6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

TheDoer
post Apr 19 2011, 03:45 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(eugene jk @ Apr 19 2011, 03:32 PM)
Couldnt agree more... thats one of the famous tactic nowadays... just do a booking without commitment bcos developer belum dapat AP... by the time sign SNP, all drop out 1 by 1 and agent call up 1 by 1 from the waiting list... but at the beginning, when looking at the sales chart it looks blardy good bcos after you book, not necessary have to buy.. there is where developer take advantage to increase price due to the "virtual high demand"
But you will have to forfeit your booking downpayment right?
TheDoer
post Apr 19 2011, 04:28 PM

1,853 posts

haha... yep... what this means is print more notes. We still get paid the same amount of foreign currency, just that we have more RM for our squables. Including the price of teh tarik, or prop price, since we won't be able to afford props by then. So if the price doesn't drop, then our wage (the number of zeroes) has to go up.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Apr 19 2011, 04:31 PM
TheDoer
post Apr 19 2011, 04:32 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Apr 19 2011, 04:29 PM)
btw i really dunno what will happen to property if Gov do intro GST
Oh god... I wouldn't dare think. shocking.gif
TheDoer
post Apr 25 2011, 09:14 AM

1,853 posts

When you know you have a rotten tooth, you always wish it to fall out soon, even if it has temporarily stopped aching.

Since we are already headed for a bubble, why not sonner than later? The sooner we learn our lesson, the less we have to suffer.
TheDoer
post Apr 25 2011, 10:54 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 25 2011, 09:33 AM)
To add on, property sectors is direct & indirectly relating to 202 sectors, once it falls, the damage is devastating!! We hv to accept one thing, there is no fairness in this country (& the world too), accept the imperfect is the solutions!!
Exactly, an economy crisis and property bubble burst, is inevitable. Live with it, try to ease it.

DO NOT MAKE YOUR FELLOW HUMAN BEING SUFFER FOR YOUR OWN BENEFIT.

(Addressing everybody)

Added on April 25, 2011, 10:57 am
QUOTE(property101 @ Apr 25 2011, 09:43 AM)
as far as i see, the government would like the property market to continue soaring rather than cooling down. the cooling down initiation was mainly seen on late 2009 and early 2010 but not so much now
A runaway train, without breaks. Should you speed up, or slow down? It appears that you're constantly in control, until you hit a wall.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Apr 25 2011, 10:57 AM
TheDoer
post Apr 26 2011, 09:11 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Apr 25 2011, 05:36 PM)
2 is quite high class condo and 1 is like very old.. look alike malay condo..
so around my place.. the occupancy rate is quite low as well.. Surprised me that those owner can tahan that long with no tenant help paying the monthly installment..
Ah... that's a money sink hole. I hope they have enough to dump in. rolleyes.gif
TheDoer
post Apr 28 2011, 10:42 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Apr 27 2011, 09:01 PM)
I'll also like to point out that to get a "comfortable" salary in Malaysia, a graduate needs to job hop quite a few times, and/or work for a profitable company that is willing to reward performance.
Out of topic: I would like to point out that Job hop, helps neither the company nor the economy. Should we instead encourage, companies to pay us more without job hopping?
TheDoer
post Apr 28 2011, 05:05 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Apr 28 2011, 11:20 AM)
i think the market currently demand is more than supply
Demand driven by nothing more than over enthusiasm and optimism?

These things change at the flip of the hat.

Should instead be wondering whether there are alot of genuine homeowners who can afford still out there. As the price goes up, naturally there will be less and less of them.

Added on April 28, 2011, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Apr 28 2011, 11:08 AM)
if u own more than u, just rent it out la, my condo in Suriamas, Bandar Sunway, easily rent out at 2.5k per month, and my installment is only 1.4k + maintenance fees (RM200), every month i net gain 900 for me to use and i havent take into account my capital gain as the property price goes up every year
If it is so easy to buy a house, despite the price hike. Why do you think ppl want to rent from you? They will probably buy 1 or 2 themselves for "investment".

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Apr 28 2011, 05:06 PM
TheDoer
post Apr 29 2011, 04:49 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Apr 28 2011, 06:30 PM)
i just cant understand how come rental never increased  hmm.gif
I guess rental, is a good indicator of non speculative demand. Nobody is renting to speculate.

Speculative demand is nothing but hot air, when the bubble pops it all gets released.

Interesting you should mention, I recently noted; while the price of house in Melaka has increased steady (including sub sale). A double storey terrace in my area is renting at RM300 for the Whole unit. Imagine if someone were to get a new house further away from town, they'd be paying more than 1K permonth, and way pass their their retirement.

Added on April 29, 2011, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(blasto @ Apr 28 2011, 07:36 PM)

Rental never increased...tenents previous renting 1 room 1 person, now moved on to 2 person 1 room & also got 5-8person in a room  brows.gif.
Landlord charge extra rm50 per head ...  biggrin.gif 
Sign that times are getting hard, that demand is being snuffed by price.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Apr 29 2011, 05:08 PM
TheDoer
post May 3 2011, 04:18 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(22222222 @ Apr 30 2011, 12:30 AM)
Yes....absolutely agreed on "Own Stay" theory. I always told my friend if "kaki zhu"....nothing to worry...price drop or up just paper game....u not going to realize the profit/lost right, but 1 think i told him....jz buy within ur affordability after calculate ur Expense Vs Income.....small house doesn't matter...more important can invite us to your house to play mahjong... biggrin.gif 

Lol... haha... completely agree with you. but my version was, BBQ or Lim Teh, as I don't play mahjong tongue.gif

If for ownstay, buy what you can afford, when you can afford.
TheDoer
post May 4 2011, 10:29 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ May 3 2011, 08:48 PM)
would like to add on, a subsale property i was eyeing since end of last year till now has gone up by rm150k. it's a landed intermediate unit in pj.
I'm not surprised. The keyword here is asking price. He can raise it to a few billion too if he wants. But will anybody buy it? perhaps.

Added on May 4, 2011, 10:30 amWe humans are funny creatures. We do not hesitate to line up outside a restaurant, if there already is a long line waiting. We think that just because the place is popular, automatically, it guarantees the Best!

Ask them why they were waiting there, and everybody says, well because I saw that there was alot of people here.

How many people actually, measure and weigh the quality of the stuff provided by the shop?

Give you an example... if one person started looking up a building and started pointing upwards... soon you will see more and more people gather looking upwards.

But of course, how long can this last? Soon people start realising there is actually nothing to look at to begin with.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: May 4 2011, 10:30 AM
TheDoer
post May 4 2011, 10:35 AM

1,853 posts

As I had mentioned. Getting a renter in my area is quite difficult, and he will get RM300 monthly for the whole house.

Compare this with the monthly loan repayment. That is chicken feed.

And yet, there are "optimistic" owners who refuse to let go of their props according to what other houses in the area are going for. They markup the price, while the empty houses continue to deteriorate. Someone has to be the loser here. Either the speculator, or the eventual buyer.
TheDoer
post May 9 2011, 01:39 PM

1,853 posts

After listening to everyone's advice on this thread. It has "convinced" me to buy a house now, rather than wait till the property goes up further. Alas, after combining both me and my gf's income, it would appear, we would have to live off bread and water for the rest of our lives.

No more, korean, japanese or cafe food... no more mamak mix rice (quite expensive these days too). No more going outstation, and definately no souvenirs for your relative's little ones. Would have to put off buying a new car, and perhaps get a motorcycle ones my car breaksdown.

And to think, this prop, is in the middle of no where.

Hurray for progress....

Wake up speculators!
TheDoer
post May 9 2011, 03:31 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 9 2011, 02:14 PM)
ohh.. means u get a properties already ?
congrats !  biggrin.gif
as for me.. i can't find my future home yet  :'(
Nah.. not yet... haiz now pening about it.

Should I take a risk, empty all my savings and take a loan which I would on paper barely survive on?

Hopefully before I marry and have kids my annual increment will be enough to feed them.

rclxub.gif

Added on May 9, 2011, 3:35 pm
QUOTE(nkhong @ May 9 2011, 03:07 PM)
I have same thought like when I bought my first house with my gf. But in few years your salary will increase, properly double or triple or quadruple of you earn now. It is not going to be a problem, I believe probably in one or two years time you gonna enjoy same lifestyle again ...
I'm worried like what the rest here say. What if shit happens? what if we are hit by another economic crisis?

Also, the pay here in melaka, increases like 100+ annually, That's about the same as the cost of inflation.

It's a big gamble.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: May 9 2011, 03:37 PM
TheDoer
post May 9 2011, 05:15 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ May 9 2011, 04:02 PM)
You don't want to wait for the Gov "My First Home" offer? Below 220k quite a steal if the it is built by reputable developers...
ah... worth considering... hmm.gif

but with all gov schemes there's always a catch.

Like the PTPTN loan interest reduction.
TheDoer
post May 9 2011, 05:17 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ May 9 2011, 05:12 PM)
oh no
u also succumb to it liao...
shakehead.gif
Tell you when I have.

Decision not made yet.

Anyway, I won't speculate like the rest. haha...

When all resort runs out, the prop price will see an adjustment, mark my words.
TheDoer
post May 10 2011, 08:56 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ May 9 2011, 05:36 PM)
whatever ur decision is
i support u man (moral support)
Thanks. I appreciate it.
TheDoer
post May 12 2011, 10:16 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ May 12 2011, 10:04 AM)
loan - RM220k
DP - RM 0
tenure - 30 yrs
int. - 4.5%
monthly payment = RM1115
Wah... crazy... they expect people with household income of Rm3000 to take a loan of RM1115?

RM220K, sounds more like something for an exec.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: May 12 2011, 10:19 AM
TheDoer
post May 12 2011, 10:27 AM

1,853 posts

I did a quick calculation recently on monthly expense.

Assuming

Breakfast RM3 (roti + teh tarikh)
Lunch RM5 (Economy Rice + sky juice)
Dinner RM5 (Economy Rice + sky juice)
Total RM 13
13 * 30 days = RM 390

Which would be roughly RM400 permonth perperson. If I am making RM1500, and I pay RM 500 for a house loan I share with my wife. I am left with RM600 for everything else including, bills(phone, electric, water,newspaper subscription), children's food, children's education, babysitter fees, petrol, transport maintenance bill, insurance, household items (soap, shampoo, toothpaste)....

the list goes on.

How can they afford RM500 if they are making RM1500 each?

This post has been edited by TheDoer: May 12 2011, 10:29 AM
TheDoer
post May 12 2011, 02:03 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ May 12 2011, 11:02 AM)
with salary RM1500, why must one buy a house? for me, rent a room 1st... work harder to increase personal income
If parents can support, then is different scenario
Yeah but the houses were meant for those with 3K household income right? It is simply not logical.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0731sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:44 PM