11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Anti Money Laundering Analyst, with Citigroup Transaction Services

Enclave Recruit
post Mar 12 2011, 11:12 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Mar 12 2011, 08:50 PM)
lol, even if u dun get a job by the end of 14 mths employment, u are quitting? that's bold...really, lol

thanks for your well wishes, hope the same for ya too...and seriously, most of the jobs will not really let u off by 6pm in malaysia...XD
I've saved enough money to sustain myself for a few months. I am a low maintenance person so don't worry haha.

Most jobs yeah, but if u are lucky enough to join the civil service, u can leave SHARP at 6 or before 6 smile.gif

LostWanderer
post Mar 13 2011, 08:23 AM

315 posts

well, not really on that fact, but, if u quit your job while u don't have an existing one...

1) you lose bargaining power with your new employer

2) it's ironic, but also, it's harder for you to find a job...especially if u don't get a new job asap

anyway, civil service = gov based job?...well, not really what i'm looking for...are you?
Enclave Recruit
post Mar 13 2011, 09:00 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Mar 13 2011, 08:23 AM)
well, not really on that fact, but, if u quit your job while u don't have an existing one...

1) you lose bargaining power with your new employer

2) it's ironic, but also, it's harder for you to find a job...especially if u don't get a new job asap

anyway, civil service = gov based job?...well, not really what i'm looking for...are you?
Is that so? Hmm, maybe I should get a job before quitting then. I dunno. Maybe some employers could be particular about such things. Although, I'd like to point out that one of my colleagues found a new job while still being employed with Citi but the new employer was unwilling to wait for 2 months, so he was rejected since there was another candidate who was ready to work immediately.

Most government based job pays well these days. Salary structure has been revised to be more competitive. Its sad to see some MNCs paying lower than the government, namely Citigroup hehe. If u do get the opportunity to join the civil service, u should try la. Its sooo much better than private. Life in government is less stressful and you'd live longer.

Everyone seems to be trying to be a PTD (Pegawai Tadbir Dan Diplomatik). Pretty glamorous job title and great opportunities but damn difficult to get in haha.

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Mar 13 2011, 09:04 AM
LostWanderer
post Mar 13 2011, 10:05 AM

315 posts

well, that's true too, but out there, there are ppl who can work only with a 3 month notice period, and they are willing to wait if that person is "that" good...so, i guess your friend could just be as good as the other person i guess?...and also, some companies would opt to buy u out too if you are really that important...so...

well, of course, you can't have only 1 face of the coin, but i do believe that if u keep your job while hunting for a newer one will benefit you more in comparison to when u quit only u find a new job, your choice though...you could also survey with other colleagues and ask their opinion as well...but most fresh grads don't know the dangers of quitting before finding for a new job...of course, there are lucky ones which are able to get a better job after quitting then apply, but who knows bout your luck, right?XD

well, i don't really hope for an "easy" job lifestyle, i just hope that i could "enjoy" my job, gain useful experiences and have a decent salary for it...lol
WorkBook
post Mar 15 2011, 05:06 AM

QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ Mar 13 2011, 09:00 AM)
Is that so? Hmm, maybe I should get a job before quitting then. I dunno. Maybe some employers could be particular about such things. Although, I'd like to point out that one of my colleagues found a new job while still being employed with Citi but the new employer was unwilling to wait for 2 months, so he was rejected since there was another candidate who was ready to work immediately.

Most government based job pays well these days. Salary structure has been revised to be more competitive. Its sad to see some MNCs paying lower than the government, namely Citigroup hehe. If u do get the opportunity to join the civil service, u should try la. Its sooo much better than private. Life in government is less stressful and you'd live longer.

Everyone seems to be trying to be a PTD (Pegawai Tadbir Dan Diplomatik). Pretty glamorous job title and great opportunities but damn difficult to get in haha.
I am one of ex-AML analysts too!! Firstly let me reiterate here, the way one department functions do not determine the whole organization culture. I have prepared checklist on what employees expect from a job and i have highlighted how it works in AML:

MONEY: You work for 12 HOURS per weekday and you are paid with RM2400 per month before EPF,SOCSO&TAX DEDUCTION. After all deductions, you will receive RM2120. Then take the nett amount of RM2120/22(average working days)=RM96.36 After that, minus with your daily expenses to work, RM96.36-RM15(breakfast,lunch&dinner)-RM5(transportation fees)=RM76.36 Next kindly take your nett pay per day DIVIDED by your 12 hours work, you may receive the nett amount of your earning per hour RM76.36/12= RM6.40 This is how much you sell your time!

MANAGEMENT SKILLS: I seriously think they need to get adhoc management class! I personally curious if skills developed from personal attribute or undergoing classes! Dear management, please learn to differentiate between appearing AGGRESSIVE and PROFESSIONAL.

COLLEAGUES: Still fine. But you are not here to make friends, are you?

ENVIRONMENT: Quiet environment unless you sat beside or near to noisy and loud people.

KNOWLEDGE & SKILLS DEVELOPED: extremely limited and you don't know what to write in your resume and where to go after taking up this job! 90% of their staffs staying there because they don't know where to go and they are afraid to take bigger steps! but now i see many of them quitting this job and start finding new job as they finally realised the importance of moving out from this hell!

Added on March 15, 2011, 5:12 am
QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Mar 13 2011, 10:05 AM)
well, that's true too, but out there, there are ppl who can work only with a 3 month notice period, and they are willing to wait if that person is "that" good...so, i guess your friend could just be as good as the other person i guess?...and also, some companies would opt to buy u out too if you are really that important...so...

well, of course, you can't have only 1 face of the coin, but i do believe that if u keep your job while hunting for a newer one will benefit you more in comparison to when u quit only u find a new job, your choice though...you could also survey with other colleagues and ask their opinion as well...but most fresh grads don't know the dangers of quitting before finding for a new job...of course, there are lucky ones which are able to get a better job after quitting then apply, but who knows bout your luck, right?XD

well, i don't really hope for an "easy" job lifestyle, i just hope that i could "enjoy" my job, gain useful experiences and have a decent salary for it...lol
I guess what's more important for fresh graduates is to look for "career" instead of job. since you are still working in AML, kindly share with us the reason behind high employee turnover? it's always clearer to look into inner side. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by WorkBook: Mar 15 2011, 05:12 AM
kelvin_tan
post Mar 15 2011, 11:20 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@Workbook
I read your formula and it is the stupidest thing that I have ever seen and did not bother to finish reading your other points.

How can you take the Pay, DEDUCT YOUR EXPENSES and then only divide by 12 and consider that your nett hourly rate? Stupidest idiot I have ever seen.

So if I drive a ferrari and my transportation is RM20 instead because of the petrol consumption is higher, so my nett hourly rate is lower? If I eat more than RM5 per meal my hourly rate will be lower?

There are people that spend up their entire monthly salary. So those people nett hourly pay is RM0 ?

You are paid a certain amount to get the job done. How much of the money you consume to complete the task is YOUR PROBLEM.
Quasi-Suave
post Mar 15 2011, 02:58 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(jasmine_wms @ Feb 27 2011, 04:40 AM)
Hi guys, i got called up for the interview too on Monday.
Well before i read this thread i thought working in Citi is kind of glamorous but now it's kinda surprise to see so many negative comments here too.

the main reason i wanna enter and nail this offer is to gain more experience since it seems that the reasons i flunk previous interview or not qualified for the job is because lack of experience.

i wonder what is the prospect of this AMLA? and will the working experience in position help in future job hunting if i were to choose different career path (prolly like credit analyst) but still in banking line?

please advice smile.gif
I know someone doing the exact same role in Citibank. She couldn't wait to get out! While the Citibank brand IS glamorous, you need to be doing the right jobs. For example, Corporate and Investment Banking @ Citicorp. Or Emerging Markets Credit Trading (Treasury Division). But I think both departments were moved to Singapore recently.

AMLA to Credit Analyst? Funny, but no. AML is like 0.001% what a Credit Analyst must be aware of. If you seriously want to be a Credit Analyst, I suggest you start off by doing actual Credit work. And go complete your CCP Business or equivalent certification. Get used to presenting your papers to a bunch of senior people as credit analysts will be required to present his/her case to the Credit Committees /EXCO/BOD. That is, if you survive pushing your case thru Credit Underwriting whose sole responsibility would be to tear your case a new one.

QUOTE(WorkBook @ Mar 15 2011, 05:06 AM)
I am one of ex-AML analysts too!! Firstly let me reiterate here, the way one department functions do not determine the whole organization culture. I have prepared checklist on what employees expect from a job and i have highlighted how it works in AML:

MONEY: You work for 12 HOURS per weekday and you are paid with RM2400 per month before EPF,SOCSO&TAX DEDUCTION. After all deductions, you will receive RM2120. Then take the nett amount of RM2120/22(average working days)=RM96.36 After that, minus with your daily expenses to work, RM96.36-RM15(breakfast,lunch&dinner)-RM5(transportation fees)=RM76.36 Next kindly take your nett pay per day DIVIDED by your 12 hours work, you may receive the nett amount of your earning per hour RM76.36/12= RM6.40 This is how much you sell your time!

MANAGEMENT SKILLS: I seriously think they need to get adhoc management class! I personally curious if skills developed from personal attribute or undergoing classes! Dear management, please learn to differentiate between appearing AGGRESSIVE and PROFESSIONAL.

COLLEAGUES: Still fine. But you are not here to make friends, are you?

ENVIRONMENT: Quiet environment unless you sat beside or near to noisy and loud people.

KNOWLEDGE & SKILLS DEVELOPED: extremely limited and you don't know what to write in your resume and where to go after taking up this job! 90% of their staffs staying there because they don't know where to go and they are afraid to take bigger steps! but now i see many of them quitting this job and start finding new job as they finally realised the importance of moving out from this hell!

Added on March 15, 2011, 5:12 am

I guess what's more important for fresh graduates is to look for "career" instead of job. since you are still working in AML, kindly share with us the reason behind high employee turnover? it's always clearer to look into inner side.  thumbup.gif
@workbook

I agree with Kelvin. Your math has some serious issues man. But you are spot on with your take about the prospects of the job. The AMLA role is very very limited in job scope and skills transferability. This is obvious. How can you grow into a more challenging role when all you seem to do is to do the same stuff over and over again? What is/has been the takeaway from your X years on the job?

WorkBook
post Mar 15 2011, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 15 2011, 11:20 AM)
@Workbook
I read your formula and it is the stupidest thing that I have ever seen and did not bother to finish reading your other points.

How can you take the Pay, DEDUCT YOUR EXPENSES and then only divide by 12 and consider that your nett hourly rate? Stupidest idiot I have ever seen.

So if I drive a ferrari and my transportation is RM20 instead because of the petrol consumption is higher, so my nett hourly rate is lower? If I eat more than RM5 per meal my hourly rate will be lower?

There are people that spend up their entire monthly salary. So those people nett hourly pay is RM0 ?

You are paid a certain amount to get the job done. How much of the money you consume to complete the task is YOUR PROBLEM.
@kelvin_tan
LOL!!! This is not even a formula, everything's based on budget and assumptions! doh.gif Basically the RM5 per meal and RM5 transportation are valued on current market rate. In average having a decent meal in KL area roughly cost about RM5 and fluctuates somewhere there. Besides the example I took for RM5 (average public transportation cost) for FRSEHIES, as you don't expect them to own a car since it may be their first job and i took the example of taking public buses, trains and taxis which appear to be common cases here.

Besides that, the example of driving ferrari doesn't make you sound any smarter as you gave one in a million example! I guess you have been working for some years, therefore i expect you to be more realistic! blush.gif

P/S- Hi all, everything's based on my personal expenditure there! If you are offended, kindly ignore my post. Thanks~ thumbup.gif
kelvin_tan
post Mar 15 2011, 05:16 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@workbook
I am just finding it ridiculous that you judge the net hourly pay based on after u reduce your own expenditure. Your expenses is your own problem.

How do you know the candidate doesnt live in the apartment next to the working place?

How do you know the candidate tapao everyday from home and save a lot of money?

I also expect that you have been working for some time. So do come up with smarter equations to justify your points.

WorkBook
post Mar 15 2011, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 15 2011, 05:16 PM)
@workbook
I am just finding it ridiculous that you judge the net hourly pay based on after u reduce your own expenditure. Your expenses is your own problem.

How do you know the candidate doesnt live in the apartment next to the working place?

How do you know the candidate tapao everyday from home and save a lot of money?

I also expect that you have been working for some time. So do come up with smarter equations to justify your points.
@kelvin_tan
Let me reiterate here, COMMON CASES please. I seriously think you need to sign up for averaging and costing classes.
Take a look on how you highlight your points:
i. So if I drive a FERRARI and my transportation is RM20 instead because of the petrol consumption is higher, so my nett hourly rate is lower? If I eat more than RM5 per meal my hourly rate will be lower?
-If you are driving ferrari, i dont see any point why you want to be AML analyst? It's not going to add value to you in terms of $ & career prospects. I still can excuse you if you took other examples like local cars (Myvi the most common), Toyota Vios, Honda City, Suzuki Swift?
ii. How do you know the candidate doesnt live in the apartment next to the working place?
-Ask yourself, how much percentage of your colleagues' apartments next to your office? If everyone's staying next to the office, i am the happiest person in earth as i could escape the jam hassle! rclxms.gif
iii. How do you know the candidate tapao everyday from home and save a lot of money?
-Kindly ask yourself if you tapao everyday from home? It's hilarious!

I respect you as being, i would not call you stupid but i would describe you as "not smart enough" thou! nod.gif

kelvin_tan
post Mar 15 2011, 05:59 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@Workbook
I'm blasting your EQUATION. You calculate your nett hourly pay based on after deducting your expenditure. That is hillarious. You are paid a certain amount by the company. How you wanna deal with it with relevance to expenditure is TOTALLY YOUR PROBLEM.

Correct your equation and my scenario is no longer applicable. Even Quasi-Suave thinks your maths has some serious issues. Whether I am smart enough or not, let forumers be the judge. Neither do I care really.

Added on March 15, 2011, 6:02 pmFor all the conditions that I have listed out. You cannot deny that there is a possiblity it will happen. Common or not it is not the case. It can happen.

But for your equation, LOL !

This post has been edited by kelvin_tan: Mar 15 2011, 06:02 PM
WorkBook
post Mar 15 2011, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 15 2011, 05:59 PM)
@Workbook
I'm blasting your EQUATION. You calculate your nett hourly pay based on after deducting your expenditure. That is hillarious. You are paid a certain amount by the company. How you wanna deal with it with relevance to expenditure is TOTALLY YOUR PROBLEM.

Correct your equation and my scenario is no longer applicable. Even Quasi-Suave thinks your maths has some serious issues. Whether I am smart enough or not, let forumers be the judge. Neither do I care really.

Added on March 15, 2011, 6:02 pmFor all the conditions that I have listed out. You cannot deny that there is a possiblity it will happen. Common or not it is not the case. It can happen.

But for your equation, LOL !
You should join "One in a Million" contest. Who knows it could bring you further? Sorry if am being judgmental towards your thinking capabilities. I take back my words! notworthy.gif
realnumber
post Mar 15 2011, 06:51 PM

459 posts

a healthy argument..

good for ur brain, folks.
LostWanderer
post Mar 15 2011, 08:24 PM

315 posts

seriously workbook, it's not your maths, but it's the way you think...not everyone thinks like you do, so there will be a difference in how one thinks...but i must say that i too don't sit on your bench this time

when you open up with those experiences of yours, well...it's not totally wrong, but it's not right as well...it's your experience, hence, it should and will be applicable to you, but not all

and if you really are earning like what? rm6.50 an hour...and you stay in the office for 12 hours...you earn about rm70~80 a day minus expenses nett, well, it sounds pretty much okay...but, not all will stay in the office for 12 hours...and to be honest, the job here is not as bad as some other companies out there, take auditing for example, you get a pay which either could be a little lower or nearly the same, but during peak time, you stay until 3am in the office...now, how will you equate that?

the only thing limiting here is where are you going to go next...it's pretty much citi in there, so your job scope would be either a transfer of dept, compliance or something else that you can cook up with the transferable skills you could gain from the company, it's not much, i agree, but you will notice that in the end, you do and will learn something

as for your question which is directed to me, i for one would say that i am not in the position to represent each and every staff who left there...and my reasons if i would like to resign, i already stated it, cool?=)
kelvin_tan
post Mar 15 2011, 10:53 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

Nvm.. let it go. Even when he has no arguement he concludes in a mockery way (in my opinion).

No point argueing further. Let the thread be about what its supposed to be which is AML analyst.
Quasi-Suave
post Mar 16 2011, 12:02 PM

322 posts

Gross hourly wage is derived from gross salary divided by total hours worked.

Net hourly wage is net salary (gross salary minus EPF, Socso, Income Tax etc) divided by total hours worked.

Is this so difficult a concept to grasp?

Rainie87
post Mar 16 2011, 02:30 PM

14 posts

omg -.- I'm shortlisted for an employment for this position -.- should I take it of leave it? zzzzzzzz pls help T_T
Quasi-Suave
post Mar 16 2011, 02:42 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Rainie87 @ Mar 16 2011, 02:30 PM)
omg -.- I'm shortlisted for an employment for this position -.- should I take it of leave it? zzzzzzzz pls help T_T
Depends. If you are NOT working now, and desperately need a job...then go ahead.

If you are already working and thinking about a career change, then I seriously suggest that you reconsider. Ask yourself this - what do I WANT to do in the next 5 years?
Rainie87
post Mar 16 2011, 03:50 PM

14 posts

I'm not working now but I do have upcoming interviews with other companies. The job prospects and all is definitely better than this. The problem is if I reject this and I don't manage to land the other job I would end up with nothing! I cant keep Citigroup waiting for too long either. Feel so helplesss
Quasi-Suave
post Mar 16 2011, 06:17 PM

322 posts

You'd have to weigh your options. What are the chances of your securing an offer from the other interviews? I think only you can really answer this.

If you wanna play safe, you can go ahead and accept the Citibank offer but bear in mind that it might be difficult for you to attend interviews once you start work. It may also be difficult for you to leave once you start work as you would have by then signed the employment contract and would hence need to abide with the notice period etc.

If you haven't notice already, the employment market is heating up. I'm pretty sure there are plenty of opportunities for someone of caliber. Vacancies within then banking industry is so dire that banks are pinching staff from other banks and paying off the 3 months notice on top of the 6 months penalty under BNM GP4.

Good luck.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:42 AM