Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

AVFAN
post Apr 13 2011, 09:46 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Apr 13 2011, 09:29 AM)
commodity prices now diving will add pressure to the aussie mkt.

interestingly, this was articulated in a long article in the same website in dec 2010, was posted in this forum:

Australia is finally poised to crash with massively rising housing inventory and multiple failed property auctions. The Australian economy will be in shambles when housing collapses. Imagine what happens when China slows and commodity prices sink as well. The Australian stock market could be in for one nasty spill.
http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com...of-chicken.html

AVFAN
post Apr 13 2011, 12:23 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Apr 13 2011, 11:57 AM)
Yesterday, it's my first time heard my colleague (foreigner) said Living in Malaysia is damn EXPENSIVE...LOL
malaysia was a relatively cheap place to live until recent times, despite subsides on essentials.
it is now "expensive" not because petrol or nasi lemak prices are priced high in an absolute sense, but is the low and stagnant income levels.

in the previous page, someone asked how was income and house prices 30-40 yrs ago compared to now.
if not mistaken, back 30 yrs ago, a new terrace house in PJ cost <100K, fresh honors grads get paid 1.5k.
today, same new house in klang is priced 400-500k, salary 2-2.5k, with exceptions, of course.
the same thing happend to cars, healthcare, etc.

how young people buy homes and cars these days? debt and more debt.
until real income levels rise, more young people will leave for better pay jobs overseas.
until real income levels rise, more debt will pile up - and this is not sustainable.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 13 2011, 12:26 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 13 2011, 07:58 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Apr 13 2011, 06:44 PM)
Please recheck ur math too.

30k in 40yrs become 800k.

6.7% x 2 = 13.4% increase per yr?  hmm.gif
no ler... said bought subsale at 60k. not 30k.
my math ok wan... tongue.gif
the point is... residential houses is not that great as investment except for certain periods.

QUOTE(kochin @ Apr 11 2011, 01:37 PM)
hahaha.
my aunt is subsale.
original price is rm30k!
i think that was about 30 to 40 years ago lah.

PS: say current value at rm800k
that's rm740k profit over say 40 years.
that still works out to >30% compounded annual return. rclxub.gif
This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 13 2011, 08:20 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 16 2011, 02:28 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(novabankinghall @ Apr 16 2011, 01:46 PM)
At this stage when gov just started to impose more restriction to invest (so to call speculators), the more they react immediately to buy as soon as possible (higher is the BLR, higher is the installment thus lesser is the cash flow).

is gomen really trying to stop the speculative buying? or actually encouraging the opposite?
on one hand, impose ltv70, on the other, the banks go from blr-2.1 to blr-2.4.
if gomen really want to stop this, they wud hv set tighter blr and reserves, impose higher rpgt. but they won't, not now.
as we know, if that happens, construction/prop dev grind to a halt, where to get gdp growth to win erections?
for same reason, notice how fast they propse, approve and award mrt contracts?

in a situation like this, many losers, many winners.
most losers from working class, poorer ones.
biggest winners are the rich, ones on the inside or the connected ones to the inside.
dun forget, before the props get launched, hundreds of mils already made by some with land deals.
AVFAN
post Apr 18 2011, 03:54 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 18 2011, 02:33 PM)
Many of the Chinese who speculate in the property market can't even afford to live in the houses themselves. They will pool savings from several friends and family members and get loans to buy the property in the hopes of reselling it and distributing the profit to everyone. So no single person can afford to personally live in the property even when it isn't sold. In the meantime, they can still live eight persons to a room to save money to invest. How long can this kind of demand last?
this is a good observation, same situation locally here.
check around with the master speculators.
vast majority live in modest apts/condos or terrace houses but gorenging multiple units of luxury highrise, smds, etc.
won't find an nvestor living in a bungalow goreng just 1-2 apts or small houses.
"eat cannot afford, gamble can".
like someone said before, "live by the sword, die by the sword"!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 18 2011, 03:55 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 19 2011, 11:52 AM

24,465 posts

before putting all yr money and debt into prop, pls think about having enough to eat and keep yr car or not!!

ok, i am sure some will say everything still cheap in malayisa incl homes...

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...rchasing-power/
AVFAN
post Apr 19 2011, 04:20 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Apr 19 2011, 03:44 PM)
haha....later yr teh tarik n nasi lemak also add another 0 on the bills  cry.gif
maybe the only way increase purchasing power is let our ringgit rise  hmm.gif
a currency can only appreciate against others if there is a lot of foreign exchange buying the currency, i.e. foreign inv coming in an/or high production exports to earn foreign currency. good example is sgd - this island attracts lots of foreign money, tourist$ and foreigners buying the props.
if you look at the rm performace in the last few years, it has depr against all major currecncies except the usd - that's because usa released >1.5 trillion new money via quantitative easing to relieve themselves of the massive debt and to keep the liquidity going, knowing inflation will rise, which has happened, of course. then again, usa is a big economy that can hold better and longer.
until msia incr productio&productivity, export more, attract more fdi (and not capital flight as we know), rise in int rates - no chance rm will rise. fyi, it is now fast approaching sgd 1 = rm2.5. pushing property prices with easy lending for local buyers does not help the strength of the currency.
QUOTE(CKHong @ Apr 19 2011, 03:52 PM)
got any links saying what is BTS ?
i googled.. came out terminal BTS ... etc etc
you mean build-then-sell? according to this artilce, the government is expected to make the BTS system mandatory by 2015.
bts will have massive implications. politically, no chance since many small crony type develoeprs will get sudden death, no more gravy train.
http://www.theedgeproperty.com/news-a-view...ays-banker.html
AVFAN
post Apr 19 2011, 04:33 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Apr 19 2011, 04:29 PM)
i tot someone here said alot foreign buyers buying up our properties cos is dirt cheap  tongue.gif
look like not enough to push increase in RM

btw i really dunno what will happen to property if Gov do intro GST
the foreign buying is very small compared to total.

gst... if they do it today, there'll probably be riots...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 19 2011, 04:33 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 21 2011, 11:56 PM

24,465 posts

all gomens in the world bs about inflation data. a matter of how far they go.
for klang valley, maybe more accurate in reality if we take official figure x 5!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 21 2011, 11:57 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 23 2011, 11:18 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Apr 23 2011, 11:01 PM)
I mean the initial payment is cheaper than subsale  smile.gif
subsale we need to fork our ~2x of the price we pay for new launch
lower initial payment, i.e. affordability cut 3 ways:
1. easier for genuine homebuyers
2. easier for speculators
3. easier for developers to sell

major side effect = ballooning debt.
maybe some see that as rising income, people getting richer, good gdp growth.
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2011, 12:50 PM

24,465 posts

With soaring prices, pressure on Najib to continue pumping subsidies

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

Analysts and politicians believe that problems affecting the economy — distorted and inefficient markets, lack of competition, low wages and a weak ringgit — will be the biggest problem for the BN administration as the country heads into the next general election, speculated to be held by year end
more and more comments/reports like this coming out.

how long can gomen hold with these subsidies? when they give up or give up partially, price of everything except wages will rise like hell.
yes, inflation theoretically should push prop prices further up, but think again in our current local context...
at a certain point, many people will barely be able to afford the essentials - food, petrol, medical, edu, how to service hefty loans?
and if at that certain point, int rates forced to rise, what happens then?

majority of mysians rich-rich, continue to buy, any price for prop still buy?
which pops will take a hit first?
which ones will hold a little better?
which ones will still up-up-up... if any?
AVFAN
post Apr 26 2011, 07:23 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Apr 26 2011, 07:08 PM)
Coming election, if we don't go for government change, we all sink ship together.
this change will not happen yet, the sinking deepens.
QUOTE(Bobby C @ Apr 26 2011, 07:11 PM)
Bet most of the debt arise from buying new cars.

no, cars are behind housing debt.
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/breakin....mohamed-idris/
QUOTE(kochin @ Apr 26 2011, 06:40 PM)
time to separate the man from the boys!
can only guess u r one of the privileged boys?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 26 2011, 07:25 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 27 2011, 09:35 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Apr 27 2011, 09:07 AM)
My brother and I are took the same career path but he is 12 years older than me. When he graduated, with his salary he bought a civic twin cam turbo (days before proton). When I graduated all I could afford was a kelisa. My brother's first house was a double storey terrace house while mine is a studio apartment. I'm not doing that badly career wise but certainly when it comes to salary vs spending power my brother was much better off when he was my age.

the difference is even more pronounced if your brother is >20yrs older!
the explanation is well known - the seeds for wealth were not not planted properly but either squandered on bad soil or stolen outright.

given the adamance not to admit it and change, this condition will persist. mysian's used to wonder why filipino nurses with basic degrees come to work here as maids. the day mysians go abroad to work as maids and coolies is not an impossibility. unless you have strong fama bank support, the future isn't bright for the younger gen, that much is clear.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 27 2011, 09:37 AM
AVFAN
post Apr 27 2011, 01:42 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 27 2011, 01:26 PM)
Minimum wages policy won't able to lead nation into high income.

If you set minimum wages at Rm1000, then those above Rm1000 is not going to be affected, same income.
Those earn Rm800, now getting Rm1000 due to minimum wages, but employer may feel profit margin being squeezed or no profit at all, so raise the product, the wages increase back to square 1.
Wages increase 20%, goods increase 20%, house increase 20%, you get zero benefit in the process.

High income is not about minimum wages.
High income is about your country able to produce more and more valued added product.
For eg.
Instead export timber log directly at Rm1000, now you set up local mill, furniture factory, turn the timber into high class furniture which can be export and sold at Rm5,000.
You valued added Rm4,000 locally, as compared export raw timber log Rm 1000
There is extra Rm4,000 opportunities created, money being earned, can be spreaded to more wages to more people locally.

Increase salary blindly or can mean straight away can turn country into high income earner without any output increment.
productivity is the word.

i remember an expert said that if competitive productivity is factored into some industries, wages need to be cut by 20%. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 28 2011, 11:44 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Apr 28 2011, 10:53 PM)
new start = new construction starts....some need 2 years to complete, some need 3 years and some need 4 years, even got some take more than 4 years. thus the numbers will not reflect a perfect situation.

same as new completion.
it still doesn't add up - 8 yrs in a row, completion > new starts . lots of units started >8 yrs ago, now slowly coming onstream?
more likely data is screwed up or massaged like inflation to make you feel good, buy more since shortage, shortage!! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 28 2011, 11:45 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 30 2011, 01:08 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ Apr 30 2011, 12:09 AM)
Calling all property sifus!

I begin to doubt the reliability of the statistics.

1) According to the table in the report, annual house price changes is the highest in Sabah, then followed by Terengganu, Perlis, Pahang, then only come Kuala Lumpur and then only Penang at 9th. Guess what? Selangor is 3rd from the bottom!

2) Figure 29 says house price has lagged income growth! Now, this is shocking to me. All this while we are talking about salary not growing as fast as rise in property prices. Now, I AM CONFUSED.

3) To make it even more confusing, Figure 28 says Affordability index is coming down! This contradicts the above.

Please explain to young ciku here. notworthy.gif
does a bank making billions with prop loans ever write something that tells people to run, things are not looking good?
such reports, read with a big pinch of salt.
remember we have massive brain drain, so maybe no more brains to write truthful reports. tongue.gif

Added on April 30, 2011, 1:19 am
QUOTE(super911 @ Apr 30 2011, 12:53 AM)
Valuation is still quite ok. In fact I just check with the banker with some landed properties in puchong puteri and bandar kinrara. They are able to give full value. I believe the reason subsale and loan applications drop is because of the LTV 70% thingy. Investors and speculators now cannot suka suka buy 5, 10 biji properties anymore coz they have to fork out 3 times more downpayment as compared with last time. So less speculators and investors, less activities lor.
i dun think that many people buy subsale to invest or speculate. they almost always buy new for that.
subsale activity is a good indicator for own stay buying.
there is no doubt susbales have slowed considerably in the last few months.
ltv70 is a factor but the main explanation is prices have gone high enough to turn own stay buyers off.
100% loan is a sure firestarter for speculating new, but may not be so for someone buying subsale for own stay.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 30 2011, 01:21 AM
AVFAN
post May 4 2011, 11:43 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(MFLooi @ May 4 2011, 11:27 AM)
‘Unholy alliances’ to blame for exorbitant property prices, says HBA
By Lee Wei Lian May 04, 2011

The association recommended that the government implement stronger measures to deter speculation. — world-stay.com pic
KUALA LUMPUR, May 4 — The National House Buyers Association (HBA) has criticised the apparent collusion between some developers, valuers and banks for pushing up property prices to levels which it called “exorbitant” and said that stronger measures are needed to deter speculation.
HBA said in a statement that in addition to low interest rates and easy credit which had fuelled speculative activity, greed had taken over the market.

“A ‘unholy alliance’ exists between certain developers, valuers and banks,” said HBA.

“In an environment of hot demand, the banks work in cahoots with developers assisted by those wayward valuers. Our ‘teh tarik syndrome’ is also very relevant. When the price of condensed milk increases by 20 sen, the entire cost ‘teh tarik’ increases by 20 sen. Similarly, when the cost of construction increases by 20 per cent, the equivalent cost of housing increases.”

we know this for a long time already. only now some officials speak up.
yet we some claim prices go up due to inflation, natural event, cheaper than other countries, upupup...
the more impt question is why is gomen and bnm doing little about it.
with property loans ballooning to all time highs, what happens to gdp and the rest of the economy if they stop all these frantic or greedy buying?
AVFAN
post May 6 2011, 10:56 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ May 6 2011, 10:43 AM)
Would banks increase thier loan rate offers now as well? Currently the best offer is BLR-2.4%.
banks normally raise their blrs in tandem with increase in bnm's opr. maybe already by today.
but banks can do blr -2.6%, blr -2.8.0% if they want to for certain amounts and promotions.

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ May 6 2011, 10:37 AM)
Simple, if sugar price drop, will the mamak drop the teh tarik price? tongue.gif
If building material price drop, developer claims labour cost up
If labor cost drop, developer claims land cost up
If developer's land cost cheap, they will claim building material cost up..
It go on and go on...
that much we know. prices of dev launches will never drop if the banks are in cahoots with dev and their ever incr prices for new ones.
but banks seem to be far less generous with subsale houses valuation - even for 99% same house, completed somemore.
one explanation is banks feel safer lending to jacked up prices thru developers where it is much easier to deal in bulk since vast majority are speculators, only too eager to borrow and sign w/o questioning!! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 6 2011, 10:59 AM
AVFAN
post May 6 2011, 02:13 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ May 6 2011, 01:29 PM)
so, which do u prefer?

slow economy --> affordable lower cost house (like 5-20 years ago with the protected NEP)
fast economy (like china model)--> high price house (after najib etp?)

we actually now have:

very slow economy --> unaffordable housing (with the protected NEP)
AVFAN
post May 6 2011, 03:12 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ May 6 2011, 02:58 PM)
it is unaffordable now coz many speculators /investors /foreigners expect msia economy will transform to faster growth economy (after ETP/NEM ) , that is why masia prop suddenly increased after ETP , NEM annoucement.  same like Vietnam, China transformation...(from a closed econ to open econ). the prop price shot up and many cant afford.

So if ETP succeeded, msia prop will shot up further (not 30-50%, but 2x, 3x, 4x etc like Shanghai). if ETP failed, we will back to old days (price dropped to 2-3 years ago), what is your bet??
let's just say i'm not as optimistic as you are about this etp. but that's ok, up to one to take a position.

long time ago, mysia considered mini tiger following s korea, sing, taiwan. looks like now, it's lumped with cambodia, armenia, azerbaijan!!
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...house-says-adb/

will take a lot more than one big noise etp to make a country wealthy.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 6 2011, 03:13 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0681sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:34 PM