Folk Village since we will visiting Jeju Folk Village & Museum while in Jeju.

QUOTE(7989k @ May 31 2011, 12:38 PM)
Day 03
Jeju to Gimpo flight 1500hrs. Overnite in Gyeonggi do. Visit Suwon Fortress and King Sojeon Tomb.
Day 04
Visit Petite France, Korea Folk Village and MBC TV station. Return to Seoul. Visit KBS TV station.

I think you should re-arrange the Day3 and Day4 schedule totally. I don't think you can visit both Suwon Fortress and King Sejong Tomb(I think it's King Sejong Tomb even though you said King Sojeon Tomb) at the same time, considering your flight arrives at 15:00. And Day 4 is also somehow tight because the distance between them are a long way. For example it takes 2~3 hours to go to Petite France(Cheongpyong) from Suwon, and from Petite France to MBC TV station(I think you mean MBC Ilsan Dream center) would take 2~3 hours. All of these belong to Gyeonggi-do, but tyring to visit all the locations is almost impossible, considering that you use mass transportation and the openning time is usually 09:00~18:00.
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 31 2011, 01:51 PM
Listiani
post Jun 4 2011, 10:21 AM

Does anyone knows what time the train/subway service intercity train, airport train start in the morning?? I want to book 1st flight to Jeju but need to chk what time the train service start.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:02 AM