How Much You Save Each Month From Net Salary?, Are you satisfy with the amount save?

TSgoodyear
post Feb 11 2011, 04:23 PM, updated 15y ago

304 posts

Was wondering how much everyone is savings each month. Do you save money from your net salary (after deducting EPF, income tax) each month? If yes, how much do you save?

Are you satisfy with the amount you save?

If not, how much you would like to save?

And are you still single or married? Are you still staying at your parents house or independent?

Thanks Ya..

This post has been edited by goodyear: Feb 11 2011, 07:41 PM
gs20
post Feb 11 2011, 04:30 PM

1,685 posts

Don't have negative option?
h4dRi
post Feb 11 2011, 04:48 PM

97 posts

only 16% from net salary..

definitely not satisfy...
hikaruact2
post Feb 11 2011, 04:53 PM

112 posts

10% of my net salary. not satisfy, but want to finish pay my PTPTN loan asap.
jady
post Feb 11 2011, 04:57 PM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

around 20% average... but last time salary lower can save more than 20%...
azliayob
post Feb 11 2011, 05:10 PM

130 posts

Save 20%.. Maintaince since two years ago.. Maybe this year lower to 15%..

Expenses increase while wages static.. cannot cope..

anangryorc
post Feb 11 2011, 05:26 PM

597 posts

35%, because I'm living with my family and converted my PTPTN to scholarship.
Amanda85
post Feb 11 2011, 05:39 PM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

who voted 100%?
who_care
post Feb 11 2011, 06:03 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Feb 11 2011, 05:39 PM)
who voted 100%?
maybe boss...

i save around 15%...
not satisfy , i want to save 40-50%
tiffins
post Feb 11 2011, 06:11 PM

17 posts

I save about 50% of my salary from my day job and almost 80% of salary from my part time job.
angelsinlove
post Feb 11 2011, 06:20 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(tiffins @ Feb 11 2011, 06:11 PM)
I save about 50% of my salary from my day job and almost 80% of salary from my part time job.
(Almost)Same. Used to save about 52% of my day job salary and apart from it, I worked part time to supplement my income which I hardly use(saved about 85% of my supplement income which is a third of my day job salary). I'm staying outside, having to bare the cost or renting and etc. Those savings are after deductions. smile.gif
den
post Feb 11 2011, 06:30 PM

Plebeian
1,643 posts

Not much load now, so can save about 70%.
But sometimes will use a huge sum to buy gadgets etc. tongue.gif
edyek
post Feb 11 2011, 09:34 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

0%-5%
SUSdestiny6
post Feb 11 2011, 09:56 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(den @ Feb 11 2011, 06:30 PM)
Not much load now, so can save about 70%.
But sometimes will use a huge sum to buy gadgets etc. tongue.gif
agree....no points saving so much $$$ and end of a day spend all to buy a gadget like me sweat.gif
nowadays i'll work out a saving plan already at least 10% monthly biggrin.gif
kaiserwulf
post Feb 11 2011, 10:00 PM

1,110 posts

How to save 100% of salary? Usually I can think off is jump aeroplaner's and working rich-man-wives.
Jerry77
post Feb 11 2011, 10:01 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 11 2011, 09:34 PM)
0%-5%
0mars
post Feb 11 2011, 10:47 PM

153 posts

technically 50% but will be harder soon coz need to get a car and planning to max monthly payments to minimise loan tenure. once thats done, aiming for 70-80%

I dont earn that much, i just tend to live below my means compared to my peers.

edit--> forgot to say that im single and completely independent, rent food etc. all own expenses

This post has been edited by 0mars: Feb 11 2011, 10:48 PM
static
post Feb 11 2011, 10:55 PM

782 posts

I've been giving my parents about 35% to 40% of my net salary ever since I started working 2 years ago (they are not working, and it includes the installment for our family car). So I have 60% left to use - and I live with my boyfriend for the past 2 years, in which I have to pay for my telephone bill, internet, food (i tend to be stingy, so eat cheap food lah, but occasionally we spend on fine dining for special occasions), entertainment, utilities, rent. In the end, 10% left. Definitely not satisfied...

Increment + bonus doesn't help much as things are getting much more expensive as petrol increase = food/drinks increase. But luckily I don't have a car to drive around (but i pay for family car), I live in city centre (hence rent is higher) and I walk or take LRT everywhere I go. But I do have nice friends who are willing to drive me sometimes smile.gif

Only debt is PTPTN and car.
SilverfoX
post Feb 12 2011, 07:29 AM

164 posts

Started working in 2009. Managed to save 45% of my total salary in the 1st year, then only 30% last year because of wedding (caused severe financial blood loss, luckily its all over now haha).

Aiming to save 40-50% of my salary this year.
theodore_kh
post Feb 12 2011, 09:17 AM

It's me again !
1,297 posts

Well, I can save bout 50-60% a month. Have been dragging my loan for half a year already though.

Most expenses is on travelling and accommodation.
gark
post Feb 12 2011, 09:20 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Feb 11 2011, 10:00 PM)
How to save 100% of salary? Usually I can think off is jump aeroplaner's and working rich-man-wives.
Try being an expatriate worker for a MNC.

Usually income tax and EPF equivalent are paid by employers. Also the accommodation rental, utilities, car & maintenance, hp & calls, food (lunch & dinner) and also ticket back to MY is all borne by employers. With all these 'perks' you can save >100% of your salary. But there is a price... they work you to the bones and you need to adapt to new environment. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 12 2011, 09:21 AM
Currylaksa
post Feb 12 2011, 10:24 AM

1,616 posts

30% for me hmm.gif

Salary remains static, but prices keep increasing.
property101
post Feb 12 2011, 12:48 PM

1,830 posts

very hard to say bro

is insurance considered as saving?
is investment for long term considered as saving?
giving money to parents, and parents is saving the money for me. is that considered saving?

This post has been edited by property101: Feb 12 2011, 12:58 PM
Colaboy
post Feb 12 2011, 01:14 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:48 PM)
very hard to say bro

giving money to parents, and parents is saving the money for me. is that considered saving?
1)yea . . . endowment plan is savings plan
2)long term investment can be consider savings provided it generate a decent returns over the years, & not make a loss
3)hmmmm . . . . . its good to let our parents manage the money for us, if you are inexperince
Currylaksa
post Feb 12 2011, 01:47 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:48 PM)
very hard to say bro

Paying off the home loan should be considered too, since property is part of net worth. hmm.gif

Amanda85
post Feb 12 2011, 02:12 PM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

i feel so regret for not saving any money during my first 2 year of work. first year i used up all for enjoying myself, second year started to pay car loan and max out on spending. the only chance i can save is when i receive bonus.

now 3rd year, i am determine to discipline myself and start saving minimum 20%.
ah_suknat
post Feb 12 2011, 05:34 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Feb 12 2011, 06:12 AM)
i feel so regret for not saving any money during my first 2 year of work. first year i used up all for enjoying myself, second year started to pay car loan and max out on spending. the only chance i can save is when i receive bonus.

now 3rd year, i am determine to discipline myself and start saving minimum 20%.
well, its better late than never
TSgoodyear
post Feb 13 2011, 12:52 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Feb 12 2011, 05:34 PM)
well, its better late than never
Well said.
king_lover23
post Feb 20 2011, 02:17 PM

1,055 posts

100%??? who so pro here? hehe
share ur exp la... drool.gif
property101
post Feb 20 2011, 03:17 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Feb 12 2011, 01:14 PM)
1)yea . . . endowment plan is savings plan
2)long term investment can be consider savings provided it generate a decent returns over the years, & not make a loss
3)hmmmm . . . . . its good to let our parents manage the money for us, if you are inexperince
wah...like that, manyak wor... 83% laugh.gif

but in terms of cash, slightly above 20% la

This post has been edited by property101: Feb 20 2011, 03:18 PM
alowie
post Feb 20 2011, 07:25 PM

58 posts

21yrs old, constantly 70% since i got my first job 6 months back*means gadget & clothing etc spending substracted from 30% left* always put all savings on capital growth investment*not yet starting cashflow investment since i still adjust to working life properly* gonna 74% saving rate after next increment*soon smile.gif* living with girlfriend, having several occasion in a month. no car installment*never thought its a good investment unless i've too much cash on my pocket, n public transport in KL is good enough for me* still learning to manage my fund better, hope to learn from lyn fellow smile.gif
kelvin_87
post Feb 21 2011, 12:28 AM

312 posts

not statisfy at all, saving less than 20% after pay for monthly car loan, food and bill... life is so struggle sad.gif
arsenal
post Feb 21 2011, 08:10 AM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

save 20% after 50% on house loans...must do better
myvi5949
post Feb 21 2011, 08:19 AM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

i save 40 percent but im still single not many commitment

saving is good its foundation of wealth building..

but saving alone wont make u rich..unless you're REALLY really patient.

Hoarding wealth is a lousy way to make wealth.. Give away ur money and make good investments. It will be more wise and good for society.

This post has been edited by myvi5949: Feb 21 2011, 08:24 AM
jphlau
post Feb 21 2011, 10:36 AM

1,202 posts

i do not save but invest 40-50% of my salary..
guanteik
post Feb 21 2011, 08:00 PM

2,661 posts

So far I am able to save ~50% of my net salary... of the 50%, 30% goes for investments (shares and unit trusts) and rest are in cash.
rakyat
post Feb 22 2011, 10:02 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(goodyear @ Feb 11 2011, 04:23 PM)

Was wondering how much everyone is savings each month.  Do you save money from your net salary (after deducting EPF, income tax) each month?  If yes, how much do you save? 

And are you still single or married?  Are you still staying at your parents house or independent?

Thanks Ya..
40% of net income; used to be 60% but now with kids xpenses increased. BTW I consider investment & purchase of assets as a form of saving.

Quite satisfied with frugalness, infact gonna reduce saving % as life is short & gonna need a MPV soon doh.gif

Double income with 1.5 kids.

Added on February 22, 2011, 10:10 am
QUOTE(jphlau @ Feb 21 2011, 10:36 AM)
i do not save but invest 40-50% of my salary..
Investment considered as saving-la i.e. u save 40 to 50% of your salary rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by rakyat: Feb 22 2011, 10:13 AM
scoop7
post Feb 22 2011, 04:20 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

% saving should go up next mth, finished car loan smile.gif
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Feb 22 2011, 04:40 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(alowie @ Feb 20 2011, 07:25 PM)
21yrs old, constantly 70% since i got my first job 6 months back*means gadget & clothing etc spending substracted from 30% left* always put all savings on capital growth investment*not yet starting cashflow investment since i still adjust to working life properly* gonna 74% saving rate after next increment*soon smile.gif* living with girlfriend, having several occasion in a month. no car installment*never thought its a good investment unless i've too much cash on my pocket, n public transport in KL is good enough for me* still learning to manage my fund better, hope to learn from lyn fellow smile.gif
6 months work with 70% saving? Very impressive. When I started to work, I barely able to save 30% and I dont have any loan at that time too. Rent + food + utilities already eat 50% of my salary.

Currently able to save 50%, with my car loan finished in 5 months, I expect my saving to reach 60%.
prempenang
post Feb 22 2011, 04:42 PM

138 posts

i am planning to save rm4k per month

what to do with this 4k? dump to housingloan?
property101
post Feb 22 2011, 06:41 PM

1,830 posts

u have the brain to make that amount of money, that allows you to save rm4k/month, believe in yourself with some investment wink.gif
lucerne
post Feb 22 2011, 07:14 PM

1,946 posts

hi, i m single and i saved >100% of my salary coz i hv few properties for rental. my biggest expenses are insurance, food and entertainments eg pub, spa etc which easily can covered by rentals.
dannyme
post Feb 22 2011, 08:01 PM

37 posts

more than 100%..sometimes 200%
Do you think IRB is capable of tracing IP address??...tongue.gif
spoon2272
post Feb 24 2011, 01:33 PM

1,117 posts

my income is 10k but i spend 11k.how to save? unsure.gif
TSgoodyear
post Feb 24 2011, 08:15 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(spoon2272 @ Feb 24 2011, 01:33 PM)
my income is 10k but i spend 11k.how to save? unsure.gif
Hi spoon2272,

Can you share with us what did you spend on?

Thanks ya..
Buggo
post Feb 24 2011, 08:17 PM

160 posts

About 40% - 60% every month
Maxcore
post Mar 4 2011, 04:44 PM

21 posts

Guys. im impress many if you can save that much

lets say 1 person earns rm3k

phone bill - rm150
life insurance rm150
Petrol / toll - rm500
give parents rm500
pay car rm550
savings 20% rm600
total rm2450

Balance rm550

kind a bit tight to be able to save 20%...so how do you guys manage. to take the fact that not paying for any house or house bill here though..?
kenny5978
post Mar 4 2011, 08:33 PM

164 posts

i invested half of my monthly salary in insurance and unit trust.
playerseeker
post Mar 4 2011, 10:26 PM

630 posts

0%-25%.....been working for 4 years already and have a saving of 2 months salary. Currently using the extra money to create passive income...

Hope to increase from 2 months salary saving to 3 months salary saving...
ah_suknat
post Mar 5 2011, 07:33 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Maxcore @ Mar 4 2011, 08:44 AM)
Guys. im impress many if you can save that much

lets say 1 person earns rm3k

phone bill - rm150
life insurance rm150
Petrol / toll - rm500
give parents rm500
pay car rm550
savings 20% rm600
total rm2450

Balance rm550

kind a bit tight to be able to save 20%...so how do you guys manage. to take the fact that not paying for any house or house bill here though..?
threre, you still can save 20%

some people cant even save 10%..

but best go for 30%
jady
post Mar 5 2011, 12:53 PM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

those that save above 50% of their net income, can share how they do it? salary too high and less commitment?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 5 2011, 12:58 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

50% on average. smile.gif Expenses are food, about 600, petrol 200, parents 400, others 300 here and there and that's it smile.gif
jtleon
post Mar 6 2011, 01:56 AM

266 posts

7.23% can save 100% that is so gOOd~
does the saving you guys mentioned include the 11% that goes to kwsp?

This post has been edited by jtleon: Mar 6 2011, 01:56 AM
Mr Jones
post Mar 6 2011, 03:01 AM

38 posts

Yeah I can't see any way you can save 100% unless you are an expat and get all your expenses paid. Even if you consider paying off a home loan as savings a certain percentage of that is interest.

I think some people are being a bit silly/dishonest in the poll.
Beth79
post Mar 6 2011, 04:04 PM

194 posts

around 35% on average. thinking of moving in with my bf, then i can rent out my apartment and increase my savings tongue.gif
egyprince
post Mar 7 2011, 02:06 AM

On my way.....getting stronger each day
1,277 posts

Still trying to save minimun of 30% of my salary..
rakyat
post Mar 7 2011, 09:18 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(jady @ Mar 5 2011, 12:53 PM)
those that save above 50% of their net income, can share how they do it? salary too high and less commitment?
Live within your means = live frugally; do not upgrade your car - it is a huge liability (depreciation + leasing interest)

Get your money to work for you - passive income
lalachong
post Mar 7 2011, 11:27 AM

294 posts

This is a very normal basic married fella/ family expenses... without kids!

phone bill - RM100
electric/ water bill - RM180
internet bill - RM100
astro bill - RM120
House installment - RM1600
car installment - RM900
parents - RM500
wife - RM500
insurance - RM250
petrol - RM400
Touch and go - RM100

how much d??? = RM4750....
how to save???.... have kids?? sigh...

rakyat
post Mar 7 2011, 11:38 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Mar 7 2011, 11:27 AM)

phone bill - RM100
internet bill - RM100
astro bill - RM120
car installment - RM900
parents - RM500
wife - RM500
insurance - RM250
petrol - RM400
Touch and go - RM100

Why give wife RM500? Single income? Then abit susah in Klang Valley unless income is > RM10k
newbie99
post Mar 7 2011, 12:57 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Mar 7 2011, 11:27 AM)

phone bill - RM100
internet bill - RM100
astro bill - RM120
car installment - RM900
parents - RM500
wife - RM500
insurance - RM250
petrol - RM400
Touch and go - RM100

I think you can still save a bit more.

Astrobill - There's no need to watch Astro, or at least subscribe the cheaper package. I dont know what's the cheapest deal as I dont watch Astro/TV. Try do use for free time to do exercise instead of watching TV. Healthier that way, and save on medical cost in the long run.
Phonebill - Try not to use so much mobile phone, or use pre-paid to receive calls or for emergency.
Internet - Go for cheaper package, or at least go for the package you can lump in you local + interstate calls for extra 20 ringgit plus. (Cant remember the exact amount, but it's offered by TM)
Insurance - Buy only what's needed. Buy just enough to cover liabilities and your dependence.
Petrol + touch and go = guess that's for travelling to work. Can find a workplace closer to home? That will be a huge saving.

I personally earned high 5 digits a month, but I spend less that you on phone bill, asto bill, car installment, insurance, petrol, touch and go.
heloelaine
post Mar 7 2011, 09:58 PM

350 posts

saving 25% of my salary... tried to fork out funds to invest every 2 months once...

i'm lucky enough to have a job near my home but it still won't save much as the salary consider low for a person working for 2 yrs... =="

try to cut unnecessary spending such as astro, internet+mobile usage fee (opt to use package plan), buying 2nd hand small or fuel efficient vehicles, try window shopping rather than $$ spending shopping... tongue.gif

life's tough but still able to survive...
Gary1981
post Mar 8 2011, 10:29 AM

1,610 posts

When single, use to save 80% annual nett income (inclusive 1 job, 2 side business)
Current married, joint saving with my wife at 50%. With all expenses on our own (house, car & etc)
nik2
post Mar 8 2011, 12:11 PM

134 posts

0-0.01% biggrin.gif
solemn_86
post Mar 8 2011, 06:34 PM

155 posts

i'm saving 40% max that's it
MamulaMoon
post Mar 9 2011, 12:42 PM

137 posts

I don't get it.... why some ppl managed to save 100% from what they are earning.?

no need to eat? even if you surf lowyat.net you still need to pay money to your ISP...

if you are earning a lot of money... you will still be able to save 99% of your income... not 100%...

jphlau
post Mar 9 2011, 01:44 PM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ Mar 9 2011, 12:42 PM)
I don't get it.... why some ppl managed to save 100% from what they are earning.?

no need to eat? even if you surf lowyat.net you still need to pay money to your ISP...

if you are earning a lot of money... you will still be able to save 99% of your income... not 100%...
gigolo or mistress can...

on a serious note, i believe when they say they can save 100% of their earning, it is their typical 9-6 day job. And they only live on the income from their investment. Thus thats how they can save 100% of their earnings aka salary.
edyek
post Mar 9 2011, 01:49 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Mar 9 2011, 01:44 PM)

on a serious note, i believe when they say they can save 100% of their earning, it is their typical 9-6 day job. And they only live on the income from their investment. Thus thats how they can save 100% of their earnings aka salary.
Live with parents also can save 100% mah. icon_idea.gif
rakyat
post Mar 9 2011, 04:18 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Mar 9 2011, 01:49 PM)
Live with parents also can save 100% mah.  icon_idea.gif
Live with parent no need to give them monthly maintainence/ allowance-ah???

This is called 'pai kar chai' or 'ee sai chou' vmad.gif
edyek
post Mar 9 2011, 04:35 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Mar 9 2011, 04:18 PM)

This is called 'pai kar chai' or 'ee sai chou'  vmad.gif
If the parents still working or own self business, you think need to give? biggrin.gif
rakyat
post Mar 9 2011, 05:48 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Mar 9 2011, 04:35 PM)
If the parents still working or own self business, you think need to give?  biggrin.gif
It is not the money but the act of giving doh.gif . This is part of chinese culture of Filial piety. It shows respect and gratitude to your parents.

Remember the CNY advertisement - scene at old folks home and elderly ladies boasting bout their children high income, each one progressively higher then the other except 1 meek lady keeping quite. Next scene a proton roll-in (non-high income child), it was the meek lady's son visitng her while all other ladies can only look on jealously..... Filial piety my friend rclxms.gif

My mother & father in-law both gov servants, gets monthly pension with free health care and paid up house & cars but we still give them monthly allowance; do they need the money? No. Can they do with the extra? Yes. Do they use the extra? I dunno. It is just my duty to my parents icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 9 2011, 05:51 PM
edyek
post Mar 9 2011, 06:16 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Mar 9 2011, 05:48 PM)
It is not the money but the act of giving  doh.gif . This is part of chinese culture of Filial piety. It shows respect and gratitude to your parents.

Remember the CNY advertisement - scene at old folks home and elderly ladies boasting bout their children high income, each one progressively higher then the other except 1 meek lady keeping quite. Next scene a proton roll-in (non-high income child), it was the meek lady's son visitng her while all other ladies can only look on jealously.....  Filial piety my friend  rclxms.gif 

My mother & father in-law both gov servants, gets monthly pension with free health care and paid up house & cars but we still give them monthly allowance; do they need the money? No. Can they do with the extra? Yes. Do they use the extra? I dunno. It is just my duty to my parents  icon_rolleyes.gif
There are some people that just don't give, no matter what duty or culture we are talking. And I've seen these kind of people. Eat, Use and live with parents (semua parents). Save 100% salary and end up buying useless thing.
playerseeker
post Mar 10 2011, 08:09 AM

630 posts

i agree with edyek. Some people just dun give the parents especially when they are in bad term with their parents and their parents is financially stable. I've seen before too. Bad, very bad. hmmm
Sebastiank21
post Mar 10 2011, 08:28 AM

151 posts

Save as much as I can after expenses but sometimes will spend something I plan to buy ,not buy randomly

Added on March 10, 2011, 8:29 am
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 10 2011, 08:09 AM)
i agree with edyek. Some people just dun give the parents especially when they are in bad term with their parents and their parents is financially stable. I've seen before too. Bad, very bad. hmmm
Different case if parent don't want children money

Added on March 10, 2011, 8:30 am
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 10 2011, 08:09 AM)

This post has been edited by Sebastiank21: Mar 10 2011, 08:30 AM
jphlau
post Mar 10 2011, 09:09 AM

1,202 posts

My parents are different. When I want to give them allowances, they refuse to accept it. Instead they ask me to save and invest it...
gerl
post Mar 10 2011, 09:29 AM

71 posts

i try to save at least 10% monthly, normally will try 20%. im having a hard time saving coz i like to shop, but i don't want to end up with nothing so die die must save something each month ><

not satisfied and i'd like to save 40% if i can.

my parents also refused to accept money from me coz they worry i don't have enough for myself but i insisted. sometimes i feel they r much more financially stable compared to me and what i give sure feel like 50cent oni compared to what they have, but i still give because i feel like it's what i should do after all they've done.
Sebastiank21
post Mar 10 2011, 10:01 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Mar 10 2011, 09:09 AM)
My parents are different. When I want to give them allowances, they refuse to accept it. Instead they ask me to save and invest it...
Me too my parent don't wanna take money from me,but I will buy things for them since they don't wanna money
kaiserwulf
post Mar 16 2011, 10:46 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Mar 9 2011, 05:48 PM)
It is not the money but the act of giving  doh.gif . This is part of chinese culture of Filial piety. It shows respect and gratitude to your parents.

Remember the CNY advertisement - scene at old folks home and elderly ladies boasting bout their children high income, each one progressively higher then the other except 1 meek lady keeping quite. Next scene a proton roll-in (non-high income child), it was the meek lady's son visitng her while all other ladies can only look on jealously.....  Filial piety my friend  rclxms.gif 
My grandparents even more keng. Not even appear in the scene at the Old Folks Home. Cos of real filial piety, they stay with my eldest uncle! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
aaronpang
post Mar 16 2011, 11:00 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

After deducting tax & epf... what's left every month I save 40%

My method is to force saving, if I didn't buy a house I would have spent the money doh.gif

Next saving plan is to set aside my bonus to buy gold... because if need emergency funds house is slow to sell.

Not to mention if only need small amounts RM10k to RM20k its not worth to sell an entire house sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Mar 16 2011, 11:02 AM
lalachong
post Mar 16 2011, 11:20 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Mar 7 2011, 12:57 PM)
I think you can still save a bit more.

Astrobill - There's no need to watch Astro, or at least subscribe the cheaper package. I dont know what's the cheapest deal as I dont watch Astro/TV. Try do use for free time to do exercise instead of watching TV. Healthier that way, and save on medical cost in the long run.
Phonebill - Try not to use so much mobile phone, or use pre-paid to receive calls or for emergency.
Internet - Go for cheaper package, or at least go for the package you can lump in you local + interstate calls for extra 20 ringgit plus. (Cant remember the exact amount, but it's offered by TM)
Insurance - Buy only what's needed. Buy just enough to cover liabilities and your dependence.
Petrol + touch and go = guess that's for travelling to work. Can find a workplace closer to home? That will be a huge saving.

I personally earned high 5 digits a month, but I spend less that you on phone bill, asto bill, car installment, insurance, petrol, touch and go.
hmmm, still can?
astro... mother watch wah lai toi...
phone bill 100 is needed iphone plan ma...
internet.. how to cheaper package? Rm90 is best already... save Rm10 at most...
insurance... i think Rm250 is very fair... if anything happen to me.. or sick... i, my wife and mother taken care off... and can clear the house debts...
petrol + touch and go... no choice... is stay far cos cannot afford nearby bangsar or bkt bintang area?
car installment... vios oni wor... sommore havent included the maintenance/ motor insurance.. which car you have? maybe you put in more capital... or longer installment...
oni thing for me is lucky i dun have any credit card debt.. otherwise i more stress...

but how u earn 5 figure and spend less than me, cos i consider my spending low d?
i am not able to save enough to obtain another property to let out also... although i have plans to...

Awakened_Angel
post Mar 16 2011, 11:51 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Mar 9 2011, 05:18 PM)

This is called 'pai kar chai' or 'ee sai chou'  vmad.gif
not quite....

I occationally dine with my mum or dad and they pay for it.. does that mean I am pai kar chai? cos the expenses will be claim back to family business.....

and they are partially retired while I spearhead the family business..... laugh.gif

pai kar chai is someone who spend money as they like for totally unnecessarily things... e.g. 10k bag

while never work at all....

and of course.... parents are filthy rich

Added on March 16, 2011, 11:53 am
QUOTE(edyek @ Mar 9 2011, 07:16 PM)
There are some people that just don't give, no matter what duty or culture we are talking. And I've seen these kind of people. Eat, Use and live with parents (semua parents). Save 100% salary and end up buying useless thing.
my parents dont even want my money...

they claim that they have more than I do.... laugh.gif

e.g. does lee kar seng`s son give lee kar seng say USD one million per month to buy meal?? hell no doh.gif

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Mar 16 2011, 11:53 AM
zenwell
post Mar 16 2011, 12:41 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Sebastiank21 @ Mar 10 2011, 08:28 AM)
Save as much as I can after expenses but sometimes will spend something I plan to buy ,not buy randomly

Added on March 10, 2011, 8:29 am

Added on March 10, 2011, 8:30 am

QUOTE(jphlau @ Mar 10 2011, 09:09 AM)
QUOTE(gerl @ Mar 10 2011, 09:29 AM)
i try to save at least 10% monthly, normally will try 20%. im having a hard time saving coz i like to shop, but i don't want to end up with nothing so die die must save something each month ><

not satisfied and i'd like to save 40% if i can.

my parents also refused to accept money from me coz they worry i don't have enough for myself but i insisted. sometimes i feel they r much more financially stable compared to me and what i give sure feel like 50cent oni compared to what they have, but i still give because i feel like it's what i should do after all they've done.
QUOTE(Sebastiank21 @ Mar 10 2011, 10:01 AM)
Me too my parent don't wanna take money from me,but I will buy things for them since they don't wanna money
so nice. My mum complaint i did not contribute enough o the family no matter how much i give. Their phone bill also i pay, internet bill in the house also i pay. I give pocket money every month, CNY give extra. Still not enough. Haiz...

aaronpang
post Mar 16 2011, 05:28 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Mar 16 2011, 12:41 PM)
so nice. My mum complaint i did not contribute enough o the family no matter how much i give. Their phone bill also i pay, internet bill in the house also i pay. I give pocket money every month, CNY give extra. Still not enough. Haiz...
Parents esp. Chinese parents view children as investment for their old age retirement.

Your birth is solely for commercial reasons... such practice is seen in the past and will continue in the future.

Interesting bit of history:-
Sauce http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ospedale_degli_Innocenti
Others (mothers) would even abandon their own children at the Innocenti, get hired as a wet nurse and end up feeding their own child with pay. There was also continuation of salary from the hospital after the death of an infant.
rakyat
post Mar 17 2011, 12:12 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Mar 16 2011, 11:51 AM)
not quite....

I occationally dine with my mum or dad and they pay for it.. does that mean I am pai kar chai? cos the expenses will be claim back to family business.....

and they are partially retired while I spearhead the family business.....  laugh.gif

pai kar chai is someone who spend money as they like for totally unnecessarily things... e.g. 10k bag

while never work at all....

and of course.... parents are filthy rich

Added on March 16, 2011, 11:53 am
my parents dont even want my money...

they claim that they have more than I do....  laugh.gif

e.g. does lee kar seng`s son give lee kar seng say USD one million per month to buy meal?? hell no  doh.gif
'pai kar chai' means a child that lack filial piety, enjoys life while parents 'suffer' can be from rich or poor.

e.g. senior employees > 60 yo praying that their contract is renewed every 2 yrs coz they need the salary (to support their adult children's car/ hse loan?) Very old businessman still actively running his business daily coz children r still 'helping' only (as oppose to take over business/ actively managing) If you ask them, they will claim that they enjoy what they r doing, comfortable with their 5 figure salary and can even assist in paying d/payment for their adult children's house/ car.

Really-ah? Wanna die oredi still need to work-ah? Nothing better to do in life but work-ah? doh.gif

Compare a person retires at 45 yo and enjoy a humble life of leisure or a person working until death while (children) living a luxurious life.

Parents paying for dinner or buying stuff for children is not wrong; I was refering to adults working children still staying with parents but not contributing monthly expenses

Added on March 17, 2011, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(zenwell @ Mar 16 2011, 12:41 PM)
U r a veli good person and deep inside your parents are proud of how you turn out rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 17 2011, 12:21 PM
alfred liew
post Mar 17 2011, 03:24 PM

301 posts

voted 40% of my salary even i earned only 2k in SG.
the 60% including my insurance, medical card premium, PTPTN,rental, transport, housing loan installment, car servicing (I bought 2nd hand car and some servicing work i do it by myself).
the rental of my house is given to my mother.
i work in sg but i stay at JB. i take bus to SG(5 hrs daily and i wake up at 5am everyday.).
i use IDD card and Prepaid car for my mobile phone and internet. i eat at Kopitiam.
i am not satisfied and i believe those ppl who earn 20k also not satisfied.

This post has been edited by alfred liew: Mar 17 2011, 03:30 PM
HaoYuan
post Mar 18 2011, 05:43 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(goodyear @ Feb 11 2011, 04:23 PM)

Was wondering how much everyone is savings each month.  Do you save money from your net salary (after deducting EPF, income tax) each month?  If yes, how much do you save? 

And are you still single or married?  Are you still staying at your parents house or independent?

Thanks Ya..
cant save money in today's world, if can breakeven consider to be very good already
singdreams
post Mar 19 2011, 01:09 PM

Dead
1,364 posts

Save 0% nuffsaid
gbwilliam
post Mar 24 2011, 12:09 AM

Since most of us save but the question is what did you do with the money that you saved?? put it inside the bank?? any comment? smile.gif
solemn_86
post Mar 24 2011, 09:06 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(gbwilliam @ Mar 24 2011, 12:09 AM)
Since most of us save but the question is what did you do with the money that you saved?? put it inside the bank?? any comment?  smile.gif
I invest 20% out of the 40% I save in ASB and the rest in my savings account smile.gif
rakyat
post Mar 24 2011, 11:49 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(solemn_86 @ Mar 24 2011, 09:06 AM)
I invest 20% out of the 40% I save in ASB and the rest in my savings account  smile.gif
ASB - is that the exclusive 1 (for bumi only?), if it is then u should put in 100% of your saving and infact take up another RM250k loan from Maybank. Forget bout UT-la, buying/ investing in property or shares or gold, no need Takaful insurance or even Tabung Haji (5% to 6%??). When the time comes, u can withdraw from ur ASB to self finance your haj

U just cannot lose on it and what else can give 8% to 18% return while principle is guaranteed?

Better then doing business!!!! Yet we have poor bumi rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 24 2011, 11:52 AM
solemn_86
post Mar 24 2011, 01:04 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Mar 24 2011, 11:49 AM)
ASB - is that the exclusive 1 (for bumi only?), if it is then u should put in 100% of your saving and infact take up another RM250k loan from Maybank. Forget bout UT-la, buying/ investing in property or shares or gold, no need Takaful insurance or even Tabung Haji (5% to 6%??). When the time comes, u can withdraw from ur ASB to self finance your haj

U just cannot lose on it and what else can give 8% to 18% return while principle is guaranteed?

Better then doing business!!!! Yet we have poor bumi  rclxub.gif
Invest in property meaning I have to buy them right? Well, property prices is really sizzling up right now.... shocking.gif
rakyat
post Mar 24 2011, 01:34 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(solemn_86 @ Mar 24 2011, 01:04 PM)
Invest in property meaning I have to buy them right? Well, property prices is really sizzling up right now.... shocking.gif
Looky brother, property investment is all bout the yield and u will be lucky if you can get consistent 3% after minusing your bank loan, u oso need to worry bout tenant mgmt, repairs and maintainence ect.

Why take the risk, waste my time and effort when I (if I'm malay) can just take a maybank loan without any deposit and put into ASN/ASB. Guaranteed highest return of any principle guaranteed investment!!

After 1 yr maturity, Maybank will just minus the interest and remit the dividend to me. After 10 yrs, the free money is all mine w/o even needing me to service any installment!!! If any Bumi have not maxed out their ASN/ASB and wanna talk bout savings or investment is an idiot.

Even wonder why your office despatch boy or filing clerk happily have 5 children and still can afford to turbo his kancil or marry 3rd wife? He's got his retirement plan curtesy of PNB.

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 24 2011, 01:38 PM
SUSsteven13
post Mar 24 2011, 02:16 PM

211 posts

If you're investing then you're not saving...saving is when principle is guaranteed....

Buying property is no longer a good investment....it used to be but not anymore...as so many new properties are being built while more working adults are staying with their parents...price will fall or increase slowly...
and when you retire and want to stay there (because you've working at another city) it's old and rundown already....
solemn_86
post Mar 24 2011, 02:42 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(steven13 @ Mar 24 2011, 02:16 PM)
If you're investing then you're not saving...saving is when principle is guaranteed....

Buying property is no longer a good investment....it used to be but not anymore...as so many new properties are being built while more working adults are staying with their parents...price will fall or increase slowly...
and when you retire and want to stay there (because you've working at another city) it's old and rundown already....
That's my point, property prices these days are so hot....not even worth it sweat.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(rakyat @ Mar 24 2011, 01:34 PM)
Looky brother, property investment is all bout the yield and u will be lucky if you can get consistent 3% after minusing your bank loan, u oso need to worry bout tenant mgmt, repairs and maintainence ect.

Why take the risk, waste my time and effort when I (if I'm malay) can just take a maybank loan without any deposit and put into ASN/ASB. Guaranteed highest return of any principle guaranteed investment!!

After 1 yr maturity, Maybank will just minus the interest and remit the dividend to me. After 10 yrs, the free money is all mine w/o even needing me to service any installment!!!  If any Bumi have not maxed out their ASN/ASB and wanna talk bout savings or investment is an idiot.

Even wonder why your office despatch boy or filing clerk happily have 5 children and still can afford to turbo his kancil or marry 3rd wife? He's got his retirement plan curtesy of PNB.
Well, everyone have different risk-tolerance and mine is not quite up there yet. Besides, "pay yourself first" is my personal motto right now

This post has been edited by solemn_86: Mar 24 2011, 02:49 PM
Ajita
post Mar 24 2011, 03:32 PM

131 posts

+1 to Angel contribution, my situation more or less similar to you.

saves up to 20% every month...
Spend mostly for basic needs, and some cash for personal leisure expenses and fiancee stuffs when she *teh* me T^T

My parents (businessman) does not requires me to give them money every month, and the reason was in a sarcastic manner -

:" Son, you earn so less, suen laa (then gave me a smirk)...":

Me: !@#%^&^!@#$%^&^$#@@#$%^&&^%$#@#$%

simon82
post Mar 26 2011, 08:25 PM

567 posts

Saved around 30%.
Actually can save around 50% but every time, hands itchy to buy gadgets.

Sigh.
spoonudus
post Mar 27 2011, 09:53 PM

189 posts

right now saving around 40%, just started working for about 1.5 year. used to be more when started working but then bought a car for travel to work. lived with parents, didnt pay rent but pay internet and phone bills. in reality i can save more living by my own since travel alone (inclusive car installment, parking, toll, gas) from my parents house to work cost me 40% of my salary:(. but have to stay with my parents since my dad is still working and my mom is sick. yes i didnt gave my parents fixed amount of money every month, but i still give during raya, and occasionally when i get bonus, also occasionally buying grocery and my mom's medicines. but yeah, my moms also complaints that i didnt contribute enough. not to complaint or anything, its just that previously i couldn't gave monthly amount to my parents coz i loaned my money from my saving to pay for my parent's CC debts, house renovation, and only have enough to spend food and travel. all have been paid off now though, and maybe next month or so, will get my salary increment, by which i can start giving my parents some amount of money monthly.

This post has been edited by spoonudus: Mar 27 2011, 09:58 PM
Intrigue
post Mar 27 2011, 10:04 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

those who voted 10% is like having salary of RM10000 a mth then save RM1000. lol..
soul2soul
post Mar 28 2011, 10:02 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Some parents may not need the cash from their children but they do feel happy when their children give something for them. Even a simple act of paying for their meals when you go out dining with them, or bring them to some restaurants once in a while mean a lot to them. It's not the amount that count, but the act of giving.

And of course, when you do go them things, you can be certain 100% they will boast about it to their relatives - this is human nature.

SUSdantck
post Mar 28 2011, 12:22 PM

1,004 posts

i save 50-60% ,
EddyHyip
post May 9 2011, 06:36 PM

361 posts

i am already saving more n more percentage... keep constant with the same spending.. then when salary raised, can save more...

maybe being single again also helped me to save a huge portion... hehehe
Ren Mihashi
post May 9 2011, 07:38 PM

63 posts

I only save 10% ..

Just curious, u all say save money ..

how u all use the money? all put into investment? or simply put in saving account/fd????
`arthas
post May 9 2011, 07:55 PM

193 posts

i put it in saving account. but will try to collect them and put it in FD.
hyzam1212
post May 10 2011, 09:21 AM

**Fantasista**
1,681 posts

Save as much as you can in investment after deducting amount of expenses per month and try to diversify your investment if you can
EddyHyip
post May 11 2011, 06:47 AM

361 posts

how many % of salary should be allocated for car loan instalment monthly?
jeff_ckf
post May 11 2011, 07:15 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ May 11 2011, 06:47 AM)
how many % of salary should be allocated for car loan instalment monthly?
I allocate 0 but most ppl these days easily allocate around 20 - 30 percent (that's the common ones I've seen). Besides, banks only lend you up till 1/3 (33%) of your salary anyway but again I've seen that rule been flouted now.
kenny5978
post May 12 2011, 03:03 PM

164 posts

i invest 40% of my monthly salary

SUSVerdictReview
post May 12 2011, 08:35 PM

330 posts

Half of my salary or 50% but I think in near future I will reduce it more commitment to cover. sad.gif
kenny5978
post May 13 2011, 11:46 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Feb 11 2011, 05:39 PM)
who voted 100%?
i dun think there is anyone can invest 100% every month.. dun tell me that thay ppl dun need to spend to eat....
SUSVerdictReview
post May 13 2011, 11:50 AM

330 posts

18 people voted 100% shocking.gif
debbieyss
post May 13 2011, 12:18 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

I save 50% from my day job, spend 80% of my 3 part time jobs tongue.gif

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Mar 7 2011, 12:57 PM)
Mind to share what occupation you do?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: May 13 2011, 03:20 PM
night
post May 13 2011, 02:36 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

I saved at least 50% of my salary. Not easy to do as I don't buy all those fancy gadgets like Iphone or Ipad.
SUSVerdictReview
post May 13 2011, 05:04 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Ren Mihashi @ May 9 2011, 07:38 PM)
I only save 10% ..

Just curious, u all say save money ..

how u all use the money? all put into investment? or simply put in saving account/fd????
Some make an investment in bank purely to get dividend and some make an investment on properties house, shop etc2...your call?
scorpionade
post May 13 2011, 09:16 PM

15 posts

I saved 20% securely in my insurance account where I can make flexible withdrawal anytime..
property101
post Jun 4 2011, 11:37 PM

1,830 posts

anyone buy precious metal as saving?
debbieyss
post Jun 4 2011, 11:56 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

I save 50% of my salary after EPF, socso, sometimes 40%.
igreen.reno
post Jun 5 2011, 09:00 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Jun 4 2011, 11:37 PM)
anyone buy precious metal as saving?
u mean buy gold or silver?
simplesmile
post Jun 5 2011, 10:39 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(king_lover23 @ Feb 20 2011, 02:17 PM)
100%??? who so pro here? hehe
share ur exp la...  drool.gif
QUOTE(Mr Jones @ Mar 6 2011, 03:01 AM)
Yeah I can't see any way you can save 100% unless you are an expat and get all your expenses paid. Even if you consider paying off a home loan as savings a certain percentage of that is interest.

I think some people are being a bit silly/dishonest in the poll.
QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ Mar 9 2011, 12:42 PM)

QUOTE(jphlau @ Mar 9 2011, 01:44 PM)

QUOTE(kenny5978 @ May 13 2011, 11:46 AM)
i dun think there is anyone can invest 100% every month.. dun tell me that thay ppl dun need to spend to eat....
QUOTE(VerdictReview @ May 13 2011, 11:50 AM)
18 people voted 100%  shocking.gif
It is possible if the person has additional income (from 2nd job, part time job, passive income like dividend, interests, etc and maybe allowance from family members like parents, elder brother, elder sister or even boyfriend). So this person doesn't need to use his or her salary at all and just spend on the additional income.

As for me I save about 50% of my take home pay.

goliath84
post Jun 5 2011, 07:01 PM

138 posts

as I for me, I managed to save 30% of my salary..The Max I am only able to save it up to 40%
natsu_dragneel
post Feb 24 2013, 01:09 AM

114 posts

my friend can save 100%..bf cover all her expenses..she so lucky..
natsu_dragneel
post Feb 24 2013, 01:11 AM

114 posts

i manage to save 0%
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 24 2013, 01:16 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(natsu_dragneel @ Feb 24 2013, 01:09 AM)
my friend can save 100%..bf cover all her expenses..she so lucky..
Not she lucky, but her bf silly laugh.gif
yltoh
post Feb 24 2013, 02:16 PM

608 posts

Those who voted a 100%, you guys must be kidding me.. but i guess it's kinda dumb to vote for 100% unless you are able to prove it to all of us here...

Just briefly explain to us how could that possibly happen. Thank you!
WiLeKiyO
post Feb 24 2013, 02:31 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(yltoh @ Feb 24 2013, 02:16 PM)
Those who voted a 100%, you guys must be kidding me.. but i guess it's kinda dumb to vote for 100% unless you are able to prove it to all of us here...

Is the internet.
EddyLB
post Feb 24 2013, 03:49 PM

1,864 posts

My guess is their passive income is equal to or more than their salary ?
davinz18
post Feb 24 2013, 10:25 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

Normally 30% savings. If got some extra, can up to 40-50%
gark
post Feb 25 2013, 10:04 AM

12,534 posts

Why not..? A LOT of people have investment income such as rental, dividends, interest from PASSIVE income. If these PASSIVE income is enough for daily expenses, you can even save >100% of your SALARY. tongue.gif

Example rental income is around 2.5k-3k/month from a condo in klang valley, if you are frugal, who says you cannot save all your salary? tongue.gif 2.5k-3k is enough for daily expenses if you have no loans to pay up. laugh.gif

If you have no PASSIVE income but resorting to exhausting your primary salary, then perhaps you might want to consider to build your PASSIVE income portfolio... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 25 2013, 10:08 AM
simonlai61
post Feb 25 2013, 10:11 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 24 2013, 01:16 AM)
Pity her bf... cool2.gif
winie18
post Feb 26 2013, 01:09 PM

Just only 10% because of a lot of expenses.In Finland i seen many people who also having difficulties about saving money some are asking accountant for financial management at http://www.tilikanava.com/ some are just controlling their self.Congratulation to those people who save 50% i wanna be like you.Thumbs up.

seiluen
post Feb 26 2013, 01:17 PM

550 posts

Less than 5% for me sad.gif
yuen1985
post Feb 26 2013, 01:37 PM

I'm A Freelancer
702 posts

before can save from passive income when i m still working but now become self freelancer hardly sweat.gif
-Davidoff-
post Feb 26 2013, 02:18 PM

307 posts

Can save 30-40% consider very good lor. less than 10% for me. sweat.gif
captivesim
post May 11 2014, 03:07 PM

82 posts

From all the above. 10-20% is average saving.

For me i save 20% which equal to RM 1000.

But RM 1000 is not much but better than nothing. Every month there will be unexpected expenses ( Air con rosak, yearly Car Insurance, change water filter, car maintenance, kids wanna buy this buy that etc. plumbing problem)

On the other hand, Investment took a long time for returns. so i dont invest.

Anyone had similar experience. My point is seems so hard to save nowadays thou you want to save. please give rationale comments .
cyberboi
post May 11 2014, 04:05 PM

61 posts

Year 2013, i manage to save 50% per mth average.
Year 2014, i plan to save at least 60% or at least maintain at 50% smile.gif
% is based on gross income.. did not include other investment...
sonicbull
post May 11 2014, 04:51 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(captivesim @ May 11 2014, 03:07 PM)
From all the above. 10-20% is average saving.

For me i save 20% which equal to RM 1000.

But RM 1000 is not much but better than nothing. Every month there will be unexpected expenses ( Air con rosak, yearly Car Insurance, change water filter, car maintenance, kids wanna buy this buy that etc. plumbing problem)

On the other hand, Investment took a long time for returns. so i dont invest.

Anyone had similar experience. My point is seems so hard to save nowadays thou you want to save. please give rationale comments .
err, if don't invest then how to earn passive income in order to complement your monthly salary which enable you to save more?
unless you are doing business or do part time jobs, i can't think of other alternatives besides "investment"...
wil-i-am
post May 11 2014, 06:29 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ May 11 2014, 04:05 PM)
Year 2013, i manage to save 50% per mth average.
Year 2014, i plan to save at least 60% or at least maintain at 50%  smile.gif
% is based on gross income.. did not include other investment...
U hardly spend...
Must balance, otherwise life is meaningless
cyberboi
post May 11 2014, 06:46 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 11 2014, 06:29 PM)
U hardly spend...
Must balance, otherwise life is meaningless
i did spent especially on food and entertainment... tongue.gif
But this year i plan to control more on food and drinks... advise from doc doh.gif
big contributor of such high % of saving is due to i'm debt-less at this moment.
Car and study loan had been fully paid..
planning to get a hse in near future, by then there will be a big drop on my saving..

i'm bad in investment LOL still learning
klein
post May 11 2014, 08:37 PM

311 posts

around 30-40%
wongmunkeong
post May 11 2014, 08:53 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Do you save money from your net salary (after deducting EPF, income tax) each month? If yes, how much do you save?
from 2010 to now: 42%+ to 46%+,
except for 2013 due preparation & birth of child.
This year, expect 45%+ saved from net salary +net bonus (fingers crossed & goals set).
Excludes investment & trading returns which are re-invested.

Nope - can do better by cutting down mercilessly on things on low priority to me.
Aiming for 50% - balance of spending & saving tongue.gif

50% as balance.

And are you still single or married? Are you still staying at your parents house or independent?
Married, independent, with children (more than 1)

Those family & working stiff men here who manages to save >50% pls share how U do it notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 11 2014, 08:54 PM
Bonescythe
post May 11 2014, 09:45 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 11 2014, 08:53 PM)
Do you save money from your net salary (after deducting EPF, income tax) each month? If yes, how much do you save?
This year, expect 45%+ saved from net salary +net bonus (fingers crossed & goals set).

Nope - can do better by cutting down mercilessly on things  on low priority to me.

50% as balance.

Those family & working stiff men here who manages to save >50% pls share how U do it  notworthy.gif
Your income is solo effort? Or wifey also got contribute a bit ?
cyberboi
post May 11 2014, 11:11 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 11 2014, 08:53 PM)

Nope - can do better by cutting down mercilessly on things  on low priority to me.

50% as balance.

Those family & working stiff men here who manages to save >50% pls share how U do it  notworthy.gif
any loan? such as car loan, hse loan, insurance that need to pay monthly?
if yes.. notworthy.gif
manage to save so much even tho u got kids..

guess i need to increase my saving plan.. since i'm still single lol
Bonescythe
post May 11 2014, 11:59 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ May 11 2014, 11:11 PM)
if yes..  notworthy.gif

Maybe his take home income is 20k a month.

That 50% for household use is 10k.

Another 10k for saving..

Could be that picture biggrin.gif
AveoHzq
post May 12 2014, 12:19 AM

172 posts

20-30% sometimes. Single and staying with family.
Car loan takes a big % of my salary sad.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 05:41 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 11 2014, 09:45 PM)
Your income is solo effort? Or wifey also got contribute a bit ?
my net income (solo), excluding wife's.
Wife takes care of her own personal costs & i cover family eat out, groceries, fuel, etc.
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 05:44 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ May 11 2014, 11:11 PM)
if yes..  notworthy.gif

Home loan still running.
Insurances (death, medical, PA) paid yearly

huh? i saw some fellow forummers hitting >50% & saw some even hitting 60%+ 70%+ either in this thread or Personal Finance thread.
40%+ isn't good enough yet or at least not hitting my "balance" 50 / 50.

BTW, i drive a 20+ year old car tongue.gif
That's one of the ways i cut down on things of low priority to me.
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 05:51 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 11 2014, 11:59 PM)
Maybe his take home income is 20k a month.

That 50% for household use is 10k.

Another 10k for saving..

Could be that picture biggrin.gif
I wish bony, i wish.
my net monthly is 6 figures monthly...
INCLUDING 2 decimals tongue.gif

Other than not keeping up with the Joneses for car, my house is "small"
- my mortgage is less than 15% of my net monthly
+ i brown-bag for work lunch
+ no maid or weekend cleaners (i am the kuli @work & @home hehe)
+ not a travel aficionado but wife is so... a few years once.
ie - in a nutshell, simple life
Tough but do-able because i have some goals to hit for my children's future & options +not eat Alpo in my retirement sweat.gif
MGM
post May 12 2014, 06:51 AM

18,455 posts

I have -ve salary saving cos of my investment returns. Has zero debt until recently when I replaced my 20-yo car. My only worry is my medical card which expires at age 60.
Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 09:26 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 05:41 AM)
my net income (solo), excluding wife's.
Wife takes care of her own personal costs & i cover family eat out, groceries, fuel, etc.
Ahh.. That is the catch - Wife takes care of her own personal cost biggrin.gif
Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 09:28 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 05:51 AM)
I wish bony, i wish.
my net monthly is 6 figures monthly...
INCLUDING 2 decimals tongue.gif

Other than not keeping up with the Joneses for car, my house is "small"
- my mortgage is less than 15% of my net monthly
+ i brown-bag for work lunch
+ no maid or weekend cleaners (i am the kuli @work & @home hehe)
+ not a travel aficionado but wife is so... a few years once.
ie - in a nutshell, simple life
Tough but do-able because i have some goals to hit for my children's future & options +not eat Alpo in my retirement  sweat.gif
Same lo.

I 1 day eat 1.5 meals.
No maid, no cleaners..
Jeans wear 1 week only wash. Clothes wear 2 to 3 days, smelly only wash.
Normal day at home no wear clothes and underwear, only wear short pants.
No travel

Like this is additional saving bro biggrin.gif
BboyDora
post May 12 2014, 09:38 AM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 24 2013, 01:16 AM)
If she can make her bf pay everything 100%, she had put a lot of "effort " in it. There is no free lunch in this world.

This post has been edited by BboyDora: May 12 2014, 09:39 AM
SUSPink Spider
post May 12 2014, 09:43 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ May 12 2014, 09:38 AM)
If she can make her bf pay everything 100%, she had put a lot of "effort " in it. There is no free lunch in this world.
brows.gif

but, there ARE bf as silly as that, I met countless whistling.gif
cyberboi
post May 12 2014, 09:53 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 12 2014, 09:28 AM)
Same lo.

I 1 day eat 1.5 meals.
No maid, no cleaners..
No travel

My record, i only wash my jeans after 6 mths LOL!
unless there some stains on it... i dont like to wear newly washed jeans..

i tot i'm very fragile enough, but u guys.... notworthy.gif
i cut till dunno where to cut dy my expenses... lol
andrekua2
post May 12 2014, 09:57 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 05:44 AM)
Home loan still running.

huh? i saw some fellow forummers hitting >50% & saw some even hitting 60%+ 70%+ either in this thread or Personal Finance thread.

Oh man... I guess Im suck with finances then.

I'm married, with 2 kids. Wife working, financial independent. I save nothing, despite no housing loan nor car loan. If Im lucky, then I wont go into red by year end.

Mobile - RM200 (including wife)
Monthly Allowance to mom - RM500
Babysit to mom - RM700
Kindergarten - RM180
FM and diapers - RM500
Broadband - RM84 (50% discount)

I think I waste around RM200-300 per month on 4D occasionally.

Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 09:58 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ May 12 2014, 09:53 AM)
unless there some stains on it...  i dont like to wear newly washed jeans..

i tot i'm very fragile enough, but u guys....  notworthy.gif
6 mths?

Dam... Ur butt no itchy?
andrekua2
post May 12 2014, 10:03 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ May 12 2014, 09:53 AM)
unless there some stains on it...  i dont like to wear newly washed jeans..

i tot i'm very fragile enough, but u guys....  notworthy.gif
You wear often? I rarely wear jean which is why I only had 1 or 2 at most. So I wont bother washing at all unless its CNY where I will be wearing them for a week continuously. Its an annual event for me when it comes to jean.
cyberboi
post May 12 2014, 10:11 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 12 2014, 09:58 AM)
6 mths?

Dam... Ur butt no itchy?
other place itchy got la brows.gif lol
but normally a month or two then wash dy...

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 12 2014, 10:03 AM)
You wear often? I rarely wear jean which is why I only had 1 or 2 at most. So I wont bother washing at all unless its CNY where I will be wearing them for a week continuously. Its an annual event for me when it comes to jean.
Wear on weekends most of the time...
seldom wash cos most of the time in aircon, so still ok...
unless outdoor activities then no choice..
Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 10:52 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ May 12 2014, 10:11 AM)
other place itchy got la  brows.gif  lol
but normally a month or two then wash dy...
Wear on weekends most of the time...
seldom wash cos most of the time in aircon, so still ok...
unless outdoor activities then no choice..
Dam...

Had u got a day where u are farting a lot.. Ur jeans will get stained with that kind of smelly fart smell.
If that happened, u still will wear until 1 to 2 mths only wash?
Hahaha

Too extreme way of saving.. Haha.
Washing too frequent also use a lot of $$$, considered the water and the electricity.. Ironing also use a lot of electricity.

Can cut down this, can save a lot.
triad
post May 12 2014, 10:56 AM

356 posts

I used to save a lot.
My salary + property investment can cover monthly expense.

But bukan semua hari cerah. My son discovered some kind of mental development program, it not covered in any insurance.

Now if i earn more, all money channel to my son therapy.

But everyone should have at least 6 months to 1 year saving to cover for daily consumption + bills.
vincentwmh
post May 12 2014, 10:57 AM

476 posts

i have manage my finances on a simple weightage 6:3:1 of monthly net pay received.

meaning,
6/10 for expenses incl fixed loan, parental etc etc;
3/10 for saving; and
1/10 for protection (insurance/medical card premium).

so far so good based on above weightage brows.gif as i do believe in balance work/play to be mentally healthy for this long work life.

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: May 12 2014, 11:07 AM
cyberboi
post May 12 2014, 11:06 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 12 2014, 10:52 AM)
Dam...

Had u got a day where u are farting a lot.. Ur jeans will get stained with that kind of smelly fart smell.
If that happened, u still will wear until 1 to 2 mths only wash?
Hahaha

Too extreme way of saving.. Haha.
Washing too frequent also use a lot of $$$, considered the water and the electricity.. Ironing also use a lot of electricity.

Can cut down this, can save a lot.
there will be always perfume to save the day brows.gif
just spray spray here and there.. settle hahaha

of cos if feel uncomfortable dy then wash lo LOL
smartinvestor01
post May 12 2014, 11:11 AM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

I am saving about 40% per month..

Still not satisfied enough because i think my salary is still quite low in the market..

Also doing extra income things.
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 11:24 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 12 2014, 09:28 AM)
Same lo.

I 1 day eat 1.5 meals.
No maid, no cleaners..
No travel

bro - it is because of my children & wife that i CAN save & build
else i'd be a gadget + gaming freak sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 12 2014, 11:25 AM
sonicbull
post May 12 2014, 11:32 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 05:44 AM)
Home loan still running.

I agree to save 50% of your income. Anything more, will probably downgrade our lifestyle quality BUT
if someone plans to retire early, saving >50% is required. How much we earn monthly is a huge factor as well, earn more + save more = win thumbup.gif

from what I can see in generation X in their retirement age, RM300k is a lot for them blink.gif
Tell them about inflation and medical costs and they dont even care.. die then die lor like that rclxub.gif

btw, i save around 25-30% of my monthly income and the amount it's not enough sad.gif

single
no car loan

monthly expenses:
+insurance
+unifi
+phone installment(thanks god, going to end soon)
+PTPTN
+food & groceries
+ mom & dad allowance

yearly expenses:
car road tax & insurance
car maintenance
Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 11:52 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 11:24 AM)
bro - it is because of my children & wife that i CAN save & build
else i'd be a gadget + gaming freak sweat.gif
Play game also can save a lot biggrin.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 01:22 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 12 2014, 11:52 AM)
Play game also can save a lot biggrin.gif
U know how much them gaming rigs cost ar?
those are JUST electronic gaming setup.. then the non-electronic wan leh (which is way more expensive tongue.gif)?
pokai man heheh.. well been there, done that - younger & stupider days

now my "games" make $ (long term lar) hehe
buy low, sell high (investing in value companies and/or net DY%)
buy high, sell higher (trading trend/momentum)
sell strikeprice with low probability to be hit during fear / greed (trading options)

backspace66
post May 12 2014, 01:30 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ May 12 2014, 11:32 AM)
I agree to save 50% of your income. Anything more, will probably downgrade our lifestyle quality BUT
if someone plans to retire early, saving >50% is required. How much we earn monthly is a huge factor as well, earn more + save more = win thumbup.gif

from what I can see in generation X in their retirement age, RM300k is a lot for them blink.gif
Tell them about inflation and medical costs and they dont even care.. die then die lor like that  rclxub.gif

btw, i save around 25-30% of my monthly income and the amount it's not enough  sad.gif

single
no car loan

monthly expenses:
+insurance
+unifi
+PTPTN
+food & groceries
+ mom & dad allowance

yearly expenses:
car road tax & insurance
car maintenance
In my case saving 50% of income is a bit crazy considering i already lost almost 30% to tax and epf combined. I know the epf money is mine but then again it does not contribute in paying up my monthly commitnent (except for housing loan).

To save 50% of net should not be a problem though.

wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 01:33 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ May 12 2014, 11:32 AM)

Tell them about inflation and medical costs and they dont even care.. die then die lor like that  rclxub.gif

btw, i save around 25-30% of my monthly income and the amount it's not enough  sad.gif

single
no car loan

monthly expenses:
+insurance
+unifi
+PTPTN
+food & groceries
+ mom & dad allowance

yearly expenses:
car road tax & insurance
car maintenance
Yeah - best is to EARN as much as possible, SAVE as much as possible and when reach goals - then only spend more on "non-priority" stuff to one.
I was in the EARN only camp several donkey years ago - can see $ coming in BUT one or two bad trade(s) +emergency cost = forced selling.. wasn't fun.

i am in genX..
er.. RM300K is definitely not enough leh,
not enough for retirement even if single,
even if the RM300K is excluding EPF - ie just cash investments.
EPF i give U RM2M lar by retirement of 55 (lazy to extrapolate for 60 tongue.gif) - doable for couples earning RM4K/mth and above.
Even with EPF - nearly not enough if live long & healthy life sweat.gif even assuming no funding of children's Uni and gifting back to charities.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 12 2014, 01:35 PM
Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 01:50 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 01:22 PM)
U know how much them gaming rigs cost ar?
those are JUST electronic gaming setup.. then the non-electronic wan leh (which is way more expensive tongue.gif)?
pokai man heheh.. well been there, done that - younger & stupider days

now my "games" make $ (long term lar) hehe
buy low, sell high (investing in value companies and/or net DY%)
buy high, sell higher (trading trend/momentum)
sell strikeprice with low probability to be hit during fear / greed (trading options)
U play Mario, Pacman, Dig Dug, Contra 3 Force...

All this game is very cheap only la bro..

Not asking u to play those super geng punya game.
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 01:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 12 2014, 01:50 PM)
U play Mario, Pacman, Dig Dug, Contra 3 Force...

All this game is very cheap only la bro..

Not asking u to play those super geng punya game.
MatLio, PuckMen, DickDuck, ConTra...
no fun to me lar - grass growing & paint drying more oomph tongue.gif

in todays' terms - need 3x50+inch LED TV with 4K playback
+PS4 & Xbox One
+super tricked out laptop with 3 displays output (left, centre, right)
+dolby surround with THX certification
as a basic setup excluding good enough controllers & headsets tongue.gif

nice... but watching my financial targets being hit = nicer *100 laugh.gif
.. and waaaay more realistic / impact rather than "virtual".
Bonescythe
post May 12 2014, 02:10 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 01:59 PM)
MatLio, PuckMen, DickDuck, ConTra...
no fun to me lar - grass growing & paint drying more oomph tongue.gif

in todays' terms - need 3x50+inch LED TV with 4K playback
+PS4 & Xbox One
+super tricked out laptop with 3 displays output (left, centre, right)
+dolby surround with THX certification
as a basic setup excluding good enough controllers & headsets tongue.gif

nice... but watching my financial targets being hit = nicer *100  laugh.gif
.. and waaaay more realistic / impact rather than "virtual".
So sophisticated one... No wonder u will go broke la.

Unless u be a professional gamer, play game as your job.. Good income also.
cyberboi
post May 12 2014, 02:14 PM

61 posts

I used to play free MMO.. although its free.. got one year i get pretty hooked up.. spend at least rm500 / mth on it. Now thinking bout it, feel so stupid LOL
johnlaw
post May 12 2014, 04:51 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ May 12 2014, 09:38 AM)
Not really, there are a lot of vegetarian dogs in this world. Ya there is no free lunch but getting a waterfish is almost the same. Haha.
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 05:55 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ May 12 2014, 01:30 PM)
In my case saving 50% of income is a bit crazy considering i already lost almost 30% to tax and epf combined. I know the epf money is mine but then again it does not contribute in paying up my monthly commitnent (except for housing loan).

To save 50% of net should not be a problem though.
TS did state "after DEDUCTING EPF, Tax, etc" right? or i misassumed?
ie. net income (as in cash in pocket monthly +yearly bonus)

heheh.. lost 30% to tax & EPF combined?
Trust me - it'll be more as U earn more - U don't want to earn more meh? doh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 12 2014, 05:56 PM
muffycmf
post May 12 2014, 06:00 PM

72 posts

independent house, single
monthly save around 9 to 15k depend on mood
averagely 13k per month.
backspace66
post May 12 2014, 06:22 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 12 2014, 05:55 PM)
TS did state "after DEDUCTING EPF, Tax, etc" right? or i misassumed?
ie. net income (as in cash in pocket monthly +yearly bonus)

heheh.. lost 30% to tax & EPF combined?
Trust me - it'll be more as U earn more - U don't want to earn more meh?  doh.gif
yes, i guess, i was replying to the comments before that saying 50% of income(i assume gross income). Yes, I do know the percentage will increase as you earn more, that is why percentage doesn't work anymore here if we compare to gross, if my income increase another 10% , the total deduction will be almost 32% instead of 30%. Just an example. If 50% of net, definitely OK.

0.0946sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:33 AM