Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best v2, NP5160, NP5165, NP5175 w/ GT500 series

Amal
post Apr 19 2011, 09:12 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 19 2011, 08:56 AM)
Just received an email from Xotic PC  rclxms.gif
6 April 2011 (Wed): Order made

7 April 2011 (Thu) 11:12pm: Status: Order Pending Payment (Check, Money Order, Credit Card , PayPal or Wire)

9 April 2011 (Sat): Payment made on 11 April 2011 Wire Transfer

11 April 2011 (Mon): Bank processed the Wire Transfer payment

13 April 2011 (Wed) 4:47am: Phase #1 Order Confirmation and Phase #2 (Sent for Custom Building / Testing / Burn In & Final QA)

19 April 2011 (Tue) 3:58am: Phase #3 (Sent to Custom Painting / Skinning Department) <== NO NEED, I DIDN'T CUSTOMIZE MY LAPTOP EXTERIOR. Straight away enter Phase #4 Order Shipped

And now I gotta ask Xotic PC about my tracking number...
WOW... That's one damn fast process! shocking.gif
Amal
post Apr 22 2011, 01:39 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 22 2011, 01:29 AM)
man im gettin worried why mucro doesnt reply my email laugh.gif
in a few days, i might become like you...
spamming this thread while waiting for the laptop... laugh.gif

it's only been a week, already almost cannot tahan... tongue.gif
Amal
post Apr 22 2011, 02:00 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 22 2011, 01:45 AM)
haha mine has been a month.

they already receive my laptop from sager

jz wondering why they din update me up eventhou i ask for updates =.=
Probably they are fixing up your laptop LCD...

With special matte screen, since you've been good to them... biggrin.gif

Amal
post Apr 24 2011, 11:57 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(sweeann @ Apr 24 2011, 11:44 PM)
Hi all,

From XoticPC, NP8150-S1 has this 2 type of Matte Screen ....

15.6” FHD 16:9 LED Backlit Wide screen (1920x1080) Super Clear Matte Type Screen ( + USD30 )

15.6" FHD 16:9 "Matte Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright LED Anti-Glare Screen w/ 95% NTSC Color Gamut (1920x1080) (Add's 4-7 business days to build time) ( + USD190 )

From the pricing, I believe mucro and cubehub is offering the 1st type, but what is the main difference of both, especially what is better in the 2nd screen display that costs USD190 more?
@ This is a Lamp,

yours is the 2nd type display screen, right?
Not sure if this might help : link
Amal
post Apr 26 2011, 06:40 PM

1,672 posts

Got a replied from Mucro after I sent them email asking for the ETA.

They reply :

"We will send it very soon within this week."

Hope they really meant it! drool.gif
Amal
post Apr 27 2011, 09:05 PM

1,672 posts

YESSS! rclxm9.gif

New Status is:

Shipped

From DHL :

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

NP8150-S1, come to papa! brows.gif
Amal
post Apr 27 2011, 09:57 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 27 2011, 09:38 PM)
Received mine already. Will do a review soon :]
congrats! we both have the early 6970M... brows.gif
Amal
post Apr 27 2011, 11:04 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 27 2011, 10:03 PM)
Guinea pigs perhaps lol
hahah... i guess so... tongue.gif
Amal
post Apr 28 2011, 11:31 AM

1,672 posts

My lappy got stuck at the subang custom! mad.gif
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 12:21 AM

1,672 posts

Guess what???

MY LAPTOP CANNOT BOOT UP!!!

At first everything was ok... I installed the microsoft office and google chrome...

Then I test the Windows Performance Rate...
The screen went white... all white...
Wait and wait, nothing happened...
So, I power it off...
NOW CAN'T BOOT UP!!

Tried removing RAM from bellow keyboard to behind... still no changes...
tried DVI and HDMI to other LCD... also blank!

SOOO BAD LUCK! sad.gif
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 01:03 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 30 2011, 12:43 AM)
Is the light up when you press the power button?
No lights at all?

Try power on with and without battery (try both).
Yes, it lighted up... The power button on the left lighted up... on the right, first the Disk and Bluetooth lights up, then only bluetooth... and remain like that...

already tried the battery with and without... same thing... cry.gif

Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 01:50 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Apr 30 2011, 12:52 AM)
ho  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

now, you can't boot up. which state can you enter right now? BIOS? I think resetting BIOS could work, but it would require more than just RAM quickswap. In the older desktop days, we used to remove something called CMOS battery which resets the whole BIOS. you might need to bukak the whole casing and find the CMOS/BIOS battery, and then try remove it for a while.

something to help you with :

http://www.syschat.com/how-to-reset-clear-...laptop-418.html

This fella was using a Clevo m400a by the way :
Cannot boot to BIOS at all.
Blank screen.
It also doesn't seems to be booting up at all.

Yup, I did read about the CMOS battery awhile ago... abit hard though... It does usually on my desktop last time, after messed up with Overclocking and so on...

Anyone knows where the Battery is? sweat.gif

Added on April 30, 2011, 1:56 am
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 30 2011, 01:20 AM)
So, the power is actually on but you can't boot up.
Do you see any screen (F2 bios screen)? Do you hear any beeping?

1) Tried removing both HDD and DVDROM and power up again.
2) Tried booting up with only 1 ram module (instead of 2 or 4, assuming you're running dual channel).
3) Borrow a ram module from friend to test.

CPU could hardly die. I doubt it's ram module too.
It could be either the mobo or the GPU.
Yes, It's on, but nothing on screen.

1) If it's HDD and DVDROM, by right it can still boot up rite?
2) Yup, tried all kind of ways, different RAM at a time, different place, different amount. still the same.
3) This one I don't have... sweat.gif I do doubt its the RAM. not sure. tongue.gif

Wahhh... hopefully not Mobo or GPU... cry.gif

This post has been edited by Amal: Apr 30 2011, 01:56 AM
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 02:25 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 30 2011, 02:17 AM)
1) The possibility is slim but the rule of thumb in trouble-shooting is, eliminate possibilities.
2) OK.
3) Ditto to (1), the rule of thumb in testing the system, try all possibilities.

If it's not the HDD/DVD drive/ram, it will be likely motherboard or GPU.
You can hardly kill the CPU.
understood bro... smile.gif

rite now I'm trying the CMOS battery first...

need to wait for more than 10 minutes...
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 03:08 AM

1,672 posts

After almost 20 minutes of removing the CMOS battery...
IT STILL WONT BOOT!
Already put high hopes on it... :'(

Tried the hard disk also... nothing change...

Could it be because of the 6970M??

Like I said, it happened after I click the Windows 7 Performance rate.
While it is running for about 10-20 seconds, suddenly there's a white picture with yellow strip, and then changed to totally all white.
Waited quite long, nothing happened.
Reboot the damn laptop...... BLANK SCREEN (nothing)...

I saw the fan for both CPU and GPU is running... still, even if the GPU or the CPU is down, the fan will still run I guess...

Wahhhhhh.... soooo sad now!!!!

Anyone been to Mucro service partner called Vital Computers before?
address :
Lot G3/4 Wisma SPS, Jalan Imbi
55100 Kuala Lumpur

Hopefully they have atleast some tools for testing and servicing... not just a plain table with 1-2 desktop just for receiving parts to be sent out... sad.gif

Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 06:34 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Apr 30 2011, 05:44 AM)
I guess the laptop consider DOA (dead on arrival). should send for a repair/testing to verify the problem
yeah, waiting for mucro feedback regarding the acceptance of my laptop by the service centre.

Damn... I don't want to wait for a month more of RMA! vmad.gif

Luckily I haven't sell my current A42JA laptop...
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 11:04 AM

1,672 posts

RMA Number :  4291171

You need include a commercial invoice (will include in the e-mail--
commercial.doc)
on the outside the package, which is for the customs.

On the commercial invoice make sure keep blank or just put
$20 in DECLARED VALUE FOR CARRIAGE: US$20.

Please write RMA 4291171 on the outside of the box and send it to:

Mucro Pte Ltd
6001 Beach Road
#18-01 Golden Mile Tower
Singapore 199589

You can reuse the laptop box for optimal protection.
Please use the cheapest possible delivery service with registered article number. This would be surface parcel delivery from POS Malaysia.
< 1 Kg
(RM) < 3 Kg
(RM) < 5 Kg
(RM) < 10 Kg
(RM)
15.90 17.70 20.20 23.20
The delivery to Singapore will be reimbursed.

vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

POS Malaysia is still open on Saturday till 9.30PM rite?
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 05:16 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 30 2011, 11:13 AM)
Amal, I'm sorry to hear about your problem.

I received my laptop 3 days ago and had been dealing with data transferring and installing programs, didn't really have time to work on any games yet. Mine is also ATI HD6970m. I purchased it from XoticPC and things came in a good condition. So far I don't see any dead pixels with naked eyes. Battery running fine with AC Adapter not connecting to the laptop. Specs are the same as what I had ordered.

It didn't come with a Windows and I neede sad.gif  sad.gif d to install mine. By default, Windows 7 had already done an accessment on Windows Experience Index but I tried to do it once on my own for another time and it is still okay.
What to do man... sad.gif

Good for you bro... hope urs doesnt become like mine...
I think i am just unlucky this time... nothing to do with specific hardware...

Already sent my parcel using pos malaysia as per advised by them...
Hope they take full responsibility on that if anything happen during the delivery...

Sigh... probably gonna wait a month now...sad.gif
Amal
post Apr 30 2011, 11:41 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Apr 30 2011, 08:52 PM)
Ok, this is wat i can say regarding sgcubehub and mucro.

Mucro:
This company is not that bad actually, the only thing they need to improve is their phone line + the after sales service such as warranties. Overall, the people are ok, fast response, keeping track of problems related to Sager.

sgcubehub:
General speaking, they are the first tat established the shop bringing in gaming lappy, Mucro is the one trying to learn from them. So, this company is way more systematic than Mucro and how they handle things also a lots more experience. But due to current back order + bringing in all the lappy tat is related to sandy bridge issue had cause a road block in that company due to lack of manpower. After sales service such as warranties are also affected.

Overall i can say is that, these 2 company are actually good. For mucro wise, it is best try to get their personal contact numbers instead of calling their office number. Of course, u need to have a way to get their private numbers, they wont give out tat easily. For sgcubehub, if u order now, ur order might delay due to all the congestion happen inside that small company.
Mucro is quite a good reseller I guess, based from my experience.

I paid mine on 15th April and received on 29th April, which is quite ok.

Got problem with the laptop (probably I'm a bit unlucky) on the first day, and they get back to me quickly and treated me well on the advice.
After gone through troubleshooting with sager technical, they decided mine need to be RMA, and mucro handle it quite well with the instructions for RMA.

Now my laptop is on its way to Singapore already.

Hopefully they changed my 6970M to GTX485M... hahaha... jokin... tongue.gif
Amal
post May 1 2011, 09:33 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(cryogenist @ May 1 2011, 08:38 AM)
What?? How come you already received your machine?

I ordered and paid on 13th, til now I have not received it?
Really? blink.gif

Could it be because I paid in full?

I put my order on 10th April, but didn't paid anything yet coz was planning to use credit card, but got stuck on paypal using MYR currency.

So, after got some extra cash, I decided to use cash instead and paid full on 15th April.

Hmmm... this could be some tips for you guys to get the laptop faster, probably... which is pay FULL... tongue.gif

OR could it be be because of your MATTE screen? coz mine is default glossy... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Amal: May 1 2011, 09:34 AM
Amal
post May 11 2011, 02:03 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(cryogenist @ May 10 2011, 10:15 PM)
Cool.. Undervolting the GPU really lowers the temps.. NICE~~
with the 6970M? how much difference bro?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1311sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:39 PM