124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V11, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

yiivei
post Feb 23 2011, 08:21 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

1. Brand: either Nokia or SE
2. Budget: RM500-RM1k
3. Specs: Decent Camera + Walkman + 3G (for video call)
4. Type/Size: no touchscreen and flip

Other than W995, is there any other recommendation? TQ
holoman
post Feb 23 2011, 08:51 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

guys,please suggest me any nokia phone
price under rm500
for my mum
Quantum_thinking
post Feb 23 2011, 09:40 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Feb 23 2011, 06:06 PM)
Hi, i am new here. I've been following this thread from v10, since i am planning to get a new phone.
Just wanna ask some opinion here. My budget is around 1k, expand to 1.2k, 1.3k still possible ( If worth the price.)
I've done quite some survey and research myself.
I've come down to 3 devices.
Samsung wave II , Samsung galaxy Ace and SE Xperia x10

SE X10 is not really my choice due the limitation of software altho hardware wise it is bang for the bucks. And if possible i try not to mess with custom rom, rooting and etc ( but actually i think i can, i deal with my pc thingys as well, never try with phone though.)

Samsung wave II is just what i want hardware wise, but Bada OS can be a problem. My sis is a bada user, i play with it and i am ok with the os itself. But just the apps ( don't even offers decent twitter, fb, messenger apps. Games was ok though. ). Knew about Bada 2.0 and its looking promising features, but i really question myself, does it worth my wait and risk ?

Galaxy Ace is ok and only RM900+. Feature wise is still ok, but i wanna ask can problem like non-flash enabled be solved ? Ace don't support flash right ? Problem such as low quality recording doesn't really bother me though. But, i've read a lot of opinions and reviews that Ace have terrible battery life of 1350mAh, which some user's Ace can't even tahan 1 day. This is important for me cause i dislike charging, and i always bring my phone out for trips like 2/3 days ( minimal uses only if i travel ). And i heard that, samsung just don't provide efficient support and software ( example, no android 2.3 ) for those low and mid range phones.

Kinda long, but i will appreciate any opinions and comments from the sifus. Lastly, Xperia Pro/ Arc suits me as well, but any ideas when it will released and the price tag ? Worth the wait ?

Thanks ~
The issue about mobile phone technology is that if user want cheap, they have to use a lower specification, but it is usable. You may say that Xperia X10's hardware is not ideal to support with the Android or whatever, but just keep in mind that when it is first released, it cost about 2k +. I also expect the same as well for the Xperia Arc.

For me, i rather wait for bada to develop and when it is on the rise like the Android, only then i invest in it.

If you want to enjoy frequent software updates, why not check out some model for the HTCs? They seems very consistent in providing software updates for the Android OS.

QUOTE(yiivei @ Feb 23 2011, 08:21 PM)
1. Brand: either Nokia or SE
2. Budget: RM500-RM1k
3. Specs: Decent Camera + Walkman + 3G (for video call)
4. Type/Size: no touchscreen and flip

Other than W995, is there any other recommendation? TQ
What does your "decent camera" means? hmm.gif 3.2MP or 5 MP like that?

QUOTE(holoman @ Feb 23 2011, 08:51 PM)
guys,please suggest me any nokia phone
price under rm500
for my mum
If your mum does not use the wifi, Nokia C5-00 is a good choice.
RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 09:56 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 09:40 PM)
The issue about mobile phone technology is that if user want cheap, they have to use a lower specification, but it is usable. You may say that Xperia X10's hardware is not ideal to support with the Android or whatever, but just keep in mind that when it is first released, it cost about 2k +. I also expect the same as well for the Xperia Arc.

For me, i rather wait for bada to develop and when it is on the rise like the Android, only then i invest in it.

If you want to enjoy frequent software updates, why not check out some model for the HTCs? They seems very consistent in providing software updates for the Android OS.
Thanks for the info that Arc might comes with 2K price tag.
How about Neo and pro ? I know we won't know for sure, but since you guys have experience on previous SE batches of xperia, any guesses ?

Software update is just a factor me though. For me, HTC is a lil bit of overpriced in term of what they offer. And HTC that comes in my budget, like wildfire etc... just don't really like them.

Anyway thanks sifu.

waitingwaiting
post Feb 23 2011, 10:05 PM

1. Brand: motorola , nokia n samsung
2. Budget:RM1k-1.7k
3. Specs:android
4. Type/Size: touchscreen

Motorola MILESTONE XT720,Motorola MILESTONE 2 n Samsung i897 Captivate
which 1 is better?
XeactorZ
post Feb 23 2011, 10:09 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(waitingwaiting @ Feb 23 2011, 10:05 PM)
1. Brand: motorola , nokia n samsung
2. Budget:RM1k-1.7k
3. Specs:android

Motorola MILESTONE XT720,Motorola MILESTONE 2 n Samsung i897 Captivate
which 1 is better?
actually for android phone recommendation,ask it at the link better
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1502385

nokia sure out already,because it don't have android OS phone

Quantum_thinking
post Feb 23 2011, 10:13 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Feb 23 2011, 09:56 PM)
Thanks for the info that Arc might comes with 2K price tag.
How about Neo and pro ? I know we won't know for sure, but since you guys have experience on previous SE batches of xperia, any guesses ?

Software update is just a factor me though. For me, HTC is a lil bit of overpriced in term of what they offer. And HTC that comes in my budget, like wildfire etc... just don't really like them.

Anyway thanks sifu.
Well, don't call me sifu. I am just a person that is familiar with this kind of stuff only.

I am not into the SE phones, but i do look at the famous models such as Xperia Arc and Samsung Galaxy S.

Hmm, let's not talk about Apple overpriced most of its famous product like the ipad and iphone.

Another issue is that the costs. If you do read the news about foxconn, you know that the employees is also human and also demand wages hike.

That is excluding the delivery costs, overhead costs and the need to maintain profit margin.

With all of these factors, it is normal to see higher price for the smartphones especially for those models running on Android as it is a growing trend now and people are willing to pay for it.

Inflation is one of the many factors behind all of these price surge. It does not applies to mobile phones only. Others like food and clothes also rising.

HTC is not overpriced in my opinion. However, please be reminded that if the phone is not in the market for more than 6 months, please do not expect the price is good for consumer as the phone manufacturer wants to recover the phone development costs first and make good profit before better specification phones from competitors arrive in the market.

Also, please be reminded that at the time when HTC wildfire, Aria, Samsung Galaxy 5 being released, their price is higher than what they are right now. Why?

One of the reason is that at that time, it is consider one of the good phones in the market as the current and better phones have not arrive yet.

The consumer at that time are willing to spend more money as they do not have any other option to choose and thus their expectation will be lower compared to now.

Once there are better phones on the market, the price for it will drop and the expectation of the consumer will rise.

I used to aim for the Xperia X10, but now i aim for Xperia Arc as their specification are real good and I seriously do not know how long this "aiming" game would last. tongue.gif

So choose the phone model according to your needs. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Feb 23 2011, 10:17 PM
crazycrazyman
post Feb 23 2011, 10:24 PM

What about that?
2,706 posts

guys...would like to answe... HTC DHD, SGS, and Ip4...comparing this 3 phone...which one is more friendly use? or which one do you recommend to pruchase?
RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 10:28 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 10:13 PM)
Well, don't call me sifu. I am just a person that is familiar with this kind of stuff only.

I am not into the SE phones, but i do look at the famous models such as Xperia Arc and Samsung Galaxy S.

Hmm, let's not talk about Apple overpriced most of its famous product like the ipad and iphone.

Another issue is that the costs. If you do read the news about foxconn, you know that the employees is also human and also demand wages hike.

That is excluding the delivery costs, overhead costs and the need to maintain profit margin.

With all of these factors, it is normal to see higher price for the smartphones especially for those models running on Android as it is a growing trend now and people are willing to pay for it.

Inflation is one of the many factors behind all of these price surge. It does not applies to mobile phones only. Others like food and clothes also rising.

HTC is not overpriced in my opinion. However, please be reminded that if the phone is not in the market for more than 6 months, please do not expect the price is good for consumer as the phone manufacturer wants to recover the phone development costs first and make good profit before better specification phones from competitors arrive in the market.

Also, please be reminded that at the time when HTC wildfire, Aria, Samsung Galaxy 5 being released, their price is higher than what they are right now. Why?

One of the reason is that at that time, it is consider one of the good phones in the market as the current and better phones have not arrive yet.

The consumer at that time are willing to spend more money as they do not have any other option to choose and thus their expectation will be lower compared to now.

Once there are better phones on the market, the price for it will drop and the expectation of the consumer will rise.

I used to aim for the Xperia X10, but now i aim for Xperia Arc as their specification are real good and I seriously do not know how long this "aiming" game would last.  tongue.gif

So choose the phone model according to your needs.  wink.gif
Nice saying. I understand the strategy as well. I attend my economic class, LOL.
I do agree that HTC have its pricing right for masses, for its branding and reputation. But not for my wallet only ><
And yea, i do choose accordingly. I uses 1 month to build my pc rig. But now i think choosing a phone is harder .... good if i can mix n match like a desktop.

I don't aim too high though, budget comes 1st.
But any idea, when the new xperia coming out ? End of Q2 ?
XeactorZ
post Feb 23 2011, 10:38 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Feb 23 2011, 10:24 PM)
guys...would like to answe... HTC DHD, SGS, and Ip4...comparing this 3 phone...which one is more friendly use? or which one do you recommend to pruchase?
it just like android vs iOS
depends on u,which you more interested
crazycrazyman
post Feb 23 2011, 10:44 PM

What about that?
2,706 posts

for iOS, i love vege samurai....for android..i love the interface...what am i suppose to do?? OMG!
Quantum_thinking
post Feb 23 2011, 11:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Feb 23 2011, 10:28 PM)
Nice saying. I understand the strategy as well. I attend my economic class, LOL.
I do agree that HTC have its pricing right for masses, for its branding and reputation. But not for my wallet only ><
And yea, i do choose accordingly. I uses 1 month to build my pc rig. But now i think choosing a phone is harder .... good if i can mix n match like a desktop.

I don't aim too high though, budget comes 1st.
But any idea, when the new xperia coming out ? End of Q2 ?
It is said that the Xperia Arc would be released next month. shocking.gif

Yeah. Just too bad that you cannot buy handphone battery, processor, RAM, housing and bla bla like the desktop.
RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 11:06 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 11:02 PM)
It is said that the Xperia Arc would be released next month.  shocking.gif

Yeah. Just too bad that you cannot buy handphone battery, processor, RAM, housing and bla bla like the desktop.
Next month ?? Then xperia neo/pro as well ?
I read that neo and pro is more of mid range phone ?
If so, i should wait. 1 month is worth the wait.
All the new phones announced at MWC2011 are just pure attractive, design wise, spec wise drool.gif
wuwah
post Feb 23 2011, 11:27 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Feb 23 2011, 10:44 PM)
for iOS, i love vege samurai....for android..i love the interface...what am i suppose to do?? OMG!
u said earlier user interface.. iOS get best user interface offered. but well, if u don't want to stuck on the mostly factory setting there, get the DHD if u want to lots of customization.
crazycrazyman
post Feb 23 2011, 11:32 PM

What about that?
2,706 posts

yea..DHD seems better....for Iphone i just want to play vege samurai...
wuwah
post Feb 24 2011, 01:07 AM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Feb 23 2011, 11:32 PM)
yea..DHD seems better....for Iphone i just want to play vege samurai...
it also have in androids.. its the same apps with different name. I tried d
sos: https://market.android.com/search?q=veggie+samurai
phantomash
post Feb 24 2011, 10:11 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 11:02 PM)
It is said that the Xperia Arc would be released next month.  shocking.gif

you can always buy a 3rd party battery biggrin.gif but not right out of the box
xeon1989
post Feb 24 2011, 01:45 PM

Member since 2008
964 posts

1. Brand: AnyBrand but no CSL please
2. Budget:around RM500, lower better biggrin.gif
3. Specs:prefer android, but no 1.6 please

I know SE X10 mini and Samsung Galaxy 5 is there, but noth of it are not my choice.
Any idea please?

This post has been edited by xeon1989: Feb 24 2011, 01:57 PM
phonebraver
post Feb 24 2011, 03:55 PM

72 posts

Brand: sony or nokia
2. Budget: below RM700
3. Specs: wifi.free gps (use satelite), camera dun wan blur image
XeactorZ
post Feb 24 2011, 04:57 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(xeon1989 @ Feb 24 2011, 01:45 PM)
1. Brand: AnyBrand but no CSL please
2. Budget:around RM500, lower better biggrin.gif
3. Specs:prefer android, but no 1.6 please
I know SE X10 mini and Samsung Galaxy 5 is there, but noth of it are not my choice.
Any idea please?
for budget around 500,u can try SE xperia x8 AP
but need top up around rm100 ~

124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:22 PM