Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v7, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
wei
Feb 18 2011, 09:17 AM
Yet to see any swelling battery case on unibody models peronally. It happened mostly on older design Alu MacBook Pro and black/white MacBook that uses removable battery design.
wei
Feb 18 2011, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(destfull @ Feb 18 2011, 09:17 AM) as I expected.. mac users are usually dumb in terms of hardware... you can google it.. it even cooler than current proc, more powerful, high TDP but use lower power... its i7 use even lower power than current Intel 2.4Ghz on MBP 13" I disagree and I think such statement are inappropriate! I found even more other platform users that are not so hardware savvy (since the number of other platform is greater). But I agree many LYN user like to get spoon-fed. It has nothing to do with Mac user or not. They are just lazy, even to search and read. Although Sandy Bridge is better in terms of thermal and power consumption, we still have to put the whole system in mind. Things like GPU, HDD, DC-in, LCD all can generate heat and/or suck power. My wish-list is dumping the optical drive and make it even lighter, slimmer and longer battery life. And maybe flash storage as default?
wei
Mar 19 2011, 06:37 PM
It's normal. Meaning your Mac is actually very fresh from the factory. Apple mark down the capacity a bit so that there are buffer for the Mac to ship, hit the store and get sold. All that process take time. The battery life theoritically start degrading the moment it being manufactured. The extra buffer will ensure the buyer get 100% capacity or close.
wei
Mar 25 2011, 11:30 PM
You will need 512MB of VRAM if you plan to drive dual screen (internal LCD + 27-30" external). 256MB is possible if you turn off the internal. Hotter is expected as you asking the Mac to do more work. Imagine you suddenly put 3 more big man in your car. You definitely felt it even your car is powerful especially going uphill (or other word, heavy works).
This is from personal experience with multiple MBPs with 30" LCD, 2560 x 1600 px.
wei
Mar 26 2011, 01:32 PM
Try optimise from TV.
wei
Mar 26 2011, 03:06 PM
Turn off the mirroring or turn off the internal display.
wei
Mar 26 2011, 03:39 PM
You need a small magnet to activate the detector. It should be somewhere near the lower left side of keyboard.
wei
Mar 26 2011, 10:09 PM
Did you remove the layer that cover the protector on both side?
wei
Jun 3 2011, 05:58 PM
If you buy immediately after the announcement. Most likely you will get pre-loaded 10.6 but Apple will put the upgrade installer in box and shipped with your Mac. If you buy from reseller, you then have to get it from Apple via update programme.
wei
Jun 10 2011, 10:15 AM
Save the money, buy AppleCare please. RAM and SSD price will go down over time. You can add that later.
I still disagree (seems like a trend) to max out new Mac during purchases. Enjoy your Mac and when you felt the needs only upgrade, that will give you more millage. Unless you are those person who change your Mac every few months.
wei
Jun 12 2011, 03:21 PM
@and1_player have you done all the software update? There's a Bootcamp update 3.2 for 2011 MBP.
wei
Jun 13 2011, 03:10 PM
I think chingwooi got confused. If the monitor is external, it has nothing to do with LED or not. For you, it's just another selling point. Like respond time and viewing angle. It's a feature. To whatever device connected to it, it won't matter. What's matter is you need to know how your Mac going to connect to it. Over DVI? VGA? USB? or other output? Each of it might have limitation like xaw5126 pointed out.
And the resolutions. If your Mac support lower resolutions than the screen you going to buy, it might not support or you won't get the optimum display.
wei
Jun 13 2011, 05:00 PM
C-zone.
wei
Jun 15 2011, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(goskype @ Jun 14 2011, 04:53 PM) Thanks for the answer I am still thinking bro there is not much difference and does the Re-Sellers here have the 1600 x 900 resolution here? There are no such resolution, it will come in 1680 x 1050px. Authorize Resellers can help you to place the order, you have to wait for it. If you mean LYN sellers, you can slowly wait until the day Apple sell Anit-glare + HD LCD as standard spec.
wei
Jun 15 2011, 05:18 PM
That's the number to call. Did you set to wake for network activity?
This post has been edited by wei: Jun 15 2011, 05:19 PM
wei
Jun 15 2011, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:40 PM) may i know where to see that? i check at console.. the wake reason is EHC1.. but i have nothing attach to the USB eh..  Added on June 15, 2011, 5:41 pmi found it.. wake for network access... unchecked..  There are few report on this, some get it fix by combo Updater, trashing pref and update USB IO Kext. Internal keyboard, trackpad, Bluetooth is on USB too. If this persist, you should send your unit to service center for diagnose. But call AppleCare first. They might have remedy for it.
wei
Jun 16 2011, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jun 16 2011, 12:24 AM) I just did an Apple hardware test The process only took 4 SECONDS!! I suspect serious problem with my MBP It shown 4MEM/1/40000000 : 0x853b8018 Anyone knows what is the problem?? Gosh... Memory error. If you have upgraded the RAM, the RAM might be the culprit.
wei
Jun 16 2011, 10:01 AM
Then send in for warranty lo. Anyway, try to loop the test for 3-5 times. Sometimes need repeated test to confirm.
wei
Jun 16 2011, 10:49 AM
If you dare to open the unit, you can try to reseat the RAM. Probably swap the position (upper RAM go down, vise versa). Warranty should be 5-7 working days if part ordering involve.
wei
Jun 16 2011, 11:29 AM
What to do next is entirely up to u.