11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Medical Conditions Anxiety Disorder, Support group, experience sharing.

TSinsidexjokes
post Jul 4 2014, 01:46 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(booblegum @ Jun 1 2014, 10:23 PM)
Hey guys,

Would anyone be keen on a meetup sometime in PJ?

That sounds like a good idea. Why not you try to arrange one. Make an event on FB and see how many RSVP then we proceed from there. Oh dont forget the links. Post it here. Looking forward for it.
Linust70
post Jul 13 2014, 03:44 PM

35 posts

i think i have anxiety disorder.

i got a baby in June 2013. we both working couple. after my wife 3 months confinement, we send our baby to nursery, i have to drive them from puchong to hartamas, which is about 100km daily drive. Routine and stressful. My work also stressful. At the same time, my brother was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer and my father attempted suicide. Initially, i thought i got heart attack. But full blood test and stress test, cardiologist said no problem. My GP recommended me to Putrajaya hospital to see psychologist. I have low sugar level, stomach digestion problem, insomnia. Symptoms are like, dizzy, panic attack, cold sweat, palm sweating, suddenly wanna go home when eating out, negative thought feeling like wanna commit suicide, tight head, sometimes dont wanna have long/short conversation.

I have tried hybnotherapy and deep breathing... not so effective. I exercise everyday, it helps a bit. I dont have insomnia now after taking flower tea. Psychiatrist in Gleneagle gave me lexapro. But i stop taking it after 2 pill. Felt sleepy and easy forget thing.

Agree, NEVER GOOGLE YOUR SYMPTOMS.

Right now, i can control the anxiety and manage to finish the task, but the feeling is shit.

Any suggestion is welcome to help me. PLS HELP.
SUSTham
post Jul 15 2014, 08:29 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Linust70 @ Jul 13 2014, 07:44 AM)
i think i have anxiety disorder.

i got a baby in June 2013. we both working couple. after my wife 3 months confinement, we send our baby to nursery, i have to drive them from puchong to hartamas, which is about 100km daily drive. Routine and stressful. My work also stressful. At the same time, my brother was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer and my father attempted suicide. Initially, i thought i got heart attack. But full blood test and stress test, cardiologist said no problem. My GP recommended me to Putrajaya hospital to see psychologist. I have low sugar level, stomach digestion problem, insomnia. Symptoms are like, dizzy, panic attack, cold sweat, palm sweating, suddenly wanna go home when eating out, negative thought feeling like wanna commit suicide, tight head, sometimes dont wanna have long/short conversation.

I have tried hybnotherapy and deep breathing... not so effective. I exercise everyday, it helps a bit. I dont have insomnia now after taking flower tea. Psychiatrist in Gleneagle gave me lexapro. But i stop taking it after 2 pill. Felt sleepy and easy forget thing.

Agree, NEVER GOOGLE YOUR SYMPTOMS.

That is incorrect. The internet is a gold mine of medical information. One is never
too smart to learn. It is just that you have to be a bit discrete and not expect one's
many medical problems to be solved with a few clicks of the mouse.

Right now, i can control the anxiety and manage to finish the task, but the feeling is shit.

Any suggestion is welcome to help me.  PLS HELP.
When you said you tried hypnotherapy, was it in consultation with
a psychiatrist or psychologist trained in this field ?

Not many in the country have training in this specialized field.

I checked Gleneagles' directory and none of them seem to have a
postgraduate diploma or certificate in hypnosis.

Linust70
post Jul 15 2014, 01:25 PM

35 posts

Tham,

I went to Putrajaya Hospital. I am not sure whether she is trained in hypnotherapy, but she is a psychologist. You can google online on hypnotherapy. It is just telling your subconscious mind on good thing.

SUSTham
post Jul 15 2014, 03:08 PM

1,576 posts

Yes, I know about hypnosis.

Quite a number of studies showing it is useful for depression and anxiety,
even physical diseases like heart failure.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry68262633

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry66162138

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=60688815

So she tried hypnosis on you ?

Linust70
post Jul 15 2014, 03:23 PM

35 posts

She taught me how to do hypnotherapy.
SUSTham
post Jul 18 2014, 08:47 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Linust70 @ Jul 15 2014, 07:23 AM)
She taught me how to do hypnotherapy.
In your complex case, I think you need to undergo sessions with a qualified
hypotherapist, rather than try self-hypnosis.

They practice EFT as well, which can also help your situation.

Their links have been given above.

This practice seems worth checking out.

http://www.joycehue.com.my

And why not try one or two of the many supplements and herbs given
in the links above, like 5-HTP, magnesium threonate and St John's Wort ?

This post has been edited by Tham: Jul 18 2014, 08:49 AM
Linust70
post Jul 18 2014, 01:22 PM

35 posts

Tham,

Are you linked to http://www.joycehue.com.my ?

ngaisteve1
post Jul 18 2014, 04:22 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

I also experience this problem at one point of time. That time I easily short of breath and suddenly woke up in the middle of the sleep. I even ask doctor if I got take anti-depression medication but the doctor said mine is mild type and so no need first. Later somehow, those symptoms slowly gone.

After reading a book about this, I realize that several way which can help is to find the right community (ie church small group) whom you can trust to share it out.

Medication/drugs is to be last resort. We need medication sometimes because it has to do with our biological chemical and when we can't really sleep. But medication gotta be prescribed by certified doctor due to its side-effect and dependency (meaning, we need to take it then only can sleep.).

I also learn that mental disorder can be quite difficult to diagnose. I mean for physical illness, we can go for check up, there is many of types of check, test (CT scan, MRI scan, X-ray). But no machine can check for our mental illness. Only can diagnose by looking at the symptoms as a whole. Example for bipolar / manic depression

there are the common signs and symptoms:

- Feeling unusually “high” and optimistic OR extremely irritable
- Unrealistic, grandiose beliefs about one’s abilities or powers
- Sleeping very little, but feeling extremely energetic
- Talking so rapidly that others can’t keep up
- Racing thoughts; jumping quickly from one idea to the next
- Highly distractible, unable to concentrate
- Impaired judgment and impulsiveness
- Acting recklessly without thinking about the consequences
- Delusions and hallucinations (in severe cases)

And best to be treated as early as possible although it is easier to be said than done..

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Jul 18 2014, 04:30 PM
rezler91
post Jul 18 2014, 04:27 PM

61 posts

Hate to say this, but the natural cure to fix this problem is to go out, meet people or small marijuana intake. smile.gif
ngaisteve1
post Jul 18 2014, 06:58 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...hopping-centre/

Hopefully this will never happen again. Don't let depression take our life away smile.gif
SUSTham
post Jul 18 2014, 07:09 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Linust70 @ Jul 18 2014, 05:22 AM)
Tham,

Are you linked to http://www.joycehue.com.my ?
No, I am not.

If you had bothered to read the links to my earlier posts (which I don't believe you had)
when I had given above, you would have noted that I had given info on three centers in
town staffed by psychologists who also practice hypnotherapy and EFT. Remember
that they are not psychiatrists.

Those centers were not easy to find and took some time to search on the net, and
I posted them here for the forum users' info, not for canvassing clients. I don't know
the background of any of them.

I took the trouble to reply and pick that one for you because they also have a practice
in Mont Kiara, near my office in Sri Hartamas, and they also appeared professional,
not because I am affilated with them.

Hynotherapy is still a relatively new field in this country, and you would be hard
pressed to locate a psychiatrist who also knows hypnosis.

Dr Cheah Wing Yin in Sunway is currently the only psychiatrist in town whom
I know of with such training. He used hypnosis on me when he was with UKM
in GH in 1988 in an attempt to treat my tinnitus.

Given your difficult condition, I am surprised that you view my post as an
attempt to solicit business from you.

I suggest then that you go back to your previous psychiatrist and ask if he
knows hypnosis.

Linust70
post Jul 19 2014, 09:08 AM

35 posts

Hey Tham, Thanks. Take it easy.
Linust70
post Jul 19 2014, 11:27 AM

35 posts

I dont have panic attach recently, but suicidal thought flood my mind. Can anyone suggest a good psychologist, who has a lot of life experience, in her 40's or 50's that can recommend to me in Klang Valley ?

nikzidane
post Jul 23 2014, 01:22 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(maninsuit @ Oct 16 2012, 02:16 AM)
Hi, I was suffering from anxiety, depression and ADD (attention deficit disorder), Ive gone through craziest sh*t ever in my life. A terrible childhood and later on my parent disowned me and throw me out of the house, I was asked to leave and never come back. later on nervous migraine attacks added up the sugar. Ive got these anxiety attacks that would give me a shock like electrocuted whenever I closed my eyes at night. terrible nights that nobody deserve it. I spent money on RM 200 per hour for therapy sessions and strong anti depressant and ADD management pills like Ritalin LA, 30 Caps for Rm 200 that literally broke me with just mild effects. I searched for Alternative Lifestyle and Alternative lifestyle products in Malaysia and I found a Herbal Coffee (Dr.kalan Herbal Coffee) around 3 months ago. They claimed I could loose much of my depression, anxiety and Migraine.  The first few days of drinking it I had good hours (Those hours in day that you feel like normal humans), I first thought it was just my moods, but later on I was surprised  that it actually worked. Its been two months that I almost feel human, I have empathy for others, I Can Feel. I still have bad days, but just few minutes.
The point of my words is that always look for alternatives, natural, clean alternatives that nowadays are surprising us. Most of the helps out there are available only in kuala Lumpur and are very limited, we need to learn from developed countries that embrace natural remedies that are much better than traditional and are as good as chemicals and are cheap whistling.gif . From One suffered fellow to other: Mental conditions are manageable when you are ready to fight back. its an attitude.
Cheers
hi there. i was prescribed seroquel xr since 2008 for cognitive difficulties. i have now learnt that those issues might be caused by my deviated septum and sinusitis. however, in 2008, i was given the diagnosis of bipolar depression, despite stating i do not have the extreme high and lows of emotional swings.

my question is, how did you managed to get ritalin together with anti depressant? i am currently getting my seroquel xr from government hospital.

Dr Kalan Herbal Coffee seems like a good alternative, did it help you with focusing and concentration (cognitive) as well? Furtheremore, how quick you get it after you purchase it online?
fareeznissan
post Jul 24 2014, 11:56 PM

Hello..sy fareez Dari Ipoh...start kene panik attack in since last year April...boleh Kate kerap keluar masuk emergency room Hosp besar Ipoh ni..tapi dokter still cakap sy ni xde ape2 masalah...kawan baik sy member I cadangan untuk sy g jmpe psikiatrik..Dan sy pun bersetuju...1st time jumpe dokter dia suruh sy critekan smua masalah...even my drug history...last2 dia diagnoskan sy dengan penyakit ni..dia BG sy try ubat Zoloft @ sentraline ...tp makin worsed...x bleh tido Dan jadik alergik..gatal di lutut...esoknya sy jumpa balik dokter tu Dan bgtahu masalah ubat tu...so sy beralih kepada lexapro...sampailah Sekarang..Dari 5mg sampailah ke 15mg(Sekarang)...now I follow up at hospital bahagia tanjung rambutan..huhuhu...

This post has been edited by fareeznissan: Jul 25 2014, 12:09 AM
Healthcarejobs
post Jul 25 2014, 07:12 PM

20 posts

Carry I DON'T CARE attitude.It will help you!
jacob14
post Aug 14 2014, 10:23 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(insidexjokes @ Mar 3 2011, 10:42 PM)
cry.gif  icon_question.gif

I went to local hospital, they all malas to layan anxiety patient like me.
But thanks to them i have my heart and my thyroid checked. which is im okay.
http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditi...on/con-20029996
TS, how r u recently?
mine.. severe GAD sad.gif
trying the addictive benzo currently...n without honest to the psy dr... u know lah i mean ... said different story to different doc.. biggrin.gif

jacob14
post Aug 14 2014, 10:28 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(fareeznissan @ Jul 24 2014, 11:56 PM)
Hello..sy fareez Dari Ipoh...start kene panik attack in since last year April...boleh Kate kerap keluar masuk emergency room Hosp besar Ipoh ni..tapi dokter still cakap sy ni xde ape2 masalah...kawan baik sy member I cadangan untuk sy g jmpe psikiatrik..Dan sy pun bersetuju...1st time jumpe dokter dia suruh sy critekan smua masalah...even my drug history...last2 dia diagnoskan sy dengan penyakit ni..dia BG sy try ubat Zoloft @ sentraline ...tp makin worsed...x bleh tido Dan jadik alergik..gatal di lutut...esoknya sy jumpa balik dokter tu Dan bgtahu masalah ubat tu...so sy beralih kepada lexapro...sampailah Sekarang..Dari 5mg sampailah ke 15mg(Sekarang)...now I follow up at hospital bahagia tanjung rambutan..huhuhu...
panic attack is well known of its physical anxiety symptom mang... many ppl hv to take benzo for long term-ly... glad to hear tat u r under control v ssri only... smile.gif
btw is hosp tanjung rambutan near to ipoh? reachable by the very fast ETS??
jacob14
post Aug 14 2014, 10:32 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Healthcarejobs @ Jul 25 2014, 07:12 PM)
Carry I DON'T CARE attitude.It will help you!
guest this is a light case.. if gone to more severe, the anxiety is not controllable mang... good luck... smile.gif
tried a clinical psychologist?

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:09 AM