13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 05:07 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 22 2011, 04:58 PM)
seems not big different between two photos  hmm.gif
or i really noob cannot spot the different from thumbnails?  unsure.gif
(welcome all sifu come train my eyes sharp sharp so i can know how to judge picture  laugh.gif )
Haha, my point is 85G can be used on DX too tongue.gif. I've used both D90 and D700 with 85G on the same event itself tongue.gif.

Compare the distance differences between FX and DX,

D700, Subject Distance 1.78 m

D90, Subject Distance 2.66 m

More or less similar magnification of subject.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Feb 22 2011, 05:09 PM
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 05:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 22 2011, 05:11 PM)
Perspective different, bokeh also different tongue.gif
Like duh.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 22 2011, 05:12 PM)
so your point is the lens it self can use on D90 and D700 perfectly without distortion?  laugh.gif
still got many thing wan leech learn from sifus...but wont play so "geng" lens...now my account still in negative 3k debt for this year to pay to my dad...then baru can save money for D7000 (because choose D90 my friend said later will outdate soon, D3100 no AF motor and hard to play with 50mm 1.8f , so D7000 is my choice lol, upgrade from 70 to 7000 sounds nice)
Distortion? 85mm have no distortion (if not is very very little).
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 05:28 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 22 2011, 05:24 PM)
CY a little personal thing to ask. tongue.gif
since canon has their 85 1.2 and nikon only 85 1.4
by looking at the review of digitalrev regarding 85mm yesterday. I feel Canon is better in term of portrait compare to Nikon.
For landscape. Nikon tapau laa..

So.. have you ever thing to use that tempting 1.2? tongue.gif
1Dmk4 + 85L, 5dmk2 + 85L, 7D + 85L. I've used the 3 combination before, conclusion? I still love the 85G biggrin.gif I just don't have the patience with 85L's slow AF and also the miss due to misfocus.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 05:41 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 22 2011, 05:32 PM)
hahaha.. well you are so Nikonian then tongue.gif
Looking for my friend who own 85mm 1.2 so can play with it.
hey hey. yesterdays a friend of mine said 85mm on DX is the best range for portrait. what do you think? since you are so portrait I wanted to know your opinion. tongue.gif
thinking to get UWA or 85mm 1.8  rclxub.gif
85mm on DX -> too tele. Main reason why I decided to go for D700 and not waiting for D800.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 05:53 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Feb 22 2011, 05:50 PM)
can i know d different between 17-35 f2.8 & 16-35 f4...?
izit d nano coating...?
coz both r around d same price...
btw...
ani advice for getting either of d lens...?
1635 is new 1735 is old.

1635 is f/4 1735 is f/2.8

1635 has VR and Nanocoat, 1735 does not have.

Lastly, 1635 IQ is better than 1735.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 06:10 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 22 2011, 05:57 PM)
Sure laa.. 2470N at 4930...and also other Nikon items.. all new set
How much is a 24G? I want one leh if price is good.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 06:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 22 2011, 06:10 PM)
I can't spill the bean so as to make the d700, 2470, sb900 my reality. Seriously.. the 70200 is under 6K, and it's new, no it's not stolen, not grey set.

I'm still considering if I want to start selling nikon equipments to other people...  hmm.gif
I'll update you guys the next month if i wanna sell nikon stuffs at lower than street price..
If you're getting a 70200VR2 below 6k, means you're shaving about 1k off the street price. Wah... can grab a lot of lens lor~
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 06:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 22 2011, 06:13 PM)
my goodness.. KTCY and you want this aar? walawei.. wait2.. tomorrow I'll update you guys.. banyak duit these 2 guys.

Added on February 22, 2011, 6:14 pm

I'm not getting one just yet.. but it is around that price.

next month wanna get me a 2470.. haha.. have to buy one buy one slowly.. if not my eyes will pusing2 already because too many new toys to play with..
KTCY bought his already, I'm thinking of getting one tongue.gif. If got good deal why not? On the side note, can get HB-55 or not? LOL. Damn hard to get this la~

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 22 2011, 06:16 PM)
It depends on what kind of portrait and space, if indoor, 85mm on DX most probably will be too tight and if you want to take half-body, you need to much further (as previous example by celciuz).
But also like edward mention, the perspective also different (e.g. the more tele, you get better separation from the background.)

Try google portrait lens, for FX, you will find 135mm f/2 DC. You can also find Portrait pictures @ 200mm on FX using 70-200mm f/2.8. So, it depends what kind of portrait you prefers more or you want to capture.
Perspective is between 85mm on D90 and D700.

70200 examples also can see from my Flickr geh~ tongue.gif More for lazy people,

Close up,

Half body,

celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 07:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 22 2011, 06:56 PM)
5d2's middle AF point is very reliable. Outer ain't that reliable. And I have shoot in rain, snow, and its still works like a charm.
My friend whose a 5dmk2 user tells me otherwise. He usually take a few shots because to compensate for any miss focus.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 07:12 PM

14,037 posts

By right all should be similar cause full cross sensor isn't it? I know for D700 the 15 in the middle is the fastest and most accurate. The sides will hunt at times if you don't get a pattern as it is not a cross type.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 07:48 PM

14,037 posts

15 cross the rest non cross.

I shoot by recomposing anyways with 85 at f/1.4
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 09:41 PM

14,037 posts

Sure, I use a UD35 also feel its kinda heavy :S.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 10:53 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Feb 22 2011, 09:42 PM)
Ya i prefer backpack looking one ! so you can recommend me =)
Alright , i have to go to check it out whether fastpack or flipside , one can carry tripod , one can carry laptop but cannot carry tripod

what about think tank streetwalker?

Added on February 22, 2011, 9:44 pm
urban disguise 35 is shoulder bag , waaa u got 85mm got 70200 , heavy kao lat ! moreover it is not backpack

you got put laptop izzit?
I usually carry 2 lens... its either 85 + 1635 or 70200 + 1635. Speedlight and I rarely carry netbook around...
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 07:16 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Feb 22 2011, 11:11 PM)
bro celciuz...
so from ur side...
16-35 F4 wins all rite...?
for me...
wide range no nid so big aperature...
coz DOF quite short...
Nope, the only cons is the f/4.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 03:42 AM)
That's really bad for a DLSR that expensive. Guess canon isn't delighting you always..

For that, there's always Nikon...

Added on February 23, 2011, 3:50 am

Look at Vanguard Uprise 46 or 48 & Vanguard Skyborne 48 - Highly padded & reallllly comfortable at the back. There are some review videos in youtube too..
The 5Dmk2's infamous focus issue ma. Heck even the 1dmk3 has this issue too, situation improved in the 1dmk4.

This is why the D3/D700 from Nikon manage to capture some of the FF share from Canon. Before this Canon dominating FF segment ma.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 07:42 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 23 2011, 07:38 AM)
And some very little issue on it doesn't make people won't buy it also. I've seen lots of nice images from the so-called-flawed 5d2. Well said bro celciuz.
It has something to do with the AF system, it not fast and accuracy is just so so where else the D3/D700 etc from Nikon excels. That is why more and more jumping ship, in an event the moment won't wait for your focus :-).

But of course, the 5dmk2 is excellent for studios, portrait, landscape etc as you've ample of time to ensure a spot on focus. Not to mention with sufficient lighting (studio) and also high megapixels!
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 08:29 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 07:48 AM)
I'll try & find out whether it is available...the HB55 i mean.. for more expensive stuffs, I'll try & find out too..

BTW, yum yummy.. I love the pics  rclxms.gif

Added on February 23, 2011, 7:51 am

Yup yup...  nod.gif
Been searching for the HB-55, but so far all says need to order etc but can't commit timeline.

QUOTE(hellsoldier33 @ Feb 23 2011, 08:25 AM)
can recommend which portrait lens is good and cheap enough for d5000?
35mm f/1.8G, able to autofocus.

Else 50mm f/1.4D, cheap but unable to autofocus on D5000.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 09:07 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(hellsoldier33 @ Feb 23 2011, 08:38 AM)
how much is nikon 35mm f/1.8G selling? auto focus better right. manual is very tough even for professionals?
Correct, best to get the 35mm f/1.8D instead of the 50mm f/1.8D if you're using D5000. Sometimes its fun to use manual focusing to shoot, but don't know if your patience can handle it or not tongue.gif.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 09:33 AM

14,037 posts

Hit rate isn't impressive too you know, if you've friends using 85L, 50L or 24L ask for their feedback. My friend honestly told me, at low light, some hits and some miss. Imagine shooting event, you get a lock but do you know if the lock is good or no good? That's why my friends using 5dmk2 for events usually take a spare shot just to be sure.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 10:29 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 09:43 AM)
Spot on bro!  thumbup.gif

I've went on a job assignment and met with some media pros including Bernama, Astro Awani & several other media photo/videographers. Talked to one reporter from Astro Awani, and I talked about the D3s and he said most of the guys there that have their D3s just changed system from canon to nikon because their companies changed brand & there's a lot of media companies that are doing that. He said it's a bit of pain for em because most of them are used to canon and now they have to get used to using nikon. I asked why the media companies changed system... he was reluctant to say & just changed the topic after that (probably because he is a canon user himself) blink.gif A good example of NEED vs WANT.
Maybe the guys were complaining that they didn't get any shot due to slow focus tongue.gif. Just kidding haha!
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 12:10 PM

14,037 posts

My friend's 1Dmk4 went back to Canon for almost 1 month to 'fix' the AF module. He was complaining about focusing inaccurate, the shooting the same thing under lowlight and focusing it twice with the AF, one shot can be sharp another can be slightly off focus.

Took back, so far his feedback is more or less similar LOL.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:08 AM