Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

aaronpang
post Mar 11 2011, 05:48 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Mar 11 2011, 04:05 PM)
no...what i mean is that wanting physical item.......you are more likely to lose the gold if you store it in your house and if thief/robber come for a visit tongue.gif
robber can rob the bank 10 times and your money is still intact......one visit from thief/robber all ur gold say byebye
Agreed there risk in everything that we do. Hence do homework before committing.

Old people hoarding money under the pillows or biscuit tins, are putting all their eggs in one basket.

Spreading risk is important, store in the bank, in stock, in property, in commodities like gold/silver, etc biggrin.gif

What I'm looking for is a convenient and reliable of bullion if anyone has experience good and bad please share nod.gif

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Mar 11 2011, 04:05 PM)
to me property is the best thing........
Agreed one of my first purchase is property laugh.gif

Added on March 11, 2011, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Mar 11 2011, 05:46 PM)
go for these :
http://kfhonline.com.my/kfhmb/ep/kfhConten...contentId=11048

physical gold from Turkey.
Thanks I've checked out KFH brochure at Pavillion.

One thing to note is the bullion is not typical 99.99% (Singa, Kijang, Maples, Nugget) but 99.95% purity.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Mar 11 2011, 05:55 PM
FrancescoTop8
post Mar 11 2011, 07:32 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Mar 11 2011, 05:48 PM)

Added on March 11, 2011, 5:55 pm
Thanks I've checked out KFH brochure at Pavillion.

One thing to note is the bullion is not typical 99.99% (Singa, Kijang, Maples, Nugget) but 99.95% purity.
Yes, it is.
And KFH spread quite high too. sad.gif
I choose KFH because their gold from Turkey(stabil economy) and i find that KFH is most honest bank(from my research lah icon_rolleyes.gif ).

1 thing for sure :
- Dont buy gold or silver from SDN.BHD. company.
Risky

This post has been edited by FrancescoTop8: Mar 11 2011, 07:45 PM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Mar 17 2011, 10:22 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Gold prices drop quite a lot. a perfect time to buy biggrin.gif
JinXXX
post Mar 17 2011, 10:36 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Mar 17 2011, 10:22 AM)
Gold prices drop quite a lot. a perfect time to buy biggrin.gif
could drop somemore.... just curious.. why gold is dropping ?? shouldn't it be higher since got disaster and all and ppl parking their money in gold ?
vendetta87
post Mar 17 2011, 01:47 PM

47 posts

sifus i read somewhere gold price will go down in april...is that right ?
foofoosasa
post Mar 17 2011, 04:11 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 17 2011, 10:36 AM)
could drop somemore.... just curious.. why gold is dropping ?? shouldn't it be higher since got disaster and all and ppl parking their money in gold ?
if got disaster in other country ( maybe other than USA) hmm.gif , most ppl will buy USD . nowadays especially commodity price ( gold , oil ) is not as simple as a demand and supply to determine the price, it can be manipulated by wall street and so on...

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Mar 17 2011, 04:12 PM
DM3
post Mar 17 2011, 04:37 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,618 posts

i just found out this thread over here. nice info. i go for maybank due to no other charges if compare to PB, but didn't knw other banks also got, i though only 2 tongue.gif

Added on March 17, 2011, 4:44 pmprice drop since early this week.
i think gold investments are for long terms. no point just wait to earn couple of bucks after several mths? i mean just last mth i bought at 137/g but when sell it'll be around 142?+ but only this mth buying already 142 and can sell only at 137.

This post has been edited by DM3: Mar 17 2011, 04:44 PM
FrancescoTop8
post Mar 17 2011, 05:55 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 17 2011, 10:36 AM)
Investor have to sell gold to cover up their loss in anything related to Japan.
Insurers also need to liquidity their gold fast to cover the expenses.

Anyhow, the gold price dropping in turbulent times (e.g; tsunami) are quite strange situation.

SUSAllnGap
post Mar 17 2011, 08:53 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

the price we're seeing is the spot price which is the futures market.

As long as there are more money on 1 side, you can push it up or down....

the recent Japanese problem caused people to liquidate their position in the futures market causing the price to get sudden drop, but it'll slowly climb back.

physical demand and spot price is totally different thing.
cherroy
post Mar 17 2011, 11:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 17 2011, 08:53 PM)
the price we're seeing is the spot price which is the futures market.

As long as there are more money on 1 side, you can push it up or down....

the recent Japanese problem caused people to liquidate their position in the futures market causing the price to get sudden drop, but it'll slowly climb back.

physical demand and spot price is totally different thing.
That's what I highlighted before.
The price of gold is not dictated by real physical demand, but futures market.

Physical gold price is based or following futures market pricing.

Added on March 17, 2011, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Mar 17 2011, 05:55 PM)
Investor have to sell gold to cover up their loss in anything related to Japan.
Insurers also need to liquidity their gold fast to cover the expenses. 

Anyhow, the gold price dropping in turbulent times (e.g; tsunami) are quite strange situation.
Not strange, as it is about risk appetite for futures marker traders and speculators.

Also, the disastrous event has nothing to do with gold nor should affect gold price.

Gold is chased after when inflation looming, or when the cash money can depreciate.
The Tsunami disastrous has nothing to do with gold.
In fact, it should have slight negative effect, as economy is affected could mean inflation can go down, as well as highlighted hoarding physical gold may not a good idea nor can protect your asset during disastrous hit.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 17 2011, 11:36 PM
berdorki
post Mar 18 2011, 08:33 AM

254 posts

For those who buy gold via UOB bank's Gold Savings Account ( http://www1.uob.com.my/webpages/b_treasury..._investment.htm ), can you buy or sell your gold online? Or do you need to go to the bank itself to conduct transactions?
prophetjul
post Mar 18 2011, 08:39 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 17 2011, 11:31 PM)
That's what I highlighted before.
The price of gold is not dictated by real physical demand, but futures market.

Physical gold price is based or following futures market pricing.

[
Only to a certain extent as i have written before......in silver, backwardation is happening.

Go buy physical silver and see how much you have to pay for premiums......
DM3
post Mar 18 2011, 03:07 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,618 posts

sorry to ask 999.9 n 99.9 diff? so means tht only 2 banks Maybank n UOB give the purest form?
aaronpang
post Mar 20 2011, 10:27 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Mar 18 2011, 03:07 PM)
sorry to ask 999.9 n 99.9 diff? so means tht only 2 banks Maybank n UOB give the purest form?
It helps if you let us know what measurement are you're using is it % or finesse?

To my knowledge purest bullion in % is the Canadian Maple... 99.999% Gold. In practice 99.99% is already consider pure gold.

For finesses below shows which is higher:-

* 24 carat (millesimal fineness 999 or higher)
* 22 carat (millesimal fineness 916)
* 21 carat (millesimal fineness 875)
* 20 carat (millesimal fineness 833)
* 18 carat (millesimal fineness 750)
* 15 carat (millesimal fineness 625)
* 14 carat (millesimal fineness 585)

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Mar 20 2011, 10:36 AM
DM3
post Mar 21 2011, 08:31 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,618 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Mar 20 2011, 10:27 AM)
It helps if you let us know what measurement are you're using is it % or finesse?

To my knowledge purest bullion in % is the Canadian Maple... 99.999% Gold. In practice 99.99% is already consider pure gold.

For finesses below shows which is higher:-

* 24 carat (millesimal fineness 999 or higher)
    * 22 carat (millesimal fineness 916)
    * 21 carat (millesimal fineness 875)
    * 20 carat (millesimal fineness 833)
    * 18 carat (millesimal fineness 750)
    * 15 carat (millesimal fineness 625)
    * 14 carat (millesimal fineness 585)

actually got it frm here as the comparison for the 999.9 & 99.9 between banks :
QUOTE(QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 5 2011 @ 11:56 PM))
http://www.horlic.com/comparison-between-5...hoose-the-best/

I used this as reference to choose which bank I wanted to invest into.
Here are listing comparison of 5 banks in Malaysia for the gold accounts.
Hope it help others as how it helped me

topman555
post Mar 21 2011, 11:51 AM

36 posts

hi all, anyone heard about this :
www.nubex.com.my

FrancescoTop8
post Mar 21 2011, 08:31 PM

147 posts

Gold today climbs, fast.
Hope it runs on steady mode :-)
DM3
post Mar 22 2011, 08:02 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,618 posts

when u guys invest on gold, how long u all plan to keep? and do u sell and buy back again at good pricing?
FrancescoTop8
post Mar 22 2011, 11:35 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Mar 22 2011, 08:02 AM)
when u guys invest on gold, how long u all plan to keep? and do u sell and buy back again at good pricing?
expecting a GOLD STANDARD. drool.gif
That is quite ambitious target, but believe in it due to current economic events.
If GOLD STANDARD not materialised, i go for long term(<10 years).

MOST IMPORTANT, all target must obey the present & future macroeconomics.
cristiano7mu
post Mar 22 2011, 10:38 PM

2,588 posts

problem solved tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cristiano7mu: Mar 22 2011, 11:52 PM

121 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:07 AM