Nokia N900 V10 (Close to 200 owners), New CSSU Update 07/09/2011

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 10 2011, 10:20 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Finally thread version 10!

Kinda irony because tomorrow might be the last day of Maemo/MeeGo.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 10 2011, 10:21 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 12:30 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Feb 11 2011, 12:16 AM)
err sifu...
may i know y u said like that?
r u leaving ur n900?
I'll only quit Maemo if my phone bricked beyond repair.

Tomorrow is the Nokia Strategy and Financial Briefing Day.This is day which Stefan Elop aka Nokia Big Boss will announce future Nokia strategy.
There is a rumor that Nokia might adapt Windows Phone 7 as main OS & halt MeeGo handset development.Personally I believe the chances of Nokia dumping MeeGo is less than 1%.But hey,big corporation will do anything for big fa profit.

The briefing is around 2PM Malaysian time tomorrow.There will be live web telecast.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 11 2011, 12:32 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 01:01 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Feb 11 2011, 12:58 PM)
checkout the community ssu... exciting updates there on the firmware

Added on February 11, 2011, 12:59 pm

checkout the community ssu... exciting updates there on the firmware
i don't think there will be a pr1.4 officially, though i've gotten at least 3-4 updates from the community ssu
Yet to try SSU.Exam week for me.

Any major issue with the SSU?

Already set up live streaming for the Nokia Strategy Day but no video yet.Bila nak start ni....
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 03:40 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

http://conversations.nokia.com/2011/02/11/...lmer-microsoft/

• Nokia will adopt Windows Phone as its primary smartphone strategy, innovating on top of the platform in areas such as imaging, where Nokia is a market leader.

I have 1 1/2 foot at Android phone now.

Mark 11/2/2011 as the day Nokia lost it's identity.

Oh,I'm pissed,REALLY PISSED...

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 11 2011, 03:55 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 05:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Feb 11 2011, 04:55 PM)
Shud i save money from now to buy an adroid device??
or jump to fruitphone?huhu

Now it's up to u GrandMaster to completing the Meego project on N900..huhu
Man..i want meego really badly..
I'll be watching today's Financial Briefing.If Elop confirmed that there will only be 1 MeeGo device out this year,I'll assume that eventually Nokia will phase out MeeGo.
I'm reaching the age where I'll be needing a proper reliable,full functioning phone with good OS.I can't keep hacking to use patched version of app in an unsupported device.

If I see any Android with physical QWERTY keyboard smartphone I might consider moving on.If Google adapt such device as developer device it's all better.
But of course I'll be keeping my N900 as plenty other Maemo enthusiast.

Whatever happens,I would like to thank the devs who took part with MeeGo development.

QUOTE(gyianz @ Feb 11 2011, 05:10 PM)
Primary OS will be WP7.MeeGo will be treated like Maemo.
I don't want that.Better be killed rather then treated like stepchild.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 05:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Feb 11 2011, 05:45 PM)
Again.

Nokia is either spiralling down to it's death, or they might just make it because of this. Though they're just another equipment manufacturer now. Which leaves Apple as the only software + hardware mobile maker now.

Which is really, really sad.
Ah..Come on...Don't rub salt on my wound by making me say that Apple is g**d. laugh.gif

Already my mood is ruined by this news.Downloaded gb's worth of series but yet to watch anything.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 11 2011, 05:50 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 05:53 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Feb 11 2011, 05:52 PM)
Don't forget RIM. They still make their own software and hardware. Blackberries seem very popular with youngsters these days.
Well,I'm young but not interested a wee bit.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 09:38 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Haha...
Seems like discontinued MeeGo phone will be made into WP7.

Added on February 11, 2011, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:25 PM)
Its sad to see Nokia joining with microsoft. I was so looking forward for meego. I guess my nokia N900 will be kept as an antique
I think MeeGo phone will be iPhone.1 phone per year.Looking at the Nokia's long term financial strategy,there will be some allocated budget for MeeGo for each year continuously.

I don't know how this phone will be sold.But it's increasing likely it'll be a testing phone just like N900.
I'm really hoping MeeGo device's sale will brake Nokia's expectation.I really want to say "IN YOUR FACE" at Elop's face.

Throwing away a nearly complete OS to another half baked OS.

Added on February 11, 2011, 9:51 pmMeeGo devs still enthusiastic with the project.Guess I'll wait for the MWC to see the progress.

Biggest winner tonight : Not Nokia or their investors.It's Microsoft.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 11 2011, 09:51 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 10:23 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 11 2011, 10:03 PM)
Of course its like Micirsoft join with nokia and uses symbian of course beneficial. WP7 also kinda lack of alot of things as well atm.

The good part of Nokia using WP7 is we sure get hardware boost.
I don't like Bing,Zune & the Xbox service...Plus the service is rather limited in county outside US & Europe.

Heck in these past month I was considering moving from Windows 7 to Linux OS(Ubuntu + Fedora) in my desktop because of the some bloated part of windows.But now Nokia pushing another Windows product to me? doh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 11 2011, 11:29 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Feb 11 2011, 11:11 PM)
http://phonereport.info/source-nokia-n9-no...7-tested-on-it/

There is one part that states : Meego were highly unsatisfactory.. To me i agree.. Even when they present the phone in some conference, it was laggy on 1.5Ghz of processor
Crash all over?
Sounds like Jim Carreys bad joke.Even though the latest build of MeeGo (v1.1.80) for N900 don't have complete function,it doesn't crash a lot.I expect N9-01 or whatever the MeeGo device model number is to perform better.
I don't care what Elop say,I know that MeeGo engineers are very proud of their work & they will continue their work with MeeGo.

As Texrat & Stskeep pointed out,MeeGo is larger than Nokia.

What Elop said is this,since MeeGo already been delayed some times the 1st hardware design became obsolete.Nokia will release MeeGo device with updated device.
We might see the older batch of MeeGo targeted device aka N9-00 to be shipped with WP7 instead.Same thing could happened to the canceled Symbian device.

I can say this : In this year if you plan to buy a Nokia product you better buy MeeGo device over Symbian.Seems like MeeGo will have slightly better chance of continuous support over symbian device.

Perhaps you guys should not only read the articles pieced together by websites but watch the entire announcement & the presentation video.
The briefing & Q&A session covered quite a lot ground.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 11 2011, 11:32 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 12 2011, 12:08 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Feb 11 2011, 11:52 PM)
guys..
can we browse others phone via Bluetooth?
i mean like android phone that can browse our folder when we connect our phone using bluetooth.
I don't know about browsing but if you're looking to send files in N900 with explorer view,you can try petrovic.

"Elop is relying on Service Provider to help sell Symbian Phone"
Who in right mind will buy a certified death in waiting OS based phone?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 12 2011, 12:17 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 12 2011, 10:29 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Feb 12 2011, 10:14 AM)
Yeay.... good for us... I think Meego is much cooler OS compare to to 7tingkap
It's not about cool factor.I think given due time & resource MeeGo's core functions & UX could be one of the best in market.
Ah well...Enough about Nokia's WP7 for me.1 day of sleepless night about this is enough.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 12 2011, 11:16 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 12 2011, 10:46 AM)
cry.gif  
This is really bad..... really bad....   mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Why Win7 of all..... I guess we already knew it was coming when Elop took over....
WebOS looks great but the device design is a big turn off; What device to go for next? HP needs a good device designer...
Nokia just made their future out of their hand.No OS under their control(Symbian phased out,MeeGo development reduced to almost nothing).If Microsoft stalled with WP7 Nokia might have to pour high amount of resource to take over the OS to develop it.Mr Elop might say Telco Operator might like the Nokia + Microsoft partnership but it's ultimately the end users who will decide their choice of device.Looking at the reception from regular users & the stock market,it's looking bad.Also Elop just leveraged Nokia's most prized stuff,the patents.With this deal Microsoft could probably make other OEM to access these pattens for FREE.After years of protracting the pattens you leveraged it to a half @$$ed OS?Nokia Maps will be used by Microsoft for free too.

I do think somehow Nokia will sell quite a number of WP7 device but I sure the figure will fell a lot shorter than what Nokia expected.

I think after few years Microsoft can attempt to buy Nokia for lower price.Already market share dropped more than 14% yesterday.

Almost all the Maemo/MeeGo leaders have resigned from Nokia.It'll be very hard to make progress with a open source OS in Nokia after this.

If Nokia want a fighting chance,they better ask Microsoft to buck up & ingrate some of the regular functions in WP7.
No copy paste,bluetooth file transfer,mass storage support,etc2.Even symbian can do all these.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 12 2011, 11:37 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 12 2011, 11:47 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Feb 12 2011, 11:38 AM)
Yeah just to add on.. more than thousands of employees walked off Nokia..
And anyone here major in computing or programming?
Maybe we could homebrew our own Meego using the existing source code..
I will be very free after june...
MeeGo development including Handset UX will continue.This much has been confirmed by people who are leading the project.
I expect 1.2 to be available for N900 in due time.

Anyway,Google already start offering job at Symbian,MeeGo or any other Nokia engineers brows.gif
Smart move Google.Strike it when your opponent is distracted.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 12 2011, 12:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Feb 12 2011, 12:20 PM)
hmm.gif
Maybe we would see a Meego device with Google engraved behind?
Like what happened to Nexus one..
Anyways sifu know where to change the quicklaunch menu?
for example the /etc/systemui/systemui.xml is where u change the menu for power button
Then where is the file to edit to change the menu in the menu where you connect to internet and stuffs
Don't remember that...I only messed with the icons file there.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 12 2011, 05:13 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 12 2011, 04:58 PM)
Sadly, no interest in WP7 UI design or overall OS design. If need to jump ship, better go Android plus the upcoming devices will have crazy specs. Would prefer WebOS but the device outlook kills it, BUT THEN, if the choice is between WP7 device and WebOS device, I might still go for WebOS device...... wait a minute, bah, better stick to N900.  tongue.gif

If only there is a better spec device able to support Maemo, and the full source code release and maintain by somebody, improves it, adds more functionality/features. It'll be something special, but then, that's too far fetch.

Not to say I dislike MS, but if they were to make a smartphone device, try making a real smartphone with real OS; Previously, I remember there is a smartphone by some unknown company planning to launch a smartphone running full Windows XP.
Eiraku love both the webOS and the device.Seems like you & me like the OS but not the device laugh.gif

Full source code release is out of question according to 1 of Nokia engineer.
Man...If only the full source code is released,I say screw you Nokia & will stick will my N900 for long2 time.There are endless things we'll able to change.Perhaps Maemo 5 can be upgraded to Maemo 6 functions.
CSSU already a big step...

Yeah,the WP7 UI looks nice with it's fancy graphics.But in term of functionality even Symbian is better.
Nokia upgrading OS? I say it's more like degrading.

This is why I dislike business oriented people to take over technology company.You have a almost complete OS in making but went ahead & leverage the entire company with another company that will definitely be more than happy to take over the Nokia.Don't give "We've low confident that MeeGo ecosystem will succeed fast enough" crap.You have 2 super large company backing the OS.Just pour some extra money to accelerate the OS development & promotion matter.
It's increasingly likely that Microsoft will attempt to take over Nokia in few years time.

Why isn't there other nerds like Larry Page & Sergey Brin to take over Nokia...At least would have taken a much better calculated risk.

I'll be looking for a Android device with physical QWERTY keyboard at MWC.If there is something I like then I'll just go ahead to buy it.
I think I had enough time being Nokia's genuine pig.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 12 2011, 05:15 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 13 2011, 07:02 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Aw man...
Even Rovio dislike this partnership
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 13 2011, 10:18 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 13 2011, 05:16 PM)
is there any shop selling Palm in Malaysia ?
Try email HP to ask about availability of Palm device.It's hard to get Palm device even in LYN's garage sale.

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Feb 13 2011, 08:55 PM)
Desire Z? smile.gif
After MWC there should be Android device with better spec.Fingers crossed it'll some of them will have qwerty keyboard.

QUOTE(jananan @ Feb 13 2011, 09:29 PM)
original is 125Mhz, 250Mhz, 500Mhz,550Mhz,600Mhz
125MHz is disabled by default.Is it not?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 13 2011, 10:50 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Intel promises, teases MeeGo smartphone and tablet for MWC

Revenge is dish best served cold...I expect Intel to screw Nokia one day...

Also people keep on talking negatively about only 3 people working on MeeGo UI in Nokia.Come on guys...NITDroid people just contain few people but look at we are now?
I'm still expecting a decent MeeGo Handset at MWC.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 13 2011, 10:53 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 14 2011, 12:32 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Feb 14 2011, 12:26 AM)
I'd like to try MeeGo. Hope Intel can create an actual MeeGo phone. Would love to have an actual full-stacked Linux distribution powering my phone, instead of living in the sandbox Dalvik in Android.
It's increasing likely that a MeeGo Handset will be demonstrated in MWC 2011.But I don't know whether it'll be Aava Mobile's or Nokia's.

Nokia's initial presentation in MWC 2011 due to start in few hours.Lets see whether anything good announced this time after crappy friday announcement.

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:58 AM