http://edm.iproperty.com/my/CIMB_25042011/index.html
Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues
Apr 25 2011, 04:51 PM
5,488 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Apr 26 2011, 09:46 AM
Tuesday April 26, 2011
Cost of hiring maids on the rise By NELSON BENJAMIN nelson@thestar.com.my JOHOR BARU: The Government should look into allowing maids to be recruited from more countries as the cost of hiring them is getting expensive. Malaysian Indian Business Association chairman P. Sivakumar said the Government should consider allowing maids from India, Sri Lanka, Vietnam and Myanmar. “We should not depend on countries like Indonesia and Cambodia as it can cost up to RM8,000 to get a maid. “This does not include the monthly salary,” he said here yesterday. Sivakumar said both husband and wife had to work these days due to the increasing cost of living, and maids played a critical role especially in taking care of their children at home. “By making it expensive to hire maids, many women will have to stop working to take care of their children. “This way, we are losing good talent that can contribute towards the country's growth and economy. On the memorandum of understanding (MoU) on the recruitment of maids from Indonesia, Sivakumar hoped the Government would not sign a lopsided MoU which favoured Indonesia. Sivakumar said Singapore was able to get maids as it did not rely on just a few countries. On language or cultural problems faced by maids from other Asian countries, he said this could be overcome by on-the-job training from their employers. He was responding to Human Resources Minister Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam's announcement that the MoU with Indonesia would be signed at the end of May. Apa pun naik harga.... |
Apr 26 2011, 04:21 PM
Published: Tuesday April 26, 2011 MYT 2:38:00 PM
Malaysian households use almost half their income to pay off debts By JOSEPHINE JALLEH http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=..._medium=twitter GEORGE TOWN: The Consumers Association of Penang (CAP) revealed that Malaysian households are spending about half of their income to pay off their debts. CAP president S.M. Mohamed Idris said the Malaysian household debt service ratio (the ratio of the debt payments to disposable income) of 47.8% last year was higher than the acceptable debt service ratio of 30% or one third of a household income used to pay of debt. “After paying off the debt, there is not much left to spend on food, transport, education and emergencies. “The biggest portion of the Malaysian household debt goes to paying off housing loans, passenger car loans, personal use, securities purchase and credit cards,” he said in a press conference Tuesday. He added that the loans taken by each household in Malaysia was, on average, 1.4 times more than its household income. “Looking at the problem from the ratio of household debt to disposable income, this ratio is 140.4% for Malaysia, one of the highest in the world, above that of Singapore at 105.3%, USA at 123.3% and Thailand at 52.7% in 2009,” he said. He explained that the rising household debt restricted the government's monetary policy. “The growth in personal consumption driven by debt, rather than by income growth, is not sustainable and will be derailed with an increase in interest rates and inflation. “While today's non-performing loan ratio is low at 2.3%, Bank Negara should not take too much comfort in this. This ratio can easily balloon when interest rates rise and growth falters leading to household insolvency,” he added. Idris urged the government to start a public housing policy that provided affordable housing particularly in urban areas. “It also needs to tighten the rules on car loans as well as stop advertisements for loans and credit cards that are not transparent about the costs involved,” he said. He added that families with high household debts would be liable to suffer from stress, depression, mental problems, suicides and possible family break-ups. |
Apr 26 2011, 06:26 PM
明年以後或硬著陸‧羅比尼看空中國經濟
財經拼盤 2011-04-25 19:15 新“末日博士”羅比尼估計,中國大概會在2013年後遭遇一場硬著陸。 羅比尼在Project Syndicate發表文章稱,硬著陸“事實上所有與過度投資有關的歷史場景――包括上世紀90年代的東亞地區所發生的一切――都會以一場金融危機和/或長期的低增長來謝幕”。 他表示,“中國內部到處充斥著在實物資本、基礎設施和不動產方面的過量投資。在一個訪問者眼中,證據就是那些光鮮亮麗卻旅客寥寥的機場和高速列車(這將減少45個計劃興建中的機場的客流量),通往偏僻之地的高速公路,數千座高大的中央與地方政府建築,空無一人的新城區,以及被迫關閉以避免引發全球價格下跌的嶄新鋁冶煉廠。” 沒有限死具體時間 英國《金融時報》表示,羅比尼竟然給偉大中國的崩盤確定了一個時間,真是膽大。過去20年間,有許多人做過類似的嘗試,但都遭遇慘敗。 “羅比尼很聰明,他並沒有限死具體時間,而且如果你對他的話進行重新措辭,你會發現他實際上是在說自己認為未來兩年中國不會遭遇硬著陸。” 有人反駁羅比尼的悲觀分析,指出中國的過度建設與過度投資已經持續了十幾年,而且每當投資與基礎設施似乎已經超量時,經濟增長又追趕了上來,消化了閒置產能。畢竟中國人口眾多。 另一些人或許還會指出,大部份建設項目的質量很差,這意味不到10年或20年,老舊的基礎設施就不得不被拆除,進行重建。 過度投資造成巨大浪費 不過,《金融時報》認為,羅比尼很可能是正確的,他關於中國對過度投資的沉迷最終將造成巨大浪費並導致未來經濟增長大幅放緩的論述也相當有說服力。 羅比尼在文章中說,任何國家都不可能擁有足夠的發展速度,足以在將50%的國內生產總值(GDP)重新投資的情況下最終避免遭遇巨大的產能過剩和令人憂心的不良貸款問題。 “繼續沿著這條投資導向的道路走下去,將使已經暴露出來的製造業、房地產和基礎設施產能飽和現象進一步惡化,並在固定資產投資增長無法繼續擴大的情況下加劇未來的經濟放緩。 但直到2012至13年領導層換屆之前,中國的政策制定者們或許都能在繼續罔顧可以預見的巨額成本的情況下,維持一個高增長率。” 星洲日報/財經‧2011.04.25 |
Apr 28 2011, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(KLsooner @ Apr 28 2011, 10:07 PM) what is the incoming supply mean? subsales prop? new start = new construction starts....some need 2 years to complete, some need 3 years and some need 4 years, even got some take more than 4 years. thus the numbers will not reflect a perfect situation.I am not good in reading chart but my sense of logic is telling me the chart does not make sense. Correct me if I am wrong, how can you have completion more than new start on average over a few years? Aren't it suppose to be opposite? new start shoud be more than completion becos some constructions may got stuck due to various reasons. today demand is >>>>>> supply but 90% are goreng kaki. My ex business partner bought 70 units of condo and whole street of shop lot for goreng, release all in 6 months and repeat again. same as new completion. |
Apr 28 2011, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 28 2011, 11:44 PM) it still doesn't add up - 8 yrs in a row, completion > new starts . lots of units started >8 yrs ago, now slowly coming onstream? you should download the full version from www.jpph.gov.my , call them if you got any questions. they will entertain you for sure.more likely data is screwed up or massage like inflation to make you feel good, buy more since shortage, shortage!! |
Apr 29 2011, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(22222222 @ Apr 29 2011, 03:39 PM) Yes, cannot deny that 2010 really outperform of property market. don't look short-term but mid-term to long term in property investment.But how about for this year? Is there still up3? Try talk to your well know agents, how is their sales over this 4 months, is it better than last year? Try talk to your well know bankers, is the loan apply still easy to approve or not? Maybe you will know that the next year 2011 chart, how is look like... mid-term might be 5 to 10 years. long term could be your whole life..kekeke |
Apr 30 2011, 10:53 PM
loan applications and loan approved increased in March 2011. Sharply increased as compared to last year.
check at bnm website for data. |
May 1 2011, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(rocket_jet @ Apr 30 2011, 11:16 PM) http://www.bnm.gov.my/files/publication/ms.../3/xls/1.10.xls |
May 5 2011, 06:43 PM
May 6 2011, 09:02 AM
May 6 2011, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(CKHong @ May 6 2011, 09:32 AM) lol.. kh kena cocok balik.. lol...biasa la kena cocok..as stated from someone.. 400k BLR hike 1% each month have to pay additional RM250 thats gonna hurt :"( nowadays banks still offer BLR-2.3 / -2.4 effective mortgage rate still attractive lo.. 6.55-2.3=4.25% p.a hmmm....let's see how the property market will re-act to this. |
May 6 2011, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(sampool @ May 6 2011, 09:44 AM) no matter what the package your taken... the bank still the winner... understood lo....business risks ma...kekekeke.....willing borrowee willing borroweras long as u borrow 30 yrs loan from bank....ur need to pay back bank another 1 house upon service the loan... BLR minus bla..bla just the promotion to attract ppl borrow $$. their expert mathematician already calculated for ur already (included their profit, inflation, losses..)... we are not clever then them as long as u need to borrow $$.. |
May 6 2011, 09:57 PM
May 6, 2011
PM: Govt to launch affordable housing programme in Klang Valley -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyScene/P...yNews/11858/0/0 PETALING JAYA: The Government will launch a new scheme to ensure young adults in the Klang Valley have access to quality and affordable housing, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said. The initiative, which will complement the My First Home programme launched in March, is to counter soaring property prices in the Klang Valley that have made it difficult for the younger generation to own homes. Speaking on Hot FM Friday morning, Najib said he was aware, from comments on his Facebook site and in the media, that it was increasingly hard to find homes costing below RM220,000 in the Klang Valley. He said the new initiative would be in the form of a partnership between the Government and private companies. "If possible, no profit will be taken from this project. Companies can take it as a part of their corporate social responsibility," Najib added. He said the programme would be launched in June or July, once suitable sites had been identified. The My First Home programme, proposed in Budget 2011, targets homes within the RM100,000 and RM220,000 price range nationwide. Under the scheme, young workers earning below RM3,000 monthly can procure 100% financing with a 30-year repayment period from selected financial institutions, to buy such homes. Added on May 6, 2011, 9:58 pmWHY NOT? by RASLAN SHARIF | May 6, 2011 Homing in on house prices -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Too pricey: The exorbitant prices of houses today are putting house ownership beyond the reach of young adults. — Filepic For the average young wage earner, having a roof over his head is a catch-me-if-you can. The house he thinks he can afford three years on spirals out of reach when the time comes. There are a few basic things in life that one needs to get by – food in your stomach, clothing to cover yourself so that other people don’t go blind (joke) and a roof over your head. There might be other items you feel are absolutely crucial to your state of well-being but I think these three are the bare minimum. I would say that securing the first two – food and clothing – should not be too much of a problem for the large majority of people. A roof over your head is another matter altogether. Yes, you could consider renting, but renting is not that cheap these days, especially in major urban areas like the Klang Valley. The monthly rent for an apartment can take a considerable bite out of the take-home pay of those who are just starting out on their first jobs. The option would be to share the rent with a few other people or to just get a room. You could also rent a place farther away from the city centre. This is of course cheaper but the commute can be crazy. However, that has not deterred many people from going crazy, day in day out on their way to and from their workplaces, which are usually located near to the city centre. Alternatively, you could live with your parents or relatives but that should only be a temporary measure until you find your own footing. I’m a firm believer in leaving home as soon as you are able to after getting your first job. If you stay too long, you get too comfortable and worse, you get stuck in a rut. I am speaking from experience of course and, looking back, I wish I had struck out much earlier. Indeed, living on your own or with friends brings home (pardon the pun) certain truths and realities about life. A few months after I started working, I rented a place with some friends who were working in Kuala Lumpur. Life is bliss when you’re a bachelor and although we didn’t have much, we had a really good time. So the lack of the finer things in life didn’t bother us much. After a few years, we moved out. Some of us, like me, were getting married and so needed to look for a place of our own. The first home my wife and I lived in was a terrace house that we rented for about RM800. This amount represented quite a serious portion of our household income, which comprised the pay of a cadet reporter (me) and a bank teller (my wife). Soon, we had to look for a cheaper place as our son was on the way. So we moved to a residential area deep in Sungai Buloh, where we rented a double-storey bungalow for only RM550, thanks to the kind-hearted owner. It was a very nice place, cool and quiet, but it was quite far from our workplaces. Every morning on work days, I would drive from Sungai Buloh to Jalan Sultan Ismail where I dropped off my wife at the bank she worked in, before proceeding to Ampang to drop off my son at my mother’s. From there, I drove to the office in Petaling Jaya. After work, I drove back from Petaling Jaya to Jalan Sultan Ismail, then to Ampang and back to Sungai Buloh. I clocked more than 100km daily on workdays. In fact, I once calculated that over the five years that I lived in Sungai Buloh, I spent 30 days a year in the car. No kidding. A few years into this gruelling routine, we felt that it was time to look for a house of our own, located in a more accessible location. Naturally, we wanted something that was at least half decent and, naturally, you can’t always get what you want. Worse, the goal posts kept being moved. You would tell yourself that maybe in two or three years, you could afford the sort of house you just saw in the property pages but hey, who were you kidding here? In two or three years, prices go up and the house remains out of your range. And so 10 years ago, we settled for a RM139,000 950 sq ft apartment in Ampang, just about a kilometre away from my parents and nearer to where we worked. It is our home, and looking at how house prices have just gone higher and higher, it will probably remain our home for a long time to come. It is not that I cannot afford some of the houses that I am seeing, it is just that I refuse to pay what I believe are totally unreasonable prices for such houses. Moreover, at my age, I am not particularly looking forward to getting into the sort of debt that purchasing a house entails. A few days ago, National House Buyers Association secretary general Chang Kim Loong warned that the exorbitant prices of houses we are staring at today are putting house ownership beyond the reach of young adults. I understand perfectly what he means. Raslan Sharif and his family have lived in houses big and small but nothing approaching the size of the apartment they now own. http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyScene/P...Scene/11860/0/0 This post has been edited by kh8668: May 6 2011, 09:58 PM |
May 6 2011, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(erni3 @ May 6 2011, 10:21 PM) Property price will not go down, its just ain't BBB mode anymore for lot of new launch. The next GE and budget might have a significant impact on property, but base on my observation the most likely outcome will be stagnant price. Ya lo...property prices will shoot up further in near future. We need more building materials for the extension of LRT, 100-sty building and MRT and others. High demand of building material will boost up the costs. All these are only domestic projects. Assumed that all the building materials are local-made and we do not need to import from somewhere? Perhaps we need other building materials to be imported, right? Take note that China and Japan also got lot of redevelopment projects, definitely they will offer competitive prices in order to get the sufficient materials and labours. So when Land Cost up + building material cost up + labour costs up; what do you think of property prices? YES, demand and supply plays the part of property cycles but development cost (costs to build) is also an important factor. Noone wants to be losers. This post has been edited by kh8668: May 6 2011, 10:45 PM |
May 7 2011, 12:55 PM
May 7 2011, 07:31 PM
ay 7, 2011
Is the 5/95 housing loan scheme a better option? -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- When Lehman Brothers fell in September 2008, the Malaysian property market entered a challenging period. There were few takers and developers were at a loss as house buyers were few. In the first quarter of 2009, one of Malaysia’s largest property developer, SP Setia group coined what was soon to become popularly known as the 5/95 scheme. Soon after, other established property developers such as Glomac Bhd, Mah Sing Group Bhd, Malton Bhd and Sunrise Bhd followed suit with their 5/95 home loan schemeswith different degrees of success. Some of these schemes could be 10/90, where a buyer paid a 10% downpayment. Essentially, the 5/95 scheme was meant to help boost property sales which was then being threatened by a slowing economy. Under the scheme, house buyers need to pay 5% of the downpayment while the rest will be financed through a loan. Servicing of the loan starts only when the property is up and ready. Are these schemes beneficial to house buyers? Or is it another marketing tool of developers? In the short term, it may seem attractive. After all, one only has to pay 5% or 10% of the price of the house and the next payment is only when one takes delivery of the house. The developer will also bear other entry costs such as legal fees, stamp duty on the sale and purchase agreement and loan agreement as well as memorandum of transfer for purchases under the campaign. A mortgage loan officer who has done his rounds being on the panel of bankers for various developers says the conventional loans and not the interest-bearing ones, are better options in the long run. He says that no developer will bear legal fees, interests or stamp duty for free. All these are in fact factored into the price of the house. He says that 5/95 schemes are popular particularly among entrants to the job market because they have problems forking out the downpayment, which is usually the biggest challenge when purchasing big ticket items such as a property. Because they are young, time is on their side. Such schemes are also popular among speculators because their intention is to sell the house the minute they take delivery of it. While it is understandable that developers need to sell, what may be prudent for buyers is to ask for an option, to either enter into a 5/95 or to go for the conventional mortgage. And if a conventional loan is possible, whether the developer will reduce the price of the house. However small that percentage may be, it will add up. A developer of a high-rise condominium project in Petaling Jaya gave buyers an option of a 5/95 scheme or pay more for the downpayment. If a buyer were to opt for the conventional scheme, the price of the house is reduced. Given the sharp rise in property prices last year, it may appear that most of these house buyers could be sitting on potential profits. While house prices in the Klang Valley grew by an average of 10% a year in the last two years, selected areas saw astounding growth of 25% annually. As most of those who bought houses under this scheme, particularly in the Klang Valley, likely comprise those from the middle to upper income bracket as well as speculators, chances of them facing difficulties servicing their loans may be low. “These days, one can stretch the repayment period from 35 to 40 years, especially if one is in his or her late 20s or early 30s. Thus, the 5/95 scheme, together with the long repayment period, is very helpful for first time buyers,” says a banking analyst. “People like 5/95 because the initial capital outlay is low, hence it doesn’t hurt so much. One reason why property prices remain high could possibly be because the hidden cost of 5/95 is already imputed in the price. High as it may be, people continue to buy anyway,” said KGV-Lambert Smith Hampton Sdn Bhd director Anthony Chua. Another property consultant added that 5/95 was popular because of the affordability factor. “Many people can’t afford the down payment for the 10/90 scheme and are digging into their Employees Provident Fund. So even if 5/95 may be perceived to be more expensive, it will still remain popular, ” said the property consultant. Chua added that with 5/95, the buyer might be paying more but he wont feel the pinch as the loan period was over a longer period. “Furthermore, with the real property gains tax at 5%, coupled with our inflationarry environment, it also keeps the risk of buying homes under the 5/95 scheme even lower, as the house price is more likely to increase in tandem with inflation,” said the property consultant. A banking and property analyst says the difference between 5/95 and 20/80 schemes is merely in the interest portion paid. “When you pay interest on a 95% down payment versus interest on 80% down payment, of course the interest payment on the 80% is lower.” She adds that there is a perception of savings under the 5/95 scheme and the buyers’ salary could increase after three years, hence reducing the stress on their balance sheet. Zerin Properties founder and chief executive officer Previndran Singhe adds that when purchasing properties, it is all about the purchasers’ cashflow abilities. The buyer will decide based on his monthly income and his ability to service his monthly commitments. “At the end of the day, it is only an interest issue. Everyone claims that the interest fees and other costs are built into the 5/95 scheme,” he says adding that if a property product is good and developed by a reputable property developer and in a good location, he would encourage the buyer to purchase the property via the 5/95 scheme, especially if the interest rate was low. “What is more important is to look at the interest rate at the time, not whether it’s 5/95 or 20/80,” he says. With interest rates going up today, the bigger question is this: Will those who buy properties under the 5/95 or 10/90 be committed to their mortgage payments, or will they take the opportunity to cash out? |
May 7 2011, 08:55 PM
KL property prices to grow 7 - 10% - IP Global
2nd QUARTER 2011 PROPERTY BAROMETER Posted Date: Apr 27, 2011 By: iProperty.com LONDON London has seen a strong start to the year and we expect this to continue through 2011. Central London will continue to lead the pack in terms of growth, due to its close relationship with the financial services sector and high global demand. As overseas investors now account for 48% of all prime central London property purchases, London remains the primary overseas property investment market. While the volume of buyers remains consistent in the market, a lack of supply and mortgage financing could mean a lower number of transactions over the forthcoming months. Rents are at an all-time high; the combination of a severe lack of stock and very high demand fuelled 16% price growth last year and is likely to persist this year. The UK base rate is at a record low of 0.5%; however in the coming months this position may change. The prospect of higher borrowing costs could affect demand but this should be limited as any increase is likely to be minimal. JERSEY CITY Jersey City is a dynamic commercial centre located just seven minutes from Wall Street. Capital values are 50% below peak prices achieved in January 2007, offering investors the opportunity to enter the market at a low price point. The advantage Jersey City has over Manhattan is strong yields as its average property price is just one fifth of Manhattan’s and its property taxes are significantly lower, making the area an interesting investment. Jersey City also benefits from having among the best transport infrastructure in the United States. The PATH train runs 24/7, making the commute from Jersey City to Wall Street only seven minutes. Therefore rental demand is strong in the area, especially from people working in Manhattan and looking to benefit from Jersey’s larger property sizes and lower monthly rents. The improving job market means demand will rise as tenants seek to upgrade their homes. Capital values are likely to appreciate over the course of the year as supply is outweighed by current demand. REITs have also shown their confidence in the Jersey City market; CB Richard Ellis Realty Trust, a non traded REIT, bought Jersey City’s Colgate Center in a deal valuing the twin office buildings at $310 million. KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA Following 7.2% economic growth in 2010, the residential market saw optimism reflected in higher prices in Q1 this year. The government is continuing to implement the Economic Stimulus Package throughout 2011; which will only encourage the economy to grow further; this will have a positive impact on the property market. The proposed billion ringgit Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) project will be a catalyst for growth in many areas running alongside the proposed lines as well many suburbs of Kuala Lumpur. Kuala Lumpur continues to be one of IP Global’s top picks as its property market is expected to remain strong throughout 2011. We estimate 7-10% growth of capital values in Kuala Lumpur on the back of strong economic growth and ongoing high transaction volume from 2010. TURKEY, ISTANBUL Turkey has the fastest-growing economy in Europe, a trend that is likely to continue in the near future. Factors such as a small budget deficit, a stable banking system and a capable government have all contributed to making Turkey an attractive investment opportunity. The volume of sales to foreigners rose by 40% in 2010, a figure that can be reflected in the recent growth in the construction sector; construction grew by 18% in 2010 and is forecasted to increase by 10% this year. Given Istanbul’s renewed confidence, high transaction volumes, and economic stability, we believe it has a largely untapped market that holds great growth potential. The city won European City of Culture 2010, which will spur a huge amount of investment into the city in the coming months. AUSTRALIA Following extensive property damage from extreme weather late last year, Australia’s residential market had a weak first quarter prompting questions whether this could be a signal of a weaker year ahead. Many parts of the country have been struggling to recover since the flood disaster in 2010; for example, sales in Queensland fell by 13.3% in February this year. Sales for multi-home dwelling developments fell by 7.6% last month, while detached houses saw a 1.5% decrease in values. Tighter lending conditions with interest rates on hold with a bias to increase, and a lack of government action towards housing policy suggest Australia’s residential market will have a difficult year. DUBAI Recent data suggests Dubai is not yet close to the bottom of its market depression after property prices fell 65% in 2010. The market could fall up to 30% further over the next two years as new supply is expected to come on the market. There will be 42,000 new property units completed come 2013, increasing supply by 12%, leading the market to inevitably devalue and result in disequilibrium. Added on May 7, 2011, 9:10 pmSaturday May 7, 2011 http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...7352&sec=nation Young adults worry over loan repayments PETALING JAYA: Young adults are looking forward to buy their first home under the “My First Home” programme but are worried that they may not be able to afford the monthly payments due to the current high cost of living. Cheaw Wen Guey, 27, who earns about RM2,100, said he would not mind a home in the outskirts of Kuala Lumpur provided there was access to public transport. “There should also be other amenities like supermarkets located nearby,” said the Malacca Multimedia University research officer. IT consultant Nick Ong, 27, said all first time home buyers should be given the opportunity regardless of their wage. “For those who earn over RM3,000, the loan amount can be reduced accordingly,” he said, adding “likewise, for those who earn below RM3,000 they can still get the 100% loan. I think this is fair.” Software engineer Sindhu Kumar, 27, suggested that those who had bought their first homes before the scheme was implemented be allowed to convert their loans to be under the scheme. “This scheme is good as it encourages younger people to buy homes sooner,” he said. Home Buyers Association secretary-general Chang Kim Loong said the scheme would ensure sufficient, affordable homes and promote home ownership. “However, the homes should be fairly located with proper infrastructure and public transport,” he said. Malaysian Master Builders Association president Kwan Foh Kwai estimated that homes that cost about RM220,000 would have an area of about 850 sq ft. He said the Government should also promote the use of the industrial building system (IBS), which includes prefabricated walls. Added on May 7, 2011, 9:26 pmPublished: Saturday May 7, 2011 MYT 5:57:00 PM Updated: Saturday May 7, 2011 MYT 6:29:42 PM Asean told to concentrate on securing life’s basic necessities JAKARTA: Asean countries have been urged to forge greater cooperation on food security and efforts to address concerns over energy supply amid global competition for dwindling supplies of life's basic necessities. In making the call, Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono described issues pertaining to food and energy security as among the biggest challenges for the regional grouping. Susilo welcoming Najib at the Asean Summit "We're faced with fluctuating food and energy prices that may well go up further on the world market. "One of the measures that could be taken is to implement the Asean Integrated Food Security Framework in a comprehensive manner, especially in the area of expanding and investing in food production initiatives," he said when opening the 18th Asean Summit here Saturday. Indonesia chairs the grouping for one year. The two-day summit, themed "Asean Community in a Global Community of Nations", is being attended by heads of government or their representatives from 10 Southeast Asian countries. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak is leading the Malaysian delegation at the Jakarta summit. He leads the Malaysian team at the summit's related meetings, namely the pleno session and the retreat, the meeting of Asean leaders with representatives of Asean Inter Parliamentary Assembly (AIPA) and the unofficial meeting of Asean leaders and youth representatives. In addition, he is also scheduled to attend the unofficial meeting of Asean leaders with representatives of civil organisations and the 7th Summit Meeting of the Brunei-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East Asean Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA). Susilo said Asean states should look for innovative solutions to energy security issues, including seeking out new energy and renewable energy sources in a bid to diversify energy supplies and reduce the use of energy sources that may harm the environment. On efforts to tackle natural disasters, the president said that Asean should strengthen regional coordination through the formation of the Asean Coordinating Centre for Humanitarian Assistance on disaster management. He was also in favour of joint training programmes to deal with potential natural disasters in the region, like the one conducted in Manado, Indonesia, in March. - Bernama http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...0737&sec=nation This post has been edited by kh8668: May 7 2011, 09:26 PM |
May 9 2011, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(lch78 @ May 9 2011, 04:02 PM) You don't want to wait for the Gov "My First Home" offer? Below 220k quite a steal if the it is built by reputable developers... hopefully will get 1000sf, 3 or 3+1 room affordable unit wit 1 carpark at least location might be within 400m from proposed lrt and mrt station..lol maybe we can make a wish list on PM's facebook |
May 9 2011, 05:15 PM
go to cimb auction house, plenty to grab.....but also have to fight in the battle field of auction house to get the units.
June 2011 will ahev another cimb auction. |
| Change to: | 0.0553sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:59 AM |