Cheated by real estate agent, its my first house and its end up a mess

Dannyl
post Jun 1 2011, 04:32 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(1ullaby @ Mar 6 2011, 01:12 PM)
Another fav tactic of theirs are to advertise lower price in iProperty or any other place, and once we made a call, the unit is usu sold, even when you are making the call on the very same day the advert is posted,
and they'll proceed to push a similar unit with a price tag far higher than posted. Very very frustrating to deal with people like that....
iProperty has lots of those 'fake' listings. It makes iPropery has more listings than it actually does. Call the agents up, they say, "oh that one sold already, but we have others at rmxxx (20% more)". If sold, take down the listing la.
noswear
post Jun 1 2011, 04:37 PM

1,050 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 1 2011, 04:32 PM)
iProperty has lots of those 'fake' listings.  It makes iPropery has more listings than it actually does.  Call the agents up, they say, "oh that one sold already, but we have others at rmxxx (20% more)".  If sold, take down the listing la.
hahaha agreed....

either they say forgot change price la....

and some of the listing...is very obvious that the photo is copy and paste.......and some is not even the location of house tat is being listed...

Wengsoo
post Jun 1 2011, 10:53 PM

51 posts

agents can cheat money out of ur pockets, if u're desperate

This post has been edited by Wengsoo: Jun 2 2011, 12:05 AM
abgkik
post Jun 1 2011, 11:06 PM

2,140 posts

iProperty has lots of those 'fake' listings.  It makes iPropery has more listings than it actually does.  Call the agents up, they say, "oh that one sold already, but we have others at rmxxx (20% more)".  If sold, take down the listing la.
ho ho ho.. vmad.gif this happen to me so many times... very fakeeee... iproperty should put feedback/comment column below the listing so we can highlight 'what really happen between the agent and us'
Jenn77
post Jun 2 2011, 09:07 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,118 posts

Very much agree.. some of them list the price 700k, when u call them up they will agree to meet up and view the house. Once you mention the price after viewing the house, straight away they jack up another 20-30% more. They always say the owner demand increase.. boring.
michaellee
post Jun 2 2011, 03:52 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(mcong @ Mar 15 2011, 09:36 PM)
Hi dingdong985, one of my fren also bought a bumi lot last year. He bought it via bank lelong (auction) actually. Also to found out that it was a bumi lot after winning the bid. No hope to get back his deposit $ anymore. But he went to the state man and got his house title to be changed to non-bumi lot finally. Of coz, that was during election period  brows.gif and also went though some 'special' process in order to get the title change done. icon_rolleyes.gif
I need to do some assumptions. First assumption, you have a very silly friend bordering on *&@#$. On every POS, it will mention if it is BUMI lot or not. Second, I believe it is NOT a high court auction, as for high court auction, even bumi lots can be sold to non-bumis. It is under the National Land Code. Third, if it is a bumi lot in LACA, then the fact your friend did not realise the borrower was a Malay (by nature of his name), then who can he blame? He should have asked or as per the POS, to do a search on the property. If your friend case is a true case, then it would be the first case that I have ever heard in my ENTIRE life. I have yet to see another or hear another person making the same stupid mistake.

Added on June 2, 2011, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(bbyoke @ Jun 1 2011, 10:04 AM)
I rented a house which is through a property agent (Ms Choo). This agent is from Yuyi Properties.

When I rented this house, the house is totally broken as most of the wood already eaten by the termites. then I requested to do a small renovation to the house. Initially the agent refuse as she claimed was too expensive and she wanted to increase my rental if they renovate for me. I was wondering this house is belong to them, even not me to request other people will request so! At last i told her if wan increase the rental i dont wan to rent or just remain. At last the landlord only agreed to renovate for me.

Thus, the agent get the low quality contractors to do for me, a small renovation took one month to complete and yet they did in simply way.

When it was completed, i realised two of my extension wayar were missing. I asked the contractor but they say not sure and will get back to me but i didnt get their call afetr that.
Until I really need to use the cable, i called to the agent told her this case. She said can claim from her then only I went to buy 2 extension wayar. Frankly speaking, the 2 missing are costly than the 2 that I bought. I know this agent is very stingy so I purposely choose the cheapest one.
The worst thing happened after that, I told her how much total i bought and scan my receipt to her.
She sms me saying she gonna pay for one only then immediately she off her hp.

I was very angry with her as she broke her promise and provide me such service.

I hope everyone must aware of such agent who is so much unreliable
I honestly think the agent is being reasonable in paying for one. The other one should have been paid by you as you are careless enough to leave your extension lying around for others to take. Sorry that I have been bluntly rude in some of my replies, but I cannot believe how some people can post things about how others cheated them when they did not even look into the mirror themselves to see how much they themselves have faulted.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Jun 2 2011, 03:54 PM
noswear
post Jun 2 2011, 04:12 PM

1,050 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jun 1 2011, 11:06 PM)
ho ho ho..  vmad.gif this happen to me so many times... very fakeeee... iproperty should put feedback/comment column below the listing so we can highlight 'what really happen between the agent and us'
eh good idea....

they should do sth like e-bay when a product being listed by the seller....

then the seller will be rated by past buyer from the similar seller......

so the higher the rating..the more trustworthy it is....

at least this can layer out the not so genuine wan.....

poppygarden
post Jun 3 2011, 11:19 PM

23 posts

I guess this is the way to get more calls from buyers?? I encountered this so many times until I'm not even sure whether the unit has truly been sold or they don't really have the unit in the first place... BTW met an extremely rude agent lately and has lodged complaint, not sure if effective or not...
chong_lc
post Jun 4 2011, 11:04 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Mar 6 2011, 12:16 AM)
once you sign S&P, you'll lose the lawyer fees even if the transfer is not successful bcos lawyer already done the work. Lawyer fees can come up to rm 5K.

Don't SIGN S&P !

Follow the three steps I posted just now.
buyer actually can sign the SPA, if can't get approval, lawyer normal refund 50% of the legal fee (excluding the disbursement)

however, remind your lawyer not to disburse the 7% until getting consent. nod.gif

complaint to MIEA also pointless...... go to http://www.lppeh.gov.my/ whistling.gif

Added on June 4, 2011, 11:19 am
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Mar 6 2011, 05:28 PM)
Partly true.

The other reason is that the govt don't want the non-bumi to own all the land in the country.

That's why bumi houses cannot be sold to non-bumi except for special cases eg. developer cannot sell the house after xxx years, then only can sell to non-bumi.  doh.gif
there are cases that developer sold bumi lot to non-bumi. buyer can't not get individual title as the issue is not resolved because developer didn't get consent from the government prior to selling.... buyer only choice, to sue developer....... nod.gif

This post has been edited by chong_lc: Jun 4 2011, 11:19 AM
redwhite.black
post Jun 14 2011, 06:02 PM

If anyone want buy a house, remember if there's a field nearby... although the agent say its jogging area... please get the house/area plan to ensure it's not propose mosque/ surau before place a deposit..

When ask agent to show the house plan, the agent keep on giving excuse 'besok n lusa'...

rainie1284
post Jun 14 2011, 06:09 PM

883 posts

humans really can do anything for money.. what a cruel world..
eastern
post Jun 14 2011, 08:38 PM

289 posts

No choice... sometimes if we don't have the contacts / networks / channels, we tend to rely only on web based sites eg: iproperty.
And the issue of agents cheating and stuff like will definitely occur.

I,myself do face this as what some of you have faced.
Rude agents, simply talk nonsense... sometimes don't know even what they are selling.

Jeez... and the worse thing is we only express our grievance through this type of forum.

This post has been edited by eastern: Jun 14 2011, 08:39 PM
lucerne
post Jun 15 2011, 11:35 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(michaellee @ Mar 7 2011, 12:01 AM)
No one should sign anything or give any money unless you have a copy of the title deed. Make sure it is the right title deed.

how about if the agent show me the SPA that the owner is a non bumi. I wil rather buy from a non bumi to avoid troubles. Since there is many options there. I rather pay slightly higher if it is a chinese or indian owner. (vs Malays owner). i dun want to take risks. Also if u do title search (if Malays), lawyer will charge u too. I feel safer if i buy from a non bumi.

Added on June 15, 2011, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(redwhite.black @ Jun 14 2011, 06:02 PM)
If anyone want buy a house, remember if there's a field nearby... although the agent say its jogging area... please get the house/area plan to ensure it's not propose mosque/ surau before place a deposit..

When ask agent to show the house plan, the agent keep on giving excuse 'besok n lusa'...
very true, one of my best fren kena..

Added on June 15, 2011, 12:47 pmi was once persuade by a agent to buy a bumi unit at suria jelatek (junction of jl ampang/jl jelatek). suria jelatek is 70% belong to bumi coz it is a DBKL jv. The agent told me the developer can change the unit to non bumi coz state govt oni want 30% quota, hence the remaining 40% can change to non bumi. (just pay back the 7% bumi discounts). luckily i didnt buy the unit after my lawyer advised me not to buy. lesson learn:
1. dun believe the agent 100%
2. dun lured by the lower bumi price
3. pls consult your lawyer b4 buy a prop

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jun 15 2011, 12:47 PM
roy84
post Jun 15 2011, 03:21 PM

Hii,
Just want give u some info,
If you want buy a property through agent,
please makesure the title has been transfered to individual title and remaining leasehold not less than 60years.
There is a problem when u want to apply housing loan because of that matters

thank you

master_zool
post Jun 15 2011, 10:30 PM

i'm alredy found, the name is kesavan from ramdar propeties base office at petaling jaya. The agent selling single storey end lot at klang. After deal i'm agree and wan't to pay to him booking fees around rm4k in cek but he call me to prepare in cash, then pay to him direcly. but i'm not trust him. after i selidik ramdar not wujud...
michaellee
post Jun 16 2011, 10:51 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 15 2011, 11:35 AM)
how about if the agent show me the SPA that the owner is a non bumi. I wil rather buy from a non bumi to avoid troubles. Since there is many options there. I rather pay slightly higher if it is a chinese or indian owner. (vs Malays owner). i dun want to take risks. Also if u do title search (if Malays), lawyer will charge u too. I feel safer if i buy from a non bumi.

Added on June 15, 2011, 12:15 pm

very true, one of my best fren kena..

Added on June 15, 2011, 12:47 pmi was once persuade by a agent to buy a bumi unit at suria jelatek (junction of jl ampang/jl jelatek). suria jelatek is 70% belong to bumi coz it is a DBKL jv.  The agent told me the developer can change the unit to non bumi coz state govt oni want 30% quota, hence the remaining 40% can change to non bumi. (just pay back the 7% bumi discounts). luckily i didnt buy the unit after my lawyer advised me not to buy. lesson learn:
1. dun believe the agent 100%
2. dun lured by the lower bumi price
3. pls consult your lawyer b4 buy a prop
The difference between bumi and non-bumi price can be quite big hence the reason why it is much more attractive to buy bumi lots. There would be hassle but if you have the right legal team, it is very easy to transfer bumi lots to non-bumis. you can always do the title search yourself in PTG.

Added on June 16, 2011, 10:57 am
QUOTE(poppygarden @ Jun 3 2011, 11:19 PM)
I guess this is the way to get more calls from buyers?? I encountered this so many times until I'm not even sure whether the unit has truly been sold or they don't really have the unit in the first place... BTW met an extremely rude agent lately and has lodged complaint, not sure if effective or not...
It is a free market. Residential properties are still okay. If you ever venture into land banking or plantation, out of the 1,000 phone calls you made, only 1 is genuine. Yes, all of them are fake. But would you want to give up or keep on searching for that elusive one? Land banking and plantation sadly still relies heavily on contacts and networking especially with bankers and valuers. They would know who is facing difficulties and want to let go their land.

One has to be patient to search for good properties. If lazy or want to complain about "unethical" agents, just pay the market price and surely there would be hundreds of genuine ones to choose from.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Jun 16 2011, 10:57 AM
Dannyl
post Jun 16 2011, 11:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(michaellee @ Jun 16 2011, 10:51 AM)
One has to be patient to search for good properties. If lazy or want to complain about "unethical" agents, just pay the market price and surely there would be hundreds of genuine ones to choose from.
But the 'market price' posted in iProperty is not the real market price. Posted is RM500k, after viewing is RM550k.
michaellee
post Jun 16 2011, 01:38 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 16 2011, 11:28 AM)
But the 'market price' posted in iProperty is not the real market price.  Posted is RM500k, after viewing is RM550k.
All you could do is to blacklist the agent yourself. A good agent will always want to provide the best services so that they could repeat the business or you would recommend him/her to others.
spikyz
post Jun 16 2011, 01:57 PM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(master_zool @ Jun 15 2011, 10:30 PM)
i'm alredy found, the name is kesavan from ramdar propeties base office at petaling jaya. The agent selling single storey end lot at klang. After deal i'm agree and wan't to pay to him booking fees around rm4k in cek but he call me to prepare in cash, then pay to him direcly. but i'm not trust him. after i selidik ramdar not wujud...
so did u pay or not?
xdevilxangel
post Mar 13 2013, 10:57 PM

yes, some agent very bad, specially this one.

This post has been edited by xdevilxangel: Mar 13 2013, 11:00 PM

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:49 PM