VW Polo 1.2 VS Peugeot 308 Turbo, Please help

davidgws
post Jan 25 2013, 01:38 AM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jan 24 2013, 03:47 PM)
Firstly i did not say i own a 308T.

Secondly, those "facts" you mentioned about 308T has nothing to do with what i commented. doh.gif

I was commenting on the infamous FC of 308T. Tell us how low is your FC if you think what i commented was wrong, not sway off to Africa posting a wall of text that is unrelated. doh.gif

If you "flew" up Genting, i guess your FC numbers "flew" as well, no? blink.gif
Aiya dtna7 I wasn't commenting about your post la. Maybe my fault I only know how to simply press Reply button. Was actually commenting about the thread in general - have deleted your quoted post so people don't misunderstood. Relax smile.gif

This post has been edited by davidgws: Jan 25 2013, 01:48 AM
de_sengal
post Jan 25 2013, 07:40 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 24 2013, 10:30 PM)
308T is thirsty camel if driven start stop condition like in traffic...no need to hit turbo boost because it comes even at very low RPM...so no way of conserving fuel.

I barely touch the accelerator already can get above 2000rpm..near to 3000...

But, when the car gets going, the FC drastically improves...that's why some ppl pump in 60l CT driving mostly get 450Km...some mix or highway driving can even get 700km..so it depends where you are driving the 308T....

FACT 308T: Driving the car fast is FAR more economical than driving it slow!

For those buying 308T and expect it to be good in FC, especially in Town and Taman...you've bought the wrong car for the wrong reasons

308T was meant for spirited driving
agree with you on this. I found that my FC when I driving at 150kph is almost same as I driving at 110kph which is about 8.0l-8.5/100km when you know how to control your feet.
dstl1128
post Jan 25 2013, 07:55 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Oct 4 2011, 06:55 PM)
VW reliable=My Ass
Pug 308T>1.2TSi by far
VW always have bad driving dynamics,bad reliability,bad power,costly mod whistling.gif
In case of Pug 308T vs Polo 1.2TS,Pug 308T is the better buy quite obviously
Hmm.. quite inline with what the article says. German cars 'among worst for engine failures'
azbro
post Jan 25 2013, 09:05 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(de_sengal @ Jan 25 2013, 07:40 AM)
agree with you on this. I found that my FC  when I driving at 150kph is almost same as I driving at 110kph which is about 8.0l-8.5/100km when you know how to control your feet.
yeah...driving at Taman or Town (slowing down for speed bumps and traffic light )from 0~70km/h is the worst FC

If really follow the digital FC reading on the center dash, very difficult to drive...more like become Road Hogger..in order to built up that momentum to 90km/h, cannot just press the accelerator...even if slightly, need to press release press release...but I do that toward the end of the month...waiting salary...
Other days, I just drive like normal. biggrin.gif

Just wanna add for those interested in Getting Turbo cars (not those soft Turbo type), FC is of course important, but its not one of the main reasons for getting the car....totally opposite when you buy a hybrid car.
dtna7
post Jan 25 2013, 09:08 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(pangjiawen @ Jan 24 2013, 09:39 PM)
I don't own a 308T but I have a 3008T at home, engine and gb is the same, so i assume the FC should be similar, except 3008T is heavier la
Went to Taiping from KL last year, average speed 160++, dont bash me, no cars and its 7am in the morning.

only used a around close to half tank when i reach there, i assume, its quite fine, right?biggrin.gif
QUOTE(davidgws @ Jan 25 2013, 01:38 AM)
Aiya dtna7 I wasn't commenting about your post la. Maybe my fault I only know how to simply press Reply button. Was actually commenting about the thread in general - have deleted your quoted post so people don't misunderstood. Relax smile.gif
no problem...misunderstanding clearly icon_rolleyes.gif
de_sengal
post Jan 25 2013, 10:21 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 25 2013, 09:05 AM)
yeah...driving at Taman or Town (slowing down for speed bumps and traffic light )from 0~70km/h is the worst FC

If really follow the digital FC reading on the center dash, very difficult to drive...more like become Road Hogger..in order to built up that momentum to 90km/h, cannot just press the accelerator...even if slightly, need to press release press release...but I do that toward the end of the month...waiting salary...
Other days, I just drive like normal.  biggrin.gif

Just wanna add for those interested in Getting Turbo cars (not those soft Turbo type), FC is of course important, but its not one of the main reasons for getting the car....totally opposite when you buy a hybrid car.
yeap. press release press release method can improve the fc alot. i have to use this in everyday drive as i have to commute more than 100km so really need to control my fc as much as posssible.

Alvin330000421
post Jan 25 2013, 10:25 AM

78 posts

I was like you, I wanted to get the Polo Sport but when I saw an ordinary looking car that looks like a kancil powered by 1.2L turbo, I wasn't too keen because of the price at rm115k and its not so attractive design.

And then I saw the price list for Polo Sport GTi, at rm160k, I wanted to laugh myself to death...the price is ridiculous for a small car that is meant for hobbits. Not withstanding the engine is excellent and fuel saving but its priced like a luxury car in msia. To add, there were some crisis with the DSG transmission for the certain VW cars, Polo is one of them. It has tendency to make the car stall. But I heard its rectified, my friend don't have a problem with his Golf Gti transmission. I also read one poster who own a Golf Gti in lyn forum, according to him (I dunno how much true this is), he had a problem with his ABS, the SC offered to change it for RM10k. But he managed to get a second hand one at a private workship for RM2.5k. So be prepared to empty your pockets for higher spare parts cost.

Peogeot 308T looks way way cooler. Backside a bit ugly but hey it looks sportier than Polo. Plus it has back passenger air cond.

Go get the 308T.

This post has been edited by Alvin330000421: Jan 25 2013, 10:30 AM
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 25 2013, 11:01 AM

380 posts

but performance wise wouldnt the pologti own the 308?

depends also... the polo gti is also very harsh..

for practicality i think 308... that is if u cn accept the performance etc
Neo_Y
post Jan 25 2013, 11:39 AM

219 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by Neo_Y: Jan 25 2013, 11:44 AM
multiplexer
post Jan 25 2013, 11:48 AM

393 posts

ive seen similar thing in pug308t, preve cfe, and polo tsi.. drive fast, u get better fc... even pug308t, 120km/j is better fc than 80km/j.. and preve cfe, 120km/j is better than 70-80km/j... i am aware of the statement "run below 2k rpm to save fuel" but in the real world, it didnt happen that way.. preve cfe is too heavy i guess..
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 25 2013, 11:49 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Jan 25 2013, 11:48 AM)
ive seen similar thing in pug308t, preve cfe, and polo tsi.. drive fast, u get better fc... even pug308t, 120km/j is better fc than 80km/j.. and preve cfe, 120km/j is better than 70-80km/j... i am aware of the statement "run below 2k rpm to save fuel" but in the real world, it didnt happen that way.. preve cfe is too heavy i guess..
preve not that quick either, but the 308 alot ppl mod i see can go up to 238km/h crazy haha biggrin.gif
multiplexer
post Jan 25 2013, 11:54 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Jan 25 2013, 11:49 AM)
preve not that quick either, but the 308 alot ppl mod i see can go up to 238km/h crazy haha  biggrin.gif
the turbo unit is exactly the same.. but weight-wise, preve had no chance smoking pug308t lah... smile.gif
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 25 2013, 11:56 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Jan 25 2013, 11:54 AM)
the turbo unit is exactly the same.. but weight-wise, preve had no chance smoking pug308t lah... smile.gif
engine also the 308 not bad bro smile.gif im sure after finetuning nicer
marky
post Jan 25 2013, 11:58 AM

xoxo
893 posts

Polo FC is 9.5L/100KM.. press everytime there's empty space lol
multiplexer
post Jan 25 2013, 12:02 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Jan 25 2013, 11:58 AM)
Polo FC is 9.5L/100KM.. press everytime there's empty space lol
if im not mistaken, the rurbo kicks in on 1.5k rpm. try to drive below that rpm and see the fc smile.gif
multiplexer
post Jan 25 2013, 12:02 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Jan 25 2013, 11:56 AM)
engine also the 308 not bad bro smile.gif im sure after finetuning nicer
i second this rclxms.gif
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 25 2013, 12:07 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Jan 25 2013, 12:02 PM)
i second this  rclxms.gif
but wtv it is its still a 1.6turbo only...dont go cucuk all the golf gti or mini cooper s haha suree get smoke
multiplexer
post Jan 25 2013, 12:11 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Jan 25 2013, 12:07 PM)
but wtv it is its still a 1.6turbo only...dont go cucuk all the golf gti or mini cooper s haha suree get smoke
lololol tongue.gif
twincharger07
post Jan 25 2013, 06:20 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Jan 25 2013, 11:54 AM)
308T using twinscroll Turbo, are you sure preve has the same engine as 308T?
they dont even churn out the same torque and power..

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Jan 25 2013, 06:20 PM
Ridt_Henshin
post Jan 25 2013, 09:13 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Jan 25 2013, 06:20 PM)
308T using twinscroll Turbo, are you sure preve has the same engine as 308T?
they dont even churn out the same torque and power..
seconded!

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0176sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:46 AM