Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 11:29 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 7 2011, 11:06 PM)
yeah, any Gingerbread rom now is buggy. not worth trying it, u'll go back to Froyo 2.2.1 sooner or later. no matter how stable or lagginess those rom creators try to say about their rom, u kno they're just tryin to be Steve Jobs tongue.gif

Added on March 7, 2011, 11:08 pm
only lagfix have to be disabled. Happy flashing biggrin.gif

Added on March 7, 2011, 11:10 pm
try this JPA WiFi by Hardcore it should fix the problem.
download "update-wifi-dxjpa.zip" and flash via CWM

Added on March 7, 2011, 11:16 pm
I think UV won't help much in battery saving when u use the phone, but it helps when ur phone is in idle mode smile.gif
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 7 2011, 11:22 PM)
I didn't disable ext4 lagfix and all tweaks. It is advisable to disable them although custom rom now can detect which lagfix you have. No need to unroot.
Idle battery life is excellent. 1%/1hour drain. Both with zsjpe and xxjve modem. I have wifi on the whole time.
No worries. The website is really badly designed sad.gif
Thanks sifus for the comment and review. Going to flash tomorrow as I still need to backup my stuff and go to sleep, need to work tomorrow.

ken2291
post Mar 7 2011, 11:29 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 7 2011, 11:22 PM)
Ic. But I remembered using stock browser from 2.2.1 that limits to 4 tabs only. That's supposed to be hardware accelerated. Maybe I was wrong.
About the same as zsjpe in terms of battery life. Havent test GPS performance.
yeah, that's why I'm confused when those in XDA want the browser for its hardware acceleration. maybe 2.2.1's browser is not hardware accelerated hmm.gif

Okay, thanks. Heard them saying it's even better than ZSJPE. hahaha
erymanthus
post Mar 7 2011, 11:50 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 7 2011, 11:04 PM)
Darky's latest rom has Wifi bug, lots of people experienced that
Hmm, what is this Wifi bug? Causing wifi to be unstable? cannot connect?

I think Simply Galaxy Rom 2.4.1 also uses Darky's wifi, right?

cradle0fFilth
post Mar 7 2011, 11:56 PM

666 posts

since i m not as hardworking as previously, can i flash darky 9.3 (wipe)from my current darky 9.1 (fyi, m at speedmod k13c)

read somewhere that i had to flash to darky 9.2 odin method 1st? is this necessary?

just checking.

cheers
ken2291
post Mar 8 2011, 12:38 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Mar 7 2011, 11:50 PM)
Hmm, what is this Wifi bug? Causing wifi to be unstable? cannot connect?

I think Simply Galaxy Rom 2.4.1 also uses Darky's wifi, right?
sucks ur battery. not sure about whether it uses Darky's wifi or not smile.gif
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 8 2011, 01:16 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

Since the second post is still confusing, this is my attempt at a more complete guide for newbies. A pictorial diagram should be more easy to understand. Please comment and msg me for any mistake.

I have a question. If from stock 2.2 froyo is it compulsory to use odin as recommended by hardcore? Or just use CWM? (of course must rename speedmod kernel zip file to update.zip since that's the limitation of 3e recovery)

What to do before Flashing
Remember that flashing is a dangerous process, be it official means using kies, odin or CWM. It is preferable to use a laptop to prevent soft brick in case of a sudden power cut during flashing. Make sure your phone is fully charges too.

1. Make sure you have 3 button combo working (download and recovery mode). If it isn't, go here for the fix.

2. backup /efs folder. This is to preserve your IMEI number.

3. Backup
- Phonebook & email: Sync with google.
- apps and data: can use Titanium Backup
- SMS and MMS: can use SMS Backup+ by Jan Berkel

Go to recovery mode. How?
1. Shutdown your phone.
2. Hold volume up, home and power button simultaneously until the screen lit up.
3. Wait till you arrive to the recovery mode.

You'll see whether you have 2e or 3e mode at the top.

- Flashing speedmod kernel will give you 2e recovery mode.
- Follow this link for instruction to install speedmod kernel.

- Go to the sweethoney rom page
- Download either wipe or non-wipe version and store it into your sdcard
- Go to recovery mode. Choose "install zip file from sdcard" and "choose zip from sdcard". Navigate using volume rocker to your file. Use back button to select.
- Confirm the selection.
- Wait for a few minutes and you'll automatically reboot.
- Done. Enjoy your new custom rom!

chris7524
post Mar 8 2011, 01:23 AM

66 posts

Anyone know any application can video call in full screen (a normal video call to sony ericsson phone eg k770i, not through data or wifi)?
Using the stock video call is so small that waste the 4.0" screen.
icon_question.gif
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 8 2011, 03:32 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

Someone requested the honeycomb bootanimation as a livewallpaper. Well, I just stumbled this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=980640 Made 3 days ago.
lch78
post Mar 8 2011, 08:23 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Nice guide.

nkte5207
post Mar 8 2011, 09:02 AM

178 posts

why did i stucked at "installing" whenever i try to install an app? which part is going wrg?
lch78
post Mar 8 2011, 09:18 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(nkte5207 @ Mar 8 2011, 10:02 AM)
why did i stucked at "installing" whenever i try to install an app? which part is going wrg?
Using android marketplace you mean? Try to clear market cache and install again.
nkte5207
post Mar 8 2011, 09:23 AM

178 posts

Even if i install app from the sd card.. zzz
lch78
post Mar 8 2011, 09:29 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(nkte5207 @ Mar 8 2011, 10:23 AM)
Even if i install app from the sd card.. zzz
Usually when you got stuck at installing, it is probably the cache reach maximum memory limit. Try to clear all your cache files then using either cache cleaner app or CWM recovery.

Bap3
post Mar 8 2011, 09:41 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:29 AM)
Usually when you got stuck at installing, it is probably the cache reach maximum memory limit. Try to clear all your cache files then using either cache cleaner app or CWM recovery.
cache cleaner NG apps...but how can he install when he cannot even install other apps...only left cwm
lch78
post Mar 8 2011, 09:46 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 8 2011, 10:41 AM)
cache cleaner NG apps...but how can he install when he cannot even install other apps...only left cwm
I think he still can install, but maybe most times got stuck at installing only. Usually android system will clear the cache memory automatically but when we install apps faster than the system can auto clean, then this problem happens.
stormlcc
post Mar 8 2011, 10:09 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 8 2011, 01:16 AM)
Since the second post is still confusing, this is my attempt at a more complete guide for newbies. A pictorial diagram should be more easy to understand. Please comment and msg me for any mistake.

I have a question. If from stock 2.2 froyo is it compulsory to use odin as recommended by hardcore? Or just use CWM? (of course must rename speedmod kernel zip file to update.zip since that's the limitation of 3e recovery)

What to do before Flashing
Remember that flashing is a dangerous process, be it official means using kies, odin or CWM. It is preferable to use a laptop to prevent soft brick in case of a sudden power cut during flashing. Make sure your phone is fully charges too.

1. Make sure you have 3 button combo working (download and recovery mode). If it isn't, go here for the fix.

2. backup /efs folder. This is to preserve your IMEI number.

3. Backup
- Phonebook & email: Sync with google.
- apps and data: can use Titanium Backup
- SMS and MMS: can use SMS Backup+ by Jan Berkel

Go to recovery mode. How?
1. Shutdown your phone.
2. Hold volume up, home and power button simultaneously until the screen lit up.
3. Wait till you arrive to the recovery mode.

You'll see whether you have 2e or 3e mode at the top.

- Flashing speedmod kernel will give you 2e recovery mode.
- Follow this link for instruction to install speedmod kernel.

- Go to the sweethoney rom page
- Download either wipe or non-wipe version and store it into your sdcard
- Go to recovery mode. Choose "install zip file from sdcard" and "choose zip from sdcard". Navigate using volume rocker to your file. Use back button to select.
- Confirm the selection.
- Wait for a few minutes and you'll automatically reboot.
- Done. Enjoy your new custom rom!
no need to use cwm to do nandroid backup first?

this guide is more clearer, but somehow still lacking on details. i know the front page has a lot of info, but by putting in those info into this guide, it'll become the ultimate guide for us noobies. anyway later this week i'll be flashing new ROM into my sis's SGS
nkte5207
post Mar 8 2011, 10:20 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:46 AM)
I think he still can install, but maybe most times got stuck at installing only. Usually android system will clear the cache memory automatically but when we install apps faster than the system can auto clean, then this problem happens.
I find dat, i was unable to install the app when im in speedmod 13c.. now i go back to voodoo and it works.. zzz
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 8 2011, 10:50 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Mar 8 2011, 07:39 AM)
no need to use cwm to do nandroid backup first?

this guide is more clearer, but somehow still lacking on details.  i know the front page has a lot of info, but by putting in those info into this guide, it'll become the ultimate guide for us noobies.  anyway later this week i'll be flashing new ROM into my sis's SGS
Thank you for your feedback. Nandroid backup is usually not required.

My aim is to make a simple guide so that a newbie can understand. I'll add more details and if everything is ok,will put in second post.
ken2291
post Mar 8 2011, 11:28 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 8 2011, 10:50 AM)

My aim is to make a simple guide so that a newbie can understand.  I'll add more details and if everything is ok,will put in second post.
is it necessary to put Sweethoney rom? I mean.. replace it as custom rom instead. Or u just wanna give an example? if that's the case, then it's fine smile.gif

Added on March 8, 2011, 11:37 amUPDATE: Doc have just released a new base rom JS7, claims to be the fastest rom released by Samsung so far hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 8 2011, 11:37 AM
Bap3
post Mar 8 2011, 11:40 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 8 2011, 10:50 AM)

My aim is to make a simple guide so that a newbie can understand.  I'll add more details and if everything is ok,will put in second post.
+1..i think we should buy u a drink game master hafiz..for all your effort... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

125 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:22 PM