The Raw Selvedge Denim Thread, Version 4

kevin190791
post Feb 2 2012, 05:07 PM

304 posts

wow, great fit man.. cheese denim is kinda worth it
i stroll through their facebook page just now, and they are going to produce some jeans from japanese selvage denim of the kaihara mill later,
thumbs up for them!!!
kevin190791
post Feb 7 2012, 09:20 PM

304 posts

check this out guys,
the producing of the 32oz super heavyweight denim by naked and famious is finally finished,
only 140 pairs are available at tate+yoko
http://tateandyoko.com/1-jeans/191-naked-f...z-selvedge.html

they also released raspberry scented denim where the perfume is released when you scratch the jeans
the jeans are baked with the special micro perfume that can last up to 5 washes
sweet!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
kevin190791
post Feb 13 2012, 05:49 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Feb 13 2012, 04:22 PM)
so do we soak it with hot? warm or cold water? i'll surely soak my next pair of raws. im on my nudies for 4 months now. thinking of getting my next pair of jeans. nudie is really hard to achieve fade. What advised you sifus out there will suggest me getting? flathead? imperial? momos? I lived in Bangkok btw so hunting for a pair of denim should be easier for me.
depending on the look you want to achieve, hot soak=more indigo lost, but a more contrast look if you break it real hard
nudie is one of the easiest jeans to fade, i guess you might be wearing an organic pair, thats why it is hard to break. hmm.gif hmm.gif

go for flathead drool.gif , they have one of the most beautiful arcuate ever..planning to buy one if i saved enough money icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
kevin190791
post Feb 13 2012, 08:06 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 13 2012, 06:29 PM)
~_~

Soaking is to loosen up the fibres
doesn't soaking do the opposite? it tighten up loose fibres, balancing jeans tension, shrinking it, increase jeans density, that's why after soak, the jeans turns out cripy and smaller, cmiiw
kevin190791
post Feb 14 2012, 04:42 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Feb 14 2012, 03:19 PM)
my MOMOTARO landed aswell....my gamble paid off...ship using USPS Priority International Parcel (however took 11 days from California to KL) no tax whatsoever despite shipper put full figures hehe...

if anyone wearing size 28 or 29, theres 1 online retailer selling Momotaro Slightly Tapered 15.7oz Trim & Slim Straight in Raw/Unwashed Model 201 for USD 234 only (i think is the cheapest price for MOMO) free shipping aswell from USA...
mind telling where is the online retailer site? thanks before smile.gif

here's what i did to my brother's excess denim fabric
it makes a great mouse pad icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

kevin190791
post Feb 20 2012, 12:21 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Feb 20 2012, 09:54 AM)
Where can I get naked and famous online? unsure.gif
tateandyoko.com
from the creator of naked and famous

btw just checked the mydenim forum,
how come there is only three contestants available?? cry.gif cry.gif
i've been trying to contact some denim experts for judges, but they will be very disappointed by the number of contestants
please upload your denim if you are going to participate in the contest asap thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
deadline of entry is 29/Feb/2012

link to the contest page
http://mydenim.justgoo.com/f3-mydenim-fade...ompetition-2012

flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
kevin190791
post Feb 20 2012, 02:48 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Feb 20 2012, 12:53 PM)
does tate and yoke ship here (msia)?

hw much does NnF stretch hmm.gif
the wierd guy specifically since its suited for big thighs but tapers dwn more then the slim below the knees?

me CMs are stretching -waistline but thighs and crotch need more work

@genocide
hw are your bros CMs working out?
yes, they do ship worldwide
kevin190791
post Mar 12 2012, 12:25 AM

304 posts

amazing fade there, btw is that a deep indigo naked and famous?
kevin190791
post Mar 24 2012, 11:06 AM

304 posts

is there any taylor that can alter the width and length of denim shirt?
just bought a 45rpm denim shirt and is way too baggy for my liking
kevin190791
post Mar 24 2012, 04:14 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(nekonano @ Mar 24 2012, 04:05 PM)
Try Topman if you're looking for black skinny, should be around rm220.
or topup a bit for unbranded jeans which are in every way, a better jeans than topman
kevin190791
post Mar 25 2012, 09:27 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Harvey_7 @ Mar 25 2012, 03:00 AM)
my nudie thin finn dry stretch..1 year 1 month, 0 wash..starting to stink but still bearable with the help of Febreeze..LOL

you should have rocked it harder, there's only little sign of usage there,
even only little wallet fade at the backpocket,
i have a horrible hole at my backpocket and front pocket where i usually put my phone
well, like nudie's concept "wear and tear", the jeans are easily torn down one, to create vintage and super used look
kevin190791
post Mar 26 2012, 09:33 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(gwsa @ Mar 26 2012, 09:23 PM)
Sorry chazy, still don't get it. Noob here  blush.gif
i think it was mistyped ==> washed once
the denim is rinsed, to prevent shrinkage
some denim can still fade although they are one-washed, like Tight long john denim stretch for example
the thing about uniqlo denim is that it is not meant to be fade,
they have this colour lock technology on the jeans to prevent fade although it was washed for many times
creases still can be made through rough activities though
cmiiw
kevin190791
post Mar 27 2012, 07:15 PM

304 posts

my good friend is doing custom denim work in indonesia
he's now establishing his newest line of denim of selvedge from zimbabwean cotton 13 oz to 18 oz
18oz zimbabwean cotton red line selvedge for only IDR600k or around RM200
totally value for money, all chainstitch, custom leather patch and other detail you want is customizable

the denim is very dense and stiff, it can even stand on its own although only 18oz
the sad thing is that im not able to order one from him as im in malaysia sad.gif

This post has been edited by kevin190791: Mar 27 2012, 07:16 PM
kevin190791
post Mar 27 2012, 07:50 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Stinky Fart @ Mar 27 2012, 07:41 PM)
^ wow so cheap! Custom leather patch as in, I can have anything drawn or written on it?
yup, they are laser burned, so you can add a very detailed drawing also
kevin190791
post Mar 27 2012, 09:50 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(LAYANGLAYANG @ Mar 27 2012, 09:27 PM)
Thanks for the info. If members here want to do group custom and purchase I might be interested.

Kevin, if you could make this happen it would be great.

yes, like what they did on a japanese forum, creating their own custom denim line exclusive for the forumer
you can check that awesome jeans from rawrdenim, its a spoof of the 501 jeans made of japanese selvedge

the thing with the taylor is that their work is not that need before as their taking like 30+ order a week,
i have some flaw on the stitching on my last jeans with him
now he only take order of maximum 12 jeans per week, he claimed that the work is extremely fine and neat already
i hope that it is true hmm.gif hmm.gif

talking about doing order, im about to take order from one of the finest leather store in indonesia named LTHRKRFT,
the good are designed to be worn with denim
right now, im still in process for dealing price for international order, lets say like some sort of official international retail price
you guys can check some of their products at http://www.facebook.com/lthrkrft?flyingspaghettimonster=ts

kevin190791
post Mar 27 2012, 10:38 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Stinky Fart @ Mar 27 2012, 10:20 PM)
I was just looking for a pair leather boots! Thanks for the link smile.gif
good for you then, they are using imported buffalo and Crazy horse leather from india and pakistan for their boots
and they go so dang well with a pair of jeans rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
kevin190791
post Mar 28 2012, 01:37 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Mar 28 2012, 12:39 PM)
If u say about indonesian product..i am more interested in voyej..

http://www.voyejstore.com/
yup, voyej have a great branding and history behind.
but value for money wise, im going for lthrkrft, and also their wide variety of products and especially their boot

QUOTE(LAYANGLAYANG @ Mar 28 2012, 10:19 AM)
Alright, I'm in.

C'mon guys this is great project.  Calling Soulquarianz, treflip , Stingky Fart and  all of you here.

Damn !  so many of you here.

blush.gif
QUOTE(Stinky Fart @ Mar 28 2012, 10:49 AM)
I think it'll be a good idea to make a competition out of it!
Maybe next year, when the current MyDenim competition is over. We can take kevin's design of the MyDenim logo to be drawn on the leather patch
I need to check with their product quality first. I don't want it to be dissapointing after the custom.
Also, the zimbabwean cotton selvege is probably milled in india or thailand (my guess, but not china made to be sure), not japanese made like what is favored by many denim expert here.
kevin190791
post Mar 28 2012, 02:19 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Mar 28 2012, 01:42 PM)
for 18 oz Zimbabwean selvage cotton, customise to your own style and a pricetag RM200 ! thats a good deal
yup, it is a great deal,
a little secret from a local jeans named tarik jeans here, it was firstly produced in indonesia using indonesian cotton.
that's what i heard from a local denim manufacturer. Now i think they are using several types of denim already.
customing an indonesian denim can go as low as RM60 only
there's even one store where you can come and choose the type of denim you want, measure and custom made it right away for RM40
that's what i heard from a friend there.
denim is not really expensive, what makes some denim expensive is the branding and craftmanship or personal touch of denim artist/ experts turning it into a pair of beautifully crafted jeans nod.gif nod.gif

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Mar 28 2012, 01:45 PM)
Im in....

Im going to JKT and BDG next month. Plan to visit some of the shop over there.
happy shopping there rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kevin190791: Mar 28 2012, 02:21 PM
kevin190791
post Mar 28 2012, 05:00 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Mar 28 2012, 04:25 PM)
Yeah u better buy and check the quality first before introduce to us
yup, just check with them, they said it was thai milled selvedge from zimbabwean cotton,
quality wise are just right below the pure blue japan.
dont expect me to bother myself ordering and checking jeans just to inform others about the quality brows.gif
i'm just here for sharing information regarding my interest in denim world icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kevin190791: Mar 28 2012, 05:06 PM
kevin190791
post Mar 28 2012, 05:30 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(nekonano @ Mar 28 2012, 05:08 PM)
Wow! Interesting, would love to see the actual piece 'tho
here it is

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top