13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

celciuz
post Feb 20 2011, 02:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Feb 20 2011, 01:44 PM)
I also at office now. sad.gif
Haih~ kinda sucks lor have to be in office on a Sunday :S. Maybe later go take some pics LOL!
celciuz
post Feb 20 2011, 04:42 PM

14,037 posts

I got one from Yannick at RM300 before this, actually I've 2 units of XS-Pro, one of them i traded with my friend for a new Hoya HD haha~
celciuz
post Feb 20 2011, 06:17 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 20 2011, 05:54 PM)
so your's from yannick also la or the RM 250 from some other people ? unsure.gif
A little confuse
No no, it was from another trader from PM.com, but macam can't find the receipt -.-... my first XS-Pro was from Yannick at RM300. Then I bought another to prepare for my 85G, that unit is RM250 if I recalled correctly.
celciuz
post Feb 20 2011, 09:54 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(tjin @ Feb 20 2011, 09:51 PM)
that is wat u call auto focus (AF)

if you are opting for nikon entry level DSLR, you wont be able to use AF if the lens does not have this function where else for canon, you can do so bcos canon has a AF motor built-in inside the camera...
Wrong, it is because all Canon lens have motor built in. Nikon on the other hand some lens such as the cheap yet good 50mm f/1.8D does not have a built in motor but has to depend on the screw drive from the body.
celciuz
post Feb 20 2011, 10:07 PM

14,037 posts

The cheapest should be the 1855 kit lens smile.gif
celciuz
post Feb 20 2011, 11:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 20 2011, 11:16 PM)
so if i buy this model with the lens that hav AF motor also can AF ??/
the cheaper 18-55 lens with AF is how much ??
It is a kit lens, if you buy D3100 it comes with one.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 10:37 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 10:01 AM)
Bro KTCY, for the nikon 2470 can I use B+W F-PRO or should I get the XS-PRO?
Its a Nikkor 2470, get the best! XS-Pro.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 10:18 AM)
Thanks bro KTCY & daze. It's slim enough not to cause vignetting right? Are there any noticeable differences between these two filters?

Compared to high end HOYA filters? which is better?
F-Pro and Hoya HD? I would go for Hoya HD anytime. But if XS-Pro and Hoya HD then you need to decide tongue.gif.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 11:52 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 21 2011, 10:42 AM)
Hoya HD and XS-Pro price actually quite similar .
How much is the current price now for the XS-Pro?

I know the HD recently was about RM250... XS-Pro I only managed once at RM250.. the other time was RM300 >_<
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 01:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 12:17 PM)
You mean Hoya Pro1D right? Im confused about hoya's filters.. there's so many new & discontinued models with almost similar names.

I've read this before somewhere here that either hoya or b+w is a pain in the *** to clean. I'm guessing the hoya is the one. Is it true?

Added on February 21, 2011, 12:19 pm

Budget rm2.5k or below
- Get the Nikon 18-200 VRII or get the Tamron 18-270VC
- or get the Nikon 70-300 VRII

Budget 1k and below - get the sigma/nikon/tamron 70-300.

That's that.
Referring to Hoya HD
Hoya Pro1D and B+W XS-Pro is hard to clean because of their coating. The Hoya HD is easy to clean.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 06:20 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 21 2011, 03:13 PM)
kit lens can't get bird shooting la.
Chicken shooting probably can laugh.gif
I visit KL bird park with 18105 last year with my friends, on the way back went to pick up a 70200 VRII after the bird park LOL! Damn impulsive cause I shoot bird like shooting landscape at 105mm lol~ Somemore that time VR2 just out and another friend got it and started poisoning me non stop. Damn.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 04:03 PM)
So both the XS and Pro1D is hard to clean? Aisey...

I asked this guy working in a camera shop about filters suitable for the 2470... he didn't even mention B+W much less Hoya. He directly answered Rodenstock & Heliopan. I know Heliopan makes filters...but I'm really in the dark about Rodenstock.

Can anyone tell me about these 2 filter brands?
I won't even look at those 2 brands to be honest laugh.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 21 2011, 04:33 PM)
XS-pro hard to clean eh ? unsure.gif
Compared to Hoya HD, yes! Tougher to clean.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 05:48 PM)
most fx lens dont have AF motor? U SURE? this is 2011 and not 90s. Most Nikon FX lenses currently in production have AF motor. SWM motor to be exact.
The only downside to normal consumers are that these lenses are mostly expensive.
All new lens have AF-S.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 05:56 PM)
If you wanna use for both DX & FX - I would really recommend 1635 f4. can still use normal type filters unlike 1424.

If you wanna use for DX only - Tokina 1116 f2.8, Sigma 1020 f3.5. I never tried any nikon DX ultrawides yet..so cannot comment on them.

Added on February 21, 2011, 5:57 pm

me too..never heard of that.. lucky u came up with one..  doh.gif

Ever heard of prosumer?  whistling.gif
I use 1635 too tongue.gif. I'm a DX user and now an FX user. Was thinking to grab the 1750 or rather the 1755, ended up with 1635 cause I know I will be going for FX.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 07:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 21 2011, 06:25 PM)
blah, stupid hoya hmc filter...it softens my images a bit.
Really? But it looks ok on my 50mm f/1.8D though.

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Feb 21 2011, 06:46 PM)
Celciuz you make me want go for 16-35mm because u mentioned (i know i will be going for FX)......lol i just make my mind to go for 1750mm 2.8.
Haha, initially I went with 1635 on D90. Quite regret cause f/4 slow... That time I'm used to f/2.8 on my 70200 suddenly f/4 :S. A bit pekcek LOL.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 21 2011, 06:51 PM)
Yup.. all new lens have SWM but not all lens currently in production have swm.
Of course, there's many old lens still in production wink.gif
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 07:13 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 21 2011, 07:06 PM)
On a telephoto can tell got small difference.
Its like finer detail has a slight haze over it.
Got someone on dpreview forum who also complain same thing.
So lousy meh... lucky I didn't use HMC for my 70200 or 85 then phew.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2011, 07:20 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 21 2011, 07:15 PM)
wat u using on 70200?
Using Hoya HD on it.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 08:44 AM

14,037 posts

I'm shooting at f/2.8 most of the time when using the 50mm f/1.4D (friend's... back then before I bought the 70200 biggrin.gif)
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 09:04 AM

14,037 posts

VR increases your hit rate especially when going slower shutter like 1/60s when zoomed out to 200mm.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 03:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 22 2011, 03:43 PM)
Tried a D700+85G just now. Damn bokehlicious. Too bad I don't have a CF card with me sad.gif
Need poison from 85G? whistling.gif
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 03:54 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Feb 22 2011, 03:50 PM)
Just get one, no need to play the waiting game tongue.gif
If you tell me something like D700 which dropped price since it was introduced I think reasonable... but this 1755 f/2.8 so far not yet drop price before right? A bit risky tongue.gif. The new one probably would be the same price tag.

Not to mention this lens quite old already. The Canon have IS for theirs, Nikon should be coming up with a 4 stop technology VR too.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 03:56 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 22 2011, 03:54 PM)
Hehe, celciuz call sign, 85mm, he will appear  tongue.gif
Like batman, put the bat light to the sky to call for batman  tongue.gif

j/k
LOL... was looking at this thread and nothing interesting mah... except a Canon user saying 85G + D700 was bokehlicious tongue.gif. So came to kacau~ XD.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 04:03 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Feb 22 2011, 03:57 PM)
thats what i think so too ... looks like its going to be another waiting game for me then ... D400 + 17-55 f/2.8 VRII with Nano Crystal Coating ...
Better option, D700 + 2470 Nano.
celciuz
post Feb 22 2011, 04:47 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 22 2011, 04:21 PM)
Don't play wait for lenses, if you wanna play wait, can wait until neck long long I tell you. I waited months for it last time also, in the end cannot tahan then I grab myself a second hand one because scare new one price drop too fast also. End up I sell it away again because upgrading to FX even before it's replacement is out tongue.gif

No regrets and $$ loss. whistling.gif
85G on DX? LOL!
I went to KLIMS the first weekend (Saturday) with D90 + 85G,

Then got annoyed with the range and bought D700+MB-D10 the next Monday laugh.gif

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 22 2011, 04:21 PM)
4.8K? add a thousand more & you'll get the 2470N!!

Btw, I can get the 2470 at 4930 NEW, Nikon Malaysia set from official source.. don't ask.. secret...
Spill the bean!!!

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0419sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:45 AM