Water leakage in the wall..., any expert to recommend?

mini orchard
post Oct 26 2021, 01:07 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Oct 26 2021, 10:51 AM)
Hi this is the picture of my stop cock. It is below my kitchen sink.

QUOTE(cchean @ Oct 25 2021, 11:28 AM)
As the pipes are concealed, i've requested the plumber to re-pipe (external) from main to my water tank to bypass the internal pipes. After repiping, the stop cork area is still leaking water after 3 days.
I was thinking it could be residue water in the internal pipes that haven't cleared, but it seems to be still leaking after 3 days. Anyone has similar experience and how you resolved it?
I read your post again ...

If you repipe to the reserve tank only, where did the water to the sink come from ?

The plumber did a new piping for the sink area ? If yes, then it shouldnt have water in the old piping. All water to sink are from the main.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 26 2021, 01:10 PM
cchean
post Oct 26 2021, 02:19 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 26 2021, 01:07 PM)
I read your post again ...

If you repipe to the reserve tank only, where did the water to the sink come from ?

The plumber did a new piping for the sink area ? If yes, then it shouldnt have water in the old piping. All water to sink are from the main.
Hi Mini Orchard,
For the water to my kitchen sink it is from the roof. My kitchen is at the back of the house. So there is a new external pipe from the roof which connects back from the back of the house to my kitchen to supply the water to my sink. Yes, you are right, there shouldn't be water in the old pipe. I am still trying to figure out the issue.
Noryume
post Oct 26 2021, 02:28 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Oct 26 2021, 10:51 AM)
Hi this is the picture of my stop cock. It is below my kitchen sink.

If close the stop cock, will the water keep coming out?
mini orchard
post Oct 26 2021, 02:33 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Oct 26 2021, 02:19 PM)
Hi Mini Orchard,
For the water to my kitchen sink it is from the roof. My kitchen is at the back of the house. So there is a new external pipe from the roof which connects back from the back of the house to my kitchen to supply the water to my sink. Yes, you are right, there shouldn't be water in the old pipe. I am still trying to figure out the issue.
Then remove the stopcock using a spanner to see whether there is any water flowing out.

If the old piping is from the main, then it shouldnt have water. Otherwise, the piping could be from the reserve tank and it also leads to the bathroom.
cchean
post Oct 26 2021, 02:46 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Oct 26 2021, 02:28 PM)
If close the stop cock, will the water keep coming out?
When i close the stop cock, water still flows out.
cchean
post Oct 26 2021, 02:49 PM

176 posts

Thanks for all the inputs. I will take into consideration. Will update how the issue is resolved here.
cchean
post Nov 2 2021, 10:06 AM

176 posts

cchean
post Nov 2 2021, 10:08 AM

176 posts

I've removed the stop cock and there seems to be no water coming out of the pipe. But there are water seeping out from the surrounding surface of the pipe. I'm just thinking now it could be a leak from the neighbour as I am living in a double storey terrace house and share the same wall with a neighbour.

hsunl
post Nov 2 2021, 10:10 AM

146 posts

Yes. Quite high possibility
hsunl
post Nov 2 2021, 10:13 AM

146 posts

Luckily u r not doing any cabinet to cover up the stopcock area or else u won't be able to see any leaking
cchean
post Nov 2 2021, 10:16 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(hsunl @ Nov 2 2021, 10:13 AM)
Luckily u r not doing any cabinet to cover up the stopcock area or else u won't be able to see any leaking
Yes i agree, with this experience, quite fearful of concealed pipes now. Once there is problem, it can be a nightmare.
lyt25_1234
post Nov 3 2021, 09:05 AM

1,152 posts

Better re-piping to exterior.
cchean
post Nov 3 2021, 05:17 PM

176 posts

I requested my neighbour to switch off the main supply for his house. After one night, the leaking stopped. The leak is coming from my neighbour. Moreover, my neighbour's house is slightly higher than mine.
mini orchard
post Nov 3 2021, 06:48 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Nov 3 2021, 05:17 PM)
I requested my neighbour to switch off the main supply for his house. After one night, the leaking stopped. The leak is coming from my neighbour. Moreover, my neighbour's house is slightly higher than mine.
So your neighbour should do repiping and not you. Leaking should be check thoroughly b4 doing, otherwise is waste of money. Even have to break some tiles, I will do it.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 3 2021, 06:49 PM
mnky
post Mar 6 2022, 05:59 PM

Hello sifus,

I am having a problem with rainwater leaking into the kitchen, during heavy rain.

First time home owner. Condo. Had coring done for kitchen hood.

At first suspected it's the windows silicone and got it fixed. When it rained again, water started to seep in and collected at the kitchen floor.

Suspected the exhaust outlet (coring) and found out the wall is wet. The water must have seeped through the exhaust fan and through the wall until it gets into the kitchen.

Is there any way to fix this problem? Sooner or later the water will damage the kitchen cabinet cry.gif Any suggestions to fix this? Thank you in advance.
mini orchard
post Mar 6 2022, 09:47 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mnky @ Mar 6 2022, 05:59 PM)
Hello sifus,

I am having a problem with rainwater leaking into the kitchen, during heavy rain.

At first suspected it's the windows silicone and got it fixed. When it rained again, water started to seep in and collected at the kitchen floor.

Suspected the exhaust outlet (coring) and found out the wall is wet. The water must have seeped through the exhaust fan and through the wall until it gets into the kitchen.

Is there any way to fix this problem? Sooner or later the water will damage the kitchen cabinet cry.gif Any suggestions to fix this? Thank you in advance.
Take a wider photo of the area. Nothing much to see now. Include both indoor and outdoor view.
nihility
post Mar 7 2022, 11:56 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(mnky @ Mar 6 2022, 05:59 PM)
Hello sifus,

If due to the heavy splash of the rain, normally you will need some sort of louver at the external to prevent the rain water from splashing into the cored hole. The better way will be coring the exhaust hole slightly slanted to the external, the slant / gradient will allow any water coming in to be drained out via gravity.
neekun
post Oct 17 2022, 11:24 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(michaelck1838 @ Jan 29 2021, 02:48 PM)
Thank you for your advice and finally, able to find the root cause .
Hi is there any good leaking contractor recommendation? Me having same issue where water bill suddenly shot up but with no visible signs of wet walls. Now I don’t know where could be the source of the leak.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0236sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:12 PM