128 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v7, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

baretta
post Apr 11 2011, 09:59 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(junior5417 @ Apr 11 2011, 09:48 AM)
Have a question to ask here. if my MBP want to connect to a wireless. the network have to be WPE?
Wpa/wpa2 also can lor
junior5417
post Apr 11 2011, 10:19 AM

291 posts

but my mbp dono why cannot detect my wireless. if plug in LAN then can login doh.gif
macduck
post Apr 11 2011, 10:48 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Apr 9 2011, 12:47 PM)
Tried tuxera yet?

what do you mean 'lower' inactive memory ? you mean free up? it doesn't quite work that way.

Inactive memory is memory that has recently been used by an application that is no longer running. OSX keeps track of what this is and what it belonged to because of the idea of temporal locality, the idea being that if you opened an application you are somewhat likely to do so again and if the memory is still labeled, the application can start very quickly. In the absence of sufficient free memory, inactive memory will be reclaimed by another running application that needs memory.

Added on April 9, 2011, 12:51 pm

bro, im running on 2011 i7 2.3 model with 8Gb memory stock HDD, but when i run PS5, sometimes its still abit laggy, will this problem be solved if i use SSD instead?
CoolerMR
post Apr 11 2011, 11:19 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(macduck @ Apr 11 2011, 10:48 AM)
bro, im running on 2011 i7 2.3 model with 8Gb memory stock HDD, but when i run PS5, sometimes its still abit laggy, will this problem be solved if i use SSD instead?
use apple boot camp would better. though hardware are still generic, not full spec as yr current. PD6 quick access within mac osx to windows.

on PD, can't use TRIM support in VM if using SSD.

This post has been edited by CoolerMR: Apr 11 2011, 11:20 AM
anucia
post Apr 11 2011, 11:47 AM

339 posts

I'm considering to move from PC to MAC first time. I have no clue how MAC works. I have 2 question after all the research made.

1. Once you purchase MAC, all the softwares & apps for the OS is not easy to get free like PC isit? Like cracked / free versions. It is so hard to spend on each apps. The apps that i need for now is Iwork, entourage, etc.

2. Can i purchase the extended wrranty scheme, ACPP at later date? anytime before my 1 year warranty end?

nimrod323
post Apr 11 2011, 12:00 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(anucia @ Apr 11 2011, 11:47 AM)
I'm considering to move from PC to MAC first time. I have no clue how MAC works. I have 2 question after all the research made.

1. Once you purchase MAC, all the softwares & apps for the OS is not easy to get free like PC isit? Like cracked / free versions. It is so hard to spend on each apps. The apps that i need for now is Iwork, entourage, etc.

2. Can i purchase the extended wrranty scheme, ACPP at later date? anytime before my 1 year warranty end?

1. Dont be a pirate, piracy discussion is not allowed here, you can buy applications individually in the mac app store, situated on the dock or get a boxed copy from a reseller.

2. Applecare can be purchased anytime before the 1 year warranty expires.
anucia
post Apr 11 2011, 01:17 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Apr 11 2011, 12:00 PM)
1. Dont be a pirate, piracy discussion is not allowed here, you can buy applications individually in the mac app store, situated on the dock or get a boxed copy from a reseller.

2. Applecare can be purchased anytime before the 1 year warranty expires.
Thank you. 1 more q's - The new Macbook pro 2011 13.3' seems to be value for money to me. It is like 600 bux expensive than other brand with same config. Am i right to say it? Is it a right move?
tarpaucase
post Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(macduck @ Apr 11 2011, 10:48 AM)
What kind of files and file sizes are you working on in PS5 that makes it laggy?
That's kinda top of the line MBP lol.. if still lag I don't know what else you can do.. doubt SSD will help that much aside from speeding up your load times or unless you run like a gajillion apps at once

Added on April 11, 2011, 1:37 pm
QUOTE(CoolerMR @ Apr 11 2011, 11:19 AM)
use apple boot camp would better. though hardware are still generic, not full spec as yr current. PD6 quick access within mac osx to windows.

on PD, can't use TRIM support in VM if using SSD.
I'm assuming he's running PS5 natively ?

Added on April 11, 2011, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(anucia @ Apr 11 2011, 01:17 PM)
Thank you. 1 more q's - The new Macbook pro 2011 13.3' seems to be value for money to me. It is like 600 bux expensive than other brand with same config. Am i right to say it? Is it a right move?
That's the so-called "Apple Tax".
You should know why you want a Mac in the first place and be prepared to shell out the extra.
Don't just get one for the sake of .. looking cool or it being sexy, although that's all valid points - provided you have too much cash.

Added on April 11, 2011, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(junior5417 @ Apr 11 2011, 10:19 AM)
but my mbp dono why cannot detect my wireless. if plug in LAN then can login doh.gif
Are you looking for help?...
you should provide more details like your router brand, your settings, some screenshots.

You don't walk into a clinic telling the doctor "I have a problem" and walk out expecting a full diagnosis.

This post has been edited by tarpaucase: Apr 11 2011, 01:43 PM
junior5417
post Apr 11 2011, 02:43 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM)
What kind of files and file sizes are you working on in PS5 that makes it laggy?
That's kinda top of the line MBP lol.. if still lag I don't know what else you can do.. doubt SSD will help that much aside from speeding up your load times or unless you run like a gajillion apps at once

I'm assuming he's running PS5 natively ?

Added on April 11, 2011, 1:41 pm

That's the so-called "Apple Tax".
You should know why you want a Mac in the first place and be prepared to shell out the extra.
Don't just get one for the sake of .. looking cool or it being sexy, although that's all valid points - provided you have too much cash.

Added on April 11, 2011, 1:43 pm

Are you looking for help?...
you should provide more details like your router brand, your settings, some screenshots.

You don't walk into a clinic telling the doctor "I have a problem" and walk out expecting a full diagnosis.
tonight i will post the screen shot here. I forgoten my router password lar!!! shocking.gif doh.gif
baretta
post Apr 11 2011, 03:00 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(junior5417 @ Apr 11 2011, 10:19 AM)
Dont used auto channel. Problem solved.
Christopher7
post Apr 11 2011, 03:36 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

Hmm.. a question here..

BootCamp for better game play (i know Mac not meant for gaming)
But even if under windows or what
It is still running on the same specs
So how to say that running on window is better when playing games :/
xaw5126
post Apr 11 2011, 03:58 PM

3,488 posts

@ Christopher7 that's cos when running on Windows, you're not dealing with Mac OS X anymore... so if it sucks... the gamer & programmer can't blame Apple... tongue.gif
tarpaucase
post Apr 11 2011, 04:02 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 11 2011, 03:36 PM)
Hmm.. a question here..

Not 100% sure if I understand what you're asking but I'm gonna give it a shot..

Bootcamp is a way to boot straight to Windows - then you run windows as if you're on a windows based laptop. It's a software that helps you do things like get ready a partition for windows and all that stuff prior to installing windows..

The alternative to playing games made solely for windows - for some is to run things like emulators like Crossover or Parallel Desktops, or .. other things like that.

Given the two options, bootcamp will give you better performance since there's no 'emulators' layers running in between.
KKW
post Apr 11 2011, 04:06 PM

2,954 posts

Haiz.. status on my MBP still prepared for shipment since saturday doh.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 11 2011, 06:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(anucia @ Apr 11 2011, 01:17 PM)
comparing specs-to-specs only makes sense when choosing between windows laptops, simply because there's nothing different apart from specs. you dont see any HP, dell, acer "fan" around because all the laptops are the same.

MBP have more features like better touchpad, good battery, sturdy build, good screen etc. u cant compare these stuff between windows laptops that's why nobody cares about it because they cant.

some people may say "if u just wanna buy a mac bcuz it looks nice etc better dont" but i disagree. so what if u buy it just for the looks? no one buys designer brand shirts because of better quality / easy to wear...they just buy it cuz it looks nice. nothing wrong with that

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 11 2011, 03:36 PM)
Hmm.. a question here..

it's because of no directX. OSX only support openGL, and even that (IINM) not as good as windows' support

also because GPU in macs are normally underclocked a bit
Christopher7
post Apr 11 2011, 08:20 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 11 2011, 04:58 PM)
@ Christopher7 that's cos when running on Windows, you're not dealing with Mac OS X anymore... so if it sucks... the gamer & programmer can't blame Apple... tongue.gif
QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Apr 11 2011, 05:02 PM)
Not 100% sure if I understand what you're asking but I'm gonna give it a shot..

Bootcamp is a way to boot straight to Windows - then you run windows as if you're on a windows based laptop. It's a software that helps you do things like get ready a partition for windows and all that stuff prior to installing windows..

The alternative to playing games made solely for windows - for some is to run things like emulators like Crossover or Parallel Desktops, or .. other things like that.

Given the two options, bootcamp will give you better performance since there's no 'emulators' layers running in between.
Not so clear about those terms but I think I roughly get the idea

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 11 2011, 07:30 PM)
comparing specs-to-specs only makes sense when choosing between windows laptops, simply because there's nothing different apart from specs. you dont see any HP, dell, acer "fan" around because all the laptops are the same.

MBP have more features like better touchpad, good battery, sturdy build, good screen etc. u cant compare these stuff between windows laptops that's why nobody cares about it because they cant.

some people may say "if u just wanna buy a mac bcuz it looks nice etc better dont" but i disagree. so what if u buy it just for the looks? no one buys designer brand shirts because of better quality / easy to wear...they just buy it cuz it looks nice. nothing wrong with that
it's because of no directX. OSX only support openGL, and even that (IINM) not as good as windows' support

also because GPU in macs are normally underclocked a bit
One of the reason for me to get MBP is the Battery thumbup.gif
This is the more technical explanation biggrin.gif

Seem that I need to work harder to explore it rolleyes.gif
dannygeni
post Apr 11 2011, 08:37 PM

1,804 posts

Just saw a dead pixel when on white back ground on my new macbook pro. Dark background cannot see. Any bros had this problem. Any suggest for my problem??
macduck
post Apr 11 2011, 09:47 PM

90 posts

[quote=tarpaucase,Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM]

yeah lol, my filesize is around 30mb-100mb, running PS5 + a few safari browsing only, non other things.
will it be affected by change of memory? cos i just changed from 4gb to 8gb recently.

wad u said earlier is true, regret didnt changed to stock SSD cos initially thought 128gb not enuf, but with 1tb ex HDD support it turns out to b enuf.

bro the reason i dowan bootcamp to use windows is bcos many of my frens who did always gets viral threats.
so wanna keep it clean with OSX. =D

Feux Follets
post Apr 11 2011, 10:43 PM

257 posts

Anyone using Watts with their Mac? Looks like a good utility.. wanna ask for comments before deciding to buy it smile.gif

http://binarytricks.com/
smudger14
post Apr 12 2011, 12:31 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Apr 11 2011, 04:06 PM)
Haiz.. status on my MBP still prepared for shipment since saturday doh.gif
U customised your mac?

128 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top