11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v7, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

BRY7
post Feb 27 2011, 10:44 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

has anyone got the new macbook pros already?
can give a review on the boot up time?! biggrin.gif
BRY7
post Feb 27 2011, 09:12 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Feb 27 2011, 08:03 PM)
i wonder why apple change it to intel gc. hmm.
it could be because cost of production
BRY7
post Mar 4 2011, 10:47 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Mar 3 2011, 02:03 PM)
Thanks for ur fast reply.
Waw.. now days ram getting cheaper  rclxms.gif
What ram are those which not more than RM 250? izit compatible with mac?
you guys wanna know why apple charges you more expensive for Rams?
actually all rams are compatible.
the difference between Apple Certified Rams and those rams you get from Lowyat is the Grade.
i'm sure apple is using first grade rams.
with different clocking speed and higher efficiency.
what you get from apple isn't the same from those you can buy in lowyat.
this statement was told by a technician from machines.
even if you ask resellers to upgrade your ram after purchase, it wouldn't be the first grade ones i mentioned.
it has to be done when you place your order for your new MBP.
BRY7
post May 6 2011, 08:13 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(c.sin.BB @ May 6 2011, 06:53 PM)
haha i also just got my Macbook Pro last night . quite confuse with the OS , but its fun .
i want to ask ah, the gadget below got a light mean the apps is still running is it ? how to close it ah . u can see it with using 4 fingers -,- what a newbie.
click the app and press command + Q to quit it
BRY7
post May 6 2011, 11:31 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ May 6 2011, 10:36 PM)
2% left =D
My mbp gonna calibrate for the first time!
what is the benefits for calibrating?
BRY7
post May 6 2011, 11:43 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ May 6 2011, 11:35 PM)
Haiz.. after one week returning my MBP already..
Still no news from apple.. sad.gif
what happened to your MBP?
BRY7
post Jun 3 2011, 02:17 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 3 2011, 11:38 AM)
should be accurate eh. they should pre-install Lion on all new macs leaving from the factory

but these lion macs wont be sold at resellers yet bcuz they need to clear the snow leopard macs out 1st. so u cant buy the lion macs right after the lion launch tongue.gif
Wrong, i have worked in local resellers before.
For the first month, you have to fill the form or they will include the cd with he laptop and you have to install it on your own.

BRY7
post Jun 3 2011, 06:42 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Jun 3 2011, 04:54 PM)
so i guess i'm correct eh tongue.gif
we buy the mac once its launch and we get it, right?
worst to worst buy online lo, im sure they cant ship the old ones to u eh rolleyes.gif
if online it still takes maybe a week for them to get the pre installed set to you.
they might include the cd only, like wei stated
BRY7
post Jun 4 2011, 10:44 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jun 4 2011, 10:42 PM)
guys, can someone give brief overview of the advantages of macbook pro. any unique features compare to other normal notebook.  notworthy.gif

note: my knowledge in mac os x = 0%
very user friendly OS
virus free
much faster and safer than PC
BRY7
post Jun 6 2011, 07:55 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Jun 6 2011, 06:25 PM)
to all the sifu here..do you all face difficulty when sending gmail thru mail apps ? Suddenly this few day they keep telling me unable to send >< I didn't do any changes before just suddenly cant
nope, i've never suffer such problems.
try quitting the app and reopen it?
BRY7
post Jun 6 2011, 08:59 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ Jun 6 2011, 08:27 PM)
Looking to Purchase new MBP later this month.

with specification:
2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
8GB 1333MHz
750GB 5400-rpm1
Hi-Res Glossy Widescreen Display
AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5

Any suggestion guys ?

i can only say 1 thing, that is a beast machine! biggrin.gif
got a few friends using it, best MBP ever.
they got the higher res screen.
add a few hundred from apple store online

Added on June 6, 2011, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(monked @ Jun 6 2011, 08:25 PM)
it keep on pop up saying...
Cannot Send Message Using the Server smtp.gmail.com:(my email)
Connection to the server "smtp.gmail.com" on the default ports timed out
is it the first time sending email using it?
maybe try removing it and add again.
i just sent out an email just now, it seems fine for me

This post has been edited by BRY7: Jun 6 2011, 09:00 PM
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 12:52 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jun 7 2011, 12:49 PM)
Question: if i wanna get a macbook pro, shoud i get it  from the online store or from mac city? which one offers freebies or discounts?
are you going to customize the unit?
if not, just go to mac city, they offer laptop sleeve and keyboard protector as freebies
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 01:17 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jun 7 2011, 12:55 PM)
Not but will i still be entitled to the free OS upgrade?
i dont think so, Lion is not even released yet
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 02:20 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jun 7 2011, 02:12 PM)
but
and

http://www.macrumors.com/2011/06/06/mac-os...tore-exclusive/

Customers who purchase a Mac between today and the Lion launch in July will get the upgrade free from the App Store.
did apple come out with this statement?
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 02:50 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jun 7 2011, 02:43 PM)
apparently their support staff said so.

Hi, my name is Manuel L. Welcome to Apple!

Good evening! How are you doing today?

I'm doing well thanks  if I buy a MacBook pro tomorrow, will I get the upgrade to lion for free?

Mac OS X Lion will be available to you at no additional charge via the Mac App Store to all customers who purchase a new Mac! You'll be able to download the OS X Lion upgrade this July.

Great, thanks!

You're welcome!
then thats good news to us all smile.gif
can purchase our mac already! biggrin.gif
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 04:44 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jun 7 2011, 03:01 PM)
altho personally i am worried as this isnt mentioned on apple's website yet >_<

Added on June 7, 2011, 3:01 pm

altho personally i am worried as this isnt mentioned on apple's website yet >_<

and also this might only be applicable to macbooks purchased directly from apple and not via resellers like mac city
just wait a couple of days, if its true then it will be on their website soon
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 10:01 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jun 7 2011, 07:27 PM)
I bought it for a month ady still can FREE upgrade?
surely not able, even those purchasing it today till the launch will be applicable for free upgrade

This post has been edited by BRY7: Jun 7 2011, 10:07 PM
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 10:12 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jun 7 2011, 10:08 PM)
In past few days my mbp 2011 "13" freeze quite frequently =/
Just now I googling have found many users with similar problem
But is anyone facing the same too here?

* Even some FB, youtube will cause it.
have you updated to 10.6.7?
i heard after update, it doesnt freeze
BRY7
post Jun 8 2011, 12:49 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Jun 8 2011, 12:20 PM)
no more update for macbook pro la this year..

Added on June 8, 2011, 12:24 pm

not majority buy from maccity..got alot reseller outside there..even maybe majority here mybe buy from LYn garage sale.. thumbup.gif
they could update on december.
if you look at the pattern, they update every 10 months.
BRY7
post Jun 8 2011, 12:55 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(dlaz @ Jun 8 2011, 12:53 PM)
^^oh i see..well december is still far.haha.so can opt to buy it now.
any tips?
if you have a reason to buy it then by all means go ahead, as you said its a long wait
for me, im not in a rush as i seldom use my MBP nowadays.
so might as well wait and see it the next one suits me

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0480sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:00 AM