10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 12:13 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(flawless_333 @ Mar 15 2011, 09:27 PM)
Our TS did mention MyPhoneExplorer & Android Manager Wifi for wireless ..nod.gif

Maybe TS can update at FP too.. biggrin.gif
Done

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 15 2011, 09:39 PM)
Ok, thx~  notworthy.gif
Erm... U can update via Kies~ but definitely our TS will ask u to throw Kies away geh~  biggrin.gif

Eh, kena trap~  rclxub.gif
hehe, change avatar only kena trap smile.gif
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 12:56 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(la pulga @ Mar 15 2011, 10:19 PM)
omg! very fast reply & very detail answer
tq so much bro  thumbup.gif
will do it

i agree with u guys
this forum very friendly & helpful
keep up d good work
rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
sure no problem. this thread has got a lot of friendly sifus and users alike.

BTW, there's newer Arc launcher with less fat: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=989535 I'm playing with it now
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 01:26 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(FormalCat @ Mar 15 2011, 10:43 PM)
i'm using z4root now. i've selected temporary root and it hangs and force closes. should i just try the permanent root? would this mean i can't unroot my phone after this?
I've never used z4root. But permanent root in this context means your phone will still be rooted after a reboot. In temporary root, root access will be lost after a reboot.

After you've finished doing /efs folder backup and TB backup, you can go ahead flashing custom rom. They will come pre-rooted. When you decide you wanted to go back to stock official firmware DXJPE, just use odin and follow hardcore's instruction in his blog. You'll get stock firmware and unrooted.

Can still unroot no matter what. Can use the CWM package I made - see second post.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 03:29 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 12:57 PM)
Is there any possibility or ways that facebook notification can act like push mail, in other word, when there is a notification in facebook, the phone will immediately alert or notify us~
Afaik, no. we need a blackberry server-like from google for that.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 04:11 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Mar 16 2011, 01:22 PM)
thanx for the link..mind to elobrate a bit about POP, IMAP & Exchange accnt? why do we use exchange account instead of IMAP, coz AFAIK gmail is using IMAP to connect with our phone right?
If you use gmail only, the gmail app is sufficient. No settings are required except entering your email address and password.

QUOTE(aNiEf @ Mar 16 2011, 01:38 PM)
Gingerbread is not coming yet ?
Probably end of april or may. there has been one leaked gingerbread firmware that we here have installed.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 04:18 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Mar 16 2011, 10:17 AM)
Snap n go?
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2011, 10:26 AM)
dropbox
We lucky android users can have selection of apps for wireless transfer thumbup.gif

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 01:32 PM)
Btw, the Arc Launcher is surprisingly smooth~ Love it~  wub.gif
Very smooth and simple but I went back to LP

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2011, 01:40 PM)
expected to be end of this month. beta version is out anyway but not stable
According to various rumors. I hope it'll release as quickly as possible. I am on conservative side.

QUOTE(FormalCat @ Mar 16 2011, 01:44 PM)
Hi peeps, update about my first ever root here:
I installed the z4root app and used the temporary root function. it hangs halfway and force closes. There is no superuser app that is supposed to pop up(i think) but i noticed that in my settings->about phone, it says my kernel is 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1.

what is this and what should be my next step?
Try installing titanium backup and open it. The app will tell if you have a rooted phone or not.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 05:02 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Mar 16 2011, 02:19 PM)
Mine same like you. Kernel 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1. Then try rooting with z4root. I choose permanent but can't. I try super one click also can't.

I want rooting to backup my data and apps before flashing.

Any suggestion?
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2011, 02:21 PM)
flash custom kernel which will root your phone
I put flashing speedmod kernel as the third option because I don't want beginners to make mistake with odin.

If superoneclick and z4root fail, then no choice but to use odin. Just follow hardcore's instructions carefully.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 05:32 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(janov @ Mar 16 2011, 02:45 PM)
i thought end of march? info from link below

http://www.zdnet.co.uk/news/mobile-devices...pdate-40092134/

since jv1 have been leaked its quite reasonable for end march release. fingers crossed. but most likely europe will get theirs first and our region like gmhafiz mentioned, end april or may la....but who cares, as long europe get theirs we can start flashing and try theirs, then custom roms will be all over xda.....cant wait!! been hearing gingerbread gives much better performance.
When froyo was leaked, we get a lot of them. We have since get only one gingerbread firmware. that's why I speculate end of april.

QUOTE(bestofel @ Mar 16 2011, 02:51 PM)
I've trying appy sdcard:update.zip, also cannot, signature verification failed. Huhuu..

Before I use odin, how can I backup my data and app?
are you from stock froyo? You can still use odin to flash speedmod kernel. Then go to recovery mode to switch on root. Then you can make /efs folder, apps and data backup.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 06:06 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Mar 16 2011, 03:31 PM)
MyBackup trial 30days ok ya? Thanx..I'll try it..
Yeah.. Its Froyo DXJPA from Samsung Customer Service. Flashing kernel, the data and apps not deleted right?

TQ all.
Flashing kernel will not delete apps and data
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 07:12 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Mar 16 2011, 04:37 PM)
tested ZSJPG Modem yesterday.. satelite lock using LBS mode: 0.. nothing shows.  rclxub.gif  tried GPS Aids and FasterFix as well already  cry.gif
try different modems such as XXJVE or DXJPB. flashing these won't delete your apps and data
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 08:33 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 04:57 PM)
@gmhafiz,
any idea how to get back the ram usage widget (stock rom) ?
i failed to find it after i install Arc Launcher~
Should still be there. Installing a different launcher shouldn't make that widget disappear. Maybe arc launcher isn't compatible with that widget.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 16 2011, 05:56 PM)
Hey guys, Asphalt 6 is released for Android!!! rclxm9.gif
Unfortunately I don't have a credit card sad.gif in india, it only cost 50rupees. Twice cheaper than in malaysia.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 10:29 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 16 2011, 06:38 PM)
India got paid apps? official paid apps?
Yes. Google has expanded the list of countries.

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 07:39 PM)
Accidently found this app when i look for transfer files to pc through wireless.
>>>SwiFTP FTP Server<<<
Compare with Android Manager Wifi, SwiFTP FTP Server is more simple~
For those who like to drag n drop, u will like it~  smile.gif
Installation guide here.
Yup another good app. but both myphoneexplorer and android manager wifi have some more features. They are more than just file transfer app.

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2011, 07:45 PM)
i prefer dropbox smile.gif
I like it too! Some of the cwm packages I made is hosted on my dropbox account.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 17 2011, 12:44 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 16 2011, 08:30 PM)
can someone make CWM zip package for XXJQ1 modem (the new one coming with XWJS8)?
I can teach you how to make cwm zip package if you have downloaded xwjs8

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Mar 16 2011, 08:59 PM)
quadrant benchmark!thanks!
Unfortunately, quadrant benchmark do not measure our phone performance correctly.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 16 2011, 09:22 PM)
MIUI getting beta 4 now. fast as hell sweat.gif
The what's not working list is very short. I must try this!
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 17 2011, 04:49 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Mar 17 2011, 02:14 AM)
Lol, the what's not working is exactly what's not working with CM7 (a whole list of bugs). So, it's not listed. Been using it since Beta 1. I am happy with it!
Good morning

Lol, no wonder. I am going to try it out anyway
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 17 2011, 01:30 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 16 2011, 06:15 PM)
yeah, it's RM6 here. How I wish I'm in India tongue.gif
/*
offtopic For a week vacation. yes. But you don't want to stay for 5 years here sad.gif
*/

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Mar 17 2011, 06:57 AM)
I wonder if anyone is going to change to Nexus S tomorrow tongue.gif

overpriced. what are maxis thinking?

QUOTE(~Mew~ @ Mar 17 2011, 07:54 AM)
Hi peeps, I'm here asking a question on behalf of my friend. He is a ex-samsung jet s8000 user and recently changed to samsung galaxy s. He is wondering how to transfer messages from his old phone to his current phone.

Is that possible?
easiest is to import to google contacts.
1. log in to gmail
2. Click contacts on the left column
3. Click More actions
4. Click import
5. Select CSV or vcard contacts that you have exported using your samsung jet.

edit: ok I misread.

QUOTE(Carlos_XP @ Mar 17 2011, 09:00 AM)
Hi There Peoples......New User of SGS here....just bought 2nd hand from our fellow lyn forumers.

however i'm noticing unusual battery drain and,heat on this device,since i'm quite new to android device i need you guys' opinion about this problem,.

I)The battery drains insanely fast,my battery had dropped a whoopin' 20% since i woke up this morning....and keeps on dropping around 10%/Hour (is using batterylife app)

II)The back of my sgs heats up real fast...even when i do whatsapp'ing for less than 5 minutes (via 3G) already can feel it's becoming warm.

is there any of you guys have problem with this? it's frustrating,since i just bought this phone sad.gif
try checking background apps. easier, just make factory reset to wipe all apps.

QUOTE(bestofel @ Mar 17 2011, 10:02 AM)
This one: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=785201

Before that, i tried install z4root and oclf, but i choose root temporary. When the phone reboot, it can't start. Just loop at big S logo.
- were you from stock froyo?
- can you go to download mode now?

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 17 2011, 01:34 PM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 17 2011, 06:15 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 17 2011, 03:25 PM)
u're studying there?? blink.gif

Maxis ah.. thinking of earning $$ from those who dunno about the exact $$ biggrin.gif
Yup, going to finish this year end.

About Cyanogenmod7. Firstly, the phone cannot search for signal. I managed to switch on wifi, and then only network signal was found. Next the phone lags really badly! Later I found out that the phone is reinstalling all the apps I have installed before in insanity rom! How is that possible? No wonder my phone is lagging. It is installing >20 apps at one time rclxub.gif

adwlauncher apps scrolling lags as well but launcher pro was smooth.
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 18 2011, 09:17 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 17 2011, 09:29 PM)
they can never compete with Swype. They type, we Swype tongue.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 12:00 am
wah.. wad r u studying?

I din use ADW for a long time liao laugh.gif

btw, wanna share an app. can watch english dramas, ie Smallville, Desperate Housewives... and a LOT more!
http://www.appbrain.com/app/tv-shows-hd/org.apps.TVShows
- mbbs.
- cm7 comes with adw. i downloaded lp which is smoother at app drawer scrolling
- seems like that app is blocked for india sad.gif

QUOTE(Carlos_XP @ Mar 17 2011, 10:41 PM)
is currently with 3G turned on....will try EDGE today....
is actually wiped not long ago,any apps to recommend to monitor suspicious programs....? is thinking to flash stock froyo 2.2.1 into it....not sure will improve the situation or not... sad.gif

Update:my phone turned itself off after around 16 hours since unplugged,based on my battery usage,my display drains most of my battery,80+% off total sweat.gif with my LCD brightness' slider is already at it's lowest.

my battery level just dropped around 15% alone just played a lil' (5 minutes) of video playbank,and a lil' web browsing in 1 hour peiod,using wifi and 3g interchangeably not to mention it felt a little hot at the back as well....

i personally don't think this is normal.....any opinions from you guys?  cry.gif
use Spare Parts and OSMonitor (sort by load) to see apps use.

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Mar 18 2011, 05:03 AM)
Morning guy, need to ask if you guy facing problem like this...
I put my phone into aeroplane mode while i am sleeping, because i need the alarm.
Normal case is drop 0% battery during sleeping, checked battery history, phone running is very less...
Sometimes battery dropped 30% because phone did not go into sleep mode, battery history shown high percentage on phone runnin...

Am wondering what makes the phone awake...
like ich78 said, use Spare Parts app to see partial use. could be anything like gallery sensor or wifi bug. I sometimes get huge drain as well. But when I recharged after 5-10 minutes, there were a huge jump of battery percentage during recharging. It was as if there were no huge battery drain, only the indicator dropped very fast.

TSgmhafiz
post Mar 18 2011, 09:37 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 18 2011, 06:53 AM)
go and get the apk file of it and install, since it's free anyway tongue.gif
I found it but the apps says I need an updated version. Can you please send the apk?

Is this app by Loading Home? there's a lite version

Added on March 18, 2011, 9:41 amOne thing that baffled me about android is no easy way to share contacts - like sending vcard by sms in my old SE.

See this thread. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=958778 Can send and read vcard in sms rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 18 2011, 09:41 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 18 2011, 09:46 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ati_radeon @ Mar 18 2011, 07:12 AM)
is there any difference between sgs 8gb and sgs 16gb????
more better to buy sgs 8gb or sgs 16gb????
AFAIK, only difference is storage. How much the price differs from 8gb to 16gb?

addon: Oh, and welcome to lowyat forum and galaxy s thread! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Mar 18 2011, 09:46 AM
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 18 2011, 09:52 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(farizulazlan @ Mar 18 2011, 07:17 AM)
guys..im having problwm with my sgs..im using darky's rom v9.3 beta 3 n when i reboot it..it currently stuck on the welcome screen..it usually works fine before this..
try rebooting again. Can you go to recovery and download mode?

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:49 PM