Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 : iPad challenger ?, A Prelude to an official thread later

TSbenny888
post Mar 6 2011, 06:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

A user handson demo Honeycomb on the Tab 10.1
World Exclusive !!!! the first video test of the NEW Android Honeycomb Tablet. Samsung GALAXY Tab 10.1 is your ultimate entertainer, delivering multimedia tablet experience at the grandest scale ever
Watch Full HD movies, take 8MP photos, and play games or surf Flash websites on the large 10.1" display and dual surround sound speakers
Everything runs smoother, faster and better with the powerful 1GHz Dual Core Processor and Android 3.0, Honeycomb platform.
Incredibly lightweight at just 599g and yet still fully loaded with features, Samsung GALAXY Tab 10.1 is your consummate entertrainer and it's always ready to perf
orm

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 13 2011, 04:05 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 20 2011, 09:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h_bib @ Mar 20 2011, 09:25 AM)
will be lunch this 23rd march ???

This is for the 8.9" model

Added on March 23, 2011, 10:49 amSamsung officially unveiled Galaxy Tab 8.9 and new Galaxy Tab 10.1 at CTIA 2011 : Link below on report with pics and videos

The first thing advertised about the two tablets is that they are the thinnest mobile tablets available on the market! The GALAXY Tab 10.1 weights 595 grams, 8.9 version weighs 470 grams and both have 1280×800 resolution displays and are 8.6 mm thin (Ipad 2 – 8.8mm thin). Both Galaxy Tabs will receive Android 3.0 Honeycomb on top of which “Samsung TouchWiz UX” is added.

The new TouchWiz 4.0 will come with a Live Panel menu in which users will be able to customize their content to display a variety of content such as digital pictures, favourite Web Sites and social network feeds. Also an application tray is included which will provide features such as task manager, music player and calendar which can be launched any time.

Galaxy Tab 8.9 and 10.1 will be running on a 1GHz dual core processor, will support HSPA+ network speeds of up to 21Mbps, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi 802.11 /b/g/n/ connectivity, will be available in 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB configurations, with a microSD slot that can expand storage by an additional 32GB. In addition, Galaxy Tab 10.1 will come with a surround-sound stereo speakers that “will deliver premium entertainment experience whether watching videos, movies or playing games.”

Regarding entertainment the Galaxy Tab 8.9 and 10.1 will feature a 3 megapixel rear camera and a 2 megapixel front camera, offering a great 1080p HD video and Flash 10.2 playback for a rich entertainment experience. Also both slates will come pre-loaded with Readers Hub and Music Hub “giving consumers instant access to more than 2.2 million books, 2,000 newspaper (49 languages), 2,300 magazines (22 languages), and 13 million songs”.

Lastly,Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 and Galaxy Tab 10.1 are expected to ship worldwide this summer with WI-FI and HSPA+ versions. Galaxy Tab 10.1 WI-FI will cost $499 is US for the 16GB model, $599 for the 32GB model and will be available on June 8. The Wi-FI Galaxy Tab 8.9 will cost $469 for the 16GB model, $569 for the 32GB model and will be available earlier this summer. Also the LTE and WiMax versions will be out later this year but price and carriers have not been announced yet

http://www.thegalaxytab.com/2011/03/22/sam...s-images-specs/

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 23 2011, 10:49 AM
TSbenny888
post Mar 23 2011, 11:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Android Central video at CTIA 2011

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 23 2011, 11:06 AM
TSbenny888
post Mar 23 2011, 11:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Another hands on review :

http://androidcommunity.com/samsung-galaxy...ds-on-20110322/

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 23 2011, 11:17 AM
TSbenny888
post Apr 20 2011, 11:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Honeycomb on Tab 10.1 ( In Vietnamese )

TSbenny888
post May 18 2011, 10:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ May 18 2011, 09:37 PM)
galaxy tab 10.1 can make call rite? just like galaxy tab?
I don't think so, as so far this feature was never mentioned in all the reviews I have read
TSbenny888
post May 30 2011, 05:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Singapore prices announced - availability July 2011

Wi-Fi version priced at S$668 / S$798 / S$928 for 16/32/64GB variants.

3G version priced at S$848 / S$978 / S$1168 for 16/32/64GB variants.
TSbenny888
post May 30 2011, 07:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(zeok @ May 30 2011, 07:19 PM)
source?
From hardwarezone.com.sg facebook page
TSbenny888
post Jun 20 2011, 02:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The absence of a micro SD card in the 10.1 is really a letdown. I don't know how Samsung is thinking. Making it comparable to the iPad is not enough. Everyone knows the iPad2 has a big share and Samsung needs to differentiate it with at least a better hardware options to attract potential buyers.
Even my 10 inch Acer Iconia has a microSD card and even a FULL usb oport . These 2 features , I consider are really great . If Acer can put it in, why not Samsung. And the Iconia 32GB is only selling RM 1500 and I am very happy with it ; it has yet to disappoint me
TSbenny888
post Jun 21 2011, 09:15 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jun 21 2011, 08:49 AM)
this really put me into dillema.......dun know which 1 to get edi.... sweat.gif
i buy stuff that has more features if price reasonable. no point buying a nice looking gadget even with better performance but handicap in features
eg ipad i will buy with 3g/wifi. wifi only i will not as straightaway handicapped. memory at least midway 32gb
once you start using you feel sore thatwith limited hardware festures ou lose flexibility what and how you wish to do
people will argue performance but after using so many types i find this is weak argumrnt. seriously does the extra milliseconds that crucial
TSbenny888
post Jun 22 2011, 12:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jun 22 2011, 12:01 PM)
what??? no micro sd card slot? might as well throw the device into the sea. Although i'm really tempted because it looks gorgeous. and my xoom's very heavy and thisi 10.1" tablet i believe is the lightest out there.
Is the XOOM microSD card slot working now ? When released t was non functional
TSbenny888
post Jun 25 2011, 05:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Jun 25 2011, 02:25 PM)
Question!

It is possible to download the stylus based apps & features from the HTC flyer into Galaxy 10.1? Or the stylus based apps are just exclusively meant for HTC flyer tablets only???

dont think so. some day a xda guy will have crack it. another issue is the touchscreen which htc said is proprietary designed for pen; dunno true or not
TSbenny888
post Jun 26 2011, 07:11 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 26 2011, 07:05 PM)
Guys, im considering a tablet but i do not know its efficiency in terms of doing documents making and editing.. im a student here and will tablets is able to sorta perform documents and worksheet editing quite well?

Its hard to mention this in words, but what i wish is to do assignments, type out stuffs, copy from net then edit, justify, add tables and few charts (charts is too advanced i guess) but at least is it easy to type out an essay in paragraphs and few bullets which sounds sufficient already to do assignments..

So my question goes to is an app able to do those and an external keyboard will help me to type faster.. sry if i didnt say my point clearly.. im know that a tablet is good for reading but im not sure if its appopriate to enhance productivity cuz usually ppl will say "just go get a netbook/notebook and not expect too much on tablets"

What does a tablet or even a Galaxy Tab 10.1 user here can say about this. In advance,i appreciate all of your comments and opinions regarding this
As a student and for your purpose buy at least a netbook. Forget about tablets - these are supplementary gadgets. It is an inefficient tool for doing work .
I am willing to pay RM7k for the Early MacBook Air for my son but I will never pay RM 3000 for an iPad. To me money spend must equate to NEEDS and PRIORITIES not wants/desires. This rule is not applicable if your parents has very deep pockets and few thousand ringgit is small change

Added on June 26, 2011, 7:14 pm
QUOTE(petpet007 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:58 PM)
is that possible the Tab can use in meeting for hand writing note? anyone can advice the 10.1" able to increase efficiency in office work?
For this ONLY the HTC Flyer 7" will meet perfectly your needs - it comes with HTC proprietary touchscreen designed and matching pen and software. Other tablets, you can take down notes but is slow, final output is horrible, irregular as is supported by 3rd party apps which does not offer a good 100% solution.

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 26 2011, 07:14 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 3 2011, 12:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jul 2 2011, 10:37 PM)
apparently Indonesia received gtab 10.1 ahead of malaysia and singapore.

it's already sold officially in indonesia.

can refer here.
http://www.kaskus.us/showthread.php?p=463427761

from the discussion i guess official price or deal price is Rp4.5 million, which is more or less the price in the US.
There are already sellers at garage sales selling the 10.1 model. Just google for it there

16GB wifi about RM 2000- 2100 and 32 GB wifi at RM 2300-2400

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 3 2011, 12:22 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 01:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(darkcroation @ Jul 5 2011, 01:24 PM)
galaxy tab 10.1 can call??i heard my fren keep insist can make phone call>.<...he dun believe me canot call...isit true??
Ask user irenic at SGS II thread or htc Sensation thread - he has bought it. And based on what I have read so far, the 10.1 CANNOT make calls
Or just ask those sellers at garage sales

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 01:29 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 13 2011, 11:53 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

alieamin : Any tips /leak on when the 8.9" will be avaialble ?
TSbenny888
post Jul 14 2011, 04:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 14 2011, 03:43 PM)
o.O where?
Thread closed
official thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1957357

0.0293sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:05 PM