Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V11, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 06:06 PM

63 posts

Hi, i am new here. I've been following this thread from v10, since i am planning to get a new phone.
Just wanna ask some opinion here. My budget is around 1k, expand to 1.2k, 1.3k still possible ( If worth the price.)
I've done quite some survey and research myself.
I've come down to 3 devices.
Samsung wave II , Samsung galaxy Ace and SE Xperia x10

SE X10 is not really my choice due the limitation of software altho hardware wise it is bang for the bucks. And if possible i try not to mess with custom rom, rooting and etc ( but actually i think i can, i deal with my pc thingys as well, never try with phone though.)

Samsung wave II is just what i want hardware wise, but Bada OS can be a problem. My sis is a bada user, i play with it and i am ok with the os itself. But just the apps ( don't even offers decent twitter, fb, messenger apps. Games was ok though. ). Knew about Bada 2.0 and its looking promising features, but i really question myself, does it worth my wait and risk ?

Galaxy Ace is ok and only RM900+. Feature wise is still ok, but i wanna ask can problem like non-flash enabled be solved ? Ace don't support flash right ? Problem such as low quality recording doesn't really bother me though. But, i've read a lot of opinions and reviews that Ace have terrible battery life of 1350mAh, which some user's Ace can't even tahan 1 day. This is important for me cause i dislike charging, and i always bring my phone out for trips like 2/3 days ( minimal uses only if i travel ). And i heard that, samsung just don't provide efficient support and software ( example, no android 2.3 ) for those low and mid range phones.

Kinda long, but i will appreciate any opinions and comments from the sifus. Lastly, Xperia Pro/ Arc suits me as well, but any ideas when it will released and the price tag ? Worth the wait ?

Thanks ~

This post has been edited by RhythmYun: Feb 23 2011, 06:17 PM
RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 09:56 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 09:40 PM)
The issue about mobile phone technology is that if user want cheap, they have to use a lower specification, but it is usable. You may say that Xperia X10's hardware is not ideal to support with the Android or whatever, but just keep in mind that when it is first released, it cost about 2k +. I also expect the same as well for the Xperia Arc.

For me, i rather wait for bada to develop and when it is on the rise like the Android, only then i invest in it.

If you want to enjoy frequent software updates, why not check out some model for the HTCs? They seems very consistent in providing software updates for the Android OS.
Thanks for the info that Arc might comes with 2K price tag.
How about Neo and pro ? I know we won't know for sure, but since you guys have experience on previous SE batches of xperia, any guesses ?

Software update is just a factor me though. For me, HTC is a lil bit of overpriced in term of what they offer. And HTC that comes in my budget, like wildfire etc... just don't really like them.

Anyway thanks sifu.

RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 10:28 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 10:13 PM)
Well, don't call me sifu. I am just a person that is familiar with this kind of stuff only.

I am not into the SE phones, but i do look at the famous models such as Xperia Arc and Samsung Galaxy S.

Hmm, let's not talk about Apple overpriced most of its famous product like the ipad and iphone.

Another issue is that the costs. If you do read the news about foxconn, you know that the employees is also human and also demand wages hike.

That is excluding the delivery costs, overhead costs and the need to maintain profit margin.

With all of these factors, it is normal to see higher price for the smartphones especially for those models running on Android as it is a growing trend now and people are willing to pay for it.

Inflation is one of the many factors behind all of these price surge. It does not applies to mobile phones only. Others like food and clothes also rising.

HTC is not overpriced in my opinion. However, please be reminded that if the phone is not in the market for more than 6 months, please do not expect the price is good for consumer as the phone manufacturer wants to recover the phone development costs first and make good profit before better specification phones from competitors arrive in the market.

Also, please be reminded that at the time when HTC wildfire, Aria, Samsung Galaxy 5 being released, their price is higher than what they are right now. Why?

One of the reason is that at that time, it is consider one of the good phones in the market as the current and better phones have not arrive yet.

The consumer at that time are willing to spend more money as they do not have any other option to choose and thus their expectation will be lower compared to now.

Once there are better phones on the market, the price for it will drop and the expectation of the consumer will rise.

I used to aim for the Xperia X10, but now i aim for Xperia Arc as their specification are real good and I seriously do not know how long this "aiming" game would last.  tongue.gif

So choose the phone model according to your needs.  wink.gif
Nice saying. I understand the strategy as well. I attend my economic class, LOL.
I do agree that HTC have its pricing right for masses, for its branding and reputation. But not for my wallet only ><
And yea, i do choose accordingly. I uses 1 month to build my pc rig. But now i think choosing a phone is harder .... good if i can mix n match like a desktop.

I don't aim too high though, budget comes 1st.
But any idea, when the new xperia coming out ? End of Q2 ?
RhythmYun
post Feb 23 2011, 11:06 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 23 2011, 11:02 PM)
It is said that the Xperia Arc would be released next month.  shocking.gif

Yeah. Just too bad that you cannot buy handphone battery, processor, RAM, housing and bla bla like the desktop.
Next month ?? Then xperia neo/pro as well ?
I read that neo and pro is more of mid range phone ?
If so, i should wait. 1 month is worth the wait.
All the new phones announced at MWC2011 are just pure attractive, design wise, spec wise drool.gif
RhythmYun
post Feb 24 2011, 06:06 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 24 2011, 05:16 PM)
i don't think xperia neo and pro is mid range phone lor
because they come with android 2.3
the price should be up to rm1.5k bah ~
Yea, guess so. Good spec afterall.

RhythmYun
post Feb 24 2011, 09:15 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 24 2011, 08:54 PM)
ya for sure above rm1k
QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 24 2011, 08:47 PM)
If you are willing to wait for about another 6 months or more like that, maybe the price drop within your budget range. 
Above 1K still ok, 1.5k most though.
Budget matters, but i always purchase things that worth the value of money.
Maybe 1.5k, xperia neo/pro really worth it, then i will consider or even wait.
Have to wait 1 more month for the pricing for neo though.
RhythmYun
post Feb 24 2011, 09:44 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 24 2011, 09:40 PM)
neo or pro almost same =.=
but i noe 1 got qwerty keyboard,1 don't have
i like the don't have qwerty keyboard one,lighter xD
Pro comes with keyboard.
I dun really prefer keyboard oso, but design wise, for me la
Pro is better than neo, thats why , haha
RhythmYun
post Feb 24 2011, 10:07 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 24 2011, 10:04 PM)
Depending on the person. For me, the N97 mini keyboard makes me type slower when compared to the Nokia 5800 virtual keyboard. It is a subjective matter and depend much on the user.

SE Xperia Arc is not within in his budget range and have to wait for a very long time. It would be a  shocking.gif  news if SE release it for the similar price like N8.
If arc like n8 price, sure big hits, 1 word, sapu !
But real thin hope on that. Good os + spec.
However i do think before that, If Arc 2k, SGS2 with much better spec will be how much ? Maybe high high end price.
RhythmYun
post Feb 24 2011, 10:25 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 24 2011, 10:12 PM)
Just like i say, we have high expectation because there are better phones compared to the Xperia X10, HTC wildire and etc. just pity those who have spent 2k+ to buy that phone.

Just buy according your needs. These new phone's price won't remain the same as time goes by. No point spending money like that.
Yea, make sense. Things will only degrade. But for those who can spend 2k on a phone, mayb they don't really mind.
Like my friend who own a iphone 4, 2k for him really is like RM500 for me >.<

RhythmYun
post Feb 25 2011, 08:16 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(swleow @ Feb 25 2011, 05:39 PM)
hi there,

im planning to buy new phone. wanted to get an android phone, and with qwerty keyboard preferably. smile.gif

so far, i targeted SAMSUNG GALAXY ACE. but too bad it was only touch screen (not a touch screen fan). so i hesitated on buying that one.
and i also found out Sony Ericson Xperia Pro is coming out soon (dont know when), and it was touch screen, with slide-out qwerty keyboard (which i like).

so, should i get SAMSUNG or Xperia Pro?

or, is there any other suggestions?

Thank you very much.  icon_question.gif
I have my eyes on xperia pro as well.
From the official website and oso gsmarena, xperia pro is schedule to released at end of Q2.
Diff from Arc and Neo which are end of Q1.

Beside, we all think xperia pro will be at diff price range compare to ace.

This post has been edited by RhythmYun: Feb 25 2011, 08:17 PM
RhythmYun
post Feb 27 2011, 02:12 PM

63 posts

Acer Liquid MT S120
Saw this on newspaper, RM1299.
Ermm... any idea about this phone. About acer's services, their phone and etc.
And does the spec worth the price ?
RhythmYun
post Feb 27 2011, 04:30 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 27 2011, 03:27 PM)
Acer laptop's after sales service does not impress me as it took them a very long time to do something that can be done within hours.  shocking.gif

That 1 is for the laptop's after sales service. As for the phones, I am not interested in investing in Acer's smartphone unless it is worth to do so.
I see. The phone itself has some quite ok spec. Not sure about the built quality and stuff.
Afterall, acer doesn't prioritize on phone, i suppose.
RhythmYun
post Feb 28 2011, 12:03 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 27 2011, 11:01 PM)
RM 100 only not exactly really overbudget. icon_idea.gif

That said, go nego with your mom.  laugh.gif
duit tabung take abit can liao.
RhythmYun
post Feb 28 2011, 02:41 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 28 2011, 12:21 AM)
Did that b4 with my Nokia 6070 back then.  laugh.gif

Dad give moneh, use duit tabung abit to get it.  laugh.gif
Haha, when not working. Always like this 1 la.
I used to set the highest price for my 'sponsor' which they agree 1.
Then add in own money.
The same thing when i buy my k530i last time too.
K530I .... 2 years+ only, now phone totally diff edy @@
RhythmYun
post Mar 1 2011, 10:15 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(lowyj @ Mar 1 2011, 09:56 PM)
1. Brand- Any~
2. Budget- RM900
3. Specs- Android~
4. Type/Size- Any~
Samsung galaxy ace , lg op1 ?
RhythmYun
post Mar 2 2011, 12:42 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Mar 1 2011, 10:34 PM)
I don't think that the Samsung Galaxy Ace is within his budget. If yes, please show me where you got the information from. Thanks.  wink.gif
900+ still possible to get.

RhythmYun
post Mar 2 2011, 01:37 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Mar 2 2011, 02:38 AM)
I see. Usually people's stated budget means the maximum budget he/she can afford. So, try to recommend any phone model that is below that budget.  wink.gif
Hmmm ic. Maybe things don't work that way only for me, haha.
If i say 900, maybe RM1000+ and worth i will go for it.
>.<
RhythmYun
post Mar 2 2011, 11:10 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(SilviaSS @ Mar 2 2011, 10:47 PM)
Jut frustrated to get a new phone nowadays. It seems every manufacturer is only interested in producing smartphone. It is to me the mobile phone is getting it way back to be big and bulky. Not that i want to complain, i think till now that my SE C905 is still the best for me. It is small, it come with a good camera that able to produce some great shot. It might be me but, what is the point to have a smartphone? To access facebook all the time? The most lame excuse that i heard before, to access email. Come on, how many email you going to get, and even you get an email instantly, what are you going to do about it? Example : you receive an email requsting your to do some quotation for your client or even your client is asking some technical issues that need you to explain. So what you going to do? You will get your laptop to reply the email. So what is the point of having smartphone in the firt place? Some say to post the photo immediately after you snqp it, but again, is it really that critical that you need to post on your facebook that fast? Is to me more like a show off then any othere reason.

To me all this smrtphone are more like a gimmick. I don't know you guys, but how many of you really enjoy a smartphone? Does it really lighten your daily work load? Does it really speed up your efficiency? I hold my doubt.

Till now I still looking for a good replcement unit for my c905, but i guess, i would went in to repair it back to is original state then to get a new smqrtphone.
Different people get it for different reason. It can be just cuz he have that budget to buy a smartphone.
Some people wanna show off. Some people wanna play with apps.
Some people are really addicted with FB, twitter and etc.
For me, i don't own a smartphone yet, but i will.
Just because is time for me to change a phone. And i like playing with apps.
Altho i might not be really using a smartphone smartly. But i am more happy using one rather than a basic phone.
It might be different for you.
But yeah, just my 2 cents.

0.0229sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:04 AM