121 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

jphlau
post Aug 15 2011, 10:25 AM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 15 2011, 08:53 AM)
Gold has dropped further to RM 170 per gram on Maybank. Now trading at US$1,734 per ounce. I think its gonna drop further till about RM 160+. Then ill open up the UOB account.
what if it doesn't.. when do you start to buy??
hdslr cinematography
post Aug 15 2011, 10:29 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 15 2011, 11:20 AM)
Wassup doc?  hmm.gif
going to open an acc soon smile.gif
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2011, 10:30 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Aug 15 2011, 10:25 AM)
what if it doesn't.. when do you start to buy??
Well im monitoring the US stock market as well. That should give a rough indication if prices will hold or drop further. But for now, i think prices may hold for now. But read the following article posted today:

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...96&sec=business

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 15 2011, 10:35 AM
GoldChan
post Aug 15 2011, 10:32 AM

451 posts

wow! great!
try to sell it off, see what price you can get. Then only talk on the premium.
C how long it takes you to dispose it.
tongue.gif

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 15 2011, 07:35 AM)
This.

Those who think there will be another Financial/Banking crsis should go for some physical as well.

Those who think paper will be ok, they can stay there.
BUT the point about gold is the LOSS of confidence in PAPER.

GO figure...........

Added on August 15, 2011, 8:33 am

i paid  $1150 for a few of these beauties in dec2009

Now its payin $2100..... good premiums, no?    biggrin.gif

Paid $1400 for few of thes in 2009

Now its paying $2400.....not too bad premuims    biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by GoldChan: Aug 15 2011, 10:32 AM
nick.woocs
post Aug 15 2011, 10:35 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Aug 15 2011, 10:32 AM)
wow! great!
C how long it takes you  to dispose it.
tongue.gif
I second that. But I think he did keep his gold collection quite nicely so I dont think he will lose extra % due to damages. But physical is good but don't forget bro, the paper gold in 09 and now also have profit margin d. Not only physical gold.
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2011, 10:49 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 15 2011, 10:30 AM)
Well im monitoring the US stock market as well. That should give a rough indication if prices will hold or drop further. But for now, i think prices may hold for now. But read the following article posted today:

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...96&sec=business
Also read this:

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...21&sec=business

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...04&sec=business

I think gold prices will rise further before end of the year. I would wait till maybe tomorrow and see how the prices fluctuate before going in. This is to ensure i goin in at the lowest price possible.
trumpfnx
post Aug 15 2011, 10:49 AM

59 posts

wow..

Maybank Gold price is USD 173.60 per ounce.. haha

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbbfrx/gold_rate.htm

a typo they didn't notice to fix even after 2 pricing adjustments.

This post has been edited by trumpfnx: Aug 15 2011, 10:51 AM
prophetjul
post Aug 15 2011, 10:51 AM

12,279 posts

wow! great!
tongue.gif
Its sold on ebay...latest prices..... brows.gif

Here.......

http://completed.shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw...6.c0.m270.l1311

GoldChan
post Aug 15 2011, 11:08 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 15 2011, 10:51 AM)
Its sold on ebay...latest prices.....  brows.gif

Here.......

http://completed.shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw...6.c0.m270.l1311
take the price - ebay charges - 4% paypal charges - risk.
USD2500 - USD100 (ebay) - USD100 (paypal) - USD50 (free shipping)
= USD2250/= 10% premium gone.
The one sold is ultra high relief then only got USD2500/-
if normal coin, won;t fetch that price. U try 2 sell locally C what price U can get and how long to dispose?
U said U got a few pcs mah. ebay.com.my FOC, COD no paypal charges.

just hope people don;t get carried away with the prices.

that why i don;t sell gold. difficult to dispose in ebay locally,
for fun, numismatic, collection what so ever, yupe sure need to keep, but 1 pc is more than enough.
most people will compare U with UOB prices. not worth the effort lah.
internationally premium going to kill u.
turn around time very2 slow.

so, better sell silver.

cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2011, 11:12 AM

4,440 posts

Read following article from CNN Money: More turbulence expected this week. I think its perfect recipe for gold to rise further.

http://money.cnn.com/2011/08/14/markets/st...ex.htm?iid=Lead

prophetjul
post Aug 15 2011, 11:31 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Aug 15 2011, 11:08 AM)
take the price - ebay charges - 4% paypal charges - risk.
USD2500 - USD100 (ebay) - USD100 (paypal) - USD50 (free shipping)
= USD2250/=  10% premium gone.
The one sold is ultra high relief then only got USD2500/-
if normal coin, won;t fetch that price. U try 2 sell locally C what price  U can get and how long to dispose?
U said U got a few pcs mah.  ebay.com.my FOC, COD no paypal charges.

just hope people don;t get carried away with the prices.

that why i don;t sell gold. difficult to dispose in ebay locally,
for fun, numismatic, collection what so ever, yupe sure need to keep, but 1 pc is more than enough.
most people will compare U with UOB prices. not worth the effort lah.
internationally premium going to kill u.
turn around time very2 slow.

so, better sell silver.
You are right about the charges.
After deducting all that, theres still a pretty premium? No? biggrin.gif
Normally shipping is NOT free.

i dont intend to sell locally............ a 'few' pieces........ tongue.gif
From what you have written, you have no inkling of numistatics..... nod.gif
i am not in the biz, so turnaround time is no big deal to me.
i have been holding gold since 2001....whats another few years? tongue.gif

Silver? Look at the premiums of silver in Msia! So high premiums!
When you buy you are already holding a big premium spread.
Sell overseas? No way someone will pay for a small value coin for a big shipment cost.
SO in essence, when you buy silver in Msia, you are LIMITED to selling in Msia......very restricted.
UNLESS you hold silver numistatics, IF you understand that! biggrin.gif
Thats the reason i trade paper silver and hold silver numis coins and NOT bars or bullions.

Guess what? The recent rally in gold tells us that in a Financial crisis, gold is King. Silver is...... ummmm
a commodity nod.gif still
jun16
post Aug 15 2011, 11:36 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(trumpfnx @ Aug 15 2011, 10:49 AM)
wow..

Maybank Gold price is USD 173.60 per ounce.. haha

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbbfrx/gold_rate.htm

a typo they didn't notice to fix even after 2 pricing adjustments.

where did u get this chart?i go to maybank website but it still show me Last update: 12-Aug-11 at 2.38.18 PM sweat.gif
xcarfieldx
post Aug 15 2011, 11:42 AM

110 posts

anyone having public bank GIA?? Want to ask, is the trading price via online is cheaper than non-online? Cause when I check the GIA info account on their website, it state that if trade via online pbe.com, Gold purchases and sales are offered at a discounted price.
GoldChan
post Aug 15 2011, 01:00 PM

451 posts

let see how our net worth increase few year down the road.
each person has their own view lah. only time will tell who is correct or wrong.
No point convincing other if their have their own strong view.
But for the reader. I give them a difference view. It's up to them to decide.

Gold very little numismatic value only silver got numismatic value.
Gold price will fall, it's gone up too fast.

can one do business with gold? It's questionable. U got 1-3 million capital then can lah, otherwise very2 difficult. How to compete with UOB. Thus, most of you can only invest. things may change in the future hopefully I just need to put more effort into it.

can one do business with silver? Definitely yes!
invest + Business = very good opt for me lor.
even my customer become a seller.

still day 1, I decided only sell in M;sia. I don;t intend to go international lah, cannot compete with all the big guys, some-more courier is a hassle.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 15 2011, 11:31 AM)
You are right about the charges.
After deducting all that, theres still a pretty premium? No?  biggrin.gif
Normally shipping is NOT free.

i dont intend to sell locally............ a 'few' pieces........  tongue.gif
From what you have written, you have no inkling of numistatics.....  nod.gif
i am not in the biz, so turnaround time is no big deal to me.
i have been holding gold since 2001....whats another few years?  tongue.gif

Silver?  Look at the premiums of silver in Msia!  So high premiums!
When you buy you are already holding a big premium spread.
Sell overseas? No way someone will pay for a small value coin for a big shipment cost.
SO in essence, when you buy silver in Msia, you are LIMITED to selling in Msia......very restricted.
UNLESS you hold silver numistatics, IF you understand that!  biggrin.gif
Thats the reason i trade paper silver and hold silver numis coins and NOT bars or bullions.

Guess what? The recent rally in gold tells us that in a Financial crisis, gold is King. Silver is......  ummmm
a commodity  nod.gif  still
arafat
post Aug 15 2011, 01:12 PM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

hi guys..
anyone of you have experience to convert maybank gspa to physical gold?
how much is the premium fee?
benedict1213
post Aug 15 2011, 01:18 PM

183 posts

may i know that anyone heard of..., credit suisse Gold before?
keii-kun
post Aug 15 2011, 01:37 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Aug 13 2011, 05:39 AM)
Finally, I've closed my gold account with Maybank @ 165  rclxm9.gif
on thursday morning 10am you'd get @ 171.xx, i missed the boat and it was RM169 around 230pm.

Added on August 15, 2011, 1:40 pm
QUOTE(lustman @ Aug 13 2011, 01:09 PM)
KFH = syariah compliance

here's a tot.

example 100g - when you sell bank buy, rate let say 165/g = 16500, then you buy bank sell, rate let say 175/g = 17500.

so to get back the original 100g you need to add 1000.

in this case, profit or loss?
loss. unless you are buying physical or kfh's physical account. physical delivery of your gold is guaranteed laugh.gif

waiting for gold to return to 1600-ish, which i shall take my leave to go KFH in KL for account opening laugh.gif

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Aug 15 2011, 01:40 PM
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2011, 02:01 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Aug 15 2011, 01:00 PM)
Yes gold is volotile. It will go up and down. But the general trend for the past 11 years has been UP. The tactic with gold investment is to buy when its low and sell when its high. Like someone said earlier, gold investment is not just about knowing when to go in but its also knowing when to exit.

But for now gold trend is up. I dont see a major downward correction in gold prices in the next few years. So i would recommend a buy now and sell later when the prices go much higher in a few years. The world economy isnt looking good at all. The Wall Street earthquake last week is just the beginning of worse things to come.
lustman
post Aug 15 2011, 02:03 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Aug 15 2011, 01:37 PM)
on thursday morning 10am you'd get @ 171.xx, i missed the boat and it was RM169 around 230pm.

Added on August 15, 2011, 1:40 pm

loss. unless you are buying physical or kfh's physical account. physical delivery of your gold is guaranteed laugh.gif

waiting for gold to return to 1600-ish, which i shall take my leave to go KFH in KL for account opening laugh.gif
yes i think it's a loss.

i know i missed the 171 bcos just couldn't make the time to go there but it's ok since i only have peanuts of grams unless if it's a kilo.

add another 15g at KFH today @ 171.xx , that's all i have cry.gif
prophetjul
post Aug 15 2011, 02:04 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Aug 15 2011, 01:00 PM)
let see how our net worth increase few year down the road.
each person has their own view lah. only time will tell who is correct or wrong.
No point convincing other if their have their own strong view.
But for the reader. I give them a difference view. It's up to them to decide.

can one do business with gold? It's questionable. U got 1-3 million capital then can lah, otherwise very2 difficult. How to compete with UOB. Thus, most of you can only invest. things may change in the future hopefully I just need to put more effort into it.

can one do business with silver? Definitely yes!
invest + Business = very good opt for me lor.
even my customer become a seller.

still day 1, I decided only sell in M;sia. I don;t intend to go international lah, cannot compete with all the big guys, some-more courier is a hassle.
Aiyooo...i dont wanna compete with millionaires... icon_question.gif

First of all, i believe the forums are to expess ones views, rightly or wrongly.
i wasnt trying to convince you of anything. You were the one who
interjected into my post, i believe.

wow! great!
tongue.gif
Next,you are mixing up yer arguements

What has numis gotta do with price of gold falling? i do hope it will correct soon so i can load up somemore.
i just sold a boatload of GLD.
A gold numis is as good as a silver numis.....

Can i do biz with gold? One can do biz with ANYTHING....lookie at Genneva screwing ppl with gold! rolleyes.gif
BUT i am not interested in biz as i have mentioned

AND you made my point. You can only do silver biz in Msia. Your purchase price is too high.
i can get those same coins overseas at lower prices.

121 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:51 AM