6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Volkswagen Cars Discussion V2..Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

jwrx
post Apr 30 2011, 06:36 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Apr 30 2011, 05:32 PM)
Today I test drove a TSI and a GTI back to back.

After driving the TSI for 5 minutes, I thought to myself, "This is a solid, well-built and attractive car with pretty fun handling and pickup. Perfect for everyday use."

After driving the GTI for 5 minutes, flooring the gas, and experiencing my entire body catapulting backwards from the sheer acceleration, I thought to myself, "OMFG I WANT TO MAKE LOVE TO THIS SWEET SWEET MACHINE."

My conclusion?

TSI = good car.

GTI = emotional experience.

At first I was adamant on getting a TSI, especially to save money.

However, I just learned VW is offering an RM4k discount on GTIs manufactured in 2010 (brand new ones), PLUS 0.5 percent loan interest rate.

According to my calculations, a 5 year loan on a TSI at 2.5 percent interest would be RM2600+ monthly.

However, if I get a 2010 GTI and extend that loan to just 6 years at 0.5 percent interest, I'd be paying RM2700 monthly.

Hmmm....

UPDATE: My bad, looks like the 0.5 percent interest rate only applies to 3 year loans. The promotional rate goes up to 1.73 for a 9 year loan, so a 5 or 6 year loan should be somewhere in between. 1.2 probably (will find out for sure as soon as I speak to the SA).
lol.....would you now agree with me that without testing the GTI, you could not possibly be so adamant on getting the TSI?

jwrx
post May 1 2011, 10:26 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(mavric @ May 1 2011, 08:40 PM)
hey guys,

just got my 1.4 tsi about a week ago. noticed a couple of days ago a warning indicator on the screen next to the MFD saying 'check front right side lights'. i checked and all lights are working properly. once i turn off the key and turn it on..the warning indicator went away.

didn't think much of it but yesterday night, the same warning indicator came on again and when i checked, my right hand side DRL is not working. turned off and turned on engine and it's back to normal.

concluded it's an intermittent issue. anyone experienced this before? could this be a sensor issue or faulty DRL?
might just be a loose wire or some dirt in the connectors. nothing to worry about, just pop into the VW SC when u are able
jwrx
post May 2 2011, 07:49 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ May 2 2011, 07:43 PM)
Yes, but for me I don't like it soft...
its very difficult to "harden" a GTI. due to its tall hatchback design, the centre of gravity is much higher then a CTR

u can try

- Bilstien PSS11
- S3 suspension mounts/engine mounts
- UNIbrace underbody and Xbrace (I got both colours arriving this week)
- low profile tires with stiff sidewalls
jwrx
post May 3 2011, 09:41 AM

515 posts

practice good driving habits and 550-600km per tank is not a problem
jwrx
post May 3 2011, 04:20 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(BrokenOne @ May 3 2011, 03:57 PM)
any idea which back bumpers could fit a quad tip exhaust ?
because the razor back bumper i wanted to get cant  sad.gif
which brand? diffrent brands of Quads fit diffrent brand bumpers

Eg Miltek always fits Reiger, Oetingger will fit APR, have to do your research on which quads you want to get first, then research which bumper will fit

This post has been edited by jwrx: May 3 2011, 04:25 PM
jwrx
post May 3 2011, 05:02 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(stalkerrox @ May 3 2011, 05:01 PM)
yea new batch only comes around that date...
if not mistaken price also increase
hope the price and waiting list for 1.4 Roc also increase....cos thinking of selling mine biggrin.gif
jwrx
post May 3 2011, 05:06 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(stalkerrox @ May 3 2011, 05:03 PM)
bro upgrade to 2.0? biggrin.gif
thinking of...thats why no longer modding the car...keep it virgin, esier to sell
jwrx
post May 3 2011, 05:23 PM

515 posts

Yes - All rocs come with paddle shifters
jwrx
post May 8 2011, 06:49 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(zakdelaroka @ May 7 2011, 09:44 PM)
Guys i got a noob question,

I did my research (wiki) n i got to know that Mk V gti has several types of engines namely 2.0 fsi & tsi. If im not mistaken fsi is an older less powerful n less efficient engine compared to the tsi. Anyone here currently using the fsi?

Whats your take on the fsi?
The FSI is actually tougher and better made. Its also able to take more power, which is why the roc/golf R uses a modified FSI instead of the new TSI engine

Added on May 8, 2011, 6:55 pm
QUOTE(kakashi... @ May 7 2011, 06:23 PM)
but many ppls complaining of the same problems...

http://www.carsguide.com.au/site/news-and-..._118tsi_warning

now hold me back on the 1.4tsi...haiz...
if you are going to search tru forums looking for car problems, you will end up never buying a car...i guarantee you that EVERY brand you search will have problems... you think paying a million ringgit will prevent a car having problems? anywone remember the ferrari recall last year? where new ferraris were bursting into flames?

research is good...but too much research makes you a hypercondriac. You are searching Aus and SG forums...VW cars are made all over the place....diffrent batches, diffrent parts, diffrent factories..

if you search SG forums..u will get a TON of posts on 1.4 gearboxes exploding and failing...but it doesnt affect us as its only 09/early 2010 cars that were affected and VW SG has rectified the issue.

anyway..thats what the 5 year warranty is meant for...peace of mind for 5 years. if u are worried..then go buy a civic (incidentally...a forumer here got the Golf after numerous problems with his civic)

Added on May 8, 2011, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(Kyozen @ May 5 2011, 11:35 PM)
omg...dint expect Volkswagen quality and service is so terrible....now im hesitating to get golf or not -.-
Service - Yes its bad...but im willing to give them chance to improve, the current dealers are not equipped with the HUGE surge in VW owners

- thats also why we can always go to trusted outside service centres for servicing outside the normal schedule servicing

Quality - Im just as annoyed over quality issues as the next person, but new owners mustn be scared off....ppl tend to b**** and complain over the net more....but for every complaint theres probably 10-20 others who are perfectly happy. VW quality is no worse then BMW or Merc.

This post has been edited by jwrx: May 8 2011, 07:00 PM
jwrx
post May 8 2011, 07:02 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ May 8 2011, 07:01 PM)
Wah.... very nice. But other than the visual improvements over the RCD310, what about the sound quality? Any difference?
yes theres a marked improvement over the entire range with the RCD510..expecially Bass

jwrx
post May 8 2011, 10:10 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ May 8 2011, 09:47 PM)
Im piss off with Volkswagen after sales service. Difficult to start my car again n bad smell on the aircon after replaced. I will driving my ride to VGM tmr...whoever want to join my party..drop me a msg 012 3971285

F**k their service !!!
keep us updated on the outcome man....hope they solve your probs.
jwrx
post May 9 2011, 02:18 PM

515 posts

Got 3 unreserved RCD510 available. 1 for immididate pick up, 2 on the way biggrin.gif
jwrx
post May 9 2011, 09:06 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(double7 @ May 9 2011, 08:50 PM)
Was thinking of ordering RCD510. How much will the tax cost? Also is there any shop which can do installation in Klang Valley area?
http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=172804916096260
jwrx
post May 9 2011, 09:22 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(double7 @ May 9 2011, 09:11 PM)
Will they accept (or is it your shop?) if I bring my own RCD510 unit?

Do I need any adapters to install DYI?
nope...its a simple 15min DIY installation..just need a hex screwdriver
jwrx
post May 10 2011, 03:49 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(mavric @ May 10 2011, 02:19 PM)
just slapped on a Unibrace.....ride and handling already feels better now smile.gif
obviously the next step is a matching XB smile.gif

TSI vs GTI running costs

I think it will be the same in the long run. for TSI, u save on roadtax and DSG oil costs but the TSI is actually more complicated then the GTI, so wear & tear costs would probably be higher

My GTI had better FC then my current TSI
jwrx
post May 10 2011, 08:19 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(weddinpalmerston @ May 10 2011, 08:14 PM)
Does anybody know where can I buy the engine oil for GTI? My current mileage is 5000km, still 10k before the first service. When I checked the engine oil indicator, it just slightly above the minimum level. Thus, I need need to top- up a bit la. The problem is, I do not know the exact brand of the engine oil that is already in used. Anybody can help? Thanks
Castrol Edge

dun forget to check your engine oil in the morning, when your engine is cold.

This post has been edited by jwrx: May 10 2011, 08:20 PM
jwrx
post May 11 2011, 10:36 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(ferio94eg9 @ May 11 2011, 10:12 AM)
my mileage is now around 13K km (never change EO)...so far, as at yesterday my EO level still more or less the same as picture below whether in cold/warm engine....

er..u got wipe off the oil on the stick b4 checking or not? theres at least 0.5-1l diffrence between a cold and warmed up engine
jwrx
post May 11 2011, 11:42 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 11 2011, 11:32 AM)
That's old school turbo engines that 'eats' engine oil. My Subaru has clocked 145,000km mileage and I don't even have to top up in-between my oil change every 5000km. Fuel consumption is 6-7km per liter so you can see that I'm not exactly light-footed.

You guys with newer cars should not have much issues with engine oil consumption unless something is wrong with the engine.
lol...not true at all...

my subaru wrx, not a single drop of oil loss in over 100k km. MY GTi drank EO about 0.5-1l between service....many mk5 GTI owner would tell u same story
jwrx
post May 11 2011, 12:07 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 11 2011, 11:48 AM)
But what is your service interval for the GTi? I mean we service the Subaru every 5k but if you stretched the service intervals to 10k or 15k, then we'd definitely see more engine oil lost.

The difference between L and H in the subaru is about 0.5L (I remember pouring in 4L and it just touch LOW level since the stupid engine needs 4.5L). I wasn't saying that there are no oil lost but just that it survives long enough in-between oil changes at 5K without the need for a top-up.
i serviced my wx/gti same intervals, 8-10k km. The problem with the gti is that it suffers oil blowback tru the PCV valves and leaks tru to the IC.

I seen IC removed and a litre of oil poured out lol
jwrx
post May 11 2011, 04:35 PM

515 posts

Yes. i agree that shell 95 sucks. Im actually loyal shell user for many many many years...but thier 95 really cannot pakai

using petronas 95 now

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0434sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:30 AM