125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V7, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

acougan
post Mar 6 2011, 03:16 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(azr_3012 @ Mar 4 2011, 04:11 AM)
I have one weird question.. I dont know if anyone is getting what im getting.. and should have posted this earlier.

Not recently but after the latest firmware update (i dont remember the number). My ps3 started to reset or just red blinks.

Some people said it might be the symptoms of YLOD but the weird thing is, it only happen on certain games and rarely happen.

sometimes after a minute in a game it happen, I turned it on again and I can play for hours and nothing happens. One of those game that i play and this happened is KZ3, Uncharted 2, and MW2(before the update it didnt happen).

The weirder thing is; I can play Dead Space 2 flawlessly for hours completing the campaign without any probs.

I'm suspecting is the firmware but I can't really tell if anyone faced this yet.

Any idea, dear people?
My PS3 Slim acting the same way! aargh

Details: 2106A (bought from Sony Jul/10)
HDD upgraded but still keeping the factory (original) HDD nearby
just bought vertical stand to keep it upright

Symptoms since few weeks ago ( around time FW3.55 version1 released)
- install FW3.55 v1-> FW3.55 v2-> FW3.56
- just auto-shut off and blink red lights very randomly, almost like the heat sensor inside the PS3 is malfunctioning

Tried
- rebuild database trick
- changing and testing different HDDs including the factory HDD but still same
- the problem is just so random at the moment, no point to bring to Sony for repairs, cos chances are it can boot and play normally most of the time

Very frustrated ATM, dunno what can do,

if YLOD symptom is not like that, my old PS3 Fat just suddenly died of YLOD one day without warning after 3++ yrs of service.
man_hakim87
post Mar 6 2011, 12:20 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 6 2011, 03:16 AM)
My PS3 Slim acting the same way! aargh

Details: 2106A (bought from Sony Jul/10)
HDD upgraded but still keeping the factory (original) HDD nearby
just bought vertical stand to keep it upright

Symptoms since few weeks ago ( around time FW3.55 version1 released)
- install FW3.55 v1-> FW3.55 v2-> FW3.56
- just auto-shut off and blink red lights very randomly, almost like the heat sensor inside the PS3 is malfunctioning

Tried
- rebuild database trick
- changing and testing different HDDs including the factory HDD but still same
- the problem is just so random at the moment, no point to bring to Sony for repairs, cos chances are it can boot and play normally most of the time
Very frustrated ATM, dunno what can do,

if YLOD symptom is not like that, my old PS3 Fat just suddenly died of YLOD one day without warning after 3++ yrs of service.
My ps3 phat just red blink on me!! hmm.gif I was playing MGS and suddenly it switch off by it self. RLOD?? doh.gif
jebon 007
post Mar 6 2011, 04:26 PM

nk tnyee..normal ke LAN indicator kt blkng ps3 tu blink??kdng2 blink,kdng2 nyala mcm biase je..wory lrr sweat.gif
plz help
dark_heart07
post Mar 6 2011, 04:33 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jebon 007 @ Mar 6 2011, 04:26 PM)
nk tnyee..normal ke LAN indicator kt blkng ps3 tu blink??kdng2 blink,kdng2 nyala mcm biase je..wory lrr sweat.gif
plz help
indicator tu mmg blinking bila ko connect ker PSN/internet sweat.gif
sjn hassan
post Mar 6 2011, 04:37 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Mar 6 2011, 04:33 PM)
indicator tu mmg blinking bila ko connect ker PSN/internet sweat.gif
yaa...lampu tu indicator utk network...blinking2 tu ade activity
dark_heart07
post Mar 6 2011, 07:51 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(deadisland @ Mar 6 2011, 05:06 PM)
I use xbox live ok je.. on the same line as PSN  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
conclusion xbox live is definitely way better than PSN.. paying rm15-20 a month for live is worth it...  nod.gif  nod.gif
i think u got the setting wrong for ur PS3 laugh.gif
i'm using 1mb screamyx but can play/connect without prob.whats more is no lag while play even some of my friends using 4mb got lag.it depend on how u set the connection icon_rolleyes.gif
afeeq
post Mar 6 2011, 07:53 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(deadisland @ Mar 6 2011, 05:06 PM)
I use xbox live ok je.. on the same line as PSN  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
conclusion xbox live is definitely way better than PSN.. paying rm15-20 a month for live is worth it...  nod.gif  nod.gif
what games are you playing?
mvc3?
sjn hassan
post Mar 6 2011, 07:58 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Mar 6 2011, 07:51 PM)
i think u got the setting wrong for ur PS3 laugh.gif
i'm using 1mb screamyx but can play/connect without prob.whats more is no lag while play even some of my friends using 4mb got lag.it depend on how u set the connection icon_rolleyes.gif
mind to share the setting??coz before this i played with demo Warhawk with my 512k but no problem..easy to connect and no lag (ratio around 8:10) ..but after upgrade to 4mb..it's really had to make the quick connect (in game menu)...the ratio about 1:10 hmm.gif

both using same modem, same setting

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Mar 6 2011, 07:58 PM
dark_heart07
post Mar 6 2011, 08:42 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Mar 6 2011, 07:58 PM)
mind to share the setting??coz before this i played with demo Warhawk with my 512k but no problem..easy to connect and no lag (ratio around 8:10) ..but after upgrade to 4mb..it's really had to make the quick connect (in game menu)...the ratio about 1:10  hmm.gif

both using same modem, same setting
ntah la Jen....dulu time memula install screamyx mmg lag x igt.pastu saje main2 dgn dier terus ok plak sweat.gif
sjn hassan
post Mar 6 2011, 08:44 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Mar 6 2011, 08:42 PM)
ntah la Jen....dulu time memula install screamyx mmg lag x igt.pastu saje main2 dgn dier terus ok plak sweat.gif
ade jgk camtu? hmm.gif
aaron_15ryderz
post Mar 7 2011, 09:20 AM

276 posts

guys. WTA, my old phat ps3 died recently and kenot revived... already try change the thermal paste, heatgun... etc..
so, how can i transfer my data to my new ps3? or if kenot, at least i can transfer my PSN ID.. coz i read PSN ID shud be deactivate 1st then only can recover to new PS3..
pc-ox
post Mar 7 2011, 10:05 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Mar 7 2011, 09:20 AM)
guys. WTA, my old phat ps3 died recently and kenot revived... already try change the thermal paste, heatgun... etc..
so, how can i transfer my data to my new ps3? or if kenot, at least i can transfer my PSN ID.. coz i read PSN ID shud be deactivate 1st then only can recover to new PS3..
For PSN ID, it can use at 5 different set of PS3. If you not deactivated your PSN ID at old PS3, you still can use your existing PSN ID at new PS3. If possible, better deactivate old PS3.

If you got backup file from your old PS3, then you can restore at new PS3. If don't have, no way you can transfer data since your old PS3 can't turn on.

nwk
post Mar 7 2011, 10:33 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Mar 7 2011, 09:20 AM)
if you didn't deactivate your psn id on your old ps3, then you can not use it on your new ps3. all your trophies and psn games are locked to your psn id and unless you deactive it, you cannot transfer your trophies and psn games to your new ps3.

the only other way to deactivate your psn id is to call sony tech support. you can find their phone number at the malaysia playstation website.
aaron_15ryderz
post Mar 7 2011, 11:02 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Mar 7 2011, 10:33 AM)
if you didn't deactivate your psn id on your old ps3, then you can not use it on your new ps3. all your trophies and psn games are locked to your psn id and unless you deactive it, you cannot transfer your trophies and psn games to your new ps3.

the only other way to deactivate your psn id is to call sony tech support. you can find their phone number at the malaysia playstation website.
really ohmy.gif
ok2...thats great then.. but what if mine is Korean set... still can call them too? icon_question.gif
nwk
post Mar 7 2011, 11:10 AM

256 posts

tongue.gif
QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Mar 7 2011, 11:02 AM)
really ohmy.gif
ok2...thats great then..  but what if mine is Korean set... still can call them too? icon_question.gif
you can try but don't tell them your ps3 is korean set.. tongue.gif

take note, sony tech support will only help with Malaysian PSN accounts only!!!!

This post has been edited by nwk: Mar 7 2011, 11:11 AM
aaron_15ryderz
post Mar 7 2011, 11:52 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Mar 7 2011, 11:10 AM)
tongue.gif
you can try but don't tell them your ps3 is korean set.. tongue.gif

take note, sony tech support will only help with Malaysian PSN accounts only!!!!
yup..mine is MY PSN...
pc-ox
post Mar 7 2011, 01:41 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Mar 7 2011, 11:52 AM)
yup..mine is MY PSN...
You can get back your trophies as long as synced with sony server before old PS3 died.

You can re-download all PSN games without re-buy it as long as your PSN ID not a share account (share with other 5 people).

If got PSN games which bought from share account (example: from terion), you can't re-download it since you didn't deactivated old PS3.
aaron_15ryderz
post Mar 7 2011, 02:30 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ Mar 7 2011, 01:41 PM)
You can get back your trophies as long as synced with sony server before old PS3 died.
You can re-download all PSN games without re-buy it as long as your PSN ID not a share account (share with other 5 people).

If got PSN games which bought from share account (example: from terion), you can't re-download it since you didn't deactivated old PS3.
no need to deactivate from old ps3 or wut? hmm.gif
pc-ox
post Mar 7 2011, 02:35 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Mar 7 2011, 02:30 PM)
no need to deactivate from old ps3 or wut? hmm.gif
Yes, don't need deactivated old PS3. But MUST synced with sony server first before your old PS3 died.
If never synced with sony server before, then can't get back all trophies.

This post has been edited by pc-ox: Mar 7 2011, 02:39 PM
aaron_15ryderz
post Mar 7 2011, 04:30 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ Mar 7 2011, 02:35 PM)
Yes, don't need deactivated old PS3. But MUST synced with sony server first before your old PS3 died.
If never synced with sony server before, then can't get back all trophies.
yea.. i've sync my trophies before..
just confius coz nwk say need to deactivate PSN ID from old ps3 1st.. rclxub.gif
thanks btw... rclxms.gif

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:12 AM