Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

prophetjul
post Jun 16 2011, 09:09 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(ikram.adi @ Jun 16 2011, 08:54 AM)
Agree with all the points except the last one 'defo not for students'
It should be 'defo not for those who don't know about silver'

The awareness of buying gold is relatively higher than silver.
I think when the gold price is too high, people will start rushing for silver.
I'm still reading up about silver and gold to see whether they should both
be in our portfolio or not
Twas a reply to this as well...........

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Jun 15 2011, 11:01 PM)
What should I invest in? I am only 17 and on a tight budget. Plan on spending around RM300 odd a month on investment. Not more than RM400. Should I invest in gold or silver? Need some professional advice

anechoic
post Jun 16 2011, 11:37 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Jun 16 2011, 08:14 AM)
Gold is better since its value hardly drop. Silver however i would never get involved since im into gold only. Maybe there are other people could help you there. 
Gold in shop cost you 170+ pergram some cutthroat go at least 180+ per gram. If you just want to save it, either you open public bank gold account or you buy gold Kijang coin. But RM 400 will not be sufficent. at the moment gold maintain in market at 150+ per gram. Gold account saving need at least minimum 20g to start thats at least RM3k++.   

RM150++ = 1 gram.
maybank only needs 1gm to start. Just bought 2gm...haha still new. laugh.gif
Ahmed_Mohamed
post Jun 16 2011, 04:49 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Jun 16 2011, 11:37 AM)
maybank only needs 1gm to start. Just bought 2gm...haha still new.  laugh.gif
investing in Gold is a good idea however buying such a small amount is just like throwing throwing your money in the trash .

your credit now is - , because you technically bought Gold at a certain price from may bank ,now if you want to withdrawal your money it will be much less than what you invested because of the SPREAD , spread is a difference between buying and selling Gold against USD ,

also you bought at the wrong time because now GOLD is at his highest point <Over Bought > as we call it in the market . it might drop down a big time as .

bottom line , if you want to invest in Gold make sure you have a HUGE amount of money because with your 500MYR , you won't make even 40MYR a year.

if i was you i would've make some business , sell make up , sell food or even sell bra rclxms.gif . make some good capital first and then you can invest.

Good luck
anechoic
post Jun 16 2011, 05:31 PM

TY
2,278 posts

haha..okok. i just trying out. I got money in the bank. Just wanna open account first ma...

what is the amount to consider a reasonable investment??
quackpack
post Jun 16 2011, 07:33 PM

327 posts

In my opinion, using gold as an investment tool is not really a good idea

Gold currently should be treated as a way to lock in your asset value, the appreciation of gold is a bonus. After all gold price still fluctuate base on supply and demand as well as many things too control gold price, investment bank can also easily manipulate gold price.

Like many others have mention, you need to sell the gold only then you can get the value back.

Physical gold is the best,but try to get the once with less premium. Premium after all has no value when you want to sell it.

Just giving my 2 cents blush.gif
guitar8888
post Jun 17 2011, 12:03 AM

100 posts

I feel that gold is a good investment last year. It was around RM110 per gram if I am not mistaken around January. However the price of gold has been quite stable from around June till now. It has been increasing but you wont be earning much as the bank buy rate is always around RM10 lower than bank sell rate.

However, we'll never know how high is the price of gold going to increase to. I bought at 122 and sold at 147. If only I had more capital. biggrin.gif
Ahmed_Mohamed
post Jun 17 2011, 03:45 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Jun 16 2011, 05:31 PM)
haha..okok. i just trying out. I got money in the bank. Just wanna open account first ma...

what is the amount to consider a reasonable investment??
trying maaa trying what ? how can you put your hard earned money into something you don't know ? dato's daughter tak ? signal ?

well in the best best best cases you will get around 30 % profit per year just like last year , Gold price closed at 882 and close 1083 and thats 22.7% ,

so assuming you are veeryyy lucky and you are investing only 1000 , you will make 227 RM mines the sell/bye spread <because your bank sells higher than it buys> you will make around 188 MYR , Happy ? rclxms.gif , so with 10,000 you can make 1,880 < no bank can give you this only bank of Gold >lol

now that was good news , rclxm9.gif but the bad news are sad.gif , in one year time your 1.88 MYR profit will be like 88 MYR of today lol , think of Nasi lemak and Ladydutch Milk 2 years ago .

another bad news are , Gold price might go down < not really possible > because gold is against USD and USD is being printed everyday but gold is never printed

So with small amount of money you better trade Gold during the year , don't just buy and keep it . follow the news and learn about Forex , sell your Gold when its at good price , it falls , buy it again and so on in this case you can make some good money but its a bit risky .

Buying Silver is a better idea for now
prophetjul
post Jun 17 2011, 07:36 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(Ahmed_Mohamed @ Jun 16 2011, 04:49 PM)
also you bought at the wrong time because now GOLD is at his highest point <Over Bought > as we call it in the market . it might drop down a big time as .
bottom line , if you want to invest in Gold make sure you have a HUGE amount of money because with your 500MYR , you won't make even 40MYR a year.

Hi Ahmed

Why do you say gold is overboght?

Not according to my charts, it is not.....

RSI is only 53......just cos its value is high, doesnt mean its over bought

Added on June 17, 2011, 7:40 am
QUOTE(Ahmed_Mohamed @ Jun 17 2011, 03:45 AM)
So with small amount of money you better trade Gold during the year , don't just buy and keep it  . follow the news and learn about Forex , sell your Gold when its at good price , it falls , buy it again and so on in this case you can make some good money but its a bit risky .

Buying Silver is a better idea for now
Trading gold is no easy peasy especially for greenhorns. Hows she gonna trade on forex with
such small capital?
Have you traded it yourself? hmm.gif

Buying silver for greenhorns aint such a great idea either! ITs highly volatile....
if this person
is just intersted to keep gold for long term, it will surely be better than the FD rates....

Added on June 17, 2011, 7:44 am
QUOTE(quackpack @ Jun 16 2011, 07:33 PM)
In my opinion, using gold as an investment tool is not really a good idea

Gold currently should be treated as a way to lock in your asset value, the appreciation of gold is a bonus. After all gold price still fluctuate base on supply and demand as well as many things too control gold price, investment bank can also easily manipulate gold price.

Like many others have mention, you need to sell the gold only then you can get the value back.

Ageed with your point about value.
But depends how you view value.
How much is Rm1 against gold? Say in 1990 and now 2011?
i view 1 oz of gold as 1 oz, no more no less.
i view Rm1000000 as manipulated PAPER promise by gomens......using countries debt at their will
and decraesing the net worth of countries

Thats my view

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Jun 17 2011, 07:44 AM
dinodrumz
post Jun 17 2011, 07:53 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 17 2011, 07:36 AM)
Hi Ahmed

Trading gold is no easy peasy especially for greenhorns. Hows she gonna trade on forex with
such small capital?
Have you traded it yourself?  hmm.gif

Buying silver for greenhorns aint such a great idea either!  ITs highly volatile....
if this person
is just intersted to keep gold for long term, it will surely be better than the FD rates....

i view Rm1000000 as manipulated PAPER promise by gomens......using countries debt at their will

Thats my view
Agreed.. One more thing.. by diversifing both in gold and silver, you can not go wrong. Again, if gold or silver goes up that's a plus/bonus. But the main thing is protect your wealth by backing them up with gold.

GoldChan
post Jun 17 2011, 08:29 AM

451 posts

agreed with the prophet.
well, with RM500/- I think I will do some budget travelling or buy lot of books or attend seminar like Nat Achiever Congress, other seminars,. Just preview seminar (pre=sales seminar) only and not the 4-6K for 2 days seminar.
Get some info and start googling and see what is the prospect of each.

It gives a better return in future.
RM500/- of petrol today may worth RM5000/- in 5 years time. Do all the travelling U can, in the future travel will be expensives oil is rare.
Does not make much differences with buying gold.

Hi Ahmed

such small capital?

Buying silver for greenhorns aint such a great idea either!  ITs highly volatile....
if this person

Thats my view
97th Mobile
post Jun 17 2011, 11:20 AM

32 posts

Hi Ahmed

such small capital?

if this person

Thats my view
Well do not just look at the RSI to trade or to buy, there is no one perfect indicator.

Agreed with you trading gold is not easy, imho due to the current high price of gold, you should have a least above 100k play the game.

Gold have been in the uptrend since 2001 making it a current 10 years uptrend, so you must know how to play a bull market depending on what stages it is. Should we not have different investment pattern for early, mid and mania phase of a bull market?

I see a lot of forum members going for physical gold purchase, i wonder if it is wise at this period of time. Physical Gold is good during which the country you are living in faces hyperinflation or if your country will be seriously affected by what is happening in the US.

If you have RM1000000 you should be concern with money devaluation, but what if you have RM 10000 or RM 20000? Would not the effect of devaluation be minimal?

I actually will be quite worried for the physical silver holder, wonder how many buyers there are locally? would the spread be good? if sell back internationally what would be the transport and insurance cost? after covering the transport, insurance and buying spread, would be worth it to invest in physical silver?

for me the best investment for RM10,000 to RM1,000,000 in terms of ROI is always as follows 1)Business 2)Property 3)Stocks/Commo/Futures/ETF's.

my first business gave me 90 times return in 6 years, way better than any other investment i know.

just my 1 cents...

joey85
post Jun 17 2011, 11:41 AM

~Yeah~
924 posts

i went UOB to open an gold investment account two days ago, when i tell my initiate plan with the sales assistant, he said better put in their unit trust than invest in gold as the price now is quite high, he predict it will drop slight in these few months.. so at the end i put in their OSK-UOB KidSaves Trust which he mentioned to me is greater potential of return... (by calculation)... im still wondering am i doing the right choice now sweat.gif
sapapa
post Jun 17 2011, 11:55 AM

264 posts

For me, gold is not my choice of investment because the return is TOO slow. Yea, I said TOO SLOW. Even slower than mutual funds. One good thing about gold is that it WILL increase and will NEVER decrease in the long-run. So you will have a 100% assured gain when you invest in gold BUT the return p/a is LOW compared to mutual funds.

Eg:Gold +2 - 12%return(FIX) Mutual Funds -10 - 40% return(Unstable)
joey85
post Jun 17 2011, 12:00 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Jun 17 2011, 11:55 AM)
For me, gold is not my choice of investment because the return is TOO slow. Yea, I said TOO SLOW. Even slower than mutual funds. One good thing about gold is that it WILL increase and will NEVER decrease in the long-run. So you will have a 100% assured gain when you invest in gold BUT the return p/a is LOW compared to mutual funds.

ya.. this is what he told me... that why he suggested me to buy the unit trust above.. btw i do have gold investment account with PBB, bout 3 years ago, open together with my mom, now found that the price spread is not as good as UOB that why planning to buy with UOB, that time the gold price is RM117 smile.gif but only bought the min requirment .. bit regret tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Jun 17 2011, 12:53 PM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Jun 17 2011, 11:20 AM)
Well do not just look at the RSI to trade or to buy, there is no one perfect indicator. 

If you read my response to Ahmed is why does he think its over bought?
i gave RSI as an example....care to add on to that to qualify yer statement.....on one is sayin theres
a PERFECT indicator

Agreed with you trading gold is not easy, imho due to the current high price of gold, you should have a least above 100k play the game.

Gold have been in the uptrend since 2001 making it a current 10 years uptrend, so you must know how to play a bull market depending on what stages it is. Should we not have different investment pattern for early, mid and mania phase of a bull market?

I see a lot of forum members going for physical gold purchase, i wonder if it is wise at this period of time. Physical Gold is good during which the country you are living in faces hyperinflation or if your country will be seriously affected by what is happening in the US.

If you have RM1000000 you should be concern with money devaluation, but what if you have RM 10000 or RM 20000? Would not the effect of devaluation be minimal?

for me the best investment for RM10,000 to RM1,000,000 in terms of ROI is always as follows 1)Business 2)Property 3)Stocks/Commo/Futures/ETF's.

my first business gave me 90 times return in 6 years, way better than any other investment i know.

just my 1 cents...

i see 1 cents really

When you invest Rm1e6 orRm1e4.........the devaluation will be the same in terms of RETURNS as you pointed out
at the end! ROI! rolleyes.gif

Apples with Oranges........gold is not a biz.....cant compare with that

If you wish, you may end up with a BIG ZERO in biz.......cant do that with gold.

Congrats on your multi returns on yer biz but not everyone can do that......so its of no significance in a gold thread!

Unless, unless yer EGO is tinkling........... hmm.gif

Added on June 17, 2011, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(sapapa @ Jun 17 2011, 11:55 AM)

Can you justify yer statement that gold return is slower than mutual funds....facts and figures please.
Another thing- no short term figures, thats casino investment! biggrin.gif
i dare say gold beats most Malaysian funds- only maybe 5% of these funds did better than gold in the last 5 years.
Guess what? How do you pick these 5% funds out of the thousands of funds? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Jun 17 2011, 12:57 PM
97th Mobile
post Jun 17 2011, 01:36 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 17 2011, 12:53 PM)
If you read my response to Ahmed is why does he think its over bought?
i gave RSI as an example....care to add on to that to qualify yer statement.....on one is sayin theres
a PERFECT indicator
i see 1 cents really

When you invest Rm1e6  orRm1e4.........the devaluation will be the same in terms of RETURNS as you pointed out
at the end!  ROI!   rolleyes.gif

Apples with Oranges........gold is not a biz.....cant compare with that

If you wish, you may end up with a BIG ZERO in biz.......cant do that with gold.

Congrats on your multi returns on yer biz but not everyone can do that......so its of no significance in a gold thread!

Unless, unless yer EGO is tinkling...........    hmm.gif

Added on June 17, 2011, 12:57 pm

Can you justify yer statement that gold return is slower than mutual funds....facts and figures please.
Another thing- no short term figures, thats casino investment!   biggrin.gif
i dare say gold beats most Malaysian funds- only maybe 5% of these funds did better than gold in the last 5 years.
Guess what? How do you pick these 5% funds out of the thousands of funds?   rclxub.gif
Must be my poor old man's EGO ha ha rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by 97th Mobile: Jun 17 2011, 01:39 PM
quackpack
post Jun 17 2011, 02:08 PM

327 posts

want quick investment go to silver, silver is almost like investing in stock market, dangerous but potential high return if you hit it.

For interested parties, gold is not a good short term investment, gold is only a good investment if you are going to put it >10 years.

btw, gold is in the erratic stage. Good indication of another bottoming.
joey85
post Jun 17 2011, 02:26 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Jun 17 2011, 02:08 PM)
want quick investment go to silver, silver is almost like investing in stock market, dangerous but potential high return if you hit it.

For interested parties, gold is not a good short term investment, gold is only a good investment if you are going to put it >10 years.

btw, gold is in the erratic stage. Good indication of another bottoming.
means buying now is a good choice or not sweat.gif still dilemma blush.gif
quackpack
post Jun 17 2011, 02:51 PM

327 posts

Just remember don't take my word for it, it is still your decision when to buy gold.

Gold is up-trending, enjoy smile.gif
joey85
post Jun 17 2011, 03:29 PM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Jun 17 2011, 02:51 PM)
Just remember don't take my word for it, it is still your decision when to buy gold.

Gold is up-trending, enjoy smile.gif
sweat.gif okie ~ thanks btw smile.gif

121 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:33 AM